Samsung PNXXc550 Owners Thread *NO PRICE TALK* - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 2810 Old 07-24-2010, 12:52 PM
Member
 
flip808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So are these brightness problems with CS before or after you did the firmware update?
flip808 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 2810 Old 07-24-2010, 10:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tuxedocivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ladysmith, BC
Posts: 4,663
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 536
After. But you have to understand, I didn't check how CS worked before the FW update. I converted and then updated immediately. Shoulda checked first. But brightness issues have been documented back to the 2009 models. So I don't think the FW had anything to do with it. I think it's just the CS.

The vertical bands... I don't know what caused that. Maybe my TV? Maybe the firm ware. Maybe the conversion. The vertical bands ARE there with CS on AND off as long as brightness is between 51 and 56... weird.
tuxedocivic is online now  
post #723 of 2810 Old 07-25-2010, 12:20 AM
Member
 
flip808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuxedocivic View Post

After. But you have to understand, I didn't check how CS worked before the FW update. I converted and then updated immediately. Shoulda checked first. But brightness issues have been documented back to the 2009 models. So I don't think the FW had anything to do with it. I think it's just the CS.

The vertical bands... I don't know what caused that. Maybe my TV? Maybe the firm ware. Maybe the conversion. The vertical bands ARE there with CS on AND off as long as brightness is between 51 and 56... weird.

Well, I just upgraded to the new firmware and I can confirm that the brightness issue with CS engaged still remains. As far as the vertical bands on your TV however, i don't know. Did you have the problem before the firmware update or did it occur after it? I have never seen that problem on my set.
flip808 is offline  
post #724 of 2810 Old 07-25-2010, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 3,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Tux, thanks for the feedback, those vertical bands are quite strange, but as with most of the changes we make to these devices, unless we checked before (as you mentioned), it may have been there all along... at least you can adjust them into the background.

As for the buzz, thanks!, I was almost to the point where I had convinced my self I was hearing things, and then you confirmed that it had changed too! Now I hear it even more...

Al
Al Sherwood is online now  
post #725 of 2810 Old 07-25-2010, 12:55 PM
Member
 
smacket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The more I read the more confused I get, what exactly is the difference between the samsung c550 and c590???

If both are the same price, and I am choosing one, should I get the C590??

--Football, Movie, Basketball, PS3, Soccer, Brodcast T.V., Lacrosse, Kids Cartoons, More Sports --
smacket is offline  
post #726 of 2810 Old 07-25-2010, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tuxedocivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ladysmith, BC
Posts: 4,663
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 536
@ Flip - the bars weren't there before the change, like my posts said. Unfortunately I didn't do any checks between changes. I was to excited and rushed the process. My setting was at 57 and hadn't changed for a while. Perhaps the set got worse with time (3 months) and the changes finally made me aware of it. I don't see it being related to the changes, I see this being a fault of my TV actually. No one else has reported it, so...

@ Al - Told you they buzz

@ Smacket - C590 is a model up from the C550 which includes the buggy Cinema Smooth we're all talking about. If they're the same price, yes buy the C590. Has more features, same panel.
tuxedocivic is online now  
post #727 of 2810 Old 07-25-2010, 02:00 PM
Member
 
flip808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to hear that, tuxed. At least you can temporarily solve the problem by lowering your brightness. Have you ever thought about having a Samsung tech come and check the set?
flip808 is offline  
post #728 of 2810 Old 07-25-2010, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tuxedocivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ladysmith, BC
Posts: 4,663
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 536
Ya I probably will. I just need to dig alittle deeper and convert back first
tuxedocivic is online now  
post #729 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
FuzzyReets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know of a service menu walkthrough for this model or any samsung other than http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&#post11301427 ?
FuzzyReets is offline  
post #730 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 11:24 AM
Newbie
 
eagle1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do I access the service menu in my Samsung PN50C550?

Thanks!
eagle1955 is offline  
post #731 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 3,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle1955 View Post

How do I access the service menu in my Samsung PN50C550?

Thanks!

You must try the search fiunction sometime it works quite well!

But for what it is worth here is the thread: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1175569

Al
Al Sherwood is online now  
post #732 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
neokeelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jackson, TN
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You guys know how hard it is to replace the panel for the 590 yourself? My snowboard fell off the wall and scratched the screen. I can get a replacement panel for $579 so I would like to try and make it a DIY project.
neokeelo is offline  
post #733 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 3,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by neokeelo View Post

You guys know how hard it is to replace the panel for the 590 yourself? My snowboard fell off the wall and scratched the screen. I can get a replacement panel for $579 so I would like to try and make it a DIY project.

I would contact Samsung service and explain the situation, maybe they will give you a break in installation... It must still be under warranty right, if it is you would probably void that by replacing the screen yourself.

How bad is the scratch, and what was the snowboard doing above the TV!?

Al
Al Sherwood is online now  
post #734 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 02:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
FuzzyReets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by neokeelo View Post

You guys know how hard it is to replace the panel for the 590 yourself? My snowboard fell off the wall and scratched the screen. I can get a replacement panel for $579 so I would like to try and make it a DIY project.

Tell your insurance company there was an earthquake.
FuzzyReets is offline  
post #735 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 02:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
FuzzyReets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do you have to do so save settings you change in the service menu? Doing this on another samsung first but nothing saves when i go back to regular TV mode. Thanks.

EDIT: To be more specific. I bought the i1Display LT this weekend to calibrate my PN58C550 which was fun so I wanted to do it to my older Sammy LCD but the only way to adjust the white balance options is in the service menu but the settings don't save after I go in there. I'm not sure how to save them and to the correct picture profile (standard, dynamic, movie, etc) which is what I think the problem is. When I go into the service menu the picture looks right but then if I go back into normal mode my settings are different. Thanks.
FuzzyReets is offline  
post #736 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
 
neokeelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jackson, TN
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I don't have any kind of insurance yet, I just moved. I called Samsung but was told the warranty doesn't cover any scratches.
neokeelo is offline  
post #737 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
FuzzyReets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by neokeelo View Post

I don't have any kind of insurance yet, I just moved. I called Samsung but was told the warranty doesn't cover any scratches.

When did you get it? Tell them that's how it came and you just got around to calling
FuzzyReets is offline  
post #738 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
neokeelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jackson, TN
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
They only have a 30 day warranty then they refer you to the manufacturer. Is it that hard to switch the panel out??
neokeelo is offline  
post #739 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 3,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by neokeelo View Post

They only have a 30 day warranty then they refer you to the manufacturer. Is it that hard to switch the panel out??

Probably a little tricky if you aren't a tech or haven't done this type of thing before (tools and expertise go a long way!).

But back to my question, so you don't have insurance, OK, that wasn't my suggestion, I am thinking about the remainder of the Samsung factory warranty, if they replace the panel then it remains valid, if you do it's over right now!

Your choice, but did you get a quote from Samsung on a panel replacement?

Al
Al Sherwood is online now  
post #740 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 03:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by neokeelo View Post

You guys know how hard it is to replace the panel for the 590 yourself? My snowboard fell off the wall and scratched the screen. I can get a replacement panel for $579 so I would like to try and make it a DIY project.

I dought they will even sell you the screen unless you work for a service center.

Forum Sponsor // \\
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1-866-651-0049 // \\
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #741 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 04:14 PM
Senior Member
 
TomGreen321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

I dought they will even sell you the screen unless you work for a service center.

Who's they? You can buy them from authorized dealers? Why would they care if you work for a service centre?
TomGreen321 is offline  
post #742 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 04:19 PM
Member
 
booloo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anymore info on the firmware update? Has anyone noticed any other changes with updating? I still haven't decided if I should do it or not. I wish the firmware update helped with some of the buzz.
booloo is offline  
post #743 of 2810 Old 07-26-2010, 05:37 PM
Member
 
kenk34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did the firmware update....haven't noticed anything different. I have had this TV for 10 days now, and PQ is amazing. No buzzing on this one.
kenk34 is offline  
post #744 of 2810 Old 07-27-2010, 01:14 AM
Newbie
 
Xenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hduong22 View Post

I'm not trying to give a flippant answer here, just stating the truth: every set needs it's own individual calibration. Sharing settings is hit and miss- that's why sometimes C-Net's settings look good, and sometimes not so much. I've seen sets whose owner's have put in someone else's settings they got here (well respected ones) and their set happened to be worse off than if it were left at the factory defaults for that mode.
Generally, there are a few guidelines, though: start in Movie mode. Sharpness on this and other recent Samsung plasmas should be at 0 to avoid edge enhancement, cell light should be raised to max unless burn in / IR is an extra concern, tint should be at or near midpoint, and brightness should be 1 step below the exact point where black just starts to illuminate above MLL. Contrast, gamma, and brightness interact; set brightness last. Color should be at or slightly below midpoint. Lower contrast from the default setting if the set is in a dark room.
__________________
HDTVbyChadB.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post

I recall this post now, and would take Chad's suggestion under advisement because just as he said, every set requires individual treatment to achieve it's best picture.

It is as he said, 'a guideline', and it is clear what he meant when put in context with the other guidelines.

Thanks for providing the original text.

I'm curious as to what others are have their cell light settings at. I just recently bought a c550 and am coming from an ancient tv. A cell light setting of 20 looks great but it can get really bright when outdoor scenes come on, say at the beach, etc. However things are not washed out contrast-wise, which makes me believe that this tv is producing real life lighting effects/brightness, indoors on a tv screen...

Do I just need to get used to new technology? Lowering the cell light to 10 or even 15 dulls the picture imo.
Xenny is offline  
post #745 of 2810 Old 07-27-2010, 10:49 AM
Member
 
UkHardcore23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the cell light at 20 during the day, and around 16/17 for night viewing.
UkHardcore23 is offline  
post #746 of 2810 Old 07-27-2010, 10:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
FuzzyReets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is at 18.
FuzzyReets is offline  
post #747 of 2810 Old 07-27-2010, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 3,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I don't do a lot of daytime viewing, but when I do it get's to about 18, but at night in movie mode it's down at 15.

I find any higher then 15 at night in a darkened room is like torture, too bright...

Al
Al Sherwood is online now  
post #748 of 2810 Old 07-27-2010, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tuxedocivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ladysmith, BC
Posts: 4,663
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 536
I had mine at 18 and now it's at 20 with CS on. That 20 isn't a perfect number yet though. Chances are, 20 is the most "accurate". There is no way your TV produces as much light as the sun. BUT, it shouldn't strain your eyes. If 15 is dull and 20 is to much for your eyes, try 17 and 18. Pick a bright scene, and ask your self, does this look right? Does this strain my eyes? Sounds like you've done both. It looks right, but hurts. Dial it back 2 notches.

Also, consider that some movies will be a dark scene an bam next frame is heaven because the hero just died or something and it's super super bright and hurts. That might be intentional. Eye strain might actually add to the realism of the movie. But those cases are far and few between, so just food for thought more than anything.

If watching the news makes your eyes hurt, turn it down.
tuxedocivic is online now  
post #749 of 2810 Old 07-27-2010, 04:20 PM
Newbie
 
drive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the channel up down on the tv (not remote) work for you? I'm not sure if I’m not pressing it right but it doesn't seem to be consistent. I can go one channel and that’s about it. Source and power work fine.
drive is offline  
post #750 of 2810 Old 07-28-2010, 05:16 AM
Newbie
 
Rafa Rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenny View Post

I'm curious as to what others are have their cell light settings at. I just recently bought a c550 and am coming from an ancient tv. A cell light setting of 20 looks great but it can get really bright when outdoor scenes come on, say at the beach, etc.

Do I just need to get used to new technology? Lowering the cell light to 10 or even 15 dulls the picture imo.

I watch my Samsung with cell light at 10. I used to watch at 8...
I tried cell light at 15 and 20, but is unreal for me.
I watch movies at night in a darkroom.
Last Sunday, I tried to watch "kick ass(2010)" at cell light 15-20 but it was impossible...
When a light outdoor scene ("morning street scene") is on the screen, I can´t look directly to the screen.Is so strong I can´t watch any movie...the details of the picture desapears in a super bright white scene...
I calibrated using AVS 709,bright correct and contrast correct...
I´m from Brasil and my TV is the same,here it´s called PL50C550.

I have a question about the firmware upgrade.

Last week, the model PN50C550 has a firmware upgrade file version 1014.1.

In Brasil, last week, the version we have here is 1010.0 for PL50C550.

Do you know if it´s the same?

The people who upgraded,what´s the number of the older version?

Our Samsung brasilian site, doesn´t show any description about the upgrade file...the 1014.1 I know that´s an upgrade to HDMI 24fps, but ours here I don´t know.

So I want to know if the older version was the 1010 or different?

Thanks my friends and sorry for the mistakes.

Sorry for the mistakes, english is not my natural language...
Rafa Rocks is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off