Panasonic G10 vertical bar on side of screen - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-06-2010, 06:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blangga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi
I have a week old G10 that had been working fine. While watching cable yesterday, an ~3 inch vertical area on the left side of the screen started changing. The color went dimmer, it went black, and then went back to normal. Eventually the color went dim again and then was back to normal. It did it again later, and turning the set off and on got it back to normal again. I contacted Panasonic who said if an engineer came out it would be difficult to figure out the problem unless it was showing the issue at that time. He didn't have an idea as to what might be causing it. Has anyone seen this issue before? I searched past threads but didn't seem to find the same issue described.
thanks
B
blangga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-06-2010, 06:55 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by blangga View Post

Hi
I have a week old G10 that had been working fine. While watching cable yesterday, a ~3 inch vertical area on the left side of the screen started changing. The color went dimmer, it went black, and then went back to normal. Eventually the color went dim again and then was back to normal. It did it again later, and turning the set off and on got it back to normal again. I contacted Panasonic who said if an engineer came out it would be difficult to figure out the problem unless it was showing the issue at that time. He didn't have an idea as to what might be causing it. Has anyone seen this issue before? I searched past threads but didn't seem to find the same issue described.

Does this 3" bar extend from the top to the bottom, or does it only extend up (or down) to the mid-point of the screen?

Keep a camera ready and take several pictures of the problem the next time you see it. The location and overall length of the line can help determine which video board is failing, or if it's the plasma panel itself that's failing.

Whatever it is, it will need to be repaired. Can you just return it the place you bought it and get a replacement?

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-06-2010, 07:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blangga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for your quick reply. The line went from top to bottom.

It was bought through Panasonic Direct's website.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

Does this 3" bar extend from the top to the bottom, or does it only extend up (or down) to the mid-point of the screen?

Keep a camera ready and take several pictures of the problem the next time you see it. The location and overall length of the line can help determine which video board is failing, or if it's the plasma panel itself that's failing.

Whatever it is, it will need to be repaired. Can you just return it the place you bought it and get a replacement?

blangga is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-07-2010, 06:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blangga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It had the same issue tonight. Here are two pics



blangga is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-07-2010, 07:21 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 448
I'm not an expert but that could be something simple like a loose connection on that part of the panel, or something more serious like a bad panel or one of it's integral video boards. I presume that bar also covers the on-screen picture setting menus? This is fairly rare defect on a Panasonic.

I'd press for a replacement, but they'll probably want to send a local technician over to diagnose it and possibly fix it himself.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-14-2010, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blangga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those interested just a follow up on my G10 problem. I called Panasonic and booked a service visit, and at the same time initiated an RA since they do have a 30 day return policy. I planned on waiting to see what the issue was before I went through the hassles of sending back the TV. The repair guys had it fixed in 5 minuted. As Randy suggeted, it was just a loose connection caused by a door which hadn't been closed properly in production. Since it was something so simple (and the TV has been fine since), I decided to keep it and not follow through on the return.
blangga is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off