The Official Pioneer 9G North American KRP-500M / KRP-600M Owner's Discussion Pt. II - Page 217 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6481 of 7057 Old 03-25-2012, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post

Not doing anything wrong. Its always been that way. I think thats why D-Nice recommends full.

You misunderstand something.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodosom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6482 of 7057 Old 03-25-2012, 10:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post

I don't know how some of you are using dot by dot. It leaves too much unused space either to the left or right. The picture is never even. Which i don't get why the kuro does this. I always use full. PQ is the same, you just get a litte overscan.

This will happen with Dot by Dot when setting the Orbiter to Mode 2. It is normal and can bring eliminated by switching the Orbiter to Mode 1.... but you loose the Orbiter function and run a higher risk of IR if you watch a lot of 1080 content that contain undesirable items like logos, tickers, black bars, etc.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

D-Nice is offline  
post #6483 of 7057 Old 03-25-2012, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
beagle five's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post

I don't know how some of you are using dot by dot. It leaves too much unused space either to the left or right. The picture is never even. Which i don't get why the kuro does this. I always use full. PQ is the same, you just get a litte overscan.

I am a pixelmapping freak, but 9g kuros is the only tv I found actually look better not pixelmapped! The depth seems better.
But pixelmapping do not mean that all pixels are used, the source might have a black line in the edge or other things you should not see.
So thats what you are seeing i think.
beagle five is offline  
post #6484 of 7057 Old 03-25-2012, 12:09 PM
Newbie
 
visualgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone recommend a service tech in the L.A. area that's had good success fixing Pioneer Plasmas? Obviously the red sparkles in one area of the screen are wrong. Thanks..
visualgeek is offline  
post #6485 of 7057 Old 03-25-2012, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,400
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

This will happen with Dot by Dot when setting the Orbiter to Mode 2. It is normal and can bring eliminated by switching the Orbiter to Mode 1.... but you loose the Orbiter function and run a higher risk of IR if you watch a lot of 1080 content that contain undesirable items like logos, tickers, black bars, etc.

Well crap, i forgot about the orbiter. Yes i did have it on mode 2. Put it back on mode 1 and dot by dot does have the full pixel mapping.

Forgive me guys, my mind is filled with other distractions these days.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beagle five View Post

I am a pixelmapping freak, but 9g kuros is the only tv I found actually look better not pixelmapped! The depth seems better.
But pixelmapping do not mean that all pixels are used, the source might have a black line in the edge or other things you should not see.
So thats what you are seeing i think.

Full makes the picture a tad bigger. Maby thats why you feel you get better depth. After using full for so long it's going to take me awhile to use to dot by dot again. Full scales the image only a couple inches, but it's something i notice.

And you're right, even with dot by dot, depending on the program, you still get a small unused portion of the screen.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #6486 of 7057 Old 03-25-2012, 05:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,809
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post

And you're right, even with dot by dot, depending on the program, you still get a small unused portion of the screen.

It's the aspect ratio of what ever source you're watching that makes the difference. Your screen has an aspect ratio of 1.777:1 (16x9). If the source you are watching has an aspect ratio greater than 1.777:1 you will see black bars top and bottom. If it's less than 1.777:1 the black bars will be on each side.

HDTV should be 1.777:1 and SDTV should be 1.33:1 but I wonder if there may be some minor variation from time to time given the nature of Live TV or the processing that filmed material goes through when it's broadcast.

EDIT: Obviously everywhere I wrote 1.66:1 it should have been 1.777:1, or rounded to 1.78:1.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
post #6487 of 7057 Old 03-25-2012, 06:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

It's the aspect ratio of what ever source you're watching that makes the difference. Your screen has an aspect ratio of 1.66:1 (16x9). If the source you are watching has an aspect ratio greater than 1.66:1 you will see black bars top and bottom. If it's less than 1.66:1 the black bars will be on each side.

HDTV should be 1.66:1 and SDTV should be 1.33:1 but I wonder if there may be some minor variation from time to time given the nature of Live TV or the processing that filmed material goes through when it's broadcast.

On point, but 16x9 equates to roughly 1.77:1


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

D-Nice is offline  
post #6488 of 7057 Old 03-25-2012, 06:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Magnus_CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

On point, but 16x9 equates to roughly 1.77:1

I was just about to post this. Lol.

When I used to buy DVD's I'd always get happy when I found a movie I wanted that was 1.78:1.
Magnus_CA is offline  
post #6489 of 7057 Old 03-25-2012, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Magnus_CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

It's the aspect ratio of what ever source you're watching that makes the difference. Your screen has an aspect ratio of 1.66:1 (16x9). If the source you are watching has an aspect ratio greater than 1.66:1 you will see black bars top and bottom. If it's less than 1.66:1 the black bars will be on each side.

HDTV should be 1.66:1 and SDTV should be 1.33:1 but I wonder if there may be some minor variation from time to time given the nature of Live TV or the processing that filmed material goes through when it's broadcast.

The director sometimes requests the film be shot 2.35:1 (huge black bars on top and bottom) but you're right, HDTV made for TV broadcasts is usually shot 1.78:1.
Magnus_CA is offline  
post #6490 of 7057 Old 03-25-2012, 09:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,809
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

On point, but 16x9 equates to roughly 1.77:1

Dumb brain typo.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
post #6491 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 07:41 AM
Member
 
mike kaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: asia
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
well here are the very late pictures of my kuro. Are the black levels on my Tv normal. this is on a totally dark room and i tried as much as possible to copy exactly what i saw on my screen

mike kaw is offline  
post #6492 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 07:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike kaw View Post

Are the black levels on my Tv normal.

No and they are red. Your panel is defective.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

D-Nice is offline  
post #6493 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Magnus_CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

No and they are red. Your panel is defective.

Four words every Kuro owner hopes they never have to hear.
Magnus_CA is offline  
post #6494 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
May just be glare from the camera itself. The image is obviously clipped, also.
Andy o is offline  
post #6495 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 06:47 PM
Member
 
mike kaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: asia
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

No and they are red. Your panel is defective.

thank you d-nice. Thanks to the forums, i wouldn't know how to describe this problem to the technician. This confirms my suspcion that there was somethingwrong with my TVs black levels.

Is this the fabled red tint defect?
I hate it that i have only a week of warranty left.
mike kaw is offline  
post #6496 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Walternate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

No and they are red. Your panel is defective.

Hmm, it is April 1st. ??
Walternate is offline  
post #6497 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 07:04 PM
Member
 
mike kaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: asia
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walternate View Post

Hmm, it is April 1st. ??

LOL. that better be not an april fools joke because my warranty is almost up
mike kaw is offline  
post #6498 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 07:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walternate View Post

Hmm, it is April 1st. ??

I don't participate in such foolish items.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

D-Nice is offline  
post #6499 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 07:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike kaw View Post

LOL. i hope he was joking...

I was not joking


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

D-Nice is offline  
post #6500 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 07:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike kaw View Post

Is this the fabled red tint defect?

Yes. Please do not do what others with your situation have done with red tinted panels (I'm speaking of resetting your panel).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

D-Nice is offline  
post #6501 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 07:44 PM
Member
 
mike kaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: asia
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Yes. Please do not do what others with your situation have done with red tinted panels (I'm speaking of resetting your panel).

I wont. I'll make sure they wont screw me over iwtha stupid vol reset thing. then again official pioneer service in my country is pretty shoddy at best.
mike kaw is offline  
post #6502 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 07:46 PM
Member
 
mike kaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: asia
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
so what could possibly happen if i reset the panel?
mike kaw is offline  
post #6503 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 07:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike kaw View Post

so what could possibly happen if i reset the panel?

What do you think would happen? I'm not warning you not to do just for kicks. If you value your display, DON'T DO IT!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

D-Nice is offline  
post #6504 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 08:08 PM
Member
 
mike kaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: asia
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
can't say no to the foremost authority in plasma TV calibration.
mike kaw is offline  
post #6505 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 08:28 PM
Member
 
lilnape2604's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike kaw View Post



What should this image look like if displayed correctly... Just white letters with no red glow? My 500M had a red tint, however my 101 does not. The red tint I experienced was never that extreme and was only located on the right side of the screen. I dont think I have ever seen anything like that and do not believe that is the red tint problem people have been complaining about.
lilnape2604 is offline  
post #6506 of 7057 Old 04-01-2012, 09:09 PM
Member
 
mike kaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: asia
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
no the pioneer logo is solid RED and that faint glow on it does not exist. Its my camera that's making it glow. ignore the logo.

My issue is the "black" that's around the logo, which to me looks like blue purple. I tried as much as possible to replicate what i'm seeing.

Its only noticeable when its really dark.
mike kaw is offline  
post #6507 of 7057 Old 04-02-2012, 02:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stu03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kingdom of Fife, Scotland.
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike kaw View Post

no the pioneer logo is solid RED and that faint glow on it does not exist. Its my camera that's making it glow. ignore the logo.

My issue is the "black" that's around the logo, which to me looks like blue purple. I tried as much as possible to replicate what i'm seeing.

Its only noticeable when its really dark.

Is your screen isf'd ?, if not maybe try that
Stu03 is offline  
post #6508 of 7057 Old 04-02-2012, 05:45 AM
Member
 
1forsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike kaw View Post

no the pioneer logo is solid RED and that faint glow on it does not exist. Its my camera that's making it glow. ignore the logo.

My issue is the "black" that's around the logo, which to me looks like blue purple. I tried as much as possible to replicate what i'm seeing.

Its only noticeable when its really dark.

IMO...if your pioneer logo IS solid red like the pic shows, then i think a call to pioneer techs is needed. that logo should be white.
if your blacks are a blue purple, that might be the IR coating you are seeing and probably ok. the kuro does have a slight glow at night when showing content like this, its not pure black.
1forsnow is online now  
post #6509 of 7057 Old 04-02-2012, 07:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1forsnow View Post

IMO...if your pioneer logo IS solid red like the pic shows, then i think a call to pioneer techs is needed. that logo should be white.

Different regions have different colored logos. Where he resides, the logo on some Pioneer products is red.


Quote:


if your blacks are a blue purple, that might be the IR coating you are seeing and probably ok. the kuro does have a slight glow at night when showing content like this, its not pure black.

I've viewed his image on calibrated monitors. If that image is representive of what his display is actually doing, it is the true red tint problem and he needs to call Pioneer.

As I said in the Red Tint thread 95% of invidivuals claiming they have red tint actually do not. This individual does if his picture is acurate.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

D-Nice is offline  
post #6510 of 7057 Old 04-03-2012, 06:40 AM
Member
 
mike kaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: asia
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I forgot to mention this but my TV is a krp500A, its uses a similar panel to the M.

Got rid of the pioneer logo as it distracts from the problem and so i took new photos of my TV

This ones cropped to fit the forums:

These files are full sized, expect them to take a while to load:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...t/P1020218.jpg
this one with a white pioneer logo:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...t/P1020214.jpg
so its not really read but dark gray, not black with a hint of purple. Maybe my Tv isn't suffering from red tint?
these pictures were taken by my Panasonic LX5.
mike kaw is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off