Samsung PNXXc550 Owners Thread *NO PRICE TALK* - Page 95 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2821 of 2844 Old 07-03-2015, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by douglas-b View Post
Is this a row of dead pixels? Its on other inputs and it doesn't move.

Less likely to be dead pixels but rather a problem with the driver circuit or connection... generally a dead pixel is singular in nature, ie. one all by itself.

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2822 of 2844 Old 07-03-2015, 01:30 PM
Member
 
douglas-b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wabash, Indiana
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bummer...its already driving me nuts.
douglas-b is offline  
post #2823 of 2844 Old 08-23-2015, 03:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Sound-bar help please!!!

I purchased a new sound-bar and am having some issues. The component sound will not pass through the TV and play out of the sound-bar via a digital audio cable. Something so simple has caused me hours of grief and led me to this forum...

The technical info:
TV = PN58C550 running firmware version T-TDT5AUSC-1016.0
Sound-Bar = Energy Connoisseur CS-30

-Sound will play from the TV through the audio cable on another Vizio sound-bar.
-Sound will play from a Tivo box through the audio cable on the new sound-bar.
-The TV has a function "Sound Test" option in the "Self Diagnosis" menu. Sound will play from the TV to the new sound-bar with this setting.
-There is no sound from the Tivo, Samsung Blu-Ray, Chromecast through the TV to the sound-bar. The TV speakers work so I know the sound is getting through. I've gone through the settings on each component, but haven't found any settings that make a difference.

If someone out there has any ideas please let me know. I am very happy with the sound quality of this sound-bar. If I can't figure it out it's going back for another one.
t1j2f3 is offline  
post #2824 of 2844 Old 08-23-2015, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by t1j2f3 View Post
I purchased a new sound-bar and am having some issues. The component sound will not pass through the TV and play out of the sound-bar via a digital audio cable. Something so simple has caused me hours of grief and led me to this forum...

The technical info:
TV = PN58C550 running firmware version T-TDT5AUSC-1016.0
Sound-Bar = Energy Connoisseur CS-30

-Sound will play from the TV through the audio cable on another Vizio sound-bar.
-Sound will play from a Tivo box through the audio cable on the new sound-bar.
-The TV has a function "Sound Test" option in the "Self Diagnosis" menu. Sound will play from the TV to the new sound-bar with this setting.
-There is no sound from the Tivo, Samsung Blu-Ray, Chromecast through the TV to the sound-bar. The TV speakers work so I know the sound is getting through. I've gone through the settings on each component, but haven't found any settings that make a difference.

If someone out there has any ideas please let me know. I am very happy with the sound quality of this sound-bar. If I can't figure it out it's going back for another one.
Welcome! I think that it is a setting,


1) does the Visio sound-bar give sound when placed in the bolded situation above?

2) Does the new sound bar have setting, auto-on or something that is not sensing the incoming signal?

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #2825 of 2844 Old 08-23-2015, 03:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
Welcome! I think that it is a setting,


1) does the Visio sound-bar give sound when placed in the bolded situation above?

2) Does the new sound bar have setting, auto-on or something that is not sensing the incoming signal?
Thank you for the quick response!

1. The Vizio works as expected. Using the same settings the Vizio works and the Energy doesn't.

2. The new Energy sound bar has an auto-on setting that works. It turns on, but there is no sound from the components.
t1j2f3 is offline  
post #2826 of 2844 Old 08-24-2015, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by t1j2f3 View Post
Thank you for the quick response!

1. The Vizio works as expected. Using the same settings the Vizio works and the Energy doesn't.

2. The new Energy sound bar has an auto-on setting that works. It turns on, but there is no sound from the components.
No worries.

Hmmm, that would almost lead me to believe that the sound stream coming from the TV might be in a format that the Energy sound-bar can't read?

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #2827 of 2844 Old 08-28-2015, 10:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
No worries.

Hmmm, that would almost lead me to believe that the sound stream coming from the TV might be in a format that the Energy sound-bar can't read?
First, thank you Al for your assistance and attempts to help. After hours of trying to get the TV/soundbar to communicate via the optical cable I gave up and connected it via audio cable/RCA plugs. The Energy soundbar still sounds great and is a huge upgrade over our previous setup. I picked it up 1/2 off at Best Buy for $300 and it went back up to $600 the following day. There is no better option out there for that price and I did not want to return it.

The issue I had was described as a communication problem between the software of each device. Each company, Samsung and Energy/Klipsch, blamed the other product for the issues.
Al Sherwood likes this.
t1j2f3 is offline  
post #2828 of 2844 Old 09-09-2015, 05:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I read some where on the forum that the [3D58]Logic.bin file can be used intstead of the [2D58]Logic.bin file for the PN58C550. Can anyone confirm this is true and have you successfully used it to update your TV?
speirss is offline  
post #2829 of 2844 Old 09-11-2015, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by speirss View Post
I read some where on the forum that the [3D58]Logic.bin file can be used intstead of the [2D58]Logic.bin file for the PN58C550. Can anyone confirm this is true and have you successfully used it to update your TV?

Interesting question, what exactly would be gained? Long ago I change my C550 to a C590, I got a few more controls and menus, all was good, is there more to be had this late in the game?

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #2830 of 2844 Old 09-11-2015, 12:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
Interesting question, what exactly would be gained? Long ago I change my C550 to a C590, I got a few more controls and menus, all was good, is there more to be had this late in the game?
This file refers to an update to the internal OS of the tv that seems to correct the pink banding issue common with these models.
speirss is offline  
post #2831 of 2844 Old 09-11-2015, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by speirss View Post
This file refers to an update to the internal OS of the tv that seems to correct the pink banding issue common with these models.
Hmm to be honest I haven't noticed that problem on my set, maybe best not to look!

Where can you get the file?

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #2832 of 2844 Old 09-11-2015, 03:00 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
Hmm to be honest I haven't noticed that problem on my set, maybe best not to look!

Where can you get the file?
There is a whole thread about this problem on this site; just search "pink banding". The file is available at
PN58C8000 Pink Banding thread on page 6

Although it says its for a 3D58; I was brave enough to load it on my 2D58 and I am happy to confirm that the update did work and that the banding has been about 098% eliminated..... happy camper!

I will probably do the voltage Vs adjustment at a later date.
speirss is offline  
post #2833 of 2844 Old 09-11-2015, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
Hmm to be honest I haven't noticed that problem on my set, maybe best not to look!

Where can you get the file?
Quote:
Originally Posted by speirss View Post
There is a whole thread about this problem on this site; just search "pink banding". The file is available at
PN58C8000 Pink Banding thread on page 6

Although it says its for a 3D58; I was brave enough to load it on my 2D58 and I am happy to confirm that the update did work and that the banding has been about 098% eliminated..... happy camper!

I will probably do the voltage Vs adjustment at a later date.
And the location for that file? What is the original model of your set? Where do you see '2D58'?

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #2834 of 2844 Old 09-13-2015, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
jhachey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So has anyone tried the 3D63 file on a 2D63? I have done the voltage adjustment on my PN63C590, but I'd like to do the software update too and can't find a 2D63 file.
jhachey is offline  
post #2835 of 2844 Old 12-14-2015, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
emerson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
So I went to put my trash and the dumpster and the 50" version of one of these was sitting out there (only been out for about 1.5 hours tops.

A sign on it said it works, but it has lines on the screen. I of course had to carry it (ow, my back) up to my place and test it out. I still need to get it hooked up, but I don't have much need for it.

Any chance a TV repair shop might give me $50 or something for it (parts, etc)? Or any chance it might be a sub $100 repair?

PN50C550G1FXZA is the full model number.

Last edited by emerson1; 12-14-2015 at 11:44 AM.
emerson1 is offline  
post #2836 of 2844 Old 12-19-2015, 02:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys. So I have a 63" Model:PN63C550G. The TV has done well over the years, however over the last 6 months a weird "curve" developed on the left side and over time, got larger and moved towards the center. You can still see through the curve imperfection, but it's got very annoying.

I waiting until this Christmas, waited for a black Friday deal and got a 65" UHD which is excellent (and it doesn't have this curve). Now I have this 63" that functions, but has this weird anomaly. I'd really like to think that with a board replacement, I can take care of this issue, but I have been on some different forums and have not had anyone able to give guidance of any sort if it's possible to repair...or worth it.

Anyone seen this type of screen failure before?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	191.9 KB
ID:	1130954  
Pitster426 is offline  
post #2837 of 2844 Old 12-19-2015, 02:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys. So I have a 63" Model:PN63C550G. The TV has done well over the years, however over the last 6 months a weird "curve" developed on the left side and over time, got larger and moved towards the center. You can still see through the curve imperfection, but it's got very annoying.

I waiting until this Christmas, waited for a black Friday deal and got a 65" UHD which is excellent (and it doesn't have this curve). Now I have this 63" that functions, but has this weird anomaly. I'd really like to think that with a board replacement, I can take care of this issue, but I have been on some different forums and have not had anyone able to give guidance of any sort if it's possible to repair...or worth it.

Anyone seen this type of screen failure before?
Pitster426 is offline  
post #2838 of 2844 Old 12-19-2015, 02:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Apologies for the double post...
Pitster426 is offline  
post #2839 of 2844 Old 12-19-2015, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitster426 View Post
Hi guys. So I have a 63" Model:PN63C550G. The TV has done well over the years, however over the last 6 months a weird "curve" developed on the left side and over time, got larger and moved towards the center. You can still see through the curve imperfection, but it's got very annoying.

I waiting until this Christmas, waited for a black Friday deal and got a 65" UHD which is excellent (and it doesn't have this curve). Now I have this 63" that functions, but has this weird anomaly. I'd really like to think that with a board replacement, I can take care of this issue, but I have been on some different forums and have not had anyone able to give guidance of any sort if it's possible to repair...or worth it.

Anyone seen this type of screen failure before?
Are you talking about that bright area in the middle of the screen?

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #2840 of 2844 Old 12-19-2015, 09:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
Are you talking about that bright area in the middle of the screen?
Yes, that would be the area. It's a lighted curve from the top to the bottom.
Pitster426 is offline  
post #2841 of 2844 Old 12-20-2015, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitster426 View Post
Yes, that would be the area. It's a lighted curve from the top to the bottom.
Wow, if it is on all the time then I would have guessed a physical hit to the screen, and if it is that, probably not worth fixing.

Hopefully someone else can chime in here.

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #2842 of 2844 Old 12-20-2015, 07:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
Wow, if it is on all the time then I would have guessed a physical hit to the screen, and if it is that, probably not worth fixing.

Hopefully someone else can chime in here.
Definitely not a hit. This started as a little black spot on the left side of the screen of maybe the size of a dime. It then started expanding to the right going from top to bottom, so over the course of 4-5 months, it basically grew slowly. You can see through the highlighted area. The highlighted area is noticeably HOTTER than the regular areas on the TV.
Pitster426 is offline  
post #2843 of 2844 Old 12-20-2015, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitster426 View Post
Definitely not a hit. This started as a little black spot on the left side of the screen of maybe the size of a dime. It then started expanding to the right going from top to bottom, so over the course of 4-5 months, it basically grew slowly. You can see through the highlighted area. The highlighted area is noticeably HOTTER than the regular areas on the TV.
With you comment about the affected area being hotter, I wouldn't run the display until a tech can look at it if you are hoping to have it repaired.

Keep us posted if you decide to have them look at it.

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #2844 of 2844 Old 12-20-2015, 07:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
With you comment about the affected area being hotter, I wouldn't run the display until a tech can look at it if you are hoping to have it repaired.

Keep us posted if you decide to have them look at it.
That's the thing..It's down and boxed now, was going to sell it on Craigslist for it to be someone elses problem, but now I am thinking about pulling it apart, looking for boards to start troubleshooting. Right now I'm looking for some direction as to others who may have had a similar issue, and what they replaced, if they went that far. Haven't had any luck in the last months though.
Pitster426 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off