The Official Pioneer 9G North American KRP-500M / KRP-600M Owner's Discussion Pt. II - Page 53 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2009, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
venkatesh_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:

Whoa! 46ftL on a 600M with no major clipping observed! That's more like it!

Thanks elite-home!
venkatesh_m is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2009, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
colonel7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

No.

I just found a picture of the TS-02 stand and it differs from the TS-23 stand. The larger holes on the TS-02 stand are in the back, while the larger holes on the TS-23 which I have are in the front. Are you sure that I cant put the 500M on the stand facing either way with the TS-23?

http://www.pioneer.eu/images/product...main_large.jpg TS-02

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=260462163093 TS-23
colonel7 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,395
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by colonel7 View Post

I just found a picture of the TS-02 stand and it differs from the TS-23 stand.

I'm prone to giving short answers to questions that are answered via the FAQ. If you click on the TS02/TS23 links you should notice that they look dramatically different. The TS02 goes in the stand pockets and uses the stand mount point and the lower wall mounting point. The TS23 mounts on the back of the panel and uses the lower and middle wall mount points. While you could get longer M8 bolts and mount the TS23 "backwards" it wouldn't engage properly and more importantly the panel would immediately fall over unless it was anchored by the upper wall mount points.
bodosom is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 10:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
p59teitel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Armpit of Cape Cod
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by colonel7 View Post

Are you sure that I cant put the 500M on the stand facing either way with the TS-23?

In addition to the issue with the holes, when correctly installed the legs are set 2/3 of the way back on the TS23 bottom, and it is perfectly balanced. I bet that if you reversed the stand you'd throw the balance off and your 500M would fall over on its face with not much more than a nudge.
p59teitel is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Irwinroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by p59teitel View Post

In addition to the issue with the holes, when correctly installed the legs are set 2/3 of the way back on the TS23 bottom, and it is perfectly balanced. I bet that if you reversed the stand you'd throw the balance off and your 500M would fall over on its face with not much more than a nudge.

Will the TS23 work on a 101?

Looking at the FAQ Yes it will
Irwinroad is online now  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:23 AM
Newbie
 
blade2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I mount the 500m on a TV stand with Universal TV mounting bracket ( VESA 200 mm x 400 mm compatible) ? And where is the Pioneer 500m manufactured? I want to buy it in the States and bring it down to Canada but do not want to pay duties.

Can somebody elaborate the PQ on the 500m with 420P SD material and normal DVD watching?
blade2008 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 07:16 AM
Member
 
PrISM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm just posting because I am now an offical owner of a KRP-500M!
PrISM is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,395
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrISM View Post

I'm just posting because I am now an offical owner of a KRP-500M!

Congratulations.
bodosom is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
p59teitel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Armpit of Cape Cod
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade2008 View Post

Can somebody elaborate the PQ on the 500m with 420P SD material and normal DVD watching?

I assume you mean 480p (or 480i) material.

DVDs can look spectacular, especially if they were transferred well and are played in a superior player like an Oppo.

As for broadcast material, it's a mixed bag depending on the quality of the material provided - some looks pretty good, and some looks quite poor.
p59teitel is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade2008 View Post

Can I mount the 500m on a TV stand with Universal TV mounting bracket ( VESA 200 mm x 400 mm compatible) ? And where is the Pioneer 500m manufactured? I want to buy it in the States and bring it down to Canada but do not want to pay duties.....

the panel is from Japan and other parts are all shipped to California for the US models. On the box it says assembled in the USA.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrISM View Post

I'm just posting because I am now an offical owner of a KRP-500M!

Nice! Sept 19th I take delivery. Just got to make sure my girlfriend is away for a few hours. For some reason she doesn't understand the concept of buying a new TV every six months.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 08:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrted46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

Nice! Sept 19th I take delivery. Just got to make sure my girlfriend is away for a few hours. For some reason she doesn't understand the concept of buying a new TV every six months.

Does shipping usually take that long?
mrted46 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrted46 View Post

Does shipping usually take that long?

The reason I'm waiting so long is that V.E. is shipping to several customers in my area on that day.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 08:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
dallows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

The reason I'm waiting so long is that V.E. is shipping to several customers in my area on that day.

Where did you buy from?
dallows is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by dallows View Post

Where did you buy from?

Value Electronics

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
amheck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

Value Electronics

Is he shipping these? Is it a 500M? Robert told me he was not shipping any 600M's.
amheck is online now  
Old 09-02-2009, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
500M shipped.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hhaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Has anyone with a buzzer tried patching/calibrating the ISF modes in Energy Save 2?

I'm assuming that if you did this, you wouldn't be able to hit the 50+ ftl range in ISF Day?
hhaller is online now  
Old 09-02-2009, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
colonel7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

I'm prone to giving short answers to questions that are answered via the FAQ. If you click on the TS02/TS23 links you should notice that they look dramatically different. The TS02 goes in the stand pockets and uses the stand mount point and the lower wall mounting point. The TS23 mounts on the back of the panel and uses the lower and middle wall mount points. While you could get longer M8 bolts and mount the TS23 "backwards" it wouldn't engage properly and more importantly the panel would immediately fall over unless it was anchored by the upper wall mount points.

Thanks for clearing that up. That makes sense now. I hadn't see anywhere before where it was said the TS23 mounts on the back not in the standard holes like the TS02. Sorry if I missed that in my search.
colonel7 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 11:08 AM
Member
 
carftopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hhaller View Post

Has anyone with a buzzer tried patching/calibrating the ISF modes in Energy Save 2?

I'm assuming that if you did this, you wouldn't be able to hit the 50+ ftl range in ISF Day?

In addition to peak light output, I think there is an issue with obtaining a flat gamma curve (or some other aspect of picture quality) and using Energy Save 2. I believe that is why most sets are calibrated to Energy Save Off/Standard.

Someone please elaborate or correct me if I am wrong.
carftopher is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 11:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Thank you for the kind words. Enjoy your panels
Quote:
Originally Posted by elite-home View Post

Disclaimer: I have tried very hard to maintain consistency in both my opinions and my postings and at times the written word does not tend to offer the best clarification of a statement and/or comment. I write this because:

Last night I had D-Nice over to my home and after some last minute adjustments, Turbe worked over time to help us upgrade my panels to the highest possible settings available (P-ISF?). The results were jaw-dropping an ah inspiring for me and even my wife. The calibration upgrade of the 500m and 600m were absolutely the best investment I have made ever since I made the purchase of them several months ago.

We tend to give credence to "professionals" whom try hard to impress their opinion on others and in turn sometimes they do so for personal gain and/or competitive degrading. I am guilty of stepping outside my comfort and believing information provided to me when in reality I should have simply stuck with my gut and believe the experts I invited to my home- in addition to my own eyes.

The upgrade of the 600m was first and the results were amazing as the POP on the screen was completely noticeable on both the Day and Night settings... I have always been leery of the benefits of any upgrade- NO LONGER. I can not wait to leave work early and get some viewing time in with my family, even my wife called today to tell me she saw a huge difference in the day settings over the previous Pure.

D-Nice arrived around 8pm and finished the 600 by around 10:30pm or so. I then watched parts of Underworld, Cars, WALL-E, and then I watched all of Underworld: Evolution while he worked on the 500, the pop and the sizzle of the 600 picture made me feel like I was watching it for the first time (after watching it over 200 times minimum), my wife and I are vamp fans and Underworld is our all-time fave.

The 500m he finished around 1am and we moved it back into my MBR and once D left and I grabbed a snack and got ready for bed, I popped in Evolution once more to compare after watching it on the 600 and low and behold I didn't go to bed until after 2am because the 500 was so beautiful and inspiring that I now BELIEVE the panel is and always will be the one panel who rules them ALL- Hands down. Right it down, document it, I will sign a waiver stating I was WRONG WRONG WRONG... the 500m is and was the best of the best. The black was phenomenal and simply breath-taking. I can't gush enough... sorry for strangling the forum but I wanted to express my thoughts about the upgrade, D-Nice, Turbe and the experience in general- rest assured I have no regrets except questioning those whom know these panels better than anyone. Bravo to each of you.

D-Nice is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 05:15 PM
Member
 
rmach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hhaller View Post

I guess you could try Monitor Outlet, though it's a matter of debate as to whether they are an "authorized" dealer or not--or if that even really matters.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleeve View Post

best buy pcs also is selling the 600m at a good price, and they're pretty reputable.



Thanks
rmach is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 07:00 PM
Member
 
miky702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
forget my post
miky702 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 09:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,867
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by miky702 View Post

forget my post

If you have a post that you want to forget just use the "edit" button associated with it and click "delete".
htwaits is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 01:46 AM
Member
 
DARQMAGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Maybe I oughta hire D-Nice to calibrate my 500M so I can see what all the hubbub is about...
DARQMAGE is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 02:49 AM
Senior Member
 
venkatesh_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Just inspected the glass on my 600M an hour ago. Since my place is not ready for another month, could only check that then left it at the store.

On my box it says MFG - June2009...

Sigh, another month before I can fire up this baby...
venkatesh_m is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 06:41 AM
Member
 
Treyster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How big of a difference does it make if a calibration is not performed in the exact environment where the panel will be used?
Treyster is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 07:11 AM
Member
 
cleeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treyster View Post

How big of a difference does it make if a calibration is not performed in the exact environment where the panel will be used?

I was wondering the same thing. It'd be awfully annoying to have my set calibrated, move to a new place a few months later, then have to pay a few hundred again to get it re-calibrated.
cleeve is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 07:27 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
elite-home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DARQMAGE View Post

Maybe I oughta hire D-Nice to calibrate my 500M so I can see what all the hubbub is about...

+1... you won't regret it- I promise.
elite-home is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 07:32 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
elite-home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treyster View Post

How big of a difference does it make if a calibration is not performed in the exact environment where the panel will be used?

Great question- some will tell you there is a slight difference but I would think the biggest challenge would be if you were taking it from a very bright environment to a very muted environment is really where a difference would be notated, however with both the Day and Night settings you would probably find this not to be too big of an issue. If you are talking a Pure only calibration then I also feel the biggest difference may simply be an adjustment in brightness/contrast at best.

You may want to communicate with your calibrator your intentions to move and if you are lucky enough to know what environment you are moving to in comparison to from you could find they may be able to future proof it for you, or even recalibrate at a discount perhaps.
elite-home is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off