Open Box 141FD? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 197 Old 01-03-2010, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
noahabel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I came across an open box/floor model PRO-141FD at a local Best Buy, and I'm fairly certain I can purchase it for a great price. But of course I'm worried about that "open box" aspect.

The Magnolia rep in the store says it's been there for about 4 months. Would you guys bite on such forbidden fruit? Obviously the price is right, but am I buying a headache? Assuming the panel has been on the 14 hours a day the store is open, we're talking >1500 hours on the set. Is there a non-LAN way to check the usage time on the display as it sits in the store? Would you opt for a BB extended warranty or is there a better 3rd party source for such protection? What components of the panel wear down or break with age/usage? How many hours is a 9G Kuro panel supposed to last anyway?

Obviously I'm getting this bad boy calibrated, just need to decide if I'm buying it in the first place. Is it truly worth a $1000 more than a 58" Panny V10? My side-by-side comparison say yes, but tencho-lust has a strange way of making the irrational seem, well, rational.

In any case, thanks for the help.
noahabel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 197 Old 01-03-2010, 07:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hhaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,454
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I've heard of people negotiating prices on 141's to a point just a little bit more expensive than what you've listed. You may want to try that first.
hhaller is online now  
post #3 of 197 Old 01-03-2010, 08:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
noahabel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Price isn't the primary concern (though certainly important), I'm more worried about buying a hassle, not a TV. I'm fairly confident that with the incentive of buying some easily-returnable accessories, I can negotiate down to a happy price point.

I suppose the 30-day return policy and 2 year factory warranty always make the choice easier, but no one said lugging a 110lb panel back to the store, upright no less, would be a cake walk either. This is the first time in my life I've had enough money to buy something top-of-the-line, just hoping that it doesn't bite me in the rear looking for a bargain on a discontinued set.
noahabel is offline  
post #4 of 197 Old 01-03-2010, 08:34 PM
Newbie
 
ershotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how much I just bought one that was brand new from best buy
ershotz is offline  
post #5 of 197 Old 01-03-2010, 08:52 PM
Senior Member
 
ErLupo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the great question is where did you find it new?
ErLupo is offline  
post #6 of 197 Old 01-03-2010, 08:55 PM
Newbie
 
ershotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
last one in the box at best buy how much do you think a good buy would be?
ershotz is offline  
post #7 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 12:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
noahabel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ershotz View Post

how much I just bought one that was brand new from best buy

Since we can't talk about price, I can only say that they are asking below retail $4,000 and I was told I could get it for around $3,000 25% off after also getting some additional equipment or install services.

And seriously, where did you find a new one? PM me where and what you paid, please.
noahabel is offline  
post #8 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 05:03 AM
 
optivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Unless you're willing to take a chance on buying the PDP and set it up in your home you will never know if it was a good deal or not.

or

Since you have waited this long and the price I believe you have conveyed is a tidy sum, you might want to wait for CES to see what 2010 will bring.
optivity is offline  
post #9 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 11:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
noahabel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there anything in the wind about any upcoming display being able to meet, or beat the PQ of the Kuros?

Trust me, buying it to see what kind of shape it's in is all I've been contemplating. I want a damn Kuro!!
noahabel is offline  
post #10 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 04:26 PM
Newbie
 
ershotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
all that I can say is hope you bought It, because even a new one could be bad trust me, I got a brand new one for 3000.00 but just less than 2 weeks and they have to replace the main board because port 8 is not working good thing that I bought the extended warranty they are going to fix it here in my home. I even was temped to take it back and get something else but it would not be a Pioneer! Good luck!
ershotz is offline  
post #11 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
tpham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As long there's no image retention and tax included , I'd get it. As a bonus, you don't have to go through the break-in process.

Quote:
Originally Posted by noahabel View Post

Since we can't talk about price, I can only say that they are asking below retail $4,000 and I was told I could get it for around $3,000 25% off after also getting some additional equipment or install services.

And seriously, where did you find a new one? PM me where and what you paid, please.

tpham is offline  
post #12 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 07:59 PM
Member
 
bsix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I have the same question. In fact I started a thread but hadn't seen this one.

Looks like I can get the Pro 141 open box for a price equivalent to what I had gotten quotes for the 600M panel a few months ago. Didn't have full wife approval back then.

Now I can't find the 600M ANYWHERE so would you go with the Pro-141FD floor model if the display quality (no burn in ) is good. Is there a mode to find the number of hours on the unit? And if so what is a number of hours that would not be acceptable any more (over 2000?)

Thanks,

Bryan
bsix is offline  
post #13 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 08:05 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You would have so use control cal software to check hours on it. I say average of 4.5 hours a day is ok .
ROMAN O is offline  
post #14 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 09:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
noahabel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMAN O View Post

You would have so use control cal software to check hours on it. I say average of 4.5 hours a day is ok .

That would rule out any floor model, then. With a panel half-life of 60,000 hours, I'd be logically persuaded to believe that 2-3000 hours isn't detrimental in theory. What IS troublesome is the content of those 3000 hours.

Seeing as how the panel I'm looking at has been in a Magnolia section, I'm hesitant to believe they would leave a disc menu screen on for more than a brief period, but stranger things have happened within the walls of a Best Buy.

Also, once the Elite Signature models are hoked up to a home LAN, it's possible to check the hours by going here on a networked computer - http://(Monitor_IP_Address)/cgi/service_right.cgi

From - http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=301
noahabel is offline  
post #15 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
noahabel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just called the Santa Monica Magnolia showroom and they have a 151 floor model offered at the same asking price, and the salesman claims it was put on the floor this weekend. All things being equal, would a less-used 151 be more attractive than a more-used 141? I don't care about speakers or the stand, mind you, as it will be mounted and connected to a home theater.
noahabel is offline  
post #16 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
aj slick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought an open item 141 two weeks ago for a little over 70% off. The only problem is I think I may have burn in on it. I have been watching nothing but full screen and turned off the orbitor and turned power save to standard. Also have ran the white bar pattern a few times and the ir is there for being on display at BB with the blu ray 2:35:1 bars burned in. I ordered the Pixel Protector and am going to try it to get the ir/burn in to go away. Plus I purchased the geek squad protection plan which covers burn in. I checked Pioneers website and they do not have any panels in stock. I have until 1/31 to return the set. I called the store which I purchased it and they told me to keep watching full screen and see if it gets better. Don't know what to do if the burn won't go away, I don't want to return it. Please help-
aj slick is offline  
post #17 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 09:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
noahabel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you seen any kind of IR in the store?
noahabel is offline  
post #18 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 09:49 PM
Senior Member
 
aj slick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They didn't have the remote and the tv was returned by someone(probably for the ir) prior to me purchasing it. I asked them if there were any issues with set before I purchased it. I couldn't tell about the ir since they had it hooked with blu ray-with the bars when it was
in the store. The tv was in the back when I bought it though, didn't get a chance to test it (no remote).
aj slick is offline  
post #19 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 10:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
noahabel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man, that sucks. Hope it works out, it would be a shame to have to send it back.

In an effort to find a reasonable price, can you PM me what you paid and where you're at? Thanks.
noahabel is offline  
post #20 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 10:43 PM
Senior Member
 
aj slick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know. I already sold my 1150 to a friend. I will post some pics tomorrow with the ir. I can only see it on video switching and light backrounds. I don't know if the Pixel Protector will help much. I seriously doubt Geeksquad will replace the panel- let alone find one, and they will prob tell me to return it. I dont want to be stuck with this monitor if it has permenant burn in reguardless of what I paid for it, but I wont find another at this price and I will be without a tv.
aj slick is offline  
post #21 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 11:34 PM
Member
 
Bantam11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also found a few open box 141's at my local Best Buys and was able to negotiate a 40% off their current discounted price (assuming there was a new one in stock). The sales rep claims the unit has been on the floor but dormant for a few months... hard to believe. In any case, regardless of the hours the deal is just too good to pass up when securing with an extended 4 year warranty from the squad. They assured me that if I lost the panel they would replace with a like TV. If I ended up with whatever Panny is coming out with in 2010 (for the price I paid or the Kuro) this would work.

Can I ask them to figure out how many hours are on it before purchasing? Maybe this would help me negotiate a lower price. What should I expect (in a range)? Do BB's turn these things on in the AM and shut down when they leave in the PM 7 days a week? Could this unit be over 1 year old? That's ton of hours (over 20,000). Any suggestions? I can't seem to locate a new 600m anywhere close in proximity. If I did it would probably run me about $500 more than what I'd pay for the 141fd.

thanks!
Bantam11 is offline  
post #22 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 11:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
noahabel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only documented way I have found to learn the hours on the Signature Elite Kuros is via the LAN method I mentioned. Perhaps they can set it up to the in-store network? Highly unlikely, though.

It would be ideal to know the hours ahead of time. So you got 40% off of the new price? What's their new price on a discontinued monitor??
noahabel is offline  
post #23 of 197 Old 01-04-2010, 11:59 PM
Senior Member
 
aj slick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please take caution because these Pioneers are on for at least 10 hours a day or more. 7 days a week. Check the manufactored date on the back. Mine was July 08. Not sure if they will let you check the hours. I am in the same situation with the warranty, I do not want to pay for the warranty only to have them give you a Panasonic, or a refund when you purchased a Kuro . There is no replacement, unless they have another PIO. I suppose I could pick up the 101 if mine is unrepairable. But after a 141 it would be hard to go back to its little brother 101.
aj slick is offline  
post #24 of 197 Old 01-05-2010, 12:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
p59teitel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Armpit of Cape Cod
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aj slick View Post

Check the manufactored date on the back. Mine was July 08.

Don't assume that the display has been in use as a floor model or was even in Best Buy's possession all that time. The manufacturing date is often a year or more earlier than the actual date the display departed the warehouse and arrived at the reseller for retail sale or use as a floor model.
p59teitel is offline  
post #25 of 197 Old 01-05-2010, 12:42 AM
Senior Member
 
aj slick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im not stating that is when it was put on display. If you had a later dated one, you would have a better chance it wasn't on display as long. My last kuros mf date was September 07, but I purchased it new in March 08'.
aj slick is offline  
post #26 of 197 Old 01-05-2010, 01:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
p59teitel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Armpit of Cape Cod
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aj slick View Post

If you had a later dated one, you would have a better chance it wasn't on display as long.

That's fine in theory, but if you look around you will see that the vast majority of owners who report manufacturing dates state that their 141s (and 600Ms) were made from August-November 2008, with apparently a production shift in 60" panels after that to mostly 151s.

In fact, I can only recall three people here reporting 141s or 600Ms with January or February 2009 builds. And I was also told by someone extremely knowledgeable about these things that my 600M panel was made at the same time Pioneer was cranking out the 141s with their "hand-picked" glass, which also suggests a very limited production time frame. So it's probably a waste of time to look specifically for late-run 141s, or to hold out for one when supply of any 60" Pioneer displays is extremely limited.
p59teitel is offline  
post #27 of 197 Old 01-05-2010, 06:53 AM
Member
 
Bantam11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am hoping that the BB who has the open box 141FD is willing and able to get me the usage hours before purchasing but I fear they will just look at me like deer in headlights. Few would purchase a used car without havng this information though right? So by chance that I can actually get this done, (and I assume they would need to do this) what amount of time do you feel is acceptable and of little concern based on the average longevity of this unit? Of if I get the extended 4 year warranty and possibly have it calibrated, will that be enough insurance and measures to see this unit through for a long time to come? Thanks.

If I could locate a new 600M for around $3,000 I would probably go with it and feel as though he extra $500 was well spent. Would most of you that currently own an Elite feel comfortable buying what's available out there in BB world or would you steer clear? I see this as a great deal assuming the quality can be assured. Thanks in advance.
Bantam11 is offline  
post #28 of 197 Old 01-05-2010, 07:03 AM
Member
 
Bantam11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by noahabel View Post

The only documented way I have found to learn the hours on the Signature Elite Kuros is via the LAN method I mentioned. Perhaps they can set it up to the in-store network? Highly unlikely, though.

It would be ideal to know the hours ahead of time. So you got 40% off of the new price? What's their new price on a discontinued monitor??

The BB's have their 141's marked down to $3,999 (assuming you could buy new in box) before the discount. I feel getting their floor display model for slightly more than 40% off that could potentially be a great buy. Just don't know how many hours on it or how it was treated. I go look at it today. I'll call in advance to see if they can figure out how to get me the usage time on it. Not having experience with these I just don't know what should be acceptable. If they really do run these things 7 days a week 10 hours a day...yikes!
Bantam11 is offline  
post #29 of 197 Old 01-05-2010, 08:29 AM
Member
 
rmhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up one of the 141's with a January 2009 production date from a local audio/video store (higher end items/ not BB). Got a good deal, had it delivered opened it up and smiled the entire time I was unwrapping it. Pulled the foam cover off the glass and almost fell to the ground. Looked like a spider web on the panel, but it wasn't. It was the glass all cracked. All they have left is the floor model and he told me he could only knock $400 off the price from what I paid for the new one. He said that they can't get a new one and the floor model has only been up for three months (they are open from 11 am to 6 pm six days a week). I also am wondering if it would be worth getting the floor model and should/could they do better than that on the price since it seems as if it's the same price as the 65" V10.
rmhuber is offline  
post #30 of 197 Old 01-05-2010, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
jparker36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 24
for those still looking for 141/151, call starpower (starpower.com) They're a dallas-based company, and I know they have a bunch of Kuro stock as they purchased every one they could find when Pio announced they were leaving. They were giving pretty decent discounts on them when I called a month ago asking about purchasing.
jparker36 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off