Pioneer Plasma missing red - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 03-01-2010, 09:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
lj973gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My apologies if this is in the wrong section, I did not notice a repair section.

I have a pioneer pdp-5016hd it was having an issue with the red color realm. It would basically no display the whole color spectrum correctly and some shades would show in a bright red orange color. This went on for about 4 months and no it is not displaying red at all anymore.

I am a HT installer so I am sure it is something internal and not a connection issue. It does this one all possible inputs.

Any idea on what it would likely be?? X or Y drive??

I am in chicagoland if anyone knows of a honest tech shop
lj973gm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 03-01-2010, 09:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,981
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 283
D-Nice is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 03-02-2010, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
lj973gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply Dnice

It appears to be on all inputs.

When it initially started to fail it was not showing certain gradients of red correctly across all inputs but was worse on SD connections. The HD's were bareable to watch.

Now anything that should be red shows as black.

I tested this on HDMI and component

Thanks again
lj973gm is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 03-06-2010, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
lj973gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Checked into this a bit more and was asked a couple of questions by a buddy who used to work on TV's but he is not sure on the pioneers.

He asked if it showed Red correctly anywhere in the menu and it does show all colors including red correctly in the menu where it is supposed to.

So the panel is capable of working correctly still just need to identify which board is likely at fault.

Any help is appreciated.
lj973gm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off