Official Panasonic TC-PxxVT20/25 Owners Thread NO PRICE TALK!! - Page 283 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8461 of 10650 Old 12-26-2010, 10:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
kevin_mahaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvdmd1 View Post
Are the values different for each color temp or are the values the same for instance rdv80 on normal would it be the same for cool and warm
They are different for each color temp.
kevin_mahaney is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8462 of 10650 Old 12-26-2010, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I've read earlier posts of some members hearing clicking/popping within the back panel of their VT25's. I hear this with mine but I believe it is heat expansion. If I push anywhere on my bezel lightly I can reproduce the sound. I think my Panasonic 50PZ800U does the same thing.

Panasonic 60GT30
Denon X4100
Oppo BDP-103
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST CS-8060HD SR-8040BP ProMonitor 800 (front heights)
SVS 2x PC12-NSD
Dolby Atmos 5.2.2
ThePrisoner is offline  
post #8463 of 10650 Old 12-26-2010, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
dvdmd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Could you post your cool and normal SM SETTINGS,I want to use them as refrence to get my set close to where it was on those color temp,
dvdmd1 is offline  
post #8464 of 10650 Old 12-26-2010, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 13
dvdmd1 - Cool? You're not serious, are you?
wilbur_the_goose is offline  
post #8465 of 10650 Old 12-26-2010, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
dvdmd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur_the_goose View Post

dvdmd1 - Cool? You're not serious, are you?

Yeah I am,I know all tv sets have different values but I don't think their's that much of a diffrence
dvdmd1 is offline  
post #8466 of 10650 Old 12-26-2010, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
captainjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guvadc View Post

What you are descibing is called "Horizontal Line Bleed" and is something that ALL plasma's have to some degree. This unfortunately is normal and the severity of this can vary from set to set and brand. Of all the brands of plasma's you can currently buy (no kuro's) panasonic's are from what I've seen the least severe.

Much appreciated! One other issue- noticing a lot of screen format issues when viewing cable. Seeing lots of horizontal dashes on the top of the screen and vertical line usually on the left. It's formatting and we didn't see this with our DLP much at all. When changing to View 2, it eliminates the issue, but it cuts off a lot of graphics like when watching sports. Wondering if anyone has a good explanation of this?
captainjy is offline  
post #8467 of 10650 Old 12-26-2010, 03:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
donnymac51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainjy View Post

Much appreciated! One other issue- noticing a lot of screen format issues when viewing cable. Seeing lots of horizontal dashes on the top of the screen and vertical line usually on the left. It's formatting and we didn't see this with our DLP much at all. When changing to View 2, it eliminates the issue, but it cuts off a lot of graphics like when watching sports. Wondering if anyone has a good explanation of this?

What you are seeing is broadcast information and the only thing you can do is change picture size to let the tv overscan. The reason you didn't see it on your DLP is that they do overscan as a norm. You really should only see this a small amount of the time such as when watching an SD program. There is nothing wrong with your tv.

Precision Video Calibrations
THX Certified Video Calibrator
Calibrating Florida and Georgia
donnymac51 is offline  
post #8468 of 10650 Old 12-26-2010, 04:15 PM
Member
 
achalas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what is the black level yall have set on the panasonic blu-ray players. They have 'light' and 'dark' on the blu-ray player itself,, (in addition to the tv.)
achalas is offline  
post #8469 of 10650 Old 12-26-2010, 04:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by achalas View Post

what is the black level yall have set on the panasonic blu-ray players. They have 'light' and 'dark' on the blu-ray player itself,, (in addition to the tv.)

For reasons that only Panasonic knows, the "light" and "dark" settings on most all of their TVs and players refers to the equivalent of RGB-video and RGB-PC. "Light" is the correct setting for video discs.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #8470 of 10650 Old 12-26-2010, 10:21 PM
Newbie
 
ocbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, new to this forum and have read through alot to get my VT25 up and running properly. THANKS!

Now, I have my VT25 on an HDMI switched from and Denon AVR-791. There is only one HDMI that goes into the tv - HDMI-1. Everytime I turn on the tv or switch sources on the AVR, the source signal flashes on in the top left of the tv screen. it is always the same text since it is always the same source. I noticed tonight that it is slightly retaining this image now.

Is there any way to force this source box to stay off? Anyone have suggestions or s similar problem. I did search, but couldn't come up with anything.

Thanks,
Diesel
ocbc is offline  
post #8471 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 02:32 AM
Senior Member
 
captainjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by donnymac51 View Post

What you are seeing is broadcast information and the only thing you can do is change picture size to let the tv overscan. The reason you didn't see it on your DLP is that they do overscan as a norm. You really should only see this a small amount of the time such as when watching an SD program. There is nothing wrong with your tv.

Oh ok, gotcha. Thanks for the reply. Nothing too bad, just a little annoying at times. Appreciate your help!
captainjy is offline  
post #8472 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 03:37 AM
Member
 
achalas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

For reasons that only Panasonic knows, the "light" and "dark" settings on most all of their TVs and players refers to the equivalent of RGB-video and RGB-PC. "Light" is the correct setting for video discs.

ic, thanks =). Still looking for ways to reduce what seems to be an abnormally bright black lvl. =o
achalas is offline  
post #8473 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 05:54 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainjy View Post

Hi guys. I have a profile question for settings. When we bought our TV, we bought a new Yamaha receiver and bluray player. It has been nearly 6 years since we bought a new receiver a couple since we bought a bluray player. What I have been used to is connecting video and audio separately, meaning HDMI for video then optical or coax for audio. The newer TVs have more of a type of hub so now I am connecting HDMI from receiver to HDMI1 then all my all devices, Xbox, Bluray and Cable to HDMI 1,2,3 on the receiver. My problem is that all video is going through HDMI1 so I really only have one settings profile to work with rather than one profile for each device. Other than going back to direct connections for each device, does anyone know of a workaround so we can have different settings for each device? Probably pretty newb question, but appreciate any suggestions.

There may be disagreement on this; but basically I don't worry about different components requiring individual calibration if:
1) They are all digital
2) You are using "neutral" settings on all of them (i.e., no adjustments for contrast, brightness, sharpness, etc.)
3) They are all using the same levels for black (i.e., video levels (preferrable) or computer level).
rlb is online now  
post #8474 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 12:12 PM
Member
 
blstanle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone compared the 2nd generation panny glasses to the Xpand x103's? I still have the original first gen panny glasses which are horrible for comfort and blocking side light. I am looking to pickup some new glasses and wondering if I should get the X103s or if the new version of Panny glasses are improved? Thoughts/experiences greatly appreciated.
blstanle is offline  
post #8475 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 02:03 PM
Member
 
capwkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just setup my new TCP50VT25 last night. I connected my PS3, via HDMI, using digital out to my pre-amp. I can not get anything but 2 Ch out of the PS3. Before yesterday, I was using an external box to pull the audio from the HDMI. I have tried setting the audio output to HDMI, manual, double digital, DTS, and PCM out... But, oohing but 2 CH. My pre-amp says is is only getting 2CH PCM. Any thoughts? I am tired of having that extra box, as it causes connection problems.. Thanks.
capwkidd is offline  
post #8476 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 02:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
avsform1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
For those that have the the VT25, does it have the DNLA functionality?
avsform1 is offline  
post #8477 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 02:25 PM
Member
 
jdk33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by capwkidd View Post

I just setup my new TCP50VT25 last night. I connected my PS3, via HDMI, using digital out to my pre-amp. I can not get anything but 2 Ch out of the PS3. Before yesterday, I was using an external box to pull the audio from the HDMI. I have tried setting the audio output to HDMI, manual, double digital, DTS, and PCM out... But, oohing but 2 CH. My pre-amp says is is only getting 2CH PCM. Any thoughts? I am tired of having that extra box, as it causes connection problems.. Thanks.

If I'm reading this correctly, this is your signal chain:

PS3 -> HDMI -> VT25 -> optical out -> pre-amp?


If that's correct, the reason you're having this issue is because the VT25 only outputs 2 channel audio via its optical output. There is nothing you can do to get any more channels than that if you're going through the TV. You may want to use the optical output on your PS3 to go to your preamp, then use the HDMI cable purely for video.
jdk33 is offline  
post #8478 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 02:30 PM
Member
 
capwkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdk33 View Post


If I'm reading this correctly, this is your signal chain:

PS3 -> HDMI -> VT25 -> optical out -> pre-amp?

If that's correct, the reason you're having this issue is because the VT25 only outputs 2 channel audio via its optical output. There is nothing you can do to get any more channels than that if you're going through the TV. You may want to use the optical output on your PS3 to go to your preamp, then use the HDMI cable purely for video.

Ahh... This makes sense.... I use an HDMI switch also.... I guess I am back to using that dam box to extract the 5.1.... Thanks!
capwkidd is offline  
post #8479 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 02:39 PM
Member
 
Mr. C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsform1 View Post

For those that have the the VT25, does it have the DNLA functionality?

Nope.
Mr. C. is offline  
post #8480 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 02:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by blstanle View Post

Has anyone compared the 2nd generation panny glasses to the Xpand x103's? I still have the original first gen panny glasses which are horrible for comfort and blocking side light. I am looking to pickup some new glasses and wondering if I should get the X103s or if the new version of Panny glasses are improved? Thoughts/experiences greatly appreciated.

I've read one or 2 reports that the Panny glasses are just as nice as the x103s. I have the new Panny ones and really like them, haven't tried x103s.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #8481 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

I've read one or 2 reports that the Panny glasses are just as nice as the x103s. I have the new Panny ones and really like them, haven't tried x103s.

I almost purchased the x103's but instead got the new Panasonic glasses, a medium pair for my wife and a large pair for me. I really like them too. I went with the Panny's because they are rechargable and look way better than my original Panny glasses..

Panasonic 60GT30
Denon X4100
Oppo BDP-103
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST CS-8060HD SR-8040BP ProMonitor 800 (front heights)
SVS 2x PC12-NSD
Dolby Atmos 5.2.2
ThePrisoner is offline  
post #8482 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 04:01 PM
Member
 
SteveInAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone clarify the Panasonic Avatar 3D bonus offer? I recall reading back about a month or two ago that current owners of the VT25 TV's would be able to receive two pairs of 3D glasses plus the Avatar 3D bluray disc for free. I check it now, and the Panasonic web site only says that the Avatar disc is free to existing owners. Is that correct?

Also, any tips on who has the best deal on extra 3D glasses at this time?

Thanks,
- Steve
SteveInAustin is offline  
post #8483 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 05:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevin_mahaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveInAustin View Post

Can someone clarify the Panasonic Avatar 3D bonus offer? I recall reading back about a month or two ago that current owners of the VT25 TV's would be able to receive two pairs of 3D glasses plus the Avatar 3D bluray disc for free. I check it now, and the Panasonic web site only says that the Avatar disc is free to existing owners. Is that correct?

Also, any tips on who has the best deal on extra 3D glasses at this time?

Thanks,
- Steve

Only the movie
kevin_mahaney is offline  
post #8484 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 05:38 PM
Member
 
bruf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an issue with my brand-new TC-P50VT25 and I hope you guys can help me on this one.

First, here's a video demonstrating the problem : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Um3-6TxiLM

As you can see, some pixels are lit and causing some kind of flickering above the "normal" display area. I'm currently running the panel aging thumbdrive files as recommended by D-Nice. I've tried regular TV broadcast and blu-ray too, I'm able to reproduce the problem with different sources.

Will it go away after a few dozens/hundreds hours by itself? Is it fixable or should I just return it to the store?

It's my second plasma (first one being a 42-inch LG) and it's the first time I've experienced any problem with an HDTV. I really don't want to put it back in it's box and lose half a day in the process. ;(

Thanks for your help!
bruf is offline  
post #8485 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 06:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Hurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePrisoner View Post

I almost purchased the x103's but instead got the new Panasonic glasses, a medium pair for my wife and a large pair for me. I really like them too. I went with the Panny's because they are rechargable and look way better than my original Panny glasses..

I got 3 new gen 2 panny glasses. 2 of the 3 have issues. During 3D playback they momentarily seem to blur on one lense, appear to go out of 3d for a millisecond, happens quite often, thought it was low battery but not the case. This happened on Clash of Titans and Legend of the Guardians. I will be contacting Panasonic. I have sent back the original glasses to panasonic as the battery had a bad connection. Not impressed with the glasses to date.

Hurk
Hurk is offline  
post #8486 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
jrnewquist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruf View Post

As you can see, some pixels are lit and causing some kind of flickering above the "normal" display area.

My 50TV25 (a few days old) never had any flickering pixels at all, even during the slideshows like you are running. What happens on a normal (TV, Blu-Ray) signal? If there's any hint of flicker under normal operations, send it back, stat.

jrnewquist is offline  
post #8487 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurk View Post


I got 3 new gen 2 panny glasses. 2 of the 3 have issues. During 3D playback they momentarily seem to blur on one lense, appear to go out of 3d for a millisecond, happens quite often, thought it was low battery but not the case. This happened on Clash of Titans and Legend of the Guardians. I will be contacting Panasonic. I have sent back the original glasses to panasonic as the battery had a bad connection. Not impressed with the glasses to date.

Hurk

Sorry to hear about your troubles with the new glasses.

Panasonic 60GT30
Denon X4100
Oppo BDP-103
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST CS-8060HD SR-8040BP ProMonitor 800 (front heights)
SVS 2x PC12-NSD
Dolby Atmos 5.2.2
ThePrisoner is offline  
post #8488 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 07:08 PM
Member
 
bruf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrnewquist View Post

My 50TV25 (a few days old) never had and flickering pixels at all, even during the slideshows like you are running. What happens on a normal (TV, Blu-Ray) signal? If there's any hint of flicker under normal operations, send it back, stat.

Depending on the image on screen, the pixels light up white/red/blue, it light on and off all the time as soon the image changes. I was hoping it would stop after a while.
bruf is offline  
post #8489 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 09:10 PM
Member
 
Hawgfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi:
I'm expecting my plasma tomorrow morning and I have a question regarding the initial installation of the stand. Do you guys lay the television down on its' face when installing the stand? Can you do this with a plasma without damaging it? I've always heard that you never lay a plasma down. Any other alternatives?
Thanks!
Hawgfin is offline  
post #8490 of 10650 Old 12-27-2010, 09:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePrisoner View Post

I almost purchased the x103's but instead got the new Panasonic glasses, a medium pair for my wife and a large pair for me. I really like them too. I went with the Panny's because they are rechargable and look way better than my original Panny glasses..

How big a difference is there between the medium and large versions of the glasses? For someone who the medium fits, is wearing the large glasses problematic in any way?
dswallow is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off