The Official Pioneer 9G North American KRP-500M / KRP-600M Owner's Discussion Pt. II - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 7029 Old 07-25-2009, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
J0HNNY H0PK1NS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bazzy View Post

- Does anyone know of any good deals from an authorised dealer for the 600M?

Bazzy!



Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

Talking about where to buy a TV is against the "rules". Marketing of any sort is not allowed. This includes the forum sponsors. The KRP FAQ notes this among other things.

there he goes selling the FAQ again.

not being mean or rude but maybe we should stop asking questions and just refer to the FAQ

a nicer way of saying it would be... just do a search on google or another engine and you could also possibly look on the manufacturers website for a reference to a supplier.

No selling there, just 'helpful' assistance.

Everything else < Kuro PLASMA
J0HNNY H0PK1NS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 7029 Old 07-25-2009, 06:58 PM
Member
 
jaffies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A couple of questions:
1. Anyone know a idiot-proof way of connecting a KRP to a network? It's seems like I have everything set up correctly, but nothing.
2. I'm halfway through the DVD burn-in process, and the monitor seems to be running pretty hot. Is this normal?
jaffies is offline  
post #453 of 7029 Old 07-25-2009, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amheck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes on #2. I haven't tried #1.
amheck is offline  
post #454 of 7029 Old 07-25-2009, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbrady3324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaffies View Post

A couple of questions:
1. Anyone know a idiot-proof way of connecting a KRP to a network? It's seems like I have everything set up correctly, but nothing.
2. I'm halfway through the DVD burn-in process, and the monitor seems to be running pretty hot. Is this normal?

Make sure you have the IP-Control enabled on the Kuro. I made this mistake

Pioneer KRP-500m
Panasonic 65VT50
M&K LCR-750s Fronts and Center
M&K M-4T Surrounds
X-Rite i1pro
jbrady3324 is offline  
post #455 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 07:51 AM
Member
 
-Kevin-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbird8450 View Post

It sounds like you're seeing compression artifacts to me, especially if you only notice the shimmer during movement. Again, that's a source problem and not a TV problem.

I've never seen a Harry Potter Blu-Ray so I'm not sure if those movies are particularly bad in that area.

Again, you can test this with a game as you should never see compression artifacts while playing (cutscenes and such notwithstanding).

Okay, after further testing I can in fact see the effect during games. It is a very subtle noise or shimmering. It is mostly visible on solid, brighter colored material. I notice it even on the white bar anti IR "video pattern." You really have to be close to the TV to notice it. My normal seating position is about 6.5' away from the TV. The closer I get to the TV the more noticeable it is.

I wonder if this might be the aforementioned "pulse-width modulation" at work here?
-Kevin- is offline  
post #456 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Jim_In_Boston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: So. Boston, Mass.
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just want to say Thank You to Elite-home and Bodosom for their help in finding out what RGB refers to.

Jim
Jim_In_Boston is offline  
post #457 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Quaxtros's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you!
Quaxtros is offline  
post #458 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 09:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
surap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaxtros View Post

I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you!

1233 mm.

I dont know how to measure inch..sorry
surap is offline  
post #459 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
J0HNNY H0PK1NS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaxtros View Post

I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you!

by bezel width you mean full monitor width or bezel meaning the rim around the display itself?

Everything else < Kuro PLASMA
J0HNNY H0PK1NS is offline  
post #460 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 10:40 AM
Member
 
dtowntke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how accurate is optimum mode?
dtowntke is offline  
post #461 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaxtros View Post

I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you!

It's probably not clear enough but the "architectural" drawings referenced in the FAQ contain most of the interesting measurements.

In this case total width is 1233mm (48-17/32") and the screen width is 1111mm (43-3/4"). The width of the vertical bezel would then be 122mm (4-25/32).
bodosom is offline  
post #462 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbrady3324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtowntke View Post

how accurate is optimum mode?

Not very at least on my set. Too cool

Pioneer KRP-500m
Panasonic 65VT50
M&K LCR-750s Fronts and Center
M&K M-4T Surrounds
X-Rite i1pro
jbrady3324 is offline  
post #463 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 03:13 PM
Member
 
BetTheRiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had decided on getting a 500M and was about to pull the trigger. Then yesterday my wife and I were in a BB. We stood at approximate viewing distance (say 10-12 feet or so) with a 50" set right over a 60" display, and I asked her which she thought would work best in our relatively small living room. To my great surprise, she said the 60".

So . . . the 500M is regarded as a better display, though it's not clear how significant the improvements are in a real-world situation, and would be about $800 less expensive; the cost difference is not a deal-breaker but hey, $800 is $800. The 600M has, obviously, a lot of extra real estate in its favor.

In either case, the display will be professionally calibrated and will have the ISF patch.

Thoughts? Are the improvements in the 500M enough to tip the scale, or would I likely not really notice the difference?
BetTheRiver is offline  
post #464 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Magnus_CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a very personal choice but IMO the larger size far outweighs the difference in PQ. If you've got the room for it go for the 600, especially at your viewing distance. You won't be sorry.
Magnus_CA is offline  
post #465 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amheck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnus_CA View Post

This is a very personal choice but IMO the larger size far outweighs the difference in PQ. If you've got the room for it go for the 600, especially at your viewing distance. You won't be sorry.

+1 for sure. I'm at around 16-17' and definitely wish my 600M was bigger.
amheck is offline  
post #466 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 04:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Quaxtros's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by J0HNNY H0PK1NS View Post

by bezel width you mean full monitor width or bezel meaning the rim around the display itself?



Sorry for not being clearer. What I wanted to know is the width of the bezel on the left and right sides that frame the glass.
Quaxtros is offline  
post #467 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Quaxtros's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

It's probably not clear enough but the "architectural" drawings referenced in the FAQ contain most of the interesting measurements.

In this case total width is 1233mm (48-17/32") and the screen width is 1111mm (43-3/4"). The width of the vertical bezel would then be 122mm (4-25/32).

Thank you. So the bezel width is about 2 1/2 inches on each side that frame the glass on the left and right sides.
Quaxtros is offline  
post #468 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whityfrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaxtros View Post

Thank you. So the bezel width is about 2 1/2 inches on each side that frame the glass on the left and right sides.

i noticed this measurement while hanging my 600m. and when looking at it at times the bezel seems a little beefy. kinda looks like a big block at times and is somewhat distracting.
whityfrd is offline  
post #469 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 08:16 PM
Member
 
tony9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: St Charles MO
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaxtros View Post

Thank you. So the bezel width is about 2 1/2 inches on each side that frame the glass on the left and right sides.

simple search result from the Pioneer website:

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/ep...s/KRP-600M.pdf
tony9 is offline  
post #470 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 08:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hhaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 29
So we all know that the black levels on the 600M aren't in the same league as the 500M...but when everyone says that they are "lighter", does that mean that it's the equivalent of the other 9g models?

That's what I've always assumed, but I just wanted some feedback.
hhaller is offline  
post #471 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by tony9 View Post

simple search result from the Pioneer website:

Links to the manual and brochures are listed in FAQ. Both have overall dimensions and screen diagonal but omit the screen height and width. And no one wants to break out the trig.
bodosom is offline  
post #472 of 7029 Old 07-26-2009, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by hhaller View Post

So we all know that the black levels on the 600M aren't in the same league as the 500M...but when everyone says that they are "lighter", does that mean that it's the equivalent of the other 9g models?

That appears to be the common belief but I've never seen any numbers from Pioneer for minimum luminance. I don't think they publish contrast ratios either.
bodosom is offline  
post #473 of 7029 Old 07-27-2009, 04:40 AM
Member
 
eloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had originally been planning on getting a Panny 54V10 because I found somebody who was going to practically give it to me.

Now I'm starting to reconsider to go with a 600M.

My real question/problem is that I can't figure out really what I'm giving up. The 141/151 are going to be out of my budget, which is what attracted me to the 600M. I'm willing to pay more for it for better PQ and bigger size, but I still haven't decided if I'm going to be willing to pay what they're asking.

I understand there's no antenna. I had been thinking of getting an OTA hd antenna. I'm guessing that means I need some kind of converter box as well, that would feed the AVR, which would feed the monitor? I'm thinking there is also no upconverting features in the 600M, so I would need to factor in the extra cost of getting a better upconverting AVR as opposed to letting the tv do it instead. I know the other things like no stand as well.

I'm just trying to figure out what other things I'm missing that could potentially sway my decision one way or another.

Thanks!
eloon is offline  
post #474 of 7029 Old 07-27-2009, 05:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cajieboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Posts: 4,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by eloon View Post

I had originally been planning on getting a Panny 54V10 because I found somebody who was going to practically give it to me.

Now I'm starting to reconsider to go with a 600M.

My real question/problem is that I can't figure out really what I'm giving up. The 141/151 are going to be out of my budget, which is what attracted me to the 600M. I'm willing to pay more for it for better PQ and bigger size, but I still haven't decided if I'm going to be willing to pay what they're asking.

I understand there's no antenna. I had been thinking of getting an OTA hd antenna. I'm guessing that means I need some kind of converter box as well, that would feed the AVR, which would feed the monitor? I'm thinking there is also no upconverting features in the 600M, so I would need to factor in the extra cost of getting a better upconverting AVR as opposed to letting the tv do it instead. I know the other things like no stand as well.

I'm just trying to figure out what other things I'm missing that could potentially sway my decision one way or another.

Thanks!

If you're wanting to go the OTA HD Antenna route, then you're looking at the wrong TV. The 600M is a reference monitor w/no internal tuner. The Pioneer Elite 151 has the internal tuner and the ISFcc modes, etc. You could possibly go buy an external HD Tuner to hookup to your TV, so factor in that cost as well. Pioneer's internal video processor is one of its best features, so it would defeat your purposes to bypass it.
cajieboy is offline  
post #475 of 7029 Old 07-27-2009, 05:55 AM
Member
 
eloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cajieboy View Post

If you're wanting to go the OTA HD Antenna route, then you're looking at the wrong TV. The 600M is a reference monitor w/no internal tuner. The Pioneer Elite 151 has the internal tuner and the ISFcc modes, etc. You could possibly go buy an external HD Tuner to hookup to your TV, so factor in that cost as well. Pioneer's internal video processor is one of its best features, so it would defeat your purposes to bypass it.

Maybe I should clarify. I've already got bluray, uverse, 360 with HDMI. The OTA HD antenna is just something else I've thought about trying due to it's relatively cheap cost. Almost more as a fun project to get it hooked up and see what it does. Definitely not in the plans right now, I just want to know if it's even do-able. Which I'm thinking it should be with a converter box hooked to the AVR.

My concern on the upconvert lies with the Wii, which is my only non HDMI source into the receiver. I had been debating the 919 and 1019 receiver, but had decided to get the 919 and let the tv do the upconverting of the Wii source. I wanted to make sure the 600m monitor would still do all of that the same as the tv would have.
eloon is offline  
post #476 of 7029 Old 07-27-2009, 06:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by eloon View Post

My real question/problem is that I can't figure out really what I'm giving up.

If you haven't read the KRP FAQ that's a good start.

Quote:


...I'm thinking there is also no upconverting features in the 600M

The native panel formats are 1080p/60 or 1080p/72. All 9G Kuros will accept a wide range of standard formats from 480i to 1080p/60 and reformat as necessary.
bodosom is offline  
post #477 of 7029 Old 07-27-2009, 06:22 AM
Member
 
eloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

If you haven't read the KRP FAQ that's a good start.

Thanks for putting that together. I have read it. More than once actually. Never claimed to be great at reading for content though. My questions were really around the features of the monitor, or lack thereof. This is as opposed to the ISFccc calibration, speakers, and stands that the FAQ covers in depth among other things.

Primarily I want to know what I'm sacrificing to get better PQ and bigger size, albeit for more money. If I have to spend $4k+ on a 141 or 151 then I'm likely going to go with the v10 for less than half. I was hoping that the 600m would be a good middle ground. Just trying to figure out what I'd be getting myself into, know what I mean? The monitor route just seems to be a different beast.
eloon is offline  
post #478 of 7029 Old 07-27-2009, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by eloon View Post

My questions were really around the features of the monitor, or lack thereof.

The Kuro comparison tables have a comprehensive listing of the differences.

Quote:


Primarily I want to know what I'm sacrificing to get better PQ and bigger size, albeit for more money.

I'm somewhat at a loss. I'm not aware of any significant difference between the Kuro monitors and Elites that isn't noted in the comparison or in the first section of the FAQ. Perhaps you could be more specific?

I think comparing Kuros to non-Kuros is an apples to oranges sort of thing and isn't fair to either party.
bodosom is offline  
post #479 of 7029 Old 07-27-2009, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cajieboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Posts: 4,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by eloon View Post

Thanks for putting that together. I have read it. More than once actually. Never claimed to be great at reading for content though. My questions were really around the features of the monitor, or lack thereof. This is as opposed to the ISFccc calibration, speakers, and stands that the FAQ covers in depth among other things.

Primarily I want to know what I'm sacrificing to get better PQ and bigger size, albeit for more money. If I have to spend $4k+ on a 141 or 151 then I'm likely going to go with the v10 for less than half. I was hoping that the 600m would be a good middle ground. Just trying to figure out what I'd be getting myself into, know what I mean? The monitor route just seems to be a different beast.

The 600M are a real deal in my books because you are able to get a 60" Pioneer Kuro for a lot less coin than their Elite cousin, the 141. Most people who buy a 60" display for their Home Theater, already own or plan to immediately own an HT AVR and speaker system. Therefore, you're saving a bundle by not having to include those features in a display that you probably would not use anyway. The 600M does have a little amp for playing those optional TV speakers should you want to use that option for news, etc. w/o having to turn on your AVR & HT speakers. You can buy the optional speakers from Pioneer, or go to Ebay, etc. to purchase the 151 speakers that some people have put on there at a reduced price. Hope this helps. Good luck.
cajieboy is offline  
post #480 of 7029 Old 07-27-2009, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kimwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barbados
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Everyone, i think eloon is asking probably the same question i asked. since the 600M has no internal tuner for TV, would running the cable box through an AV receiver solve the problem of showing cable TV???

cause this is exactly what i plan to do. I have a cable box currently (SD of course) with an antennae outside the house. i plan to hook the antennae up to the cable box, then from the cable box run composite cables to the AV receiver (Pioneer 919) and then run HDMI cable to the monitor (500M). would that solve the problem so i could get TV to show on the monitor?
Kimwyn is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off