The Official Panasonic G20/25 Owner's Discussion Thread [no price talk] - Page 285 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8521 of 8543 Old 01-10-2014, 06:51 AM
Member
 
Yeti1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sometimes the VT looks stunning, just not all the time. I will probably keep it and hope to make the best of it over time. The 65" size is much better than my 54" when I watch letter boxed movies. I wish there was a 65" G25, :-)
Yeti1234 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8522 of 8543 Old 01-10-2014, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yeti1234 View Post

Sometimes the VT looks stunning, just not all the time. I will probably keep it and hope to make the best of it over time. The 65" size is much better than my 54" when I watch letter boxed movies. I wish there was a 65" G25, :-)

I know what you mean and that is why I chose the ST60 instead. If I had better light control, I would have bought the ZT60.

My G25 is still going strong and now resides in the master bedroom. smile.gif

sheshechic is offline  
post #8523 of 8543 Old 01-12-2014, 03:21 AM
Member
 
digifiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a potentially stupid question. I have a 3 year old TC-P50G25 and I just bought a new Blu Ray Player to replace the Panny BD player that took a dump on me. I haven't played with Deep Color at all with the G25. I noticed that the set is capable of using deep color, but I can't locate any menu option on the TV to activate it. Is the Deep Color support automatic or does it have to be enabled someplace?

I'm running the set exclusively in THX picture mode in case that makes a difference.
digifiend is offline  
post #8524 of 8543 Old 02-16-2014, 09:50 PM
Member
 
toy4x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 50g20. The tv will shut off every now and then. Then most of the time will turn back on. It's getting aggravating. Any ideas of the cause? I think I still have a warranty on it as I bought the extended one from bb

Sent from my DNA
toy4x is offline  
post #8525 of 8543 Old 04-08-2014, 03:29 PM
Newbie
 
shanekdiesel3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
okay first i have no idea where to post my question. so my apologies. i have a panasonic plasma tc-p50g25. i found on the curb. set does turn on ,clicks but panel does not prime. led Indicator turns on and stays on does not blink? any idea's. thank you.
shanekdiesel3 is offline  
post #8526 of 8543 Old 04-16-2014, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
lrspartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any suggestions for a replacement for G25? Wanting to stay with plasma, but not a fan of the Samsung stands. The four legged stand and their high end model stand don't look good to me.
lrspartan is offline  
post #8527 of 8543 Old 04-16-2014, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
AJCxZ0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Virginia, U.S.A.
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrspartan View Post

Any suggestions for a replacement for G25? Wanting to stay with plasma, but not a fan of the Samsung stands.

Given the recent news, I recommend getting the best plasma display you can afford because it will probably be your last chance to buy a new one. Since all(?) of them have VESA mounts, you can replace the stand.

It will be interesting to see if folks with top end plasma TVs sell them to replace them with 4K (O)LED displays or whatever ends up being the new "best"; similarly for vendors with significant stock of plasma displays. There may be some good deals for the brave and patient.
AJCxZ0 is offline  
post #8528 of 8543 Old 04-16-2014, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrspartan View Post

Any suggestions for a replacement for G25? Wanting to stay with plasma, but not a fan of the Samsung stands. The four legged stand and their high end model stand don't look good to me.

I agree with AJC. If you can get your hands on one buy the Panasonic ST60.

sheshechic is offline  
post #8529 of 8543 Old 04-26-2014, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
baron2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I have a question on panel hours. Looking at a 54g25 and in the menue for time and count it says

Time 50432.20

Count 0000115

Would that be 504 hours 32 minutes and 20 seconds for the time?

Would that also mean the display has been turned on 115 times under count?

Thanks for the help.

Ive got some stuff
baron2 is online now  
post #8530 of 8543 Old 05-28-2014, 03:44 PM
Newbie
 
mollusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know the screw specs on the screws that attach the screen to the base?

I have a TC-P54G25 that was missing from my house this morning (f'ing thieves!), I found the display, stand, chord, and remote stashed close by, but the screws were missing. The perps had broken it down to hide it. The police found no really good prints on any of them as they were wiped, but did get an excellent fresh one from the cover of a book the perps had to move to get to the set.

Really nice display, BTW.

Glad to have it back in my house.
mollusk is offline  
post #8531 of 8543 Old 06-01-2014, 11:02 AM
Member
 
showsjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Well, since Panasonic is out of the game and a reasonably priced Panny set cant be found anywhere in my area, I've been considering the Samsung F5300 and the more expensive F8500. I'll be using this TV mostly for PC gaming in the bedroom. Will the F5300 give me equal or better PQ and black levels as the G20 or will I have to spring for the F8500 for that?
showsjohn is offline  
post #8532 of 8543 Old 06-02-2014, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Yes the black levels should be better than the G25, the knock on the F5300 is the lack of an AR filter. Depending on your lighting conditions that may be an issue.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #8533 of 8543 Old 06-02-2014, 08:23 AM
Member
 
showsjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks for the reply, that sounds great. The TV will be in my bedroom which gets very little ambient light aside from the lamp in the corner of the room.
showsjohn is offline  
post #8534 of 8543 Old 06-02-2014, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 447
You should be good then, what size are you looking at ? The 60" is pentile.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #8535 of 8543 Old 06-02-2014, 09:00 AM
Member
 
showsjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just the 51" since its for my bedroom. Disappointed to hear the larger models are pentile. Probably woulda picked up a 64" for the living room and swapped the G20 in my bedroom.
showsjohn is offline  
post #8536 of 8543 Old 06-02-2014, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 447
It is only the 60" the 51 and 64 are not. Get he biggest size you can smile.gif

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #8537 of 8543 Old 06-02-2014, 09:15 AM
Member
 
showsjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
oh heavens, well this turns everything upside down. Then again the 64" is triple the price of the 51". I could pick up a 51" F8500 for that price...Why must they tempt me like this...
showsjohn is offline  
post #8538 of 8543 Old 06-02-2014, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 447
The F8500 is indeed a great set but I still think size is more important if that is what you want. I went from a 55" to 65" recently, pretty substancial difference imo Screens shrink lol

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #8539 of 8543 Old 06-02-2014, 09:36 AM
Member
 
showsjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Right, my 50 in my living room is looking on the small side. As much as I'd prefer the 64" sammy, it would require a new tv stand to accommodate. Not to mention a huge window adjacent to the TV. During the day my Panny doesnt fair well in dark scenes, I'd shudder at how this one would perform. I'll have to give this some serious thought. 64" would be mesmerizing, however.
showsjohn is offline  
post #8540 of 8543 Old 06-02-2014, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Tough choice for sure

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #8541 of 8543 Old 06-16-2014, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Oops, just got "an error has been detected, recovered" or something like that. It toggled off and back on. First problem I've had with my 42 g25. I hope it's not the start of a real problem. I doubt I have more than 2000 hours, and I can't recall how to tell...
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #8542 of 8543 Old 06-18-2014, 05:31 PM
Newbie
 
adamCCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

Is it possible to install an older version of the firmware?

Ive updated my set and the picture is very bad now, especially watching football, there are major issues with motion blur, which weren't present at all before the update.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Adam
adamCCC is offline  
post #8543 of 8543 Old 06-28-2014, 12:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
G20 glass filter replacement


Hi guys,

This is my first ever post. Hopefully someone can help me, I am in the UK. Hopefully this is being posted in the right area.

I have a panasonic 2010, TXP-46G20 plasma and can only assume that something has been sprayed on the screen (it has been in storage since we moved 6 months ago) and is now covered in oily speckles. I have since learnt the tv has a glass filter in front of the plasma panel that is replaceable. As this is 2010 I am hoping that the glass filter isn't bonded to the screen?

Anyway, I took out a 5 year warranty on purchase but panasonic will not assist. I have therefore bought another broken G20 for £10!!! The screen has a crack but the glass filter appears fine. I know, risky but I thought I'd take the risk for £10! The glass Filter has no scratches so is a good replacement!

My reason for posting on the forum is to try and find out if I can change this panel myself? I understand the environment that I do it in my be super clean. Is it true that i just need to remove the bolts around the perimeter of the screen and the glass will then be accessible to remove. Likewise on my good set I can remove the bad filter and simply insert the new? That seems a bit too straight forward, so maybe I should get a local shop to do the repair (they have quoted me around £150).

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Guy
Guyray is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off