Panasonic 11G/12G/13G black levels have seemingly doubled overnight? - Page 352 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10531 of 11194 Old 03-18-2011, 07:18 PM
 
pneumatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turrican4D View Post

Yes, it's true. It's cd/m2 and the 0,012 cd/m2 wre measures in the ANSI-pattern of the AVS709-Disc.

On off were 0,007 cd/m2 with IR and not to measure anymore with my Spyder3 60 seconds after displaying a picture.

In the black bars of cinemascope movies the black is getting even darker and reaches the bottom after approximately 10 minutes the movie has started.

BUT I have sometimes a little amount of pixelmissfires. I have to go up to 0,020 cd/m2 to get completely rid of it.

The tuning is for the most part achieved with only two of the seven potis inside the PK350.

Wow that is amazing. I wish we could find the same pots on the Panny's and Samsungs. Well, we've tried to find it already on the Panny's to no avail

Maybe when I get a D7000 I'll have a play around

In the meantime enjoy your 8G Kuro blacks on your LG
pneumatic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10532 of 11194 Old 03-20-2011, 11:32 PM
Senior Member
 
con219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Down Under
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
To Documaker and the rest who are still on this black issue and continue to insult the integrity of good honest people

Three words

GET A LIFE
con219 is offline  
post #10533 of 11194 Old 03-20-2011, 11:45 PM
Member
 
The Mad Mule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pneumatic View Post


Sorry for this quick derail, but those TVs in that video clip...are the bottom and side ones 55" and the top one a 65"?

Open question for anybody
The Mad Mule is offline  
post #10534 of 11194 Old 03-21-2011, 02:41 AM
Member
 
mironto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steen DK View Post

Thanks, Batpig.

Incidentally, one thing I've noticed about my PX70 lately (I don't think it was always like this) is that blacks are really terrible for the first 5-10 minutes after I turn it on, I'm talking light grey here, and then they settle on, well, a darker grey.

Anyone noticed similar behaviour on other models?

Check my post regarding panny's patent regarding correlation between MLL and temperature.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8#post20121278

Panasonic plasma black level restoration
Step-by-step guide for restoring the initial MLL on a Panasonic G10 plasma
mironto is offline  
post #10535 of 11194 Old 03-22-2011, 08:29 AM
Member
 
Steen DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mironto View Post

Check my post regarding panny's patent regarding correlation between MLL and temperature.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8#post20121278

Ah, thanks!
Steen DK is offline  
post #10536 of 11194 Old 03-22-2011, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 85
what year did the first reported Panasonic black rise happen?...was it the 2008 models?
TitusTroy is offline  
post #10537 of 11194 Old 03-22-2011, 10:14 AM
Senior Member
 
johnnylighton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 2008 50PZ800u and can tell you that my blacks have risen just as described by others in this thread.
johnnylighton is offline  
post #10538 of 11194 Old 03-22-2011, 10:23 AM
 
Nobl3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can someone who is a member of Cnet, please ask David K to give us an update on the measurements of 2010 models? We haven't had an update since September (6 months ago)
Nobl3 is offline  
post #10539 of 11194 Old 03-22-2011, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobl3 View Post

Can someone who is a member of Cnet, please ask David K to give us an update on the measurements of 2010 models? We haven't had an update since September (6 months ago)

is he still even testing them?...I thought his last update was the final programmed mll rise?
TitusTroy is offline  
post #10540 of 11194 Old 03-22-2011, 10:35 AM
 
Nobl3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitusTroy View Post

is he still even testing them?...I thought his last update was the final programmed mll rise?

http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-20018722-1.html

Not even close.


The last update had the VT25 at .007 mll, it should end up at .01-.012 mll.

They had the G20 at .012, it should end up a .022.-024 mll


We really need an update on these. Someone please twitter David or something. I don't know how.
Nobl3 is offline  
post #10541 of 11194 Old 03-27-2011, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
MoFoHo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxHoosierdaddy View Post



I don't know much about this website. Is this website, and this Andrew Everard guy trustworthy?

No.
MoFoHo is offline  
post #10542 of 11194 Old 03-28-2011, 02:29 PM
Member
 
Laborix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pneumatic View Post


I think that the "black level rising problem" is not funny

Why panasonic use LG Plasmas on an Panasonic Shootout?


Quote:
Originally Posted by NickSP View Post

Why should they? When stupid shoppers including me A) Continue buying their products and B) Don't collectively demand to get their act together and force this firmware on them?

Thas really easy for me, if panasonic do nothing than this was my first and last plasma tv from this company.

Quote:


If ALL or MOST panasonic users here petition them and create enough negative publicity, I am sure they will do something.
Websites such as CNet are not the answer because they have vested interest in advertising.

Here in germany panasonic does nothing! They give us not even a current firmeware on their homepage.


Can someone tell me something about the lawsuit versus Panasonic?
Laborix is offline  
post #10543 of 11194 Old 03-28-2011, 03:15 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 999
^That's just a screensaver (LG Blu-ray player?).
vinnie97 is offline  
post #10544 of 11194 Old 04-02-2011, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
defdog99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I'm shopping for a new digital camera.

Part of me wants to avoid the Panasonic Lumix LX5 at all costs.

Liars.
defdog99 is offline  
post #10545 of 11194 Old 04-02-2011, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Dick Emery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to derail but thanks for linking to those video interviews. I am poring through them now. Noticed something in video part 12.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dybVwK7AoOU

Notice the flickering plasma top right? Why is that one flickering and the others not?
Dick Emery is offline  
post #10546 of 11194 Old 04-12-2011, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
John Kramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone remotely interested in the black levels should redirect your attention momentarily to the 2011 panasonic plasma [no price talk] thread. Momentarily.
John Kramer is offline  
post #10547 of 11194 Old 04-12-2011, 11:11 PM
 
pneumatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kramer View Post
Anyone remotely interested in the black levels should redirect your attention momentarily to the 2011 panasonic plasma [no price talk] thread. Momentarily.
Well, they're not allowing that discussion anymore in that thread. I really enjoyed the "I have a fix but I'm not going to share it with you" stunt

So basically what we know is that a fix to this problem is definitely available, and that all the officially trained Panny techs and D-Nice know what it is. Problem is getting one of them to share the info, anonymously of course.

I would be interested to know if D-Nice has actually tested this fix on his own set(s), and what the result was.
pneumatic is offline  
post #10548 of 11194 Old 04-13-2011, 07:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jake Ironshirt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Mohave
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pneumatic View Post

Well, they're not allowing that discussion anymore in that thread. I really enjoyed the "I have a fix but I'm not going to share it with you" stunt

So basically what we know is that a fix to this problem is definitely available, and that all the officially trained Panny techs and D-Nice know what it is. Problem is getting one of them to share the info, anonymously of course.

I would be interested to know if D-Nice has actually tested this fix on his own set(s), and what the result was.

I wonder if it would work for the 2009 V10 65" ?
Jake Ironshirt is offline  
post #10549 of 11194 Old 04-13-2011, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
John Kramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. You can fix this by resetting the a-board over and over. Annoying, but doable if it gets the black levels back to square 1 for a few months until the next reset. Panny techs can do this whenever they want, but would most likely never share what is involved in order to do it.
- DNice does not care to explain why he is reluctant to share such common knowledge, but he won't.
John Kramer is offline  
post #10550 of 11194 Old 04-14-2011, 01:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kramer View Post

Yes. You can fix this by resetting the a-board over and over. Annoying, but doable if it gets the black levels back to square 1 for a few months until the next reset. Panny techs can do this whenever they want, but would most likely never share what is involved in order to do it.
- DNice does not care to explain why he is reluctant to share such common knowledge, but he won't.

He probably doesn't want to hear about every Joe-Six-Pack bricking their sets after attempting to do such repairs.

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is offline  
post #10551 of 11194 Old 04-14-2011, 02:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 891
I don't understand the passive aggressive questioning of his motivations. I'm sure he has good reasons. D-Nice does a huge amount for the AVS community -- if he was so reticent to help, why would he publish calibration settings for displays when it (theoretically) directly impacts his business as a calibrator? Most calibrators would never share settings publicly because of selfish motivations (trying to attract paying customers).

D-Nice certainly isn't gaining anything by keeping his mouth shut here. If he refuses to share this info publicly I'm confident he has a good reason for doing so. I know it sucks for those of who hoping for a "silver bullet" to fix the problem, but he doesn't really owe you anything.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #10552 of 11194 Old 04-14-2011, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

I don't understand the passive aggressive questioning of his motivations. I'm sure he has good reasons. D-Nice does a huge amount for the AVS community -- if he was so reticent to help, why would he publish calibration settings for displays when it (theoretically) directly impacts his business as a calibrator? Most calibrators would never share settings publicly because of selfish motivations (trying to attract paying customers).

D-Nice certainly isn't gaining anything by keeping his mouth shut here. If he refuses to share this info publicly I'm confident he has a good reason for doing so. I know it sucks for those of who hoping for a "silver bullet" to fix the problem, but he doesn't really owe you anything.

Well said

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #10553 of 11194 Old 04-14-2011, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
John Kramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This isn't a silver bullet. It's a standard procedure the needs an explanation from an authorized panasonic tech. Nothing less, nothing more. It temporarily solves the problem. If anyone has access that is "willing" to discuss this super-top-secret-ultra-sensitive process, please let us know.

Until then, whatever.
John Kramer is offline  
post #10554 of 11194 Old 04-14-2011, 11:41 PM
 
pneumatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
D-Nice does a huge amount for the AVS community
Like what? What does he do that is so great? All I see is his posted picture settings that won't be accurate due to unit variation, and are largely inappropriate for most viewing conditions (eg. 26ftL @ 2.2 gamma on the ST30). And then there's his break in slides which are completely unnecessary and actually pose more of a threat to burn in. I suppose he does provide black level measurements which are useful, but others like Chad B and David of hdtvtest do this as well, in addition to their written reviews.

Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
if he was so reticent to help, why would he publish calibration settings for displays when it (theoretically) directly impacts his business as a calibrator?
It doesn't affect his business due to unit variation. Plugging in someone else's settings off the net simply doesn't work. If anything his presence here attracts more customers. Not that there's anything wrong with that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
D-Nice certainly isn't gaining anything by keeping his mouth shut here. If he refuses to share this info publicly I'm confident he has a good reason for doing so.
Agreed, though it raises the question why he would come forward saying "I have the fix but I'm not going to tell you" in the first place.
pneumatic is offline  
post #10555 of 11194 Old 04-15-2011, 05:36 AM
Senior Member
 
guvadc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kramer View Post
This isn't a silver bullet. It's a standard procedure the needs an explanation from an authorized panasonic tech. Nothing less, nothing more. It temporarily solves the problem. If anyone has access that is "willing" to discuss this super-top-secret-ultra-sensitive process, please let us know.

Until then, whatever.
Perhaps since the procedure in question is only a temporry fix, that is a reason it won't be shared. I'm thinking that if the voltage increases are necessary and you keep resseting the A-board firmware that you'll end up getting to a point where there might not be enough voltage to drive the panel properly. It has also been said (don't know if it's true) that there are massive color shifts without the voltage increases.
guvadc is offline  
post #10556 of 11194 Old 04-15-2011, 05:48 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 256
point of order:

please don't 'shoot the messenger' with regard to this issue.

please do not attack a member for not giving out information: let's move on

Thanks

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
Link to sponsors
good to be back to vBulletin
markrubin is offline  
post #10557 of 11194 Old 04-15-2011, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
John Kramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bottom line - If I decrease the lifespan of my v-10 by 5 years it will be worth it if I can get my black levels back for a year or two.
John Kramer is offline  
post #10558 of 11194 Old 04-16-2011, 05:27 AM
Member
 
whforde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laborix View Post
I think that the "black level rising problem" is not funny

Why panasonic use LG Plasmas on an Panasonic Shootout?



Thas really easy for me, if panasonic do nothing than this was my first and last plasma tv from this company.


Here in germany panasonic does nothing! They give us not even a current firmeware on their homepage.


Can someone tell me something about the lawsuit versus Panasonic?
That isn't a Panasonic shootout, it is a shootout of TVs from all major manufacturers. In that video they are just currently discussing the 58VT25 located ABOVE the TV you circled with the LG Logo. The TV you circled happens to be a... GASP LG LED.
whforde is offline  
post #10559 of 11194 Old 04-16-2011, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Turrican4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by guvadc View Post

It has also been said (don't know if it's true) that there are massive color shifts without the voltage increases.

Very unlikely. With my LG Plasma I can set the voltages up and down as I want, and there are no colorshfts or other PQ-relevated changes at all (the MLL changes of course).
Turrican4D is offline  
post #10560 of 11194 Old 04-16-2011, 04:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Turrican4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul210 View Post

He probably doesn't want to hear about every Joe-Six-Pack bricking their sets after attempting to do such repairs.

The chance to brick the TV is greater, if no whistleblower, may he be named D-Nice or whatwever, spoils this solution!

Cause I can go to my brother's house tomorrow and try some hexsettings in the EEPROM-editor of his S10 to reset the A-Board, so there may be a chance, that I'll brick it while trying.

Otherwise, If I knew the adress in the EEPROM to do this reset, chances I would brick it, are ZERO.

I found the right entries to set the gamma menu of the german S10 active, so I don't see any reason, why there should be no chance to figure this A-board reset out.
Turrican4D is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off