The Official Pioneer 9G North American KRP-500M / KRP-600M Owner's Discussion Pt. II - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 7042 Old 07-11-2009, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amheck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrady3324 View Post

I have a tivo, xbox 360 and a ps3 all hooked up through a receiver. Currently when playing PS3 and Xbox games I have to switch the kuro to rgb (16-235) mode to get the correct black levels. Then when I switch back to the tivo, I have to switch the kuro back to auto mode.

Since all sources are hooked up to the receiver, it makes things a bit complicated. Anyone in a similar situation and has developed a workaround?

I wish you could assign the input mode (auto, ycc, rgb) to a resolution

I'm still learning about all of the settings and what they do, but tonite, when watching Entourage on HBO std definition, I noticed that the credits, which were black, were not very black. The black had a glow to it. Is this the same issue you are describing?

I believe I used the PS3 recommended settings, but think I may be running into the same issue, potentially having to switch settings when watching TV.

Can I harmony remote fix this issue?
amheck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 7042 Old 07-11-2009, 08:43 PM
Member
 
bellaroxio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

What exactly is the issue?

on the same wall, he has (4) 26" screens for his work. Whenever he is a conference call, he turns off the big screen

Then she should get him a 101 (or 141).

That is a wonderful thought. I will recommend your suggestion.
bellaroxio is offline  
post #33 of 7042 Old 07-11-2009, 08:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim McCune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Germantown, Md.
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm told there is an extensive discussion of the ps3 settings in the ps3 thread. I had some challenges myself.
Tim McCune is offline  
post #34 of 7042 Old 07-11-2009, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellaroxio View Post

That is a wonderful thought. I will recommend your suggestion.

Regard the on/off issue. My question is: Why do you think frequent on/off cycles are an issue or a problem?
bodosom is offline  
post #35 of 7042 Old 07-11-2009, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim McCune View Post

I'm told there is an extensive discussion of the ps3 settings in the ps3 thread.

There's a link to the video portion of the PS3 FAQ in the FAQ.

There's also a nice walk-through of format choices in the video chain in the Oppo BDP-83 FAQ.
bodosom is offline  
post #36 of 7042 Old 07-11-2009, 09:52 PM
Member
 
MICHAELSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How long do you guys think it will take until the KRP-500M is sold out everywhere? I've heard some resellers on the forum say that they'll run out during this month. I've really got to order mine tomorrow.

It seems like Pioneer will never be bested
MICHAELSD is offline  
post #37 of 7042 Old 07-11-2009, 10:15 PM
Member
 
Gtarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To Get Geared up for a KRP-600. We just got the Ekornes Granada 3 Seat High Back Tilting Sofa with Vanilla Leather and Blond Wood and the Salamander Low 12 inch High Quad in Black so we do not have to look at components.

Got to do it right and get stuff that lasts 10 Years+

Enjoy everyone

Quote:
Originally Posted by bellaroxio View Post

My next door neighbor came over to check out the Ekornes chairs. When she saw my 600M (not even calibrated!), she wanted one for her husband office. The issue is he turns on and off his TV over a dozen times a day (home-office).
Given this pattern, would you recommend the 600M, or which alternatives?
Sadly, his eyes or ears are not in the videophile and audiophile club. But his wife wants him to have the best. Thanks in advance.

Gtarr is offline  
post #38 of 7042 Old 07-11-2009, 10:39 PM
Member
 
(W)KRP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KRP-600 here. I'm starting day 2 of the 6-day evangelo2 DVD break-in. I just hope it won't harm my new-out-of-the-box Oppo BDP-83.

KRP diem [kahr-pe dee-em] Latin. seize the KRP; enjoy the present, as opposed to placing all hope in the future.
(W)KRP is offline  
post #39 of 7042 Old 07-11-2009, 11:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbrady3324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by amheck View Post

I'm still learning about all of the settings and what they do, but tonite, when watching Entourage on HBO std definition, I noticed that the credits, which were black, were not very black. The black had a glow to it. Is this the same issue you are describing?

I believe I used the PS3 recommended settings, but think I may be running into the same issue, potentially having to switch settings when watching TV.

Can I harmony remote fix this issue?

Is it possible to program a harmony remote to flip back and forth between RGB and Auto for input mode on the kuro?

Pioneer KRP-500m
Panasonic 65VT50
M&K LCR-750s Fronts and Center
M&K M-4T Surrounds
X-Rite i1pro
jbrady3324 is offline  
post #40 of 7042 Old 07-11-2009, 11:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
5150Joker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by (W)KRP View Post

KRP-600 here. I'm starting day 2 of the 6-day evangelo2 DVD break-in. I just hope it won't harm my new-out-of-the-box Oppo BDP-83.


Have you mounted yours already? My 500M is still sitting in it's styrofoam box since I'm waiting on my swivel mount to be delivered. Too bad a few vents are blocked off by styrofoam else I'd have started the break in process with the TV still in the box. I did plug it into my comcast HD box today to give it a test run and it looked great! Can't wait to get everything setup.
5150Joker is offline  
post #41 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 05:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
elite-home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MICHAELSD View Post

How long do you guys think it will take until the KRP-500M is sold out everywhere? I've heard some resellers on the forum say that they'll run out during this month. I've really got to order mine tomorrow.

Nobody could speculate or verify except the powers of Pioneer who know how much inventory is available nationwide. The key in retail is always supply vs. demand and recent events have created quite a demand for the 500m and 600m. I would be amazed if supply lasted only a month, really amazed as but weirder things have happened. Sometimes the hype is just that- HYPE!!!
elite-home is offline  
post #42 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 05:47 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
elite-home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrady3324 View Post

Is it possible to program a harmony remote to flip back and forth between RGB and Auto for input mode on the kuro?

I believe it is, you just have to go in a set up the special commands for the source setting you want it to transition to, you may also want to program a delay outside of your normal setup so the command registers with the TV. EX. Harmony One you press BluRay the input on the TV goes to Input 5, the AVR to DVD setting, and the Bluray player is powered on... you want to program an extra request to scroll the RGB setting to Auto. The problem is going to be when you transition back to another setting you have to rotate and program it once more to do so... I find it easier just to find the screen button under devices for TV and press it twice. sorry for the length and any confusion therein.
elite-home is offline  
post #43 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 07:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim McCune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Germantown, Md.
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

There's a link to the video portion of the PS3 FAQ in the FAQ.

There's also a nice walk-through of format choices in the video chain in the Oppo BDP-83 FAQ.

Nicely done.
Tim McCune is offline  
post #44 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 11:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbrady3324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by elite-home View Post

I believe it is, you just have to go in a set up the special commands for the source setting you want it to transition to, you may also want to program a delay outside of your normal setup so the command registers with the TV. EX. Harmony One you press BluRay the input on the TV goes to Input 5, the AVR to DVD setting, and the Bluray player is powered on... you want to program an extra request to scroll the RGB setting to Auto. The problem is going to be when you transition back to another setting you have to rotate and program it once more to do so... I find it easier just to find the screen button under devices for TV and press it twice. sorry for the length and any confusion therein.

Are you implying there is a "shortcut" to do this with the kuro remote?

Pioneer KRP-500m
Panasonic 65VT50
M&K LCR-750s Fronts and Center
M&K M-4T Surrounds
X-Rite i1pro
jbrady3324 is offline  
post #45 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 12:17 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
bodosom very nice FAQ! Thanks for the shot out too.
ROMAN O is offline  
post #46 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Pioneer lists discrete screen size changing commands for the "other" monitors. Does anyone have those commands working with a universal remote? I don't use them but if they work I'd like to get the codes.
bodosom is offline  
post #47 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 01:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
elite-home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrady3324 View Post

Are you implying there is a "shortcut" to do this with the kuro remote?

No, sorry read over the response you can go into the TV device section of your Harmony 1 and then click "menu" then scroll to inputs and change from there. Never have to pick up the Pioneer remote at all, just Harmony. FYI- the button at the lower right labeled "e" is basically the same as the select button on the Pioneer remote. Sorry for the miscommunication, no malice intended.
elite-home is offline  
post #48 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrady3324 View Post

I have a tivo, xbox 360 and a ps3 all hooked up through a receiver. Currently when playing PS3 and Xbox games I have to switch the kuro to rgb (16-235) mode to get the correct black levels. Then when I switch back to the tivo, I have to switch the kuro back to auto mode.

Try exactly this:

Device Setting
KRP HDMI Input Signal Type Auto
Xbox 360 (assume NXE update) HDMI Colorspace=RGB; Reference Level=Expanded (0-255)
PS3 Video Settings (BD) "Y Pb / Cb Pr / Cr"
PS3 Display Settings(Games) RGB Full (0-255)
Tivo Locked at YCbCr

In theory, games are RGB 0-255. If we set the Xbox and the PS3 to output game graphics in RGB 0-255, the KRP's Auto mode will always recognize RGB as RGB 0-255 - which would then be correct in this case. KRP's auto mode will also switch correctly to the Tivo's YCbCr output. And, since the PS3 is also a BD player which (theoretically) can be set separately from the Game ("Display") setting, the KRP should switch correctly to the PS3's BD YCbCr output.
jdbimmer is offline  
post #49 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 02:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbrady3324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by elite-home View Post

No, sorry read over the response you can go into the TV device section of your Harmony 1 and then click "menu" then scroll to inputs and change from there. Never have to pick up the Pioneer remote at all, just Harmony. FYI- the button at the lower right labeled "e" is basically the same as the select button on the Pioneer remote. Sorry for the miscommunication, no malice intended.

No problem at all. I appreciate the help. So, if I understand correctly, with the harmony I can program the remote to switch back and forth between auto and rgb (16-235)? Further, could I create a "game mode" with the harmony that will switch the kuro to full screen mode and rgb mode with a press of button? If the answer is yes, I will be purchasing a remote right away

Pioneer KRP-500m
Panasonic 65VT50
M&K LCR-750s Fronts and Center
M&K M-4T Surrounds
X-Rite i1pro
jbrady3324 is offline  
post #50 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 03:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
elite-home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrady3324 View Post

No problem at all. I appreciate the help. So, if I understand correctly, with the harmony I can program the remote to switch back and forth between auto and rgb (16-235)? Further, could I create a "game mode" with the harmony that will switch the kuro to full screen mode and rgb mode with a press of button? If the answer is yes, I will be purchasing a remote right away

You can program the Harmony to do these manually by you, not automatically. You might be able to program to switch to full screen but I do not believe you can alter the RGB settings without manual assistance. I will try and see what happens.
elite-home is offline  
post #51 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 06:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbrady3324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdbimmer View Post

Try exactly this:

Device Setting
KRP HDMI Input Signal Type Auto
Xbox 360 (assume NXE update) HDMI Colorspace=RGB; Reference Level=Expanded (0-255)
PS3 Video Settings (BD) "Y Pb / Cb Pr / Cr"
PS3 Display Settings(Games) RGB Full (0-255)
Tivo Locked at YCbCr

In theory, games are RGB 0-255. If we set the Xbox and the PS3 to output game graphics in RGB 0-255, the KRP's Auto mode will always recognize RGB as RGB 0-255 - which would then be correct in this case. KRP's auto mode will also switch correctly to the Tivo's YCbCr output. And, since the PS3 is also a BD player which (theoretically) can be set separately from the Game ("Display") setting, the KRP should switch correctly to the PS3's BD YCbCr output.

That is my current set up. With Xbox using RGB/expanded, I have to switch the Kuro to use RGB (16-235) to get the correct black levels. Should this not be the case?

Pioneer KRP-500m
Panasonic 65VT50
M&K LCR-750s Fronts and Center
M&K M-4T Surrounds
X-Rite i1pro
jbrady3324 is offline  
post #52 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrady3324 View Post

That is my current set up. With Xbox using RGB/expanded, I have to switch the Kuro to use RGB (16-235) to get the correct black levels. Should this not be the case?

That shouldn't be the case, but... Is the Xbox the only issue with this setup this way? Is it with games or do you have HD-DVD too? If everything else works accept Xbox, try the setting it first to RGB Intermediate. If that's not good, set it to YCbCr 709 too, and leave everything else they way I said earlier.
jdbimmer is offline  
post #53 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 07:18 PM
 
expresso712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5150Joker View Post

Have you mounted yours already? My 500M is still sitting in it's styrofoam box since I'm waiting on my swivel mount to be delivered. Too bad a few vents are blocked off by styrofoam else I'd have started the break in process with the TV still in the box. I did plug it into my comcast HD box today to give it a test run and it looked great! Can't wait to get everything setup.


what kind of swivel stand did you get ? can you PM the model of the stand etc. - where you got it and how much it cost you ?

thanks
expresso712 is offline  
post #54 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 07:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbrady3324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdbimmer View Post

That shouldn't be the case, but... Is the Xbox the only issue with this setup this way? Is it with games or do you have HD-DVD too? If everything else works accept Xbox, try the setting it first to RGB Intermediate. If that's not good, set it to YCbCr 709 too, and leave everything else they way I said earlier.

Yeah the Xbox game seems to be the issue ( not usng hd-dvd ). I have not played a game with the PS3 yet to see if it runs into the same issue. I thought the issue with the KRP is it cannot auto pick up RGB 0-255 signals correctly..

Pioneer KRP-500m
Panasonic 65VT50
M&K LCR-750s Fronts and Center
M&K M-4T Surrounds
X-Rite i1pro
jbrady3324 is offline  
post #55 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 08:22 PM
Member
 
(W)KRP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5150Joker View Post

Have you mounted yours already? My 500M is still sitting in it's styrofoam box since I'm waiting on my swivel mount to be delivered. Too bad a few vents are blocked off by styrofoam else I'd have started the break in process with the TV still in the box. I did plug it into my comcast HD box today to give it a test run and it looked great! Can't wait to get everything setup.

Hi Joker,

I have mine off the styrofoam (to get at the remote sensor) and on a carpeted floor in the bedroom, leaning back against a chair as the break-in runs. I have my wall mount boxed in the same room, but I won't put it on the wall until after the break-in. I'm using the shipping box to block the light and heat from my bed. It'll go in the adjacent room for an install. I'll also get a contractor to price an additional air duct to the room to compensate for all the heat that baby's putting out.

KRP diem [kahr-pe dee-em] Latin. seize the KRP; enjoy the present, as opposed to placing all hope in the future.
(W)KRP is offline  
post #56 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrady3324 View Post

Yeah the Xbox game seems to be the issue ( not usng hd-dvd ). I have not played a game with the PS3 yet to see if it runs into the same issue. I thought the issue with the KRP is it cannot auto pick up RGB 0-255 signals correctly..

That doesn't makes sense as that would mean that the Xbox Expand (0-255) ouput needs a display set to 16-235. Are you positive the XBox is set to Expanded? In any case, Game video levels are not the most stringently followed standards. If all your XBox games look wrong with the Xbox set at RGB Expanded (0-255) and the KRP set to Auto (RGB 0-255), then set the Xbox to YCrBr709 and it should all work.
jdbimmer is offline  
post #57 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 08:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbrady3324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdbimmer View Post

That doesn't makes sense as that would mean that the Xbox Expand (0-255) ouput needs a display set to 16-235. Are you positive the XBox is set to Expanded? In any case, Game video levels are not the most stringently followed standards. If all your XBox games look wrong with the Xbox set at RGB Expanded (0-255) and the KRP set to Auto (RGB 0-255), then set the Xbox to YCrBr709 and it should all work.

I know it is definitely set for Expanded. Halo 3 and Left 4 Dead both need the Kuro to be set on RGB 16-235. I'll take a look tomorrow. Hopefully I have overlooked something.

Do you own an Xbox?

Pioneer KRP-500m
Panasonic 65VT50
M&K LCR-750s Fronts and Center
M&K M-4T Surrounds
X-Rite i1pro
jbrady3324 is offline  
post #58 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 09:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
5150Joker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by expresso712 View Post

what kind of swivel stand did you get ? can you PM the model of the stand etc. - where you got it and how much it cost you ?

thanks


I purchased the Pioneer PDK-1012 swivel stand for $38 off eBay + $25 shipping. The guy was supposed to have shipped it on Monday and it should've been here by now so now I'm hoping it at least gets here by tomorrow.
5150Joker is offline  
post #59 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrady3324 View Post

I know it is definitely set for Expanded. Halo 3 and Left 4 Dead both need the Kuro to be set on RGB 16-235. I'll take a look tomorrow. Hopefully I have overlooked something.

Do you own an Xbox?

Yes, but mine is hooked up to another plasma display (Panasonic). Try the Xbox YCrBr setting, that has to work.
jdbimmer is offline  
post #60 of 7042 Old 07-12-2009, 11:58 PM
Newbie
 
tantowitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: KEFD
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Howdy... Long time listener second time caller....

I have two questions about my new KRP-500:

1. I am looking into the KRP-WM02 "Ultra Slim Profile Wall Mount". I'm curious if anyone is using this mount and if so does it allow sufficient air movement for proper cooling. Since it is designed by Pioneer I would "assume" they have researched this and it is a non-issue. Any opinions on this? Also the installation instructions show a safety wire used to prevent the display from falling even if it is pulled off the mount. Has anyone installed this backup safety cable? Where did you get the cable and wall hardware?

2. I want to protect my investment so I talked to a few engineer type people at work and one highly recommended buying an 'automatic voltage regulator & surge protector'. He recommended a specific unit that can handle a maximum output power capacity of 1200W. According to my calculations the KRP-500 has a power requirement of 396W. Is this correct? What are others using to protect their new toy? Thanks!
tantowitty is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off