Component Inputs on Plasma...bad? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-25-2010, 10:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SFoley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a friend who told me that using component cables on my plasma tv would hurt the tv. Is there any truth to this?

I use component for my Xbox for about a year now and have seen no ill effects but am worried that I may be damaging my tv. Any guidance is greatly appreciated.
SFoley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-25-2010, 10:47 PM
Senior Member
 
qphillips06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFoley View Post

I have a friend who told me that using component cables on my plasma tv would hurt the tv. Is there any truth to this?

I use component for my Xbox for about a year now and have seen no ill effects but am worried that I may be damaging my tv. Any guidance is greatly appreciated.

Component cables won't hurt your TV... If they did then why are they on there. HDMI would be the preferred connection over Component. Both cables can support HD resolutions but HDMI is digital where as component is analog.
qphillips06 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-25-2010, 10:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cavu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFoley View Post

Is there any truth to this?

No!

"The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance  it is the illusion of knowledge." - Daniel Boorstin
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.
" - MLK

cavu is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-25-2010, 11:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: east SF bay area, ca
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
your buddy is smokin some really good stuff

component video for most purposes looks as good as HDMI, think of it as the analog version of HDMI

if your familiar with computer monitors

HDMI = DVI (they are actually the same thing)
Component = 15 pin RGB VGA (while they are not the same the resulting picture is more or less just as good)

HDMI has the potential of a sharper more accurate image but due to poor source material with pretty much any device short of a BD player or PC there is little to be gained by even using HDMI picture quality wise.

If you're a gamer or interested in using an LCD TV as a primary monitor take a look at my thread on Input Lag
frito is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-25-2010, 11:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dlplover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you get a power short or board failure, your component inputs can stop working but your hdmi or dvi, tuner, etc... could just as easily do the same thing in that odd scenario. And actually, typically if something gets fried on your tv the digital ports will be the ones to go rather than your analog ones. Plasma TV's are quiet reliable though so this is something you shouldn't worry about at all. Just make sure you're running it on a line conditioner/surge protector and you'll be fine.
dlplover is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off