The Official Panasonic TC-PXXS2 Owner's Discussion Thread [NO Price talk] - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-2010, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
shady acrez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Rolling Hills Estates, CA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got off an online chat with the concierge folks..
they asked to to check for cracks on the screen...im currently at work so couldnt do that.

asked me to get back with them when i could check the screen & provide the serial #.

Depending on what i find...they would send out a technician...then go from there...

will provide a follow-up asap
shady acrez is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2010, 06:54 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update on the buzzing. Im now 23 hours into the break in slides, and the buzzing on white slides is all but gone.

Im still impressed with how uniform the colors, much more than my 2008 model, especially the white.
ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 07:12 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW, did Panny do away with cooling fans. My 2008 had 5, but I do not see any behind the S2.
ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElwayLite View Post

BTW, did Panny do away with cooling fans. My 2008 had 5, but I do not see any behind the S2.

No fans on the 46S2.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 07:45 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These Neo PDP's must def run cooler then.
ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 10:46 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Buzz has reduced even more since this AM. 27 hours on set.
ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 10:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
eonibm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I never heard a buzz on mine at all.

I LOVE this TV!
eonibm is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 10:57 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In my experience, they all have buzzed early on with the white slides, but it decreases. Also, the picture quality of the set is generally better once you get a couple of hundred hours on it.

I'm doing updates like this to help people out, because all you generally see is "I just got the tv and it buzzes, im taking it back. Panasonic sucks..."

This is my 3rd plasma, so i know the drill.
ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 11:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
eonibm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone been able to update their PSXX2 firmware?

There is a firmware upgrade here from Panasonic and the instructions mention loading two SD cards, SD 1 and SD 2, but the download only contains one file not two. Also, this may be something to do with my SD card but I get an error that card can't be read when I insert it into my P65S2, but then this is the same card I used for my break-in slides (but then reformatted as you are supposed to use a clean card for the firmware). So I am thinking it might be a problem with the file.

Anyone?
eonibm is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 11:06 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Already been discussed. Go here:

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c.../down_nap.html

One file for HDMI audio issues
ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 11:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
eonibm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Couldn't find the discussion you were talking about. Odd that on the panasonic.com site the instructions talk about 2 files but on the link you provided they talk only about 1 file.
eonibm is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 11:17 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, that "jp" site is the one I use for BR updates too, it's better.

Maybe we discussed it in the issues, thread, but I though it was this one a few days ago.
ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 11:40 AM
Newbie
 
racerxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious why you chose the S2 over the LGx50?

I am looking for the best "display" for the $$. Don't care about 3d or all the stupid net-apps. Heck I don't even need a tuner, speakers, etc.. Just HDMI/other inputs. Planning to use a PS3 or DVD player for all the content.

Your set looks nice tho. Glad you are happy with it.
racerxx is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 11:44 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To be honest, this is my 3rd Panny plasma and Ive always been happy with them, and their support toward tv's and br players. They build a quality product that is reliable, at least in my experience.

The LG has a very good PQ, but their reliabilty is still a question mark for me, they have the worst measured blacks out of the 3 manufacturers, and their AR filter needs improvement.
ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spivonious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA, USA
Posts: 1,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also looked at the LG before buying my S2. It was the glare filter that sold it. The LG was like looking into a mirror.
spivonious is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 11:57 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another note on the break in process. When I started, I'd see a slight uniformity issue on some slides (blue namely), where especially from an angle, the blue would not be a uniform shade all the way across (very small areas;not obvious). These are almost faded now too, so I would assume it's the cells aging and becoming consistent.
ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 12:16 PM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For anyone looking for a good screen cloth, I needed a new one, and just got this 3 pack in. Very good feel, and great price.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ef=oss_product
ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 12:19 PM
Newbie
 
racerxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems like the "main" thing that's missing from the S2 (vs. G25) is the PC input. But I'd imagine if you're running a media server you'll be outputting HDMI anyhow.

The 58" S2 is certainly a bit more compelling than the 54" G25. Is the "infinite black" really that noticeable?
racerxx is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
mustangs1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerxx View Post

Seems like the "main" thing that's missing from the S2 (vs. G25) is the PC input. But I'd imagine if you're running a media server you'll be outputting HDMI anyhow.

The 58" S2 is certainly a bit more compelling than the 54" G25. Is the "infinite black" really that noticeable?

Yes, very noticeable during the day. Infinite black is a combination of new Glare filter and new pre-discharge tech. The new filter is the biggest improvement, so better black during the day. At night, the new pre-discharge control helps as well, but it is more subtle, but still a little noticeable.
mustangs1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 12:49 PM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the better AR filter would be the most noticed. Not a big measured difference in black levels, so Im sure the AR filter helps.
ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
shadymg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've downloaded the Sample Slides from D-Nice's, but i came across the webapalooza burn-in images from here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1107017

Basically both do the exact same thing, right?

_________________________
Mike Garcen
Media Center MVP
MissingRemote.com - The Home for Home Theaters and HTPCs - Reviews, Blogs, Forums & More | Twitter @missingremote
shadymg is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 05:49 PM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same difference, I think the web ones might be 720p, but I dont think that matters. Big thing is that its FULL SCREEN color slides to properly AND evenly age the cells. In theory, if they are aged equally, over the whole screen, it gives a consistent picture over the whole screen. I think this really only would be important to someone getting the set calibrated, because the meter reads one small point on the screen. Being that you are adjusting the WHOLE screen to this point, you want them consistent. Regular tv viewing with lights and darks would age them separately. How big of a deal this is, I know no idea

I just run the 100 hours of slides, get my calibration and enjoy.
ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
shadymg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks Elway, i kinda figured after looking at images on both, but figured i'd ask since i couldn't be the only one that wondered that :-) it took me 2 days just to get through all 13 pages here, my 50S2 is arriving tuesday....honestly not sure i can hold out for 100 hours, but really going to try. :-)

_________________________
Mike Garcen
Media Center MVP
MissingRemote.com - The Home for Home Theaters and HTPCs - Reviews, Blogs, Forums & More | Twitter @missingremote
shadymg is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 06:07 PM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No problem, ask away. This is my 3rd time breaking a panny plasma in, so I know the drill.

You hear a good bit of buzz on the white slides, but it generally diminishes as you get hours on it. Screen uniformity over each color will get better too.

It is tough to do! I have mine running off the SD card 24/7, and my 32" LCD on a stand in front of it. Ill be using a calibration disc finally, Monday night!
ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 07:09 PM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is how you break in a plasma with patience...Does this count as picture in picture??

ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 12:05 AM
Newbie
 
ChristianZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can i run the break in slides off a usb stick via my ps3 outputting 720/1080 ? or is the sd card necessary
ChristianZ is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 12:47 AM
Newbie
 
jbmcfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you check the hours for a TC-PxxS2 once in the service menu?

Thanks
jbmcfl is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 01:24 AM
Senior Member
 
shadymg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LOL @ ElwayLite

Although pretty darned clever...might have to steal your idea...worry not, i'll give you credit ;-)

Man...can it be Tuesday already?!?!?! :-P

btw, i bought mine Refurbished...so it probably already has some hours on it. That shouldn't affect my burn-in process since most likely the previous customer didn't do it, right?

Ditto the above question on any way to see how many hours it's been used?

_________________________
Mike Garcen
Media Center MVP
MissingRemote.com - The Home for Home Theaters and HTPCs - Reviews, Blogs, Forums & More | Twitter @missingremote
shadymg is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 06:09 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The info is here in these Panny threads, just gotta do a little hunting for how to find it. The numbers are in decimal format, or hexadecimal, or something, so when you right them down, just go on Google and convert them to hours and minutes. Also will tell you how many times you've turned the TV on.
ElwayLite is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 06:22 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For your hours, check this (courtesy of h-i-g-h-d-e-f-j-u-n-k-i-e-s.com):

Press and hold the {VOL -} button ON THE PLASMA.
Then press the {INFO} button on the remote control 3 times.
Press the {2} button once to select "SRV-TOOL".

And press the {OK} button to access it.

Using the cursor keys, select the right side
of the last option "PTCT :00.00.00.00.00" :


|----------------------|---------------------|
| TD2Microde: 81c0000f |
|----------------------|---------------------|
| Flash ROM: 1 - 227 e |
|----------------------|---------------------|
| PTCT :00.00.00.00.00 | * HIGHLIGHT HERE *
|----------------------|---------------------|


Then press and hold the {MUTE} button for 3 seconds.

Time and Count will be displayed in red color.

TIME = Hours : Minutes of operation.
(Hours shown must be divided by 256 to get the correct value)

COUNT = Times the Plasma was powered on.

To exit, press and hold the {POWER} button
on the Plasma for few seconds.
ElwayLite is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off