The Official Pioneer 9G North American KRP-500M / KRP-600M Owner's Discussion Pt. II - Page 49 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 7070 Old 08-29-2009, 08:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
5150Joker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimwyn View Post

OMG!!!! there is another one that just came up...this time a blue one.....NO NO NO, this cant be happening to me....please not now. i need some help any ideas????

OK OK OK, now there are just coming up all over the TV.....SMH i cant believe this.

My orbiter is always set to off, should i turn it on? would that help?


Why would you set your orbiter off? I always keep mine on mode 2. If they're coming up all over then it's probably the video source rather than the TV.
5150Joker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 7070 Old 08-29-2009, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kimwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barbados
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
no, its the TV cause when i just turned on the TV with no source an ran the video pattern they were there.....

I will turn my orbiter on though and keep it to mode 2. is that the best setting for it?
Kimwyn is offline  
post #1443 of 7070 Old 08-29-2009, 08:49 PM
Member
 
MrLucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifisponge View Post

The display settings are linked to the signal type (480i/480P/720P/1080i/1080P), so you will have to adjust the settings for each one, even if they are on the same input.

Hey, thanks, Tim. I didn't think I was viewing source other than 1080p when I noticed that. I'll keep book on it for a couple days and report, just to be sure.
MrLucky is offline  
post #1444 of 7070 Old 08-29-2009, 10:40 PM
Member
 
spiderjericho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlenH View Post

You should immediately power it on now while it's in the box to make sure there are no cracks and the TV works. Don't wait. Do it now.

I powered it on and played KOFXII and SFIV on Xbox 360 to test it. I also took the flashlight to the screen to inspect it. It looks in great condition, except from the dust that is inherent with being in the desert.

I'm more concerned about my poor stand. The picture looks very sharp. And I guess the black color is a 'lil darker (lil). But admittedly, I haven't really gotten a chance to really test drive it and don't have a way to really test everything, since the inputs are limited.

I'm going to get the VSX23 and use it as the aggregate (Except for the PS3 directly connecting to it).

I'm going to hook the speakers to it. I'll take some pics (though I'm sure you guys have seen plenty of pics).
spiderjericho is offline  
post #1445 of 7070 Old 08-29-2009, 11:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,394
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimwyn View Post

I will turn my orbiter on though and keep it to mode 2. is that the best setting for it?

It depends but using or not using the orbiter doesn't cause or cure bad pixels.
bodosom is offline  
post #1446 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 03:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Michaelmorio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need your help.

Which, the 500M or the Elite 111FD, is brighter once ISF calibrated by ControlCAL in ISF Day mode?

I heard the 500M gets even darker than the 111FD. Is that true?

I currently have an 111FD with ISF mode activated by the ControlCAL. Is there any draw back to switch to a 500M? I don't need speakers, a tuner and a stand.

Thank you.

Michaelmorio
Michaelmorio is offline  
post #1447 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
luvnhateSony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They're both capable of reaching the same peak brightness with the ISF modes and the 500M will give you improved black levels over the 111FD.
luvnhateSony is offline  
post #1448 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
aross99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderjericho View Post

...I'm more concerned about my poor stand. ...

How badly did it get damaged?

Here is a link to the parts page for the KRP-TS02 at Pioneer, but it looks like the cover is out of stock (assuming that is what was damaged):

http://parts.pioneerelectronics.com/...delNum=KRPTS02

There are some other stands that fit on the KRP-500M (PDK-TS23?) that people have found on Ebay...
aross99 is offline  
post #1449 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kimwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barbados
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The stuck pixels are still there are seem not to be moving....this is ridiculous.
Kimwyn is offline  
post #1450 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 11:31 AM
Member
 
spiderjericho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aross99 View Post

How badly did it get damaged?

Here is a link to the parts page for the KRP-TS02 at Pioneer, but it looks like the cover is out of stock (assuming that is what was damaged):

http://parts.pioneerelectronics.com/...delNum=KRPTS02

There are some other stands that fit on the KRP-500M (PDK-TS23?) that people have found on Ebay...

Oh my not the monitor's stand but my entertainment stand. I'm going to run the break in disc and get it up and running then apply the D-Man's settings.
spiderjericho is offline  
post #1451 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
arunkandra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: new jersey
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DECIDING BTWN 500M AND 600M


I was wondering if anyone could give me a suggestion btwn 500M vs 600M... I already have the 151FD which I am very happy with...but I want to get one more TV now for living room. I see the 500 M is 1000$ cheaper in many places....but I also see that 500M is better than 600M....making this even more difficult to decide...PERSONALLY i like 600m b/c it has bigger screen

One thing that could influence my decision is.......3-4 yrs from now is there any other company which can make plasma/LCD which is as good or better than the 500M.... if so I might just buy 2 500M`s which I can get for a few hundreds over the price of the 600M....and then wait for my next upgrade in 4-5 yrs

any suggestions would be appreciated
arunkandra is offline  
post #1452 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hhaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by arunkandra View Post

DECIDING BTWN 500M AND 600M


I was wondering if anyone could give me a suggestion btwn 500M vs 600M... I already have the 151FD which I am very happy with...but I want to get one more TV now for living room. I see the 500 M is 1000$ cheaper in many places....but I also see that 500M is better than 600M....making this even more difficult to decide...

One thing that could influence my decision is.......3-4 yrs from now is there any other company which can make plasma/LCD which is as good or better than the 500M.... if so I might just buy 2 500M`s which I can get for a few hundreds over the price of the 600M....and then wait for my next upgrade in 4-5 yrs

any suggestions would be appreciated

In terms of performance, someone will inevitably make something that can equal the 500M, but you can bet that you will be paying much more for it.
hhaller is offline  
post #1453 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifisponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 7,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by arunkandra View Post

DECIDING BTWN 500M AND 600M


I was wondering if anyone could give me a suggestion btwn 500M vs 600M... I already have the 151FD which I am very happy with...but I want to get one more TV now for living room. I see the 500 M is 1000$ cheaper in many places....but I also see that 500M is better than 600M....making this even more difficult to decide...PERSONALLY i like 600m b/c it has bigger screen

One thing that could influence my decision is.......3-4 yrs from now is there any other company which can make plasma/LCD which is as good or better than the 500M.... if so I might just buy 2 500M`s which I can get for a few hundreds over the price of the 600M....and then wait for my next upgrade in 4-5 yrs

any suggestions would be appreciated

Unless you know of a dealer that has the 600M in stock, the word on the street is that they are no longer being shipped to distributors, so your decision may be easier than you think.
hifisponge is offline  
post #1454 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 03:08 PM
Member
 
lojack1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, no one has the 600M on Ebay right now and a quick google search shows only a couple of sellers with them in stock. It looks like Butterfly Photo is your best bet. I don't know much about the company though so you may want to check them out a little more thoroughly. There are still plenty of 500M's around though...for how long who knows.
lojack1976 is offline  
post #1455 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
arunkandra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: new jersey
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lojack1976 View Post

Yeah, no one has the 600M on Ebay right now and a quick google search shows only a couple of sellers with them in stock. It looks like Butterfly Photo is your best bet. I don't know much about the company though so you may want to check them out a little more thoroughly. There are still plenty of 500M's around though...for how long who knows.

I have found 600M on atleast 2 reliable BBB rated dealers.....but I am still not able to make a decision....
arunkandra is offline  
post #1456 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 03:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
elite-home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are plenty of stock for the 600m, not sure where all that is coming from- I do know what is out there is what will be out there- shipments are over for new supply.
elite-home is offline  
post #1457 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Michaelmorio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by luvnhateSony View Post

They're both capable of reaching the same peak brightness with the ISF modes and the 500M will give you improved black levels over the 111FD.


LuvnhateSony,

Thank you for youre comment.
OK, then is there any advantage with the KRP500M in any other area than blacks such as color depth? Do you know good articles or threads/posts to read?

Thank you.

Michaelmorio
Michaelmorio is offline  
post #1458 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 06:38 PM
Newbie
 
trackstar55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What remote are most of you using for your 500m?

I am considering buying a 500M over the Panasonic V10. I don't mind that there is no stand as I plan to wall mount it and have already researched the surround sound I plan I using.

I just need a TV remote or did I miss something?
trackstar55 is offline  
post #1459 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hhaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Just got my 500M up and running. This is my 4th plasma panel in the last several years, and it seems that at long last, I've finally got a buzzer. Now I know what everyone is talking about. Bummer.
hhaller is offline  
post #1460 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 07:21 PM
Newbie
 
JD575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a newbie to plasmas and I have gleamed great info from these threads. So I finally pulled the trigger on a 600m, but I am a little confused about the setup of the video modes. Do owners/calibrators recommend keeping the TV on Pure Mode for all inputs? I also bought an Oppo 83 and a Denon 2310. Both use the Anchor Bay 2010.

Do cable SD signals work well if they are up converted through the receiver in this mode?

Also should I run the break-in disk prior to calibration by a ISF certified tech??
JD575 is offline  
post #1461 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
 
aross99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by trackstar55 View Post

What remote are most of you using for your 500m?

I am considering buying a 500M over the Panasonic V10. I don't mind that there is no stand as I plan to wall mount it and have already researched the surround sound I plan I using.

I just need a TV remote or did I miss something?

The KRP-500M does come with a remote. You only need an additional remote if you want a universal remote or something...
aross99 is offline  
post #1462 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
aross99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD575 View Post

I am a newbie to plasmas and I have gleamed great info from these threads. So I finally pulled the trigger on a 600m, but I am a little confused about the setup of the video modes. Do owners/calibrators recommend keeping the TV on Pure Mode for all inputs? I also bought an Oppo 83 and a Denon 2310. Both use the Anchor Bay 2010.

Do cable SD signals work well if they are up converted through the receiver in this mode?

Also should I run the break-in disk prior to calibration by a ISF certified tech??

If you are going to have your set calibrated, it is recommended that you let the set break in for 150 hours or so. The panels performance changes slightly over this time, so you don't want to have it calibrated until it has "settled in".

The purpose of D-Nine's specific break in procedure is so that you can use his settings without having it calibrated. This does not take into consideration manufacturing differences between units of the same model. For many people, this is not an issue and they are very happy with the D-nice settings after his break in.

If you are going to have the set calibrated, than you can run whatever break in procedure you want (ie watching full screen materiel for 150 hours, etc), and then calling your calibrater.

As far as the video modes, I would encourage you to look at all of them, and try some of the recommended settings and see what you think. Pure mode is the most accurate. Only you can tell if this "most accurate" picture is what you want.

Some people feel Pure is "dim". It is definitely dimmer than the other modes, but that is because it is designed to be viewed in a "light controlled environment". I have MANY windows in my viewing area, so I just cranked up the brightness a bit. For me this works great.

If you are going to have the set calibrated, I would activate the ISF modes and get the best performance you can from the panel. If you are not going to have it calibrated, than I would see how you like the different modes, and then see if you want to activate the ISF modes.
aross99 is offline  
post #1463 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kimwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barbados
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Does anyone in here have (or have had) stuck pixels on their panel? i just want to know what you did or did they go away after a while?
Kimwyn is offline  
post #1464 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 08:23 PM
Member
 
GP1890's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rochester New York
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
hi, i just got my new krp600m and i am watching football tonight and i notice the colors is int so bright why when i go to my samsung what a different my samsung looks better then my 600m.
GP1890 is offline  
post #1465 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,394
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD575 View Post

So I finally pulled the trigger on a 600m

Welcome to AVS and the Kuro family.

Quote:
but I am a little confused about the setup of the video modes. Do owners/calibrators recommend keeping the TV on Pure Mode for all inputs?

Pure and ISFccc modes can be accurately calibrated. If that's your goal then you'll want to use those modes. That said calibration is primarily for DVD or BD sources which are made to the same standards. Television is more variable.

Quote:
Do cable SD signals work well if they are up converted through the receiver in this mode?

The AV mode doesn't have a lot do with the quality of SD programming. It's simply difficult to get a good image on large displays.

Quote:
Also should I run the break-in disk prior to calibration by a ISF certified tech??

The D-Nice break-in process is not intended for displays that are going to be calibrated so you should contact the calibrator for pre-calibration guidelines.You will certainly want a calibrator with Kuro experience. Turbe maintains a list and there's a link in the KRP FAQ.
bodosom is offline  
post #1466 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifisponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 7,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GP1890 View Post

hi, i just got my new krp600m and i am watching football tonight and i notice the colors is int so bright why when i go to my samsung what a different my samsung looks better then my 600m.

Try adjusting the color control up to +5 or +6. This seems to be the most common setting for 600M owners.
hifisponge is offline  
post #1467 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 10:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hhaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Question for the folks with buzzers:

Has the buzzing diminished any over time? I'm hearing something just turning on my panel, no audio hooked up yet. Energy Save 2 does help, but I can still hear a buzz from about 9-10' away. I'm sure the acoustics in the room don't help, but I hope I can find a better workaround.
hhaller is offline  
post #1468 of 7070 Old 08-30-2009, 10:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
p59teitel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Armpit of Cape Cod
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GP1890 View Post

hi, i just got my new krp600m and i am watching football tonight and i notice the colors is int so bright why when i go to my samsung what a different my samsung looks better then my 600m.

Try these settings on your 600M. They should be plenty bright for evening viewing.
p59teitel is offline  
post #1469 of 7070 Old 08-31-2009, 12:56 AM
Member
 
kevinlau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey,

I noticed Pioneer has a new PDP part (AWU1379) for their 60" KURO.
It is not AWU1347 anymore.

Link: http://parts.pioneerelectronics.com/...uctNum=AWU1347

Then click on 'Substitute'.

Their 50" 500M and 101FD PDP part is (AWU1378).

Could this be a newer 60" PDP unit with 10G tech, just like the KRP-500M ??
Could the latest batch of KRP-600M has this PDP part in it ??

Does anyone know ??? Can anyone with inside info find out ?

I am very curious....


Regard,
KL
kevinlau is offline  
post #1470 of 7070 Old 08-31-2009, 03:34 AM
Member
 
kevinlau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aross99 View Post

If you are going to have your set calibrated, it is recommended that you let the set break in for 150 hours or so. The panels performance changes slightly over this time, so you don't want to have it calibrated until it has "settled in".

The purpose of D-Nine's specific break in procedure is so that you can use his settings without having it calibrated. This does not take into consideration manufacturing differences between units of the same model. For many people, this is not an issue and they are very happy with the D-nice settings after his break in.

If you are going to have the set calibrated, than you can run whatever break in procedure you want (ie watching full screen materiel for 150 hours, etc), and then calling your calibrater.

As far as the video modes, I would encourage you to look at all of them, and try some of the recommended settings and see what you think. Pure mode is the most accurate. Only you can tell if this "most accurate" picture is what you want.

Some people feel Pure is "dim". It is definitely dimmer than the other modes, but that is because it is designed to be viewed in a "light controlled environment". I have MANY windows in my viewing area, so I just cranked up the brightness a bit. For me this works great.

If you are going to have the set calibrated, I would activate the ISF modes and get the best performance you can from the panel. If you are not going to have it calibrated, than I would see how you like the different modes, and then see if you want to activate the ISF modes.

How do you activate the ISF modes for 500M ??
kevinlau is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off