Samsung PNXXc550 Owners Thread *NO PRICE TALK* - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 2810 Old 07-15-2010, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
jmdajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by watashi23 View Post

I've converted my 50C550 to C590 and also notice the black level rise as well as graininess with cinema smooth enabled. It seems like the same issue reported on the 09 plasmas. However, motion wise, I think cinema smooth (24p) works great and I did not notice any tearing, artifacts or flickering. I get slight motion sickness with 3:2 pulldown especially in fast moving scenes in Casino Royale. When 24p is enabled, the motion is more linear and easier to track with my eyes. I'm guessing the reason why black level rises is because of the higher 96Hz refresh rate. Plasma displays are driven by PWM circuits. If the input signal is kept the same, increasing the refresh rate from 60 to 96 may potentially increase the brightness by 60% (36/60*100%). This will lead to an MLL increase as well, unless the input signal amplitude is reduced correspondingly, which does not seem to be the case here. This is a shame as I really like the motion characteristics of cinema smooth. On another negative note, the plasma display is overdriven at 96Hz. I recently noticed a stuck pixel on my display and wonder if it has anything to do with cinema smooth. Sigh...

I saw 24p content yesterday with the 2/3 pulldown and I was honestly fine with it. I can't sweat the small things too much or you'll just go crazy. After some time you don't really care anyway.
jmdajr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 2810 Old 07-15-2010, 02:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
FuzzyReets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmdajr View Post

switched to playing it on the ps3

Ha. Good plan! Actually I used an old dvd player. I didn't see the point in putting all that wear on my wonderful PS3. There are also slides you can run from the USB port. Just a suggestion. Hope you enjoy your TV. I love mine.
FuzzyReets is offline  
post #633 of 2810 Old 07-15-2010, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
jmdajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuzzyReets View Post

Ha. Good plan! Actually I used an old dvd player. I didn't see the point in putting all that wear on my wonderful PS3. There are also slides you can run from the USB port. Just a suggestion. Hope you enjoy your TV. I love mine.

hmmmm..I might try that. usb!

tried the networking also. personally I think using my xbox or ps3 is faster for streaming but still a cool feature.
jmdajr is offline  
post #634 of 2810 Old 07-15-2010, 03:07 PM
Newbie
 
blimpje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I just bought the European version of this TV, the PS50C550. Does the service menu trick work with this model as well? Or only with the American PN variants?

Thanks
blimpje is offline  
post #635 of 2810 Old 07-15-2010, 05:08 PM
Member
 
UkHardcore23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

I believe the lag was like. 42 ms or something like that. That's still just to High for me. Just like on my 8500 plenty of people couldn't notice the lag but I could.

Was that just a guess or did you measure it yourself? Last years 5 series models were 20-30ms with Game, i'd imagine this years is the same.
UkHardcore23 is offline  
post #636 of 2810 Old 07-15-2010, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by UkHardcore23 View Post

Was that just a guess or did you measure it yourself? Last years 5 series models were 20-30ms with Game, i'd imagine this years is the same.

It was a guess/ But really? That low? Are those numbers a guess? Cause thats plenty low enough for me.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #637 of 2810 Old 07-15-2010, 05:23 PM
Member
 
UkHardcore23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

It was a guess/ But really? That low? Are those numbers a guess? Cause thats plenty low enough for me.

No that was from reviewers last year!

AV Forums.
UkHardcore23 is offline  
post #638 of 2810 Old 07-15-2010, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by UkHardcore23 View Post

No that was from reviewers last year!

AV Forums.

Oh! Very nice! Seems plasma will do me just fine.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #639 of 2810 Old 07-16-2010, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
dAdE0H0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Love the picture on my C550, but hate the buzz.

I'm thinking about taking it back and getting the 50" S2.
dAdE0H0 is offline  
post #640 of 2810 Old 07-16-2010, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tuxedocivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ladysmith, BC
Posts: 4,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by dAdE0H0 View Post

Love the picture on my C550, but hate the buzz.

I'm thinking about taking it back and getting the 50" S2.

Do it! I've been living with a buzzer (C540) and greatly regret my purchase. So I know what you're feeling. I'm stuck with mine, you're not. Return it, return it now!!!

Would be a pretty good TV otherwise.
tuxedocivic is online now  
post #641 of 2810 Old 07-16-2010, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
watashi23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dAdE0H0 View Post

Love the picture on my C550, but hate the buzz.

I'm thinking about taking it back and getting the 50" S2.

My C550 also buzzes, but it is only audible when the volume is turned off. It is not loud enough to be annoying. It's volume level is somewhat like the PC fan noise. That said, the Panasonics have the dreaded black level rise issue. I've been to a couple of Bestbuys and I can see that the black bars are gray vs the Samsung plasmas. Those display models have been running for some time and should reflect their performance over time.
watashi23 is offline  
post #642 of 2810 Old 07-16-2010, 09:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
prerunnerv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dAdE0H0 View Post

Love the picture on my C550, but hate the buzz.

I'm thinking about taking it back and getting the 50" S2.

Return it if you can. My c550 doesn't buzz at my seating location, but my b450 did. The b450 is now in my bedroom and the room acoustics quiet the buzz some. But when it was in my "mancave", I remember just not watching tv sometimes because I didn't want to hear the buzz on quiet scenes.

Return it for another Samsung or something else. Just get something you can enjoy.
prerunnerv6 is offline  
post #643 of 2810 Old 07-16-2010, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Starlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought the 58" C550 at Best Buy last night. My wife picked out a great stand for it, as well. Will be delivered on Monday. Can't wait to use it and share my impressions. Thanks to all of you who've posted on here. I've been reading this thread for awhile and after seeing the set in person at several different stores, doing a lot of research, comparing it to others in its size range, etc., I decided this was the best value out there.
Starlord is offline  
post #644 of 2810 Old 07-16-2010, 02:42 PM
Member
 
neverthesheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
couple of questions to you c550 owners....

is there any measurement of black levels for this tv?

how grainy is the picture?

is there a 'soap-opera' effect with motion on this tv?

how soft do the picture look sometimes?
neverthesheep is offline  
post #645 of 2810 Old 07-16-2010, 03:27 PM
Newbie
 
watashi23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by neverthesheep View Post

couple of questions to you c550 owners....

is there any measurement of black levels for this tv?

how grainy is the picture?

is there a 'soap-opera' effect with motion on this tv?

how soft do the picture look sometimes?

Black level information is in this review:
https://clevelandplasma.com/store/20...msung_pnxxc550

Picture only appears grainy if you go very close to it and pixel peep. From normal viewing distances it is not. Cinema smooth enabled is more grainy (if you turn it into a C590).

There is no soap opera effect as plasmas don't require or use motion interpolation.

Softness is dependent on the source. Even with edge enhancement and sharpness disabled, it is plenty sharp with a HD source.
watashi23 is offline  
post #646 of 2810 Old 07-16-2010, 05:14 PM
Member
 
neverthesheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by watashi23 View Post

Black level information is in this review:
https://clevelandplasma.com/store/20...msung_pnxxc550

Picture only appears grainy if you go very close to it and pixel peep. From normal viewing distances it is not. Cinema smooth enabled is more grainy (if you turn it into a C590).

There is no soap opera effect as plasmas don't require or use motion interpolation.

Softness is dependent on the source. Even with edge enhancement and sharpness disabled, it is plenty sharp with a HD source.


thanks for the info!

.11 huh? thats good i thought i heard someone state that its blck level was .22.... i want to jump on this so bad but the only thing that i am still looking for is the crystal full hd engine....that stuff rocks! if this tv had it than i would gladly trade in my grainy, soft, flat color 50" g20 for a 58c550.....

g20 black level is .07 so if it is in fact .11 for the c550 i wont be able to tell so that takes care of that, my only concerns left are that sammy plasmas have terrible IR and cant handle motion very well......

what am i going to do......
neverthesheep is offline  
post #647 of 2810 Old 07-17-2010, 03:24 PM
Newbie
 
drive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a signal strengh meter for OTA channels on this TV?
drive is offline  
post #648 of 2810 Old 07-17-2010, 06:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
prerunnerv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drive View Post

Is there a signal strengh meter for OTA channels on this TV?

Menu--Support Menu (last one) -- Self Diagnosis--Signal Information

I wish it was like my 42a450. You just went to the channel menu and the signal strength feature was right there.
prerunnerv6 is offline  
post #649 of 2810 Old 07-17-2010, 08:52 PM
Member
 
neverthesheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
crystal full hd engine anyone?

if only i was into the 3d stuff b/c those are the only sammy plasmas that have it...
neverthesheep is offline  
post #650 of 2810 Old 07-18-2010, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 3,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by neverthesheep View Post

crystal full hd engine anyone?

if only i was into the 3d stuff b/c those are the only sammy plasmas that have it...

From the Samsung US site about the PN50C590:

50" 1080p Plasma HDTVTouch of Color
1080p high definition
600Hz Subfields
Crystal Full HD Engine with Cinema Smooth

IIRC, this was a specification listed for the 590 series and is part of the Cinema Smooth feature...

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #651 of 2810 Old 07-18-2010, 09:36 AM
Member
 
UkHardcore23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you guys had any firmware updates yet? In Europe we got another 2 in the last month taking it to 8 in total so far but as usual we dont know what these firmware updates are doing.
UkHardcore23 is offline  
post #652 of 2810 Old 07-18-2010, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 3,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by UkHardcore23 View Post

Have you guys had any firmware updates yet? In Europe we got another 2 in the last month taking it to 8 in total so far but as usual we dont know what these firmware updates are doing.

As of today (July 18/10) nothing...

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #653 of 2810 Old 07-18-2010, 12:27 PM
 
hduong22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by neverthesheep View Post

couple of questions to you c550 owners....

is there any measurement of black levels for this tv?

how grainy is the picture?

is there a 'soap-opera' effect with motion on this tv?

how soft do the picture look sometimes?

I measured .019 ftl with my 50c550 using an i1 LT. The picture is very good, but i'm returning it because it has a green cast.
hduong22 is offline  
post #654 of 2810 Old 07-20-2010, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
jmdajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had this Tv on for like 100 hours non-stop running slides at night and fullscreen HD content during the day. I hope it was not a waste of time.
jmdajr is offline  
post #655 of 2810 Old 07-20-2010, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
FuzzyReets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmdajr View Post

I've had this Tv on for like 100 hours non-stop running slides at night and fullscreen HD content during the day. I hope it was not a waste of time.

It wasn't. Trust me. You did the right thing. Now reap the benefits and enjoy.
FuzzyReets is offline  
post #656 of 2810 Old 07-20-2010, 08:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
FuzzyReets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the PN58C550 support x.v. color?
FuzzyReets is offline  
post #657 of 2810 Old 07-21-2010, 06:01 AM
Member
 
tmackie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by watashi23 View Post

My C550 also buzzes, but it is only audible when the volume is turned off. It is not loud enough to be annoying. It's volume level is somewhat like the PC fan noise. That said, the Panasonics have the dreaded black level rise issue. I've been to a couple of Bestbuys and I can see that the black bars are gray vs the Samsung plasmas. Those display models have been running for some time and should reflect their performance over time.

Just got my PN58C550 Tuesday and I can hear a buzzing sound, but only while I am doing the "break-in" slide show from a USB stick with the volume all the way down. When watching through my HT setup at even low volume the buzz is not audible.

On a side note, I have a question for those of you that did the initial break in using the red, blue, green, and grey images.

I am running the slide show all day while I'm at work and then again overnight when I go to bed. So that's about 17-19 hours straight of the slide show loop each day. I am watching my normal HD programming, Blu-Ray, etc... in the evening. Is this OK, or should I be doing nothing but running the slide show for the first 4-5 days round the clock??

Thanks in advance for your help!
tmackie is offline  
post #658 of 2810 Old 07-21-2010, 06:31 AM
Member
 
tmackie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by UkHardcore23 View Post

Have you guys had any firmware updates yet? In Europe we got another 2 in the last month taking it to 8 in total so far but as usual we dont know what these firmware updates are doing.

Just noticed a July 20 firmware update (1014.1) on the Samsung site

http://www.samsung.com/us/consumer/t...il&tab=support
tmackie is offline  
post #659 of 2810 Old 07-21-2010, 06:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
FuzzyReets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmackie View Post

Just got my PN58C550 Tuesday and I can hear a buzzing sound, but only while I am doing the "break-in" slide show from a USB stick with the volume all the way down. When watching through my HT setup at even low volume the buzz is not audible.

On a side note, I have a question for those of you that did the initial break in using the red, blue, green, and grey images.

I am running the slide show all day while I'm at work and then again overnight when I go to bed. So that's about 17-19 hours straight of the slide show loop each day. I am watching my normal HD programming, Blu-Ray, etc... in the evening. Is this OK, or should I be doing nothing but running the slide show for the first 4-5 days round the clock??

Thanks in advance for your help!

You should be doing what you are doing but just watch for viewing things that aren't full screen and channels with static images on them like channel logos and such. Avoid that stuff during the break in period.
FuzzyReets is offline  
post #660 of 2810 Old 07-21-2010, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
jmdajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can't wait until I actually play some games on this...

gonna finish dead space. Game has no HUD!
jmdajr is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off