The Official Plasma Input Lag Thread. - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 800 Old 04-18-2013, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Stump909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by DWells55 View Post

Go play Rock Band on a CRT and then again on a screen with 80ms/5 frames of input lag and tell me you don't see a noticeable difference. Or play a 60FPS shooter, you'll instantly feel the difference in terms of fluidity and responsiveness of controls. I'm not going to say it'll necessarily make you worse at the game, but it's definitely noticeable and bothersome for those of us who are used to very low latency.

Again, I'm not disagreeing with the fact input lag has an effect. But Rock Band is a poor example since it has a built in calibrator. If I'm not mistaken, a 60fps shooter should feel almost negligalble due to it's inherent latency. 30FPS might be more troublesome. A lot of results rely on the games themselves. For instance, GTA4 has a natural delay of 120-200ms due to it's poor optimization. Forza, Bioshock, and most other 60fps games should run rather smoothly (with the proper settings)
Stump909 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 800 Old 04-18-2013, 03:46 PM
Member
 
OCMike80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
s60 input lag test. Anywhere from 0ms to 44ms so I'm guessing around 22ms of lag. Going to redo the tests to get a more accurate reading.

Panasonic Plasma Fan TC-P65ZT60 TC-P65S1 TC-P65S60 TC-60PU54-2 TC-P50U50-2 2 pioneer elite Vsx 42's XBOX 360 PS3 Verizon Fios QIP 7232 2
OCMike80 is offline  
post #633 of 800 Old 04-18-2013, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
fahrenheit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
OCMike80, without knowing the degree of lag of your laptop's display, you are just comparing one laggy thing to another laggy thing.
fahrenheit is online now  
post #634 of 800 Old 04-18-2013, 04:18 PM
Member
 
OCMike80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by fahrenheit View Post

OCMike80, without knowing the degree of lag of your laptop's display, you are just comparing one laggy thing to another laggy thing.

Yeah, I was just following Orta's instructions. My laptop only has an hdmi output so I can't hook it up to a crt tv.

Panasonic Plasma Fan TC-P65ZT60 TC-P65S1 TC-P65S60 TC-60PU54-2 TC-P50U50-2 2 pioneer elite Vsx 42's XBOX 360 PS3 Verizon Fios QIP 7232 2
OCMike80 is offline  
post #635 of 800 Old 04-18-2013, 04:29 PM
Member
 
OCMike80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by fahrenheit View Post

OCMike80, without knowing the degree of lag of your laptop's display, you are just comparing one laggy thing to another laggy thing.

My parents have an hd crt tv so I can test my laptop to it. It may be awhile before I visit them and do the tests. Would you consider an hd crt tv a 0ms reference?

Panasonic Plasma Fan TC-P65ZT60 TC-P65S1 TC-P65S60 TC-60PU54-2 TC-P50U50-2 2 pioneer elite Vsx 42's XBOX 360 PS3 Verizon Fios QIP 7232 2
OCMike80 is offline  
post #636 of 800 Old 04-18-2013, 04:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Moonchilde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by OCMike80 View Post

My parents have an hd crt tv so I can test my laptop to it. It may be awhile before I visit them and do the tests. Would you consider an hd crt tv a 0ms reference?

Nope. It may have image processing. I think it's safe to give yourself a 1 frame margin of error, 16.7 ms on your lap top screen. That's most likely being generous, but just to be safe. So I'm guessing the S60 is in the 30 to 40 ms range of input lag, which is 2 frames. That's not bad, and in line with most other fast 50+ inch HDTV's, so it seems like the S60 is good to go.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stump909 View Post

Again, I'm not disagreeing with the fact input lag has an effect. But Rock Band is a poor example since it has a built in calibrator. If I'm not mistaken, a 60fps shooter should feel almost negligalble due to it's inherent latency. 30FPS might be more troublesome. A lot of results rely on the games themselves. For instance, GTA4 has a natural delay of 120-200ms due to it's poor optimization. Forza, Bioshock, and most other 60fps games should run rather smoothly (with the proper settings)

Why is Rock Band a bad example just because it has a built in calibrator? If you were to play that style of game without changing the calibration then the ST60 is going to be too high at 5 frames of lag.

Also, if you were talking about what I mentioned about 60 fps, then you aren't giving all the information. 60 fps will FEEL like a 30 fps game. 30 fps will FEEL like a 15 fps game, basically, just about every console game and that isn't going to feel good to someone who does a lot of gaming. The only reason 60 fps can get away with it is because it is naturally fast and responsive, but you're losing much of that with the added frame delay of the ST60 and all the benefits of even playing a 60 fps game designed around that whole concept of fast and responsive gameplay.

If you know that many games have variable response time, then why even mention that 60 fps gaming is ok when many people who game exclusively on console aren't even going to reap those rewards since 90% of modern console games can barely hit a stable 30 fps? I don't understand your logic and why you're so defensive of the ST60. It is not a set for a serious gamer, yet you keep trying to subjectively convince everyone otherwise.

IF you are not a serious gamer and IF you game casually, the set will be "ok" but not great for those people, and only because of their ignorance. Those people can sit back and enjoy the PQ but be sure to set their AVR to audio sync by about 80 ms. IF you are a serious gamer and IF you do not game casually, then this set is simply not for you.
Moonchilde is offline  
post #637 of 800 Old 04-18-2013, 04:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
fahrenheit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by OCMike80 View Post

Would you consider an hd crt tv a 0ms reference?

HDTV CRTs aren't mult-scan monitors like PC monitors and when fed 720p (which is going to be the only viable resolution for your test I'm afraid), they do one of two things. They either throw out half the resolution and display 540p, or they upscale to 1080i, in which case if you are feeding the TV 720p60, the framerate gets halved (540p still retains 60fps).
So depending one which HD CRT they have, will affect your ability to test and the test results.

You would then have to establish what (if any) lag exists when your TV is fed 720p instead of 1080p. There could be a 1 frame penalty with a 720p downscale that would make your test data less reliable if the S60 perfoms at its peak with 1080p sources.
fahrenheit is online now  
post #638 of 800 Old 04-18-2013, 05:01 PM
Member
 
OCMike80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by fahrenheit View Post

HDTV CRTs aren't mult-scan monitors like PC monitors and when fed 720p (which is going to be the only viable resolution for your test I'm afraid), they do one of two things. They either throw out half the resolution and display 540p, or they upscale to 1080i, in which case if you are feeding the TV 720p60, the framerate gets halved (540p still retains 60fps).
So depending one which HD CRT they have, will affect your ability to test and the test results.

You would then have to establish what (if any) lag exists when your TV is fed 720p instead of 1080p. There could be a 1 frame penalty with a 720p downscale that would make your test data less reliable if the S60 perfoms at its peak with 1080p sources.

Well for what it's worth this test was done in 720p. My laptop only outputs 1366 x 768 so that's what resolution the s60 was in during those pics.

Panasonic Plasma Fan TC-P65ZT60 TC-P65S1 TC-P65S60 TC-60PU54-2 TC-P50U50-2 2 pioneer elite Vsx 42's XBOX 360 PS3 Verizon Fios QIP 7232 2
OCMike80 is offline  
post #639 of 800 Old 04-18-2013, 05:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Moonchilde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 104
So then the S60 probably has an extra frame of lag. I may have to test out the ST60 in scale mode and see how much lag scaling adds, so we can get a rough idea about the S60. Appreciate the efforts.
Moonchilde is offline  
post #640 of 800 Old 04-19-2013, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Yukon Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Yukon, Canada
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
If those results are anything close to accurate, the S60 makes an excellent gaming television. Being able to hold ~20ms or even ~40ms in Cinema mode would be huge, considering the accurate picture profile in that mode. Game mode has undefeatable drawbacks on the other Panasonic televisions, such as a poor gamma response, unnatural contrast enhancement, etc. Gaming in Cinema mode on my old S1 is something I miss compared to my UT50.

Yukon Trooper is offline  
post #641 of 800 Old 04-19-2013, 02:31 PM
Member
 
DWells55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Liking what I'm seeing, time to scoop up an S64.
DWells55 is offline  
post #642 of 800 Old 04-28-2013, 03:36 PM
Newbie
 
blazer316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I actually have the older pn42c450 samsung plasma and I went from game mode to changing to input 1 with the pc mode trick that locks out color etc. It made a pretty noticable diff playing bf3 online!
blazer316 is offline  
post #643 of 800 Old 04-30-2013, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hey guys I'm going to be buying a 65" VT60 does it have better input lag than the ST60? Is it supposed to be better than last years GT50? ANyone have any ideas??
mohanman is offline  
post #644 of 800 Old 04-30-2013, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbyrnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Media, PA (outside Philly)
Posts: 3,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

Hey guys I'm going to be buying a 65" VT60 does it have better input lag than the ST60? Is it supposed to be better than last years GT50? ANyone have any ideas??

From the European model it appears that the VT is better than the ST. I have heard 40ms or a little lower. I just bought the 65VT60 today and should be picking it up Saturday at the latest. The thinking is that the better processor chip in the VT will result in lower input lag. I hope so, but at this point I am just too in awe of the VT to complain if it is a little higher. Can't wait to get it. Chad B should be getting his review to us any day now and hopefully he tests the input lag.

Xbox Live: TheRealMaxPower --- PSN: TheRealMaxPower

 

Panasonic TC-P65VT60    Vienna Acoustic Mozart Grands    Onkyo TX-SR805   Sony BDP-S790

Astro Mixamp 2013   Schiit Modi    AKG K702 65th Anniversary   Antlion ModMic    Sennheiser PC360

Theater- Benq W1070    Elite 120" projection...

mbyrnes is offline  
post #645 of 800 Old 04-30-2013, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
VT tested great for lag. You should have no problems.

Omni009 is offline  
post #646 of 800 Old 05-01-2013, 10:12 PM
Senior Member
 
PogueSquadron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
So, if I'm looking for a plasma TV within the next...I dunno, 6 months...what should should I look at? The best input lag scores on plasmas seem to be coming from 2011 TVs, specifically the S30 and ST30 from Panasonic (thanks Waveboy).

According to DisplayLag, the Samsung PN51E550 looks pretty good, but it doesn't seem like there's really anything else - and unfortunately for me, that Samsung is over $1100.

When people ask you guys for recommendations, what do you tell them these days? Look for a 2011 TV if you want to game, or pony up for something super expensive? It doesn't seem like there are many options for me when I start looking (and I'd need a 1080p TV because so many of these 720p TVs seem awful for PC usage at 1024x768)
PogueSquadron is offline  
post #647 of 800 Old 05-01-2013, 10:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Moonchilde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Do you want 3D? If not, look no further than the S60. So far, that's the only really good option this year.
Moonchilde is offline  
post #648 of 800 Old 05-02-2013, 07:36 PM
Senior Member
 
AdamHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Hey guys, I am a happy owner of a 60" ST60. I did some simple testing to see if I personally could notice input lag. In most games lag was unnoticeable, but in some (FPS, fighting games) it definitely was noticeable.

I'm just posting on here to remind people to EMAIL Panasonic about the lag. I know people have already emailed about a "lag fix" and gotten a not-so-reassuring reply, but the more people that email, the harder it will be for them to ignore the issue. Just thought I'd throw in my 2 cents smile.gif
AdamHD is offline  
post #649 of 800 Old 05-02-2013, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mphfrom77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: northern KY
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Email wasn't good enough for me. They replied back that I need to call.
mphfrom77 is offline  
post #650 of 800 Old 05-02-2013, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
AdamHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by mphfrom77 View Post

Email wasn't good enough for me. They replied back that I need to call.
Well, crap.... That's no good at all. Haha. Looks like I'll be calling when I receive the (inevitable) same reply back from them.
AdamHD is offline  
post #651 of 800 Old 05-02-2013, 11:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Moonchilde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 104
I've been told several things about this subject from various sources. One kinda dodged the issuing saying ST60 reviewing extremely well and meets the needs of most people. Basically, the needs of gamers are too niche and of a minority that input lag is the very last thing they're concerned about since most everyone either won't notice it (like some in the ST60 input lag thread were claiming - which actually hurt the cause, thanks guys!) or that people aren't buying top line TV's to game on and suggested a gaming monitor. Shame about that because apparently gamers having great PQ isn't anyone's concern, and I wonder where these gaming monitors exist? I've never seen a monitor marketed as a gaming monitor, any "gaming" monitor is most likely lucky to be at a particular game convention only because it was randomly tested for low input lag, such as the Asus "EVO" monitor.

Another source replied Panny's engineers replied the input lag is "within spec" so chances are this aspect of the ST60 isn't going to change. Once again, it was mentioned the TV was getting good reviews, and even went to far as to say that they've asked gamers how to reduce input lag and replied using a shorter HDMI cable :facepalm: This was actually a reply from an escalated email, and the person tried to help to the best of their ability and knowledge, which I greatly appreciate, even though a little ignorant on certain things.

Even getting simple bugs fixed like the abnormal edge haloing in certain image modes may cost a lot of time, testing, and money. Unless they feel they're worth looking into, then it's a possibility it may not get fixed.

I wouldn't even waste my time calling. IMO, the ST60 is too well received as is and the R&D costs to get the input lag down isn't worth it. Shame, because it's nearly double of it's 2012 predecessor.

I feel a bit burned buying the set blindly based off of 2011 and 2012's ST series.

Anyway I don't really have much else to add to the topic of ST60 input lag. I'm kinda burnt out on it and don't want to hop on a soap box about it anymore. Nothing will change about it, so it's wasted time. I don't mind answering questions about settings or whatever and what does what but I'm done with the input lag topic, there is nothing left for me to add to it and I suggest anyone concerned about it to steer their efforts elsewhere.
Moonchilde is offline  
post #652 of 800 Old 05-03-2013, 03:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mphfrom77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: northern KY
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Well you went the extra mile and we really appreciate it. Yeah, we can understand how you must be over the topic. I'm sure someone will be by shortly to tell you it doesn't matter, the ST60 input lag is a non-issue. Just ignore them I guess.
mphfrom77 is offline  
post #653 of 800 Old 05-16-2013, 05:56 AM
Member
 
pioneer 1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by FourWude View Post

Hello everyone, I fully intend to update the database soon with 2013 sets. Had some personal issues last month so I had a bit of a delay. Thanks for finding the site useful!

thanks for doing the input lag tests it's really helpful but could you also add a measurement for the TV's most accurate picture mode with all processing turned off for the sets you test as I for one prefer to game in them modes rather than game or pc mode due to picture quality and controls.
pioneer 1985 is offline  
post #654 of 800 Old 05-16-2013, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Stump909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneer 1985 View Post

thanks for doing the input lag tests it's really helpful but could you also add a measurement for the TV's most accurate picture mode with all processing turned off for the sets you test as I for one prefer to game in them modes rather than game or pc mode due to picture quality and controls.

The ST60 game mode doesn't affect the image quality.
Stump909 is offline  
post #655 of 800 Old 05-26-2013, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WaveBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Has anybody tried component(Blue,Red & Green) on the S60 yet? HDMI tends to raise quite a bit of
lag on a LOT of HDTV's, including my previous 2 LCD's, LG plasma and my current S30 panasonic plasma.
In this case with the S30, i get 1 frame via component cables with color mgmnt & all video noise reductions set to off
and making sure the Color matrix is set to HD('SD' even for SD content raises input lag oddly enough!) with HDMI,
there's a noticable increase in lag on my S30, so i avoid it like the noid.lol It was even worse on my 2 previous LCD's!

One user on HDTVtest.uk described the decrease in lag by using 'component' instead of HDMI on his ST50 as a 'Night and day difference!'
if the 'S60' can truly push 32-40ms via HDMI with all Video noise set to OFF, color MGMNT 'off', color matrix set to HD and with
the 2500hz feature turned off than MAYBE there's a chance that you'll get 1 frame less for component.

You guys should try it out either on your Wii U, PS3, XBOX 360 or Wii! wink.gif
I'd sell my 60" S30(which is crippled with problems PQ wise) in a heart beat and get a 55" S60 on sale for $999, but
i'm clinging to this funky set because of the ultra low 1 frame of lag. XP


Also, how is the Samsung E550? i've heard it does 2 frames via HDMI, but there was no word on component.
Sure there's the HDMI 'PC labeling' trick but it locks out half of the picture controls so i personally couldn't care less for it.
It's a shame The lower end(of the non S'T' variety) Panasonic plasmas completely skimp on picture controls....The fact that they don't
even have gamma presets should be a crime.lol Why do they continuesly release plasma's with effed up gamma in Custom & game mode? I don't want to use
their sh**y cinema mode for movies and gaming. I feel like turning to samsung at this point, sheesh. At least Samsung(And LG, even though i would NEVER game on their LAG
riddled plasma displays aside from having the worst black levels of the 3...) offer a slew of picture controls, even on their lower end models!
WaveBoy is offline  
post #656 of 800 Old 05-26-2013, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Orta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For anyone unware, David Katzmaier of CNET has got the Bodnar Lag Tester and posted results for the NA Panasonics on Twitter.

All in Game Mode:

S60: 34.1ms

ST60: 73.6ms

VT60: 47.9ms

Given that the EU VT and ZT were virtually identical, it seems a decent bet the NA ZT60 is also ~47-48ms.

The display lag database has also updated with most of the '13 Samsungs. Added everything to the OP. F5500 looks like a pretty nice gaming display at 37-38ms, but I'm not sure of its measured PQ (mll, cr, color accuracy, gamma, etc...) as there are no reviews out there.
Orta is offline  
post #657 of 800 Old 05-26-2013, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WaveBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orta View Post

For anyone unware, David Katzmaier of CNET has got the Bodnar Lag Tester and posted results for the NA Panasonics on Twitter.

All in Game Mode:

S60: 34.1ms

ST60: 73.6ms

VT60: 47.9ms

Given that the EU VT and ZT were virtually identical, it seems a decent bet the NA ZT60 is also ~47-48ms.


I'm suprised by the 34.1ms for the S60, that's quite the difference Vs. the ST60's 73.6ms's and ESPECIALLY the higher end VT60 performing better than the ST60.lol
If the component cable trick truly does work i'd expect the S60's 34ms to drop down by another frame/16ms. . Somebody needs to try it out stat! If this is the case, hell i may even consider selling my 60" S30 and putting it towards a 55" S60
if i can't truly fix the effed up HIGH gamma in S30's custom mode by calibration, aside from the piercing bright whites and clipping. The red push and pink problem i'm sure can be corrected, so i'm not too worried about that.
WaveBoy is offline  
post #658 of 800 Old 05-26-2013, 05:35 PM
Senior Member
 
PogueSquadron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I'm curious about this as well, and even more curious if I can hear about the S64. Would greatly appreciate any help here! I wish I had something to offer.

Edit: Oddly enough, fired up Super Mario Bros. as part of a friendly online speedrun competition. It's shocking how much more responsive it is to play these old games on their original systems.
PogueSquadron is offline  
post #659 of 800 Old 05-27-2013, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mphfrom77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: northern KY
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 172
A few weeks ago before some of the lag input figures for 2013 plasmas became available I visited the Leo Bodnar website where their lag tester device was available for sale. I used their site to send their support staff a few questions I had about purchasing a lag tester. I never got a reply.

I looked to their site again tonight as I am still considering getting one. Just think it might be handy to have around to find the best way to setup my systems presently and in the future. I also figure I could possibly always get rid of it here at avs for a discount to someone that trusted me if I decided...idk.

Anyways the lag tester device does not show up for sale on their website anymore...http://www.leobodnar.com/shop/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=89.

I sent another email in from my own email this time, so I guess I will see if they respond.
mphfrom77 is offline  
post #660 of 800 Old 05-28-2013, 12:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Speaking of the Leo Bodnar device, I have noticed something that others have pointed out too in various places online. Before this device, the lag figures were all done by other means, but when they go back and test WITH this much more precise device, the always get a higher figure than before. Sometimes as much as 20ms higher. So you actually can't look at any lag figures taken before the device was used and compare them to the figures we get now. Retesting those older super responsive plasma sets will likely get you a higher (but more accurate) lag time that what is currently listed.

Omni009 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Plasma Hdtv , Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off