The Official Panasonic G20/25 Owner's Discussion Thread [no price talk] - Page 286 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8551 of 8565 Old 01-09-2015, 07:42 PM
Member
 
34HFX83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Dvdo VP would do the trick, more expensive option would be a Lumagen VP.

Which one allows 10 point gamma adjustment?
34HFX83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8552 of 8565 Old 01-22-2015, 11:05 AM
Member
 
blacksunseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've searched this thread but not found an adequate discussion/answer to my question so I thought I'd just ask it directly: are any other owners noticing "fuzziness" in their colors at this point? I'm an infrequent user of my 50" g25 but have started noticing, especially in the blacks, fuzziness or static-like interference. Is this normal for aging plasmas? Is there anything I can do to fix it or do I just accept my TV's demise and move on? This issue occurs across different inputs and devices as well.
blacksunseven is offline  
post #8553 of 8565 Old 01-22-2015, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by blacksunseven View Post
I've searched this thread but not found an adequate discussion/answer to my question so I thought I'd just ask it directly: are any other owners noticing "fuzziness" in their colors at this point? I'm an infrequent user of my 50" g25 but have started noticing, especially in the blacks, fuzziness or static-like interference. Is this normal for aging plasmas? Is there anything I can do to fix it or do I just accept my TV's demise and move on? This issue occurs across different inputs and devices as well.
Mine is my bedroom TV (so probably the most used), and I haven't noticed this at all since I had it. I even ran the color slides when I first purchased it. Have you tried running a different surge protector or UPS?
galonzo is offline  
post #8554 of 8565 Old 02-03-2015, 02:12 PM
Newbie
 
Urmas Täht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tallinn
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I replaced mainbord TX-P42G20E, blinking 10.
It´s work now, but the software is not compatible:check sum is red.This board was in TX-P50G20E.
Does anyone have a soft to TX-P42G20E?
file boardreplace.pwd
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	panasonic_txp42g20e_data_copy_by_sd_card.png
Views:	24
Size:	293.6 KB
ID:	523017  

Urmas
Urmas Täht is offline  
post #8555 of 8565 Old 02-06-2015, 05:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
80sGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Alright guys, too much to dig through with no results....I'm looking to get a 'wifi dongle' for my TC-P42G25, and need suggestions for compatibility and reliable model. Since I'm not using the TV to stream media as much (at least not for movies since it can only send 2.0 stereo sound to my receiver) and it is a waste to have that cat5 cable attached to its back. Looking to route it to my new Oppo Blu-Ray player instead.
80sGuy is offline  
post #8556 of 8565 Old 02-06-2015, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Get a bridge. I use a linksys AC that I got for about $30. It works great for my Tivo Mini and receiver. I don't even bother with the apps on the tv. The Tivo is much better.

Currently $38 at newegg

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-018-_-Product
gregoryperkins is online now  
post #8557 of 8565 Old 02-06-2015, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I put my TV (42" G25) up in the bedroom and tried my go to surround sound demo disc, Master and Commander.

The sound was great, but the tv looked terrible when the ship went into the fog at the end of the first battle. Lots of banding in the grey. I don't recall seeing that before. Currently it's paired with a Pioneer receiver and Panasonic BD via hdmi, thx setting (unmodified).

I will rerun it on my main theater and see how it looks on my projector and LG plasma.

I don't recall ever seeing pq problems like that when it was with the projector (LG bd, Yamaha receiver, Mitsubishi projector) but I may not have tried it with the tv. I generally watch movies on the 106" projector and use the tv for cable during the day.
gregoryperkins is online now  
post #8558 of 8565 Old 02-06-2015, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
80sGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 27
^^Probably gonna buy one of those Netgear USB dongle for under $20. I hardy used the Viera feature but I'd like to have some sort of connection just in case. For the picture quality you described, tried turning on 'Blur Reduction' on the TV setting.
80sGuy is offline  
post #8559 of 8565 Old 02-15-2015, 01:54 PM
Member
 
booloo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80sGuy View Post
^^Probably gonna buy one of those Netgear USB dongle for under $20. I hardy used the Viera feature but I'd like to have some sort of connection just in case. For the picture quality you described, tried turning on 'Blur Reduction' on the TV setting.
Has anyone upgraded from the G25? And if so, what did you guys decide on? I am going back and forth as to whether or not I should upgrade and get a 2014 Plasma before I can no longer grab one.

I was in Best Buy and man, none of the LED offerings were impressing me, especially for the prices demanded for them.

I recently picked up a 43" 720p Samsung Plasma for $230 as a fire sale and I am just blown away with the color accuracy, blacks and over all PQ. I almost want to say it beats out the 54" G25 I purchased in 2010. Has Plasma tech really moved that much in 4 years time?

I am seeing some 60-64" Samsung Plasmas that have great prices. And if I can get by the Pentile display, I feel it would be a nice set to have. But is it a worthy upgrade on the G25, which has never given me a single problem?

Just looking to see what owners of this set think and if any have upgraded their sets to something current. Thanks for reading!
booloo is offline  
post #8560 of 8565 Old 02-15-2015, 02:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
80sGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 27
^^I regret not buying a GT or VT when I had the chance. Thanks to the lady of the house for always limiting us guys buying such things. Now I couldn't even get a decent upgrade unless I go OLED - supposedly that's pretty close to Plasma except for exorbitant prices.
80sGuy is offline  
post #8561 of 8565 Old 02-15-2015, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 92
OLED is too expensive right now and the tech is only going to get better with time. My G25 is doing bedroom duty and I bought 2 ST60s, 65" for den and 50" for small living room. I'd be horrified and depressed if I had to replace them this year. Since I recently had a problem with the 65" I know the feeling well, and decided that if it could not be fixed I'd go cheap LED until the tv I want came within reach. I'd go Vizo until I could afford a 70" OLED. Sorry, but I just couldn't handle a buzzing (and the other possible issues) of a Samsung plasma.

sheshechic is offline  
post #8562 of 8565 Old 02-15-2015, 11:23 PM
Goo
Member
 
Goo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blacksunseven View Post
I've searched this thread but not found an adequate discussion/answer to my question so I thought I'd just ask it directly: are any other owners noticing "fuzziness" in their colors at this point? I'm an infrequent user of my 50" g25 but have started noticing, especially in the blacks, fuzziness or static-like interference. Is this normal for aging plasmas? Is there anything I can do to fix it or do I just accept my TV's demise and move on? This issue occurs across different inputs and devices as well.
If you see static where it should be a solid black try turning down the brightness setting, in most picture modes 64 will eliminate any dancing pixels where it should be solid black on my G25. Your display might be different, just get up close to it when displaying a scene that has solid black and adjust the brightness until the static disappears.

Not really sure about fuzziness in the colors.
Goo is offline  
post #8563 of 8565 Old 02-16-2015, 06:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I got worried about the demise of plasma and tried to get the Samsung 8500. BB's inventory system screwed me. They let you buy something that can't be shipped or delivered to a store. That's a heck of a way to run a business.

I ended up with a 60" LG 6900 for $750, about 100 more than I paid for my 42" g25 and half of what I would have paid for the 8500. The g25 was off for a month while I was waiting to move it to the bedroom. The g25 no longer impresses me. An avs member that I know bought yhr 6900 and he's an ISF calibrator! They are probably hard to find now, I got it in November. Consumer reports liked it too.

We still prefer the 106" projector, size trumps!

Last edited by gregoryperkins; 02-16-2015 at 06:05 AM. Reason: clarity
gregoryperkins is online now  
post #8564 of 8565 Old Yesterday, 07:13 PM
Member
 
KOTULCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any way to add Bluetooth to this Panny? I know they sell some 3.5mm adapters but that means I'll have to physically unplug it whenever I don't want to use my headphones. Does anyone know of any other way to do this?
KOTULCN is offline  
post #8565 of 8565 Old Today, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Something like this might work, but it's not cheap. It has optical in. Let us know if you find something. I'm not sure what happens with the optical output when you turn off the speakers, I assume it continues to send a signal.

http://www.amazon.com/Nolan-Bluetoot...+optical+input
gregoryperkins is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off