The Official 2010 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 5012 Old 04-03-2010, 02:58 PM
QZ1
AVS Special Member
 
QZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. PA
Posts: 5,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by QZ1 View Post

The # after the colon is the # of power cycles, 25.
IIRC, the # before the colon is the # of hours to the tenth of an hour, 537.6 hours.

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

This is completely wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceCold1906 View Post

Would you mind sharing the correct way to calculate?

Apparently, I was thinking of another plasma line and/or brand.

There was one brand/line, recently, where the number after the colon was, indeed, the number of power cycles, which was surprising to me. Before the colon was the number of the hours with a decimel point somewhere in the number, but I wasn't sure of the decimel placement.

Heck, the person writing it could have been wrong, but, IIRC, they were reliable. I'm thinking, now, that it was probably from a Samsung thread

So, yeah, what is the correct way to read those numbers?
QZ1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 5012 Old 04-03-2010, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by QZ1 View Post

[snip]

So, yeah, what is the correct way to read those numbers?


What can be so hard?


1. Note the readings.

2. Wait one hour.

3. Go to 1.


Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #183 of 5012 Old 04-03-2010, 09:48 PM
Newbie
 
Dying2Live's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to achieve the depth perception and almost 3D image, while watching Blue-ray flicks, my friend has on his professionally calibrated Samsung LED? Or am I asking too much from my Plasma?

Thanks everyone!
Dying2Live is offline  
post #184 of 5012 Old 04-03-2010, 11:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by QZ1 View Post

So, yeah, what is the correct way to read those numbers?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...6#post18342316
Make73 is offline  
post #185 of 5012 Old 04-04-2010, 06:13 AM
Newbie
 
DEESEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
on the g20 in the service menu, is thx and cinima the same? also can the offsets be set before any firmware update. thanks for your help
DEESEL is offline  
post #186 of 5012 Old 04-04-2010, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
NOAMattD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
D-Nice,

I noticed in the breakin slides that one of the red slides is a duplicate - Looking at the RBG values in photoshop the red slides go:

254
225
200
200
150

The green and blue ramps are both about the same EXCEPT they have a step at 175. Is this intentional? Should we change the duplicate red slide to 175 for better results? Does it matter?
NOAMattD is offline  
post #187 of 5012 Old 04-04-2010, 04:51 PM
Member
 
matt_johnson83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What wont the tv let me change the rgb settings I try and the color of white does not change
matt_johnson83 is offline  
post #188 of 5012 Old 04-04-2010, 05:58 PM
Member
 
matt_johnson83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt_johnson83 View Post

What wont the tv let me change the rgb settings I try and the color of white does not change

I just found out the when I view movies on my ps3 the grayscale wont change but when i go to the xbm it does. I don't understand ,what makes it change. Anyone.
matt_johnson83 is offline  
post #189 of 5012 Old 04-04-2010, 07:10 PM
Member
 
matt_johnson83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help please
matt_johnson83 is offline  
post #190 of 5012 Old 04-05-2010, 05:16 AM
Member
 
ChicagoChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt_johnson83 View Post

Help please

Are you trying to do this in the service menu or the Tv menu?
ChicagoChris is offline  
post #191 of 5012 Old 04-05-2010, 12:18 PM
Member
 
matt_johnson83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChicagoChris View Post

Are you trying to do this in the service menu or the Tv menu?

In the service menu. I figured it out already. thanks
matt_johnson83 is offline  
post #192 of 5012 Old 04-05-2010, 04:16 PM
Member
 
bil927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

For The G25 photo settings for the the break-in do I turn off "Color Mgmt" and "Photo enhancement"?... or do I leave it as is? it doesn't specify in the 1st post.

XBL: xPRzFiN3STx
bil927 is offline  
post #193 of 5012 Old 04-05-2010, 04:34 PM
Newbie
 
Insane1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baroda, MI
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question..approx how much does calibration cost and can anyone recommend someone in SW lower michigan...or NW indiana south bend area etc. I have a 50G25 and am thinking about having it calibrated. thanks for any and all help
Insane1 is offline  
post #194 of 5012 Old 04-05-2010, 10:15 PM
Newbie
 
Dying2Live's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bil927 View Post

Hi,

For The G25 photo settings for the the break-in do I turn off "Color Mgmt" and "Photo enhancement"?... or do I leave it as is? it doesn't specify in the 1st post.

If it wasn't mentioned in the offsets, you leave it on the default setting.
Dying2Live is offline  
post #195 of 5012 Old 04-05-2010, 10:16 PM
Newbie
 
Dying2Live's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane1 View Post

Question..approx how much does calibration cost and can anyone recommend someone in SW lower michigan...or NW indiana south bend area etc. I have a 50G25 and am thinking about having it calibrated. thanks for any and all help

BestBuy quoted me $300 friggen dollars to get my G20 calibrated. That's here in Colorado though.
Dying2Live is offline  
post #196 of 5012 Old 04-06-2010, 03:57 AM
Member
 
bil927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dying2Live View Post

If it wasn't mentioned in the offsets, you leave it on the default setting.


OK Thanks, about 12 hrs in... 88 more to go

XBL: xPRzFiN3STx
bil927 is offline  
post #197 of 5012 Old 04-06-2010, 04:48 AM
 
Im2sexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dying2Live View Post

BestBuy quoted me $300 friggen dollars to get my G20 calibrated. That's here in Colorado though.

If you go HERE thats the display calibration thread on this forum. There you can search for your city and state in the thread and see who services your area.
Im2sexy is offline  
post #198 of 5012 Old 04-06-2010, 10:10 AM
Newbie
 
Dying2Live's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bil927 View Post

OK Thanks, about 12 hrs in... 88 more to go

Hear that! About 24 hours to go for mine!!!
Dying2Live is offline  
post #199 of 5012 Old 04-06-2010, 10:57 AM
Newbie
 
NewYawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great forum and great help here. Thanks guys!

I am running the slides with Dnice's settings in-between TV watching periods. I haven't seen this asked and am sorry if it is a stupid question:

Do I only run these slides during the first hundred hours total viewing time or subtract TV viewing from slide running time? (Found the answer on this one, sorry for the dupe)

As I understand it (correct me if I am wrong), these slides will help the colors age at the same rate, making a much better calibration after the first 100 hours.

Thanks again guys and looking forward to seeing your vt25 calibration settings when they are ready!!!
NewYawk is offline  
post #200 of 5012 Old 04-06-2010, 07:56 PM
Member
 
Modigliani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

TC-PxxG20/25 Reference Settings

Picture:
Picture Mode: THX
Contrast: 57
Brightness: 56
Color: 49
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 10
Color Temp: Warm2
Color Management: Off
x.v. Color: Off
Photo Enhancement: Off
C.A.T.S: Off
Video NR: Off
Blur Reduction: Off

Advance Options
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off
Black Level: Light
3:2 Pulldown: On

Service Menu Offsets

WB-ADJ MENU
R-DRV: -1
G-DRV: -8
B-DRV: +4
R-CUT: -8
G-CUT: 0
B-CUT: +3

Note: These offsets must be entered for both Color matrixes. You access the different matrixes by using a 1080i/p signal for the HD matrix and 480i/p signal for the SD matrix. The WB Method Select option should be set to 00 instead of 03.



Picture:
Picture Mode: Custom
Contrast: 87
Brightness: 68
Color: 35
Tint: -3
Sharpness: 11
Color Temp: Warm2
Color Management: Off
x.v. Color: Off
Photo Enhancement: Off
C.A.T.S: Off
Video NR: Off
Blur Reduction: Off

Pro Settings:
W/B High R: 0
W/B High B: +2
W/B Low R: +2
W/B Low B: -4
Black Extension: 0
Gamma Adjustment: 2.2
Panel Brightness: Mid
Contour Emphasis: Off
AGC: 0

Advance Options
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off
Black Level: Light
3:2 Pulldown: On

Note: These settings must be used with the offsets listed for THX mode!!!!

Calibration Report

Ok, so I'm about done on the break-in period and plan on using these spec's but have a minor question. What would be the difference in using these and having my new g25 proffesionaly calibrated? I mean I know that your a proffessional D-Nice, what I'm asking is, are there more adjustments done when having it pro calibrated or is this exactly what one would get from a pro calibration? It seems pretty in-depth to me as it is but if it would be better after a pro calibration, I would definately want to do that, but also wouldnt want to waste my money if this is the pro calibration already.. Thanks for the time......
Modigliani is offline  
post #201 of 5012 Old 04-06-2010, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
 
NOAMattD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modigliani View Post

Ok, so I'm about done on the break-in period and plan on using these spec's but have a minor question. What would be the difference in using these and having my new g25 proffesionaly calibrated? I mean I know that your a proffessional D-Nice, what I'm asking is, are there more adjustments done when having it pro calibrated or is this exactly what one would get from a pro calibration? It seems pretty in-depth to me as it is but if it would be better after a pro calibration, I would definately want to do that, but also wouldnt want to waste my money if this is the pro calibration already.. Thanks for the time......

The idea is that the break in and settings posted will get you say 90% of the best picture possible, and if you care enough to get the absolute 100% best picture you can get, you would pay for a pro calibrator to come over and do his thing.
NOAMattD is offline  
post #202 of 5012 Old 04-06-2010, 08:14 PM
Member
 
esp2684's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modigliani View Post

Ok, so I'm about done on the break-in period and plan on using these spec's but have a minor question. What would be the difference in using these and having my new g25 proffesionaly calibrated? I mean I know that your a proffessional D-Nice, what I'm asking is, are there more adjustments done when having it pro calibrated or is this exactly what one would get from a pro calibration? It seems pretty in-depth to me as it is but if it would be better after a pro calibration, I would definately want to do that, but also wouldnt want to waste my money if this is the pro calibration already.. Thanks for the time......

All sets have a slight variance, and the settings D-Nice posted were for his particular display. The caveat for his settings to be as accurate as possible (meaning with 5% or less variance from full calibration of your own display) are to do ONLY what his post says about running slides for the first 150 hours (meaning you are not supposed to watch any content during that time frame, period).

The 5% variance number I threw out there was his estimation of accuracy for his calibration settings in the Pioneer threads. I'd imagine the Panasonics should come equally close.

Hope this helps!
esp2684 is offline  
post #203 of 5012 Old 04-07-2010, 10:39 AM
Newbie
 
xltros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if I don't do the break in, can anyone advise on the best settings? should I stick with d-nices post break in settings?

also, why is sharpness so low for his post break in settings.
TIA!
xltros is offline  
post #204 of 5012 Old 04-07-2010, 03:37 PM
Member
 
gregftlaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the picture calibration each person sets for his or her own tv have alot to do with the HD source it's coming from? Say I've got a DTV hd dvr would maybe someone with a cable hd dvr have picture setttings that differ or is pretty much any source the same and it's more your own personal preference, surroundings, lighting in your home ...or?

Because I tried out D-Nice's calibrations custom setting and boy it was WAY too bright. And his sharpess level was sooo low I put mine up ..wayup. This is how I have mine set at the moment but of course there will be many tweaks over the next few days as I watch it more. Esp me being OCD lol.

Custom
contrast +70
brightness +54
color +35
tint +10
sharpness +55

Does turning up the sharpness just cause you to see more noise or does the sharpness setting really matter since it's HD we are watching?

Also one last thing what HD size is everyone using under aspect adjustments? Size 1 or 2?

Greg
gregftlaud is offline  
post #205 of 5012 Old 04-07-2010, 06:44 PM
Member
 
apfhex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I kind of agree, I find don't like contrast above about +75 and like to keep the sharpness at least +50. Everyone's viewing experience is different which is why it's recommended to get a pro calibration I'm sure. Cable content and streaming video (Netflix, or from your PC) tend to be undersaturated and lower contrast compared to video games and DVD/Blu-ray, so I think Custom mode works better, although I'm experimenting with using THX for everything but with higher contrast and color settings from the default or D-Nice's settings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregftlaud View Post

Also one last thing what HD size is everyone using under aspect adjustments? Size 1 or 2?

Size 1 for cable (slight overscan), Size 2 for anything else (full pixel mode).
apfhex is offline  
post #206 of 5012 Old 04-07-2010, 07:08 PM
Member
 
gregftlaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about for directv? 1 or 2?


Edit: Well I tested it and 1 is best for dtv too. Only b/c the non hd channels show a bit of blurring on the very tip top of the picture. HD channels look great size 2. But I'll keep it on 1 dont want to go back and forth everytime i change from a hd channel to a standard def one.
gregftlaud is offline  
post #207 of 5012 Old 04-07-2010, 10:35 PM
Member
 
Modigliani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by esp2684 View Post

All sets have a slight variance, and the settings D-Nice posted were for his particular display. The caveat for his settings to be as accurate as possible (meaning with 5% or less variance from full calibration of your own display) are to do ONLY what his post says about running slides for the first 150 hours (meaning you are not supposed to watch any content during that time frame, period).

The 5% variance number I threw out there was his estimation of accuracy for his calibration settings in the Pioneer threads. I'd imagine the Panasonics should come equally close.

Hope this helps!

It did indeed and thank you for it.
Modigliani is offline  
post #208 of 5012 Old 04-07-2010, 10:38 PM
Newbie
 
Dying2Live's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks once again everyone!

Knocked out the slides for 100 hours straight!!! Applied the G20/G25 settings to my G20 and so far it absolutely looks better. Looking forward to watching Batman Begins on Blue-ray again with the calibrated settings.

The calibration guide.pdf was extremely helpful. It really made the process simple!!! If you're wondering how to get into the SM and manipulate it, read the guide. I used D-Nice's settings along with those directions.

The one thing I figured out from the guide was in order to calibrate HD, you need to plug in the HD source and then turn on the SM (hold -Vol down on tv and press info on the remote 3 times). Then enter the settings. Then vice versa for the SD. I used my basic cable connection for the SD and my computer with a HDMI cable for the HD. I recorded all default settings on a Spread Sheet, as well as took pictures.

Thanks again for this site!
Dying2Live is offline  
post #209 of 5012 Old 04-08-2010, 01:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hydrogin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOAMattD View Post

D-Nice,

I noticed in the breakin slides that one of the red slides is a duplicate - Looking at the RBG values in photoshop the red slides go:

254
225
200
200
150

The green and blue ramps are both about the same EXCEPT they have a step at 175. Is this intentional? Should we change the duplicate red slide to 175 for better results? Does it matter?

A few of us were talking about that in the G20/G25 Owner's thread. I found out Evangelo2 knew about the duplicate slide a year ago and says it won't affect the panel aging:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=1025

The mystery to me is why the slides look so similar when displayed on the G20 versus being displayed on a PC monitor.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

hydrogin is offline  
post #210 of 5012 Old 04-08-2010, 01:51 AM
Member
 
slipspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are people really expected to buy a brand new TV and then run a slideshow for 100 hours straight? Seems like such a hassle for something you just bought brand new.
slipspeed is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off