Opinions on Plasmas wider than the stand they sit on/above. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gelinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking for a little display upgrade advice.

For some time now I have been pretty set on getting the Panasonic 54V10. I was able to get a very good deal on it thru my employee purchase program.

The problem is that 1) it is now "not available to buy direct" from Panasonic, and 2) the price has raised two hundred dollars or so. This has me thinking of getting the 58S1 instead (I can get it for 200+ dollars cheaper than the 54V10.) Based on my picture below showing a 42" what are people's thoughts on a 54 or 58?

Whatever I chose will be mounted on the 2 risers that you can just barely see my 42" currently attached to.

I am currently leaning towards the 58s1, although it's picture is not as good as the V10, it should be a very nice step up from my entry level 42" 720p Panasonic in terms of picture quality. My apprehension is because my wife thinks the 58 will look too big on the risers of the studiotech dp-2. In contrast, I think I would really enjoy the extra size of the 58--it would prolong the period of time that I think its "big enough" aka onset of upgradeitis.

The 58s1 is 56 inches wide

The 54V10 is 52.6 inches wide

The stand is 47 inches wide.

So the question is, what do you think about a TV that is 5-9 inches wider than the TV stand? From just eyeballing it, there looks to be 6 or so inches between my front mains and the TV stand. So if the 58 extends 4.5" past the TV stand on either side it would basically fill all of the space between the mains. In contrast the 54 would likely extend to the halfway point between the mains and edges of the studiotech.

It is not a concern whether or not the stand can support either model, rather I am looking for opinions of the aesthetics of the choices.

Gelinas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pikasauce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think a few inches overhang on each end is okay. My stand is 56" wide and I'm looking at 65" sets which are typically 62" across. I would have ~3inch overhang. I saw a similar setup at Frys and it looked fine.

Sammy 55B8500
Yamaha RX3900
PS3 - Slim
Klipsch L/C/R
Speaker Company TSS-B Dipoles
Outlaw LFM-1 and HTD 12" L3 Subs
Harmony One
Pikasauce is offline  
post #3 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
s2mikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
No problem on some slight over-hang. I have about an inch or so on each side and I think it looks good and is plwnty sturdy. No issues here!
s2mikey is offline  
post #4 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gelinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What I'm wondering is if 4 1/2" overhang on either side would look silly...or if I can get away with it.

My brother has a 50" in a normal size bedroom and I enjoy the "luxuriously big" feeling it gives me.

But at the same time I don't want company leaving our home saying that the Huge TV looked dumb in our space.
Gelinas is offline  
post #5 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I had an overhang of 2-3" on each side with my last setup with no problems. However, make sure your stand will handle the added weight easily!!
dsinger is online now  
post #6 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 01:01 PM
Newbie
 
rcp28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it will look fine. You might have to move the pictures above your TV up a little bit, though!
rcp28 is offline  
post #7 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbyrnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Media, PA (outside Philly)
Posts: 3,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Go with the 58". If you had both TVs setup in your house and calibrated I doubt you would be able to tell the difference between them PQ wise. Size is what usually makes people go WOW.

Why not wall mount it? You could get a mount that extends out from the wall so it doesn't block your thermostat. Monoprice has them really cheap and would probably really improve the look of the room. I wish I could in my house but my TV sits in front of my staircase making it impossible.

Xbox Live: TheRealMaxPower --- PSN: TheRealMaxPower

 

Panasonic TC-P65VT60    Vienna Acoustic Mozart Grands    Onkyo TX-SR805   Sony BDP-S790

Astro Mixamp 2013   Schiit Modi    AKG K702 65th Anniversary   Antlion ModMic    Sennheiser PC360

Theater- Benq W1070    Elite 120" projection...

mbyrnes is online now  
post #8 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
mmoh00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 54s1 on top of what used to be a stand for 32" CRT TV. It's just fine. IMO, there's nothing particularly pleasing about TV width smaller than the stand. In fact, I recommend you get a bigger one like 65s1 instead for that viewing distance.
mmoh00 is offline  
post #9 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gelinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsinger View Post

I had an overhang of 2-3" on each side with my last setup with no problems. However, make sure your stand will handle the added weight easily!!

It can, the risers are rated at 150 pounds

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcp28 View Post

I think it will look fine. You might have to move the pictures above your TV up a little bit, though!

Haha, good observation, and something that I have already factored in no matter what size we move up to.
Gelinas is offline  
post #10 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gelinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyrnes View Post

Go with the 58". If you had both TVs setup in your house and calibrated I doubt you would be able to tell the difference between them PQ wise. Size is what usually makes people go WOW.

Why not wall mount it? You could get a mount that extends out from the wall so it doesn't block your thermostat. Monoprice has them really cheap and would probably really improve the look of the room. I wish I could in my house but my TV sits in front of my staircase making it impossible.

the 58 is what I am leaning towards if I get wife approval. The reason that we're not wall mounting is because we would strongly prefer to use the risers built into the stand.

Apologies if I was not more clear. I'm not worried about wether or not the 58 would fit, but rather how it would look floating abouve the center channel/tv stand.
Gelinas is offline  
post #11 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 01:06 PM
Member
 
jonesro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the manuf. say's the stand is capable of a set that size, it will look good. I have a 58" on a 52" stand and it is almost exactly the same size
jonesro is offline  
post #12 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gelinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonesro View Post

If the manuf. say's the stand is capable of a set that size, it will look good. I have a 58" on a 52" stand and it is almost exactly the same size

Studiotech says, "The DP-2 will accommodate video/plasma TVs of all sizes from 37" to 62" with either the table mounting or rear mounting option."

By the way, do you have any pictures available of your tv/stand combo?
Gelinas is offline  
post #13 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
GqMagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I prefer the stand wider than the screen, I went through this same quest to find the right stand this time last year when I got my Pioneer 151.

I don't like all the components exposed, this is the one I got, I have the top center door removed for my center channel which is the same color

http://www.bdiusa.com/theater/novia_8429.shtml
LL
GqMagic is offline  
post #14 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I actually think filling up the empty space inboard of the mains with a 58" set will look better than your current setup. If you can get it higher so there's more space between the bottom of the set and the top of the center speaker the tv will appear to be "floating" and really look cool. I think guests will be impressed by the nice big picture that covers up those plain yellow walls.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #15 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gelinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GqMagic View Post

I prefer the stand wider than the screen, I went through this same quest to find the right stand this time last year when I got my Pioneer 151.

I don't like all the components exposed, this is the one I got, I have the top center door removed for my center channel which is the same color

http://www.bdiusa.com/theater/novia_8429.shtml

Thanks for the input. That is a very nice stand and tv you have there.
I think there may be a bit of dust on your camera lens.

All joking aside, If I had the money and space for a different stand I'd consider the BDI or something simillar, but as you can see from my picture, space is quite limited for my front stage.
Gelinas is offline  
post #16 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gelinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post

I think guests will be impressed by the nice big picture that covers up those plain yellow walls.

Ouch, they're not that plain.....

As for the TV's height above the center channel/top of the stand. It currently looks a bit different than that pic I posted above. I've moves to a much bigger center channel. With that said, the risers allow me practically infinite vertical adjustment for the TV placement. Personally I like it just high enough to clear the center channel without the risers visible from a seated position.
Gelinas is offline  
post #17 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chris Ruhl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I posted this in another section of the forum...

My Swing Arm/Riser states it will hold a TV 50" or 135lbs. If I find a 54 or 58" that is less than 135lbs, do you think it would be ok?
Chris Ruhl is offline  
post #18 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gelinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Ruhl View Post

I posted this in another section of the forum...

My Swing Arm/Riser states it will hold a TV 50" or 135lbs. If I find a 54 or 58" that is less than 135lbs, do you think it would be ok?

I don't see why not. If you are concerned, drop the manafacturer of your stand an email.
Gelinas is offline  
post #19 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 03:05 PM
Member
 
ShaqDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Go by what is acceptable to YOU, not some strangers on the internet.
ShaqDan is offline  
post #20 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 03:07 PM
Newbie
 
rcp28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaqDan View Post

Go by what is acceptable to YOU, not some strangers on the internet.

...there's nothing wrong with asking what the popular opinion is of something. He might be concerned with what other people that come to his house would think and there's nothing wrong with that.
rcp28 is offline  
post #21 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 03:16 PM
Newbie
 
Crimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a clearer picture of the 151 above:



As to the OP's question, it's your call. My preference is to have the stand at least the same width if not slightly larger.

Q
Crimson is offline  
post #22 of 54 Old 01-04-2010, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gelinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crimson,

That is a MUCH better picture. Very nice set-up you have there.
The wood on your stand looks very rich and your mains are quite unique. How does it sound having your center channel closed into that shelf?
If I could afford one, I'd definitely not hesitate in getting Kuro PRO - 151FD.
But I just can't swing the price tag. Have you considered removing the side speakers from your display?

My issue is trying to get the most out of the stand that I currently have.

I'm thinking of going for the 58.


ShaqDan,

I completely agree with your statement about what looks best to ME.
What you need to keep in mind is how difficult it is for people to test out several different TV sizes in THEIR home. Especially if you can only afford to have one in your home at once. This is why I'm looking for others opinions/experiences/pictures.
Gelinas is offline  
post #23 of 54 Old 01-05-2010, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gelinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I just measured the space between the stand and each main. It made me realize that the left one is 10 inches or so away and the right is just over 7 inches away. I may have to adjust the placement a bit and possibly slide the sub a little bit over. We'll see how it all comes together.

As of this moment, I am set on getting the 58S1. It's such a good deal and will be 16" bigger than my current set. I'm sure it will be pleasntly big.

Now All I have to do is wait for our tax return and talk my wife into the 58 (I've already talked her into a 54 but she is resisting the extra 4 inches. We'll see how it goes, I was able to talk her into the svs and upgrading to the csi A6. By now she knows if we don't go big, I will get a case of the "what if's"
Gelinas is offline  
post #24 of 54 Old 01-05-2010, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
another schmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you photoshop a bigger screen into your picture?

Might give you a bit of a clue what it will look like.
another schmo is offline  
post #25 of 54 Old 01-05-2010, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gelinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by another schmo View Post

Can you photoshop a bigger screen into your picture?

Might give you a bit of a clue what it will look like.

Thats a great idea but I don't have photoshop or know how to use it.

Anyone who can do this I would GREATLY appreciate it.

Below is a size comparison for refrence between my 42 and a 58

Gelinas is offline  
post #26 of 54 Old 01-06-2010, 06:57 AM
Member
 
snownut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pontypool, ON
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine over hangs the stand be 8 inches or so each side.
LL

SnowNut
snownut is offline  
post #27 of 54 Old 01-06-2010, 07:21 AM
Member
 
snownut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pontypool, ON
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are still going to have the center channel in the same place? If so that might look strange having so much space between the TV and the stand.

SnowNut
snownut is offline  
post #28 of 54 Old 01-06-2010, 07:28 AM
Member
 
scottacus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you were originally getting the 54V10, have you considered the 54G10?

The extra 4" on the S1 is nice, but if you get extra features (and some upgrade in PQ) with the G10 and it fits your room/stand better, it might be worth considering.

And of course in addition to with make sure whatever stand you have is capable of handling the weight of whatever set you get! The 58S1 isn't incredibly heavy at ~110 pounds, but it's worth checking.
scottacus is offline  
post #29 of 54 Old 01-06-2010, 07:54 AM
Member
 
cedarwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have mine on a "cafe" table.

 

DSC_0004.pdf 158.4931640625k . file
cedarwood is offline  
post #30 of 54 Old 01-06-2010, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
When I upgraded to a 50" plasma from a 37" inch plasma, I used cardboard cut to the dimensions of the new plasma I wanted to get a sense of the size/overhang with my then current TV stand. It gave me enough info to take the plunge. Lived with that for a while but I have since upgraded my TV stand to a doublewide Salamder brand stand - which I love.
kinglm is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off