The Official 2010 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread - Page 167 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4981 of 5012 Old 04-04-2012, 09:00 PM
Member
 
Ace1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forced_Fool View Post

Okay does the g25 have a blue filter to calibrate color? I can't seem to find it?

No , it does not! Colored filters should come with a calibration disc!
Ace1965 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4982 of 5012 Old 04-04-2012, 11:45 PM
Member
 
Forced_Fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay bad news... I was apparently sleep walking last night and when I wake up I find my tv face down on the floor and now has cracks behind the glass...and when iy turned on (I know.... I couldnt do any thing...) it made weird sounds.

I know its a stupid question but is there anything I can do?
I still had like 3 year warranty from hhgregg will they help me? Something?
Forced_Fool is offline  
post #4983 of 5012 Old 04-05-2012, 02:48 PM
Newbie
 
edward27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I have the VT25 and would make the most of the image that THX mode settings dnice, I know how to enter the service menu, but my question as I exit the service menu??

the image settings with custom mode settings Dnice looks great, but also wanted to try the THX settings.

regards
edward27 is offline  
post #4984 of 5012 Old 04-05-2012, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevin_mahaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by edward27 View Post

Hi, I have the VT25 and would make the most of the image that THX mode settings dnice, I know how to enter the service menu, but my question as I exit the service menu??

the image settings with custom mode settings Dnice looks great, but also wanted to try the THX settings.

regards

Power off the TV to exit and save the service menu.

All persons, living and dead, are purely coincidental. - Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

kevin_mahaney is online now  
post #4985 of 5012 Old 04-05-2012, 03:07 PM
Newbie
 
edward27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kevin thank you very much, well I hope not to spoil anything: D.

and will comment my experience with the new changes in THX mode.

finally, there will be some post? it is too didactic in appearance to explain everything in detail step by step?, is that I only read dnice settings and I want to change the menu adj wb caution and safety.

greetings and thank you very much again kevin.
edward27 is offline  
post #4986 of 5012 Old 04-23-2012, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dobyblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CANADA
Posts: 1,865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Found a TC-P50VT20 on clearance for only $650, listed my TC-P42S2 for $450 and so I'm upgrading for $200.

Anyone think I could have done better? Don't have more than $200 to put in, wasn't planning on spending money on a new TV until this offer popped up. Looking for a 65" some time next year.
dobyblue is offline  
post #4987 of 5012 Old 04-23-2012, 06:52 PM
Senior Member
 
robneal81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dobyblue View Post

Found a TC-P50VT20 on clearance for only $650, listed my TC-P42S2 for $450 and so I'm upgrading for $200.

Anyone think I could have done better? Don't have more than $200 to put in, wasn't planning on spending money on a new TV until this offer popped up. Looking for a 65" some time next year.

Can you post a link to the $650 TV?
robneal81 is offline  
post #4988 of 5012 Old 04-24-2012, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dobyblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CANADA
Posts: 1,865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by robneal81 View Post

Can you post a link to the $650 TV?

It was a local charity auction that closed Monday 8pm, the local AV dealer here puts in loads of stuff every year basically to clear out old stock as the new TV's start shipping. Lots of GT30's, ST30's were listed, some Paradigm speakers, Panny projectors, etc.

Figured it was worth $200.
dobyblue is offline  
post #4989 of 5012 Old 06-03-2012, 12:18 PM
Member
 
stansbrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ambercat View Post

The Digital Video Essentials HD Basics tells you to increase brightness sitting in your normal TV watching position untill the 2% pluge is just seen. Also the color is correct when using the blue portion of the color filter all areas are the same shade of blue when adjusting the color setting.

I used Dnice's THX settings until recently. What I use now is the following: Picture mode THX, Contrast 66, Brightness 52, Color 47, Tint 0, Sharpness 10, Color temp Warm 2, Color management Off, C.A.T.S. On, Video NR Off, Blur reduction On.

Regarding C.A.T.S. it works like Panasonic says it will and using it I do not need a THX mode for night and a Custom mode for day time. Just one mode THX for all day. Panasonic says the following about C.A.T.S. : C.A.T.S. (Contrast Automatic Tracking System) -- Autmatically senses the ambient light conditions and adjusts the brightness and gradation accordingly. Provides the best possible picture contrast for each operating environment. This feature also helps reduce power consumption and minimize phosphor ading.

hi. could you tell me which tv you are using your settings on?
stansbrand is offline  
post #4990 of 5012 Old 06-14-2012, 01:02 PM
Member
 
SuperMachoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Posted this in the VT25 owners thread, but I thought maybe it would benefit owners of other models as well.

So over a year ago (Feb / March 2011) I had several posts on here regarding my burn-in issue (had the ESPN logo and the word "Live" burned in to my screen.) This was burn-in, not IR, as it had lasted for more than a year. I do get really noticeable IR with this set, but it goes away within hours - these two items never did.

They weren't noticeable except on solid color (like the burn-in slides) screens or moving type images like the ice of an NHL game, or the grass of an MLB game (since those are near-solid colors but with enough texture to expose the burn-in when moving.)

I have been getting close to breaking down and getting an LED, but as a last ditch effort, I tried Pixel Protector and Disney WOW. Pixel Protector did nothing, but after running the pixel-flipper on the WOW disk overnight, my burn-in is 99% gone! After more than a year! I can still sorta make out the E of ESPN, but only when at the absolute perfect angle on the absolute perfect color background. It's so tough to notice now even when looking for it that I no longer have to avoid looking at the lower right corner of my set (I had trained myself to just not look at the spot where the burn-in was.)

Moral of the story - if you think you have burn-in and not just really bad IR, try WOW. I def still have some burn-in, but it's 99% better now than it was.
SuperMachoMan is offline  
post #4991 of 5012 Old 06-16-2012, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
robneal81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperMachoMan View Post

Moral of the story - if you think you have burn-in and not just really bad IR, try WOW. I def still have some burn-in, but it's 99% better now than it was.

Thank you for posting this. I get IR all the time and although it's annoying, it always goes away. I've been playing video games more lately and I'm always afraid of burn-in. I'll pick up a copy of this disc just in case.
robneal81 is offline  
post #4992 of 5012 Old 06-29-2012, 01:04 PM
Member
 
jeffquadski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robneal81 View Post

Thank you for posting this. I get IR all the time and although it's annoying, it always goes away. I've been playing video games more lately and I'm always afraid of burn-in. I'll pick up a copy of this disc just in case.

Sounds like a great disc to have in library.

Panny 58VT25
Elite SC-55
Oppo BDP-93
AppleTV 3rd Gen
PS3 Slim
Xbox 360
Xfinity HD-DVR
Panamax M5100-EX
9.2 setup
Polk RM50T mains
Polk RM 302 center
Polk RM 301 surrounds
Polk RM 201 surround back
Polk RM 101 front height
Rel T3
Velodyne DLS4000R
jeffquadski is offline  
post #4993 of 5012 Old 07-02-2012, 05:34 AM
Member
 
kevo82's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just screwed all my settings on my 50VT20 after I tried to enter in the service menu to see how many hours I used my plasma. So now I have to set up fron zero.

Can you tell me where I can find D-NICE calibration settings for VT20/25 European model?

I found the calibration settings only for the american model.
kevo82 is offline  
post #4994 of 5012 Old 07-02-2012, 01:45 PM
Member
 
Ace1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
sorry , you are out of luck. i have not seen any but for american models!
Ace1965 is offline  
post #4995 of 5012 Old 08-07-2012, 05:01 PM
Member
 
hockman4357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am utilizing the suggested D-Nice Service Menu/User Menu settings on my TC-P65S2. Just curious, are most people primarily watching HD movies using the Picture Mode=Cinema and Color Temp=Warm settings or are folks watching all programming (sports, network shows, news, etc.) using the Picture Mode=Cinema/Color Temp=Warm settings? Just asking because sometimes my picture seems a bit dark when watching programming other than HD movies. One more question, is it ok to use Digital Video Essentials to fine tune the User Menu settings after applying the D-Nice Service Menu settings?
hockman4357 is offline  
post #4996 of 5012 Old 01-21-2013, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
LSUMatt1514's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jeff Meier (accucalhd.com) calibrated my 65VT25 on Thursday night and all I can say is...WOW!!! Great guy, EXTREMELY knowledgeable, willing to explain everything to do, and does an EXCELLENT job. He even found issues with three of my Axiom speakers (which I am sending back to have repaired under warranty).

The picture on my VT25 is the best I've ever seen it look (2D and 3D)...He is HIGHLY recommended!!!

Matt
LSUMatt1514 is offline  
post #4997 of 5012 Old 04-06-2013, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hello all,

This thread doesn't seem to be too active any longer, but I'll give it a shot here since it is the most appropriate thread.

I recently tried to adjust the settings on my S2 using the WOW disc, (i'm in Cinema mode, Warm, and used DNices offset adjustments for the S2), and even at 100% contrast I still can't get the whiter-than-white patterns (+1, +3, etc.), and even the ideal white pattern, to blend into the background. I need to go higher than 100% contrast to get there, and I can make it work by raising the brightness (which is in the high 50s), but doing that messes up the black levels. Is this a consequence of panel aging? What can I do about this, aside from having custom calibration (i'd rather wait for that until i get a new plasma in 1-2 years)?

Thanks!
skro is offline  
post #4998 of 5012 Old 04-06-2013, 08:40 AM
Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
First of all, what is your source device, and are you sure it isn't applying any processing to the video signal?
galonzo is offline  
post #4999 of 5012 Old 04-06-2013, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi,

I'm using the PS3 (through a Denon 1909), and I have blacks set to Light on the S2, and have superwhite "on" on the ps3, and RGB set to "limited" on the PS3. I believe those are the recommended settings. I could get the correct black and white patterns if I used the "dark" black settings on the S2, but I've read that that isn't the correct setting for the tv (will crush blacks).

This is over HDMI....but I don't think there would be any additional video processing happening.

Thanks!
skro is offline  
post #5000 of 5012 Old 04-06-2013, 09:19 AM
Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sounds like you have the correct settings for RGB, however, Superwhite (i.e. blacker-than-black and whiter-than-white) is only for Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr, so you should try switching to that colorspace rather than RGB. Also, be sure your AVR is set to "Through" or someting similar (my PS3 is direct to my G25)
galonzo is offline  
post #5001 of 5012 Old 04-06-2013, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thanks...i didn't think the AVR did anything to the signal, but I'll check.
As for the color space....how can I adjust that? I thought it was dependent on the source material. Maybe I'm way off on this. You're saying I should be able to select Y Pb/Cb output on my PS3/blu-ray player somehow? I need to research color spaces I suppose.
skro is offline  
post #5002 of 5012 Old 04-06-2013, 11:01 AM
Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes, it's in the display settings, mine is currently set to Y Pb/Cb. There's a PS3 settings FAQ in the Blu-Ray/HDDVD sub-forum here
galonzo is offline  
post #5003 of 5012 Old 04-06-2013, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thanks for the help.
I'll need to double check tonight, but by switching to RGB (forced) the test patterns that shouldn't be visible disappeared, but I suspect that is just due to blocking anything that is less than RBG 15 and greater than RGB 235, so I'm not sure that I solved the problem...just hid it! If it is set to Y Pb/Cb, then I see the whiter than white stars, so it seems like it is best to use that setting and just get them as close to disappearing as possible (contrast 100), rather than just hide that info with RGB limited output.....what I don't understand is, if it was outputting Y Pb/Cb in "auto", then why did the picture change when I set it to RGB full? odd.

Anyways, I suspect I need to get a calibrator to fiddle with since the range of tweaking with my current settings won't let me get rid of those whiter-than-white images.
skro is offline  
post #5004 of 5012 Old 04-06-2013, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
One more question....about Full RBG. The only way I was able to get the contrast and brightness test patterns to work correctly was to use Full RGB. I know it compresses blacks at the lower range, but if I was able to calibrate to just show the ideal black, and not the non visible blacks, with nicely graded visible blacks on the other side of "ideal black", then is there really anything wrong with it? I guess I'm saying, if I can get Full RGB to work well with the test patterns, should I still avoid it?
skro is offline  
post #5005 of 5012 Old 04-06-2013, 02:49 PM
Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
good question, curious myself; I'll be looking into this tonight. I just remember using Y Pb/Cb mode because I was able to utilize the Superwhite setting. I, too am using D-Nice's settings. Were you able to find out if your AVR's HDMI/video-out settings are set to some sort of "passthrough" setting by default?
galonzo is offline  
post #5006 of 5012 Old 04-06-2013, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thanks.
I'm confusing myself with all the options. I wished it worked with the test patterns when the tv was set to "light", ps3 to auto and rgb limited.

Theoretically, wouldn't you get identical results if you had set it to "dark" on the tv and set to ps3 to rgb full (since there would just be no information in the low/high ranges)? Doesn't the problem occur with clipping when the tv is set to 1 format (eg "light") and the source is set to the other (rgb full)? Confusing stuff.
skro is offline  
post #5007 of 5012 Old 04-07-2013, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
So....I played around a bit more last night, making sure to set my receiver (Denon 1909, but I don't think it touches HDMI video, only analog to digital conversion) to match any color space changes.

In any event, the only way I could get the test patterns to show up correctly was to use RGB Full (i kept the y Pb/Cb mode to auto or Y Pb/Cb), and to set the TV Blacks to "Dark".

I know this is what everyone has recommended against, but I think that was in the context of changing only 1 of the 2. If I change them both (so, to my understanding both the PS3 and TV are using the full RGB colorspace) then I get the test patterns to just show ideal black and white, with nothing blacker than black or whiter than white showing, but a nice subtle steps on the visible side of the test pattern

Now, I'm using a boxee box for my main viewing, so I need to verify that this still works when the boxee box is the source, but in the event it does...isn't the final word on this being able to display the test patterns correctly (regardless of Full/Limited and Dark/Light)? Or could I be displaying these correctly but somehow be crushing blacks in video content?

Thanks!
skro is offline  
post #5008 of 5012 Old 04-07-2013, 09:48 AM
Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sorry, I ended up updating the PS3 system to 4.4 last night, and got sidetracked with getting my DLNA to work correctly (and couldn't find my AVS709 disk, also found here, will need to make another one). In the process, I did confirm Video>BD/DVD set to Y Pb/Cb and superwhite on from the last time I used my disk. My TV is set to Lighter. I'll update once I'm able to make another disk.
galonzo is offline  
post #5009 of 5012 Old 07-04-2013, 01:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
LR6AGB001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I've been having a bit of an issue with my display over the past few days. A vertical line consisting of blue, green and white running across the middle of the screen. Just recently the unit powered down automatically and restarted and on a few occasions was given this error message, "an error has been detected and recovered". Then there are moments where the display would power down and automatically restart with absolutely nothing on the screen meanwhile the front panel LED remains on. At this point I have no access to the menu or anything, heck even powering it down through the remote doesn't work.
Any ideas as to what could be the issue? I'm quite hands on and was wondering around as to how much will it cost to get this display up & running again.
G25 display by the way.
LR6AGB001 is offline  
post #5010 of 5012 Old 09-06-2013, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
RNaval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Melville, NY, USA
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Would someone please guide me on how to set the Service Menu Offset settings listed by DNice for the VT20 under the THX mode?
RNaval is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off