The Official Pioneer 9G North American KRP-500M / KRP-600M Owner's Discussion Pt. II - Page 213 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6361 of 6991 Old 09-19-2011, 08:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
How many hours are on your 500M? Mine has almost 2000 hours. Have you activated the ISF modes on your display?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwasie View Post

my 500m is also October 2008 and I do not experience what you are seeing. D-nice is defintely right then.

Mac13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6362 of 6991 Old 09-20-2011, 07:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,930
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac13 View Post

D, if you are going to watch a movie which TV do you use? Or in other words what is your main HT TV or what are the uses of each TV? Just curious since you have so many great displays

Actoin movies are normally watched on the 141FD due to the sound system it is paired with. Everything else is played on all three and the chosen display depends on mood.
D-Nice is offline  
post #6363 of 6991 Old 09-20-2011, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mac13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Nice. I just didn't know which display was your favorite

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Actoin movies are normally watched on the 141FD due to the sound system it is paired with. Everything else is played on all three and the chosen display depends on mood.

Mac13 is offline  
post #6364 of 6991 Old 09-20-2011, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dlplover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have 2346 hours on my 500m post KuroControl ISF reset - so probably about 3500-4000 total. No red tinted blacks. But I'm very, very careful with my set.

I don't remember the build date and it's not convenient for me to detach it from the wall/stand just to check, but if I find somewhere that I wrote it down I'll post back.
dlplover is offline  
post #6365 of 6991 Old 09-20-2011, 12:28 PM
Member
 
michaeldelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I started to notice the red tint during blacks a couple of months ago on my 500m. Makes me sad

michaeldelo is offline  
post #6366 of 6991 Old 09-20-2011, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yep very sad. Looks like the famous Kuro has problems just like the rest of the displays. What MFR date is your display and how many hours are on it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldelo View Post

I think I started to notice the red tint during blacks a couple of months ago on my 500m. Makes me sad

Mac13 is offline  
post #6367 of 6991 Old 09-20-2011, 07:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sonyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint Louis. MO
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac13 View Post

Yep very sad. Looks like the famous Kuro has problems just like the rest of the displays. What MFR date is your display and how many hours are on it?

Checked mine this evening. I have a October 2008 build date. I probably have between 3-4,000 hours and no sign of red tint.
Sonyboy is online now  
post #6368 of 6991 Old 09-20-2011, 08:44 PM
Senior Member
 
powertoold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac13 View Post

Yep very sad. Looks like the famous Kuro has problems just like the rest of the displays. What MFR date is your display and how many hours are on it?

I don't think I have an Oct 2008 500m, but I do notice a slight red tint in my blacks in a dark environment with lots of blacks on screen. It's very slight, almost like an artifact of dithering.
powertoold is offline  
post #6369 of 6991 Old 09-20-2011, 09:56 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac13 View Post

Yep very sad. Looks like the famous Kuro has problems just like the rest of the displays. What MFR date is your display and how many hours are on it?

Not exactly news...most, if not all, of the 9G sets suffer from DSE (dirty screen effect), surmised (once again) to likely be due to uneven application of the antireflective screen.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #6370 of 6991 Old 09-20-2011, 10:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes but I think this reddish tint flaw is worse and is ranked up there with FBR and rising black levels...

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Not exactly news...most, if not all, of the 9G sets suffer from DSE (dirty screen effect), surmised (once again) to likely be due to uneven application of the antireflective screen.

Mac13 is offline  
post #6371 of 6991 Old 09-20-2011, 10:46 PM
Member
 
fastshasdow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I agree. It's on par with rising black levels. I too have the red tint problem on my 101fd that was manufactured april 2009. When I compare my red tinted 101fd side by side with my 111fd, its no contest. The 111fd now has the deeper black level. I hope there is a fix.
fastshasdow is offline  
post #6372 of 6991 Old 09-20-2011, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dlplover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastshasdow View Post

I agree. It's on par with rising black levels. I too have the red tint problem on my 101fd that was manufactured april 2009. When I compare my red tinted 101fd side by side with my 111fd, its no contest. The 111fd now has the deeper black level. I hope there is a fix.

Depends how many people have it. As far as I can tell, there's only a few on these forums who've experienced it while the vast majority don't have it. That's called individual set defects. Rising black levels in Panasonics were by design.

Did you try contacting Pioneer and seeing if they can repair it? Off-hand a red tint seems like a problem in one of the boards... unless part of the panel itself is prematurely aging and getting warmer as a result of being out of sync with whatever adjustments are normally supposed to be made. Alternatively, if the board responsible for the adjustments is bad, that could explain it as well.

Could also check for bad capacitors.
dlplover is offline  
post #6373 of 6991 Old 09-20-2011, 11:24 PM
Member
 
fastshasdow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes. I contacted pioneer, but they won't tell me anything because I'm having problems with my warranty. I need to sort some things out first. I'll update on what they find.
fastshasdow is offline  
post #6374 of 6991 Old 09-21-2011, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mac13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I contacted Pioneer and they were of no help and said they have never heard of the problem. Maybe they just don't have any documented cases so that is why. I know others have called in about it. My warranty is up also so that could be another reason why they weren't too helpful. I think they "searched" for previous cases of this and came up with nothing and then the lady told me a local repair place I should call. I never did call them though. Guess I should do that and see if they have heard of the problem.

I have also found a few other threads on other forums about this problem. There is one relating to a European model (lx5090). I am not sure if I can post a link to that forum but here it is (hopefully mods won't delete this as I think it is very important to the issue):

http://www.avforums.com/forums/pione...nt-blacks.html

On another note do you guys think we should start a thread dedicated to this so that other Kuro owners besides 500M/600M owners might see this and contribute to it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastshasdow View Post

Yes. I contacted pioneer, but they won't tell me anything because I'm having problems with my warranty. I need to sort some things out first. I'll update on what they find.

Mac13 is offline  
post #6375 of 6991 Old 09-21-2011, 06:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,930
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Not exactly news...most, if not all, of the 9G sets suffer from DSE (dirty screen effect), surmised (once again) to likely be due to uneven application of the antireflective screen.

IMO, I think the whole DSE phenomenon is nothing more than a video processing artifact as people claim to see it on many displays from plasma to led led.
D-Nice is offline  
post #6376 of 6991 Old 09-21-2011, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
p59teitel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Armpit of Cape Cod
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlplover View Post

Depends how many people have it. As far as I can tell, there's only a few on these forums who've experienced it while the vast majority don't have it.

Put me in the never experienced it camp for a 5080, 500M and 600M.

Is this something that people actually see while watching content, or just when staring at a blank screen?
p59teitel is offline  
post #6377 of 6991 Old 09-21-2011, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mac13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes it is mostly noticeable in the black bars in widescreen movies when you are watching in the complete darkness and the movie is kind of dark.

Quote:
Originally Posted by p59teitel View Post

Put me in the never experienced it camp for a 5080, 500M and 600M.

Is this something that people actually see while watching content, or just when staring at a blank screen?

Mac13 is offline  
post #6378 of 6991 Old 09-21-2011, 09:21 AM
Member
 
THANKGOD4PLASMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fountain, Colorado
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac13 View Post

I contacted Pioneer and they were of no help and said they have never heard of the problem. Maybe they just don't have any documented cases so that is why. I know others have called in about it. My warranty is up also so that could be another reason why they weren't too helpful. I think they "searched" for previous cases of this and came up with nothing and then the lady told me a local repair place I should call. I never did call them though. Guess I should do that and see if they have heard of the problem.

I have also found a few other threads on other forums about this problem. There is one relating to a European model (lx5090). I am not sure if I can post a link to that forum but here it is (hopefully mods won't delete this as I think it is very important to the issue):

http://www.avforums.com/forums/pione...nt-blacks.html

On another note do you guys think we should start a thread dedicated to this so that other Kuro owners besides 500M/600M owners might see this and contribute to it?

Yes Mac13, start a new thread. The more who get involved the faster we can get Pioneer to possibly do something, there is very good info in the link you provided, if they can fix it in Germany, they can fix it here. I'm still under warranty!
THANKGOD4PLASMA is offline  
post #6379 of 6991 Old 09-22-2011, 12:52 PM
Member
 
michaeldelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac13 View Post

Yep very sad. Looks like the famous Kuro has problems just like the rest of the displays. What MFR date is your display and how many hours are on it?

I'll try to find out when I get home.

michaeldelo is offline  
post #6380 of 6991 Old 09-22-2011, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just a heads up but I started a dedicated thread dealing with the red tint issue. Any of you that have commented on it in this thread feel free to head over there and add your comments in and vote in the poll!

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1361871

Quote:
Originally Posted by THANKGOD4PLASMA View Post

Yes Mac13, start a new thread. The more who get involved the faster we can get Pioneer to possibly do something, there is very good info in the link you provided, if they can fix it in Germany, they can fix it here. I'm still under warranty!

Mac13 is offline  
post #6381 of 6991 Old 09-22-2011, 06:32 PM
Member
 
CeeBoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too have the red tint issue, been on my set for about a year. I have the KRP-500M. I notice it when its dark in my room. I hope there's an easy solution as I still have yet to see a better display.....
CeeBoogie is online now  
post #6382 of 6991 Old 09-22-2011, 07:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Please go and vote in the poll on the thread I created dedicated to this issue

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1361871

Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeBoogie View Post

I too have the red tint issue, been on my set for about a year. I have the KRP-500M. I notice it when its dark in my room. I hope there's an easy solution as I still have yet to see a better display.....

Mac13 is offline  
post #6383 of 6991 Old 09-23-2011, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Hm now I have to see if I have this issue....Is this something blatantly visible, or is this something I have to search for in a dark shot?

I was looking at WOW Disney calibrating disc just last weekend, but I didn't notice anything odd.


Djoel
Djoel is offline  
post #6384 of 6991 Old 09-23-2011, 08:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You might want to read the other thread but usually this is hard to spot if there is any light in the room. You have to be watching in the complete darkness and it helps if you watch a movie with a dark scene and look at the bars at the top and bottom of the TV. You can also just put up a black screen and check but it needs to be completely dark to check for this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djoel View Post

Hm now I have to see if I have this issue....Is this something blatantly visible, or is this something I have to search for in a dark shot?

I was looking at WOW Disney calibrating disc just last weekend, but I didn't notice anything odd.


Djoel

Mac13 is offline  
post #6385 of 6991 Old 09-24-2011, 05:07 PM
Senior Member
 
William Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just to throw my 2 cents in, I have a KRP-600M purchased new in Aug 2009, and I have never observed any red tint. One other question: Does anyone know how this TV handles an incoming 720P signal via HDMI. I'm looking at an inexpensive converter from Cyberguys which takes either a composite, s-video or component input and scales the signal to 720p via its HDMi output? thanks.

William R. Moore
William Moore is offline  
post #6386 of 6991 Old 09-24-2011, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Moore View Post

Does anyone know how this TV handles an incoming 720P signal via HDMI.

I'm not sure what you're question is but the Kuro scaler is acceptable. Even on a 60" display you'd be hard pressed to distinguish a high quality 720p signal from 1080p. If you watch network television ABC and Fox broadcast HD in 720p.
bodosom is offline  
post #6387 of 6991 Old 09-25-2011, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AlanBuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Posts: 2,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

IMO, I think the whole DSE phenomenon is nothing more than a video processing artifact as people claim to see it on many displays from plasma to led led.

It's a screen defect on my 6020..the same old light and dark horizontal bands in the same places. (they don't change location) Vertical pans on HGTV and other shows with a solid color background look bad. Not very noticeable on horizontal pans at all. My old Panny 60u showed no such issues on the same material. There is no doubt in my mind that the phosphors are not evenly bright over the screen area, and/or the AR coating is uneven and causing this effect. ChadB calibrated mine last year and said he didn't know what DSE was either, but after I pointed it out he got it. I really find it the most irritating flaw on my set. The reddish blacks can at least be totally avoided by keeping some room lighting on. Seems every set whether plasma or LCD has SOME issue.
AlanBuck is offline  
post #6388 of 6991 Old 09-25-2011, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AlanBuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Posts: 2,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Moore View Post

Just to throw my 2 cents in, I have a KRP-600M purchased new in Aug 2009, and I have never observed any red tint. One other question: Does anyone know how this TV handles an incoming 720P signal via HDMI. I'm looking at an inexpensive converter from Cyberguys which takes either a composite, s-video or component input and scales the signal to 720p via its HDMi output? thanks.

Why not just let the tv do your upconverting? Or do you need you need inputs the tv does not offer? Or you could buy an AV receiver and run everything through it to your set via HDMI at native resolution and still let the tv do the conversion.
AlanBuck is offline  
post #6389 of 6991 Old 10-02-2011, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
William Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I haven't tried this converter yet. It's only $79 and has no picture controls of it own, so I'm not sure how effective it would be. In the meantime, I'm trying to get the best picture possible from the panel's composite input with my LD player using the "Movie" mode being calibrated with the LD version of Video Essentials; but here's the problem, there isn't any way to set the contrast using the disc, since it uses that "line bending" test pattern which was made to adjust a CRT display and not a plasma. And, to a certain extent, this also applies to the pluge pattern as well to adjust brightness. So, now I'm wanting to try the "Pure" picture mode, which has been professionally calibrated. Can I manually copy the settings from this mode, which is on one of the HDMI inputs, to the composite input without screwing something up? As far as I know, each picture mode, such as Pure or Standard, can be individually calibrated for each input, right? Any comments or suggestions? thanks!

William R. Moore
William Moore is offline  
post #6390 of 6991 Old 10-02-2011, 12:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ozymandis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Thurmont, Maryland
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

IMO, I think the whole DSE phenomenon is nothing more than a video processing artifact as people claim to see it on many displays from plasma to led led.

I had it on my Panasonic G10. I could see it on plain white screens so it's not likely a video processing artifact. I don't have it on my 500M though, nor is it on my brother's 8G Kuro.
Ozymandis is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off