The Official Panasonic TC-PXXS2 Owner's Discussion Thread [NO Price talk] - Page 76 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2251 of 2271 Old 12-27-2011, 09:20 PM
Member
 
berthasroses's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AzGuardGuy View Post

The pixel is on his pocket. Again the pictures don't really do it justice. If it was dead, or in the corner then it wouldn't bother me so much. I just hate to think that I have to live with this issue.

There's nothing you can do. Even Best Buy's protection plans offer panel replacement only if you have 5 or more dead pixels in an inch. It sucks but you'll just have to deal with it.


I've had a bit of an odd issue lately with my panel. During certain black to grey screens/scenes I'm getting flickering green spots all over the screen ranging from small (a few pixels) to larger ones that are bigger than the size of a quarter. I can't duplicate it either. It just happens randomly. Any one had this issue?
berthasroses is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2252 of 2271 Old 01-21-2012, 01:08 PM
Member
 
thomaswadsworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Re: p65S2; has anyone seen a dashed horizontal line across the screen? Just showed up today; set is 18 months old; tried panasonic 'chat' with no joy. Have tried lots of turning off, disconnecting from cable etc etc; it is the set. Firmware update? or maybe just "broken" TIA
Tom
thomaswadsworth is offline  
post #2253 of 2271 Old 01-21-2012, 01:51 PM
Member
 
shimonmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomaswadsworth View Post

Re: p65S2; has anyone seen a dashed horizontal line across the screen? Just showed up today; set is 18 months old; tried panasonic 'chat' with no joy. Have tried lots of turning off, disconnecting from cable etc etc; it is the set. Firmware update? or maybe just "broken" TIA
Tom

Sounds like a problem with unit itself. If you paid by credit card...a lot of cards will double the warranty period to 2 years which will cover this problem.

-Shimon
shimonmor is offline  
post #2254 of 2271 Old 01-21-2012, 04:53 PM
Member
 
thomaswadsworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great Idea Shimon. I bought the set with a Visa Signature card; running it down now. Maybe.......
Thank you for your help.
Tom
thomaswadsworth is offline  
post #2255 of 2271 Old 02-25-2012, 09:26 AM
Member
 
thomaswadsworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Shimon
Your suggestion paid off.
The warranty was 6 months out but the Visa card did double the warranty.
I received a check today.
The estimate for repair from an authorized Panasonic repair center was over 2k; just a few dollars less than I paid for the set!! Amazing.
Thank you again.
Now to find a new set -- more dependable and lots of warranty.
Tom
thomaswadsworth is offline  
post #2256 of 2271 Old 02-25-2012, 10:00 AM
Member
 
shimonmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomaswadsworth View Post

Shimon
Your suggestion paid off.
The warranty was 6 months out but the Visa card did double the warranty.
I received a check today.
The estimate for repair from an authorized Panasonic repair center was over 2k; just a few dollars less than I paid for the set!! Amazing.
Thank you again.
Now to find a new set -- more dependable and lots of warranty.
Tom

Glad it worked out for you. Panasonic is no more or less reliable than any other brand. Find a TV you like and then, if you want, buy a Square Trade extended warranty. I believe most TVs will come with similar standard warranties. So you will need to buy an extended warranty...of which, Square Trade is consisted the best.

-Shimon
shimonmor is offline  
post #2257 of 2271 Old 07-11-2012, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
boomcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got the dreaded led blinking 10 times problem last night on a August 2010 TC-P42S2. Hopefully Panasonic will do the right thing and cover it.
boomcha is offline  
post #2258 of 2271 Old 07-21-2012, 10:53 AM
Newbie
 
boomcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ended up being the SC board. It got replaced and got it back today.
boomcha is offline  
post #2259 of 2271 Old 07-26-2013, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
cgking114's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mount Pleasant, SC
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
okay I just bought this TV from someone from Craigslist. It already had about 4500 hrs. Would running the slideshow from D-Nice do me any good now or is it too late?
cgking114 is offline  
post #2260 of 2271 Old 07-26-2013, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgking114 View Post

okay I just bought this TV from someone from Craigslist. It already had about 4500 hrs. Would running the slideshow from D-Nice do me any good now or is it too late?

It will do absolutely nothing but waste your time at this point. They are only used after the first 300 hrs and for his settings only. At this point you can get the set calibrated or put any settings for your tv.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28'sCenter Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II (new)Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3Receiver - Onkyo RC-360HTPC - Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
post #2261 of 2271 Old 07-27-2013, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
cgking114's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mount Pleasant, SC
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post

It will do absolutely nothing but waste your time at this point. They are only used after the first 300 hrs and for his settings only. At this point you can get the set calibrated or put any settings for your tv.

Thanks. I am really disappointed with this TV. At times, the picture can be very good, but then most of the time the background looks like it is pixelating something fierce. The black level is not as good as I have heard Panasonic to be. My Samsung 720P plasma blew this TV away. I sold that one to get this because of Panasonics reputation.
cgking114 is offline  
post #2262 of 2271 Old 07-28-2013, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
pixelating on which source? Have you tried calibrating it?
gregoryperkins is online now  
post #2263 of 2271 Old 07-29-2013, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
cgking114's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mount Pleasant, SC
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With Directv thru HDMI. I haven't had it calibrated. I don't know of pixelating is the correct term but it just looks hazy and blocky.
cgking114 is offline  
post #2264 of 2271 Old 07-30-2013, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Try a blu ray, it's a purer source. Pixelation is the correct term for blockiness, I'm not sure about hazy.

What do you have the tv set to (vivid, standard etc)? Look earlier in the thread for calibration values and start there.
gregoryperkins is online now  
post #2265 of 2271 Old 08-01-2013, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
cgking114's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mount Pleasant, SC
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blu-ray is a lot better! Great picture. I guess it's the source. I have never noticed it with Directv before with my other TVs. I heard sine of their boxes use RGB. Could this have something to do with it? Is there anything I can do if it is? I have everything run thru my Yamaha receiver also.
cgking114 is offline  
post #2266 of 2271 Old 08-08-2013, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomaswadsworth View Post

Re: p65S2; has anyone seen a dashed horizontal line across the screen? Just showed up today; set is 18 months old; tried panasonic 'chat' with no joy. Have tried lots of turning off, disconnecting from cable etc etc; it is the set. Firmware update? or maybe just "broken" TIA

Sorry to beat a year-old horse, but my 42S2 (actually my girlfriend's 42S2 after I upgraded to a bigger model) suddenly has a dashed horizontal line, too. May I ask what the problem actually was, and what it might cost to get it fixed? This set's way out of any warranty at all.

Thanks!

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #2267 of 2271 Old 08-15-2013, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
cgking114's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mount Pleasant, SC
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay the blockiness is driving me crazy! I had a Samsung plasma that had collars that went around the power cord. It says this helps with interference. Should this TV have something like it? I bought this off Craigslist and I didn't get any with it. Could I be having some kind of electrical interference that is causing the blockiness. I have tried taking a picture of it but it doesn't come out. You can see it in the background in certain situations. It seems to show more with blue and yellowish backgrounds more than other and light reflecting off it. It is almost like a shimmering effect.
cgking114 is offline  
post #2268 of 2271 Old 08-19-2013, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Try using another hdmi cable or try using the component output from the box.

Is it on all channels or just some?
gregoryperkins is online now  
post #2269 of 2271 Old 08-19-2013, 05:11 PM
Senior Member
 
cgking114's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mount Pleasant, SC
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post

Try using another hdmi cable or try using the component output from the box.

Is it on all channels or just some?

It isn't on any one channel. One program will look fine and the next program will look bad. I don't know if it is how a programmed was filmed or not. It shows a lot more on filmed based material than video sources.

Update: I changed to Cinema mode and it seems to help but I like my picture to be a little brighter. Hope I get use to it. Below are some pics of what I was dealing with. The first is with the Custom mode and the second is with Cinema.



Notice the section behind the Directv logo. In Custom, with Contrast set at 71 and brightness at 50, notice that it looks almost white. In Cinema, it is what it should be.
cgking114 is offline  
post #2270 of 2271 Old 08-21-2013, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Try doing a calibration or use one of the settings posted earlier in the thread. Cinema helps, but you can probably do better.
gregoryperkins is online now  
post #2271 of 2271 Old 01-06-2014, 07:48 AM
Newbie
 
decivox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up a Vizio S4221W-C4 soundbar. Right now I have my PS3 connected to my TC-P46S2 via HDMI, and the soundbar connected to the TV via Optical Out. I was wondering what settings I needed to use on the PS3 for audio to get the best audio. The PS3 defaults to Linear PCM I believe, but I was wondering if I should select something like Dolby Digital since the sound bar is certified for that... Although I have also read that the TV wont pass anything but stereo anyways if the HDMI device isnt Panasonic.

Thanks for the help.
decivox is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off