G10 HDMI handshake with Dish 722 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-10-2009, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jmcdonnell1947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the TC-P42G10 in June. My cable provider (Hotwire Communications) uses some kind of rebroadcasting from Dish. My receiver is a Dish VIP722. Two weeks ago I upgraded from the standard Dish HD receiver to this VIP722 DVR. The HDMI connection between the receiver and the TV does not function - no picture or sound whatsoever - although the component connection provides perfectly satisfactory 1080i viewing. The technicians have tried multiple VIP722 devices and have tried all kinds of HDMI cables among all three HDMI ports on the P42G10. The old Dish HD receiver had communicated cleanly with the P42G10 over HDMI. The HDMI connection operates properly between the P42G10 and the Panasonic BD60 Blu-ray and the Sony CT100 speaker system. I have noticed that Panasonic has (or will soon have) a firmware fix for the G10 series regarding HDMI / HDCP handshake with Onkyo receivers. I am hoping that this HDMI handshake update will by some stroke of luck also fix my own problem. I do not know how one goes about obtaining this firmware update. Any suggestion will be most appreciated.
jmcdonnell1947 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-11-2009, 01:17 PM
Member
 
kcmac21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcdonnell1947 View Post

I bought the TC-P42G10 in June. My cable provider (Hotwire Communications) uses some kind of rebroadcasting from Dish. My receiver is a Dish VIP722. Two weeks ago I upgraded from the standard Dish HD receiver to this VIP722 DVR. The HDMI connection between the receiver and the TV does not function - no picture or sound whatsoever - although the component connection provides perfectly satisfactory 1080i viewing. The technicians have tried multiple VIP722 devices and have tried all kinds of HDMI cables among all three HDMI ports on the P42G10. The old Dish HD receiver had communicated cleanly with the P42G10 over HDMI. The HDMI connection operates properly between the P42G10 and the Panasonic BD60 Blu-ray and the Sony CT100 speaker system. I have noticed that Panasonic has (or will soon have) a firmware fix for the G10 series regarding HDMI / HDCP handshake with Onkyo receivers. I am hoping that this HDMI handshake update will by some stroke of luck also fix my own problem. I do not know how one goes about obtaining this firmware update. Any suggestion will be most appreciated.

http://www.techtraining.panasonic.co...ent/Plasma.ASP
kcmac21 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-17-2009, 02:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jmcdonnell1947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. I had already downloaded an update for the G10 from this page. It installed cleanly but had no effect one way or another. Interestingly, the G10 firmware download (42G10_Panel_Update.exe) has now been pulled from the page by Panasonic.

I spoke with a Panasonice rep today and (after going through the usual cable swaps and reset to factory defaults exercises) she has passed the problem along to the Panasonic engineers. She said that somebody should contact me soon.

Because Pansonic has created a (not publicly available) firmware fix for HDMI / HDCP handshake issues with Onkyo receivers, I was hoping to get a copy and see if by dumb luck it would fix my own HDMI handshake problems with the Dish VIP722.

I will certainly pass along any solutions and/or useful information which I receive.
jmcdonnell1947 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-22-2010, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jmcdonnell1947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Panasonic has finally posted the firmware fix for the Onkyo receivers. I downloaded and upgraded my G10 firmware to 1.28. However, the handshake between the Dish VIP722 and the Viera G10 is still no go. At this point I am beginning to suspect the Dish 722, or rather what the cable provider (Hotwire Communications) does to the Dish 722 before leasing it to customers. Is there any way to test whether or not the Dish VIP722 is actually outputting a HDMI signal?
jmcdonnell1947 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-04-2010, 08:16 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jmcdonnell1947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My VIP722 happened to go on the fritz. Hotwire Communications provided a replacement. The HDMI connection to the TC-P42G10 now works OK. My guess, as stated in the previous post, was correct. That is, the problem was with a partcular VIP722.
jmcdonnell1947 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off