The Official LG xxPK550 Owner's Discussion Thread [no price talk] - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 12:50 PM
Member
 
Vermont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blairco View Post

Big question here: have any of the disappointed Samsung 50B850 owners bought this? And if so, how do they compare the operational noise of the set?

I definitely need to find a replacement for the Samsung soon as my return policy is almost up.

I'm in the same boat, but I have a 860.
Vermont is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
unap16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

Demon's souls(3rd person action rpg): I don't notice anything
MAG(fps): the input lag is quite noticeable coming from my CRT. Strafing left and right.. switching directions feels a bit more sluggish than before.

Thanks for the input. I wonder why the game mode doesn't function as it's supposed to. I also wonder if the PK950 will have the same input lag time as the PK550.

Regarding Demon's Souls, I wonder if it's because you are too busy dodging tough as nails enemies rather than focus on lag time

off topic: Good to see a well rounded person who is into tech, gaming etc and hase a social life (esp, gf).

Coming soon...
unap16 is offline  
post #273 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 01:41 PM
Member
 
borcth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the space coast
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well, i got my pk550 on tuesday. So far so good. The thing is sexy. I love it. For blu ray movies on my ps3, i use cinema mode (obviously recalibrated) to my liking. Its gorgeous. My brother right away noticed how smooth the movement was. For my xbox games, im playing mass effect 2 and im using game mode (recalibrated of course) and its way more rich and vibrant then my lcd was. After each session and from time to time, ill do a "color wash" this gets rid of any IR in seconds. So far, i have no IR issues. I just am mindful of what i do. Mass effect is great for a break in, becuz it has no real hud. And if something is on the screen for a while, i just do a "color wash" after a while and leave it on "orbiter".
Just an fyi, ill leave color wash on while im gone and it will automatically shut it self off after a couple of hours or so. Which is good. Its a good break it, because it uses scrolling colored cubes/squares. Likea checkerboard. And slowly moves across the screen. Im feeling more and more confident in not having any image burn by doing these simple procedures. It's become natural for me now.

I dont notice any lag in movies or my games. It all looks crisp and clear.Love it!
I recommend the pk550.

50" LG PK550
Denon AVR-1610
BIC/Pioneer Speakers
PS3
Xbox360
borcth is offline  
post #274 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 01:54 PM
Member
 
dudg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^^That is great news. I am patiently waiting for mine to ship. Ordered it Tues. night and I still think its sitting in California. Scheduled arival date is 4/1.
dudg is offline  
post #275 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 02:03 PM
Member
 
borcth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the space coast
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudg View Post

^^^^That is great news. I am patiently waiting for mine to ship. Ordered it Tues. night and I still think its sitting in California. Scheduled arival date is 4/1.

I waited nearly 2 weeks for mine. I was really nervous with reading all these things about plasma. But after using it and watching things and just being mindeful. I feel very confident and comfortable.

Just to be more detailed on the gaming(same goes for movies with bars). If you play a game that has a HUD on for a while, just pause the game and go to settings in the menu and change it to "color wash" for about 10-15 seconds. Hit the enter button/menu/exit on ur remote and change it back to ORBITER, never lave it to normal. Idk what will happen, but Orbiter allows the pixels to be shifted so slightly you hardly notice it. This keeps things dynamic. Now go back to your game and play. At the end of the day, after each watching session, ill do a "color wash" for about a min or 2, and then change it back to Orbiter and then turn the tv off. Sounds all complicated or long, but it's not.

Once you get the tv, you'll get used to it, like any other electronic thing and If your like me, you'll catch on quickly.

The only time i had a slight IR was like the menu on the xbox or ps3 when i left it on there a bit too long. I was messing with the calibration. But dont freak. Just do color wash, and you'll see the IR melt away. Really makes you feel relieved and happy.


Hope this helps.

50" LG PK550
Denon AVR-1610
BIC/Pioneer Speakers
PS3
Xbox360
borcth is offline  
post #276 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 03:08 PM
Member
 
nvous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most of the causes of Input Lag is done by your Monitor or TV doing Extra Processing to the image. In the AVForums review of the PK950 they stated that the set was doing extra sharpening/video processing but if they labeled the Input as "PC" the sharpening/video processing went away. So the million dollar question is can Shaddix rename one of his HDMI inputs to PC and then do another side by side input lag test with his CRT to see if it drops the Input Lag from ~80-90 down to the ~40's ?
nvous is offline  
post #277 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nvous View Post

rename one of his HDMI inputs to PC and then do another side by side input lag test with his CRT to see if it drops the Input Lag from ~80-90 down to the ~40's ?

picture set to expert1, hdmi1 set to PC 1080p/60hz





oh well.

I sent them an email asking if there's some option in the menu somewhere to speed it up or if a firmware update would be able to do anything about it. Last time I emailed them I got a very thorough response from the "email administrator" to my question so hopefully I'll get the same guy.

Perhaps they're all in cahoots with panasonic to get us to buy a 65" V series ._.;;;
got to go to class now i'll bbl
shaddix is offline  
post #278 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Orta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

picture set to expert1, hdmi1 set to PC 1080p/60hz

[IMG]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2629723/betty/DSC00161.JPG[/IMG
[IMG]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2629723/betty/DSC00162.JPG[/IMG
[IMG]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2629723/betty/DSC00163.JPG[/IMG

oh well.

I sent them an email asking if there's some option in the menu somewhere to speed it up or if a firmware update would be able to do anything about it. Last time I emailed them I got a very thorough response from the "email administrator" to my question so hopefully I'll get the same guy.

Perhaps they're all in cahoots with panasonic to get us to buy a 65" V series ._.;;;
got to go to class now i'll bbl

Hey Shaddix, thanks for the measures. Assuming you haven't already, can you see if you get faster results turning off Windows Aero and possibly some options in your GPU's config if you have a dedicated card? These settings were affecting my numbers pretty severely. I put a check list in the OP here.
Orta is offline  
post #279 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orta View Post

Hey Shaddix, thanks for the measures. Assuming you haven't already, can you see if you get faster results turning off Windows Aero and possibly some options in your GPU's config if you have a dedicated card? These settings were affecting my numbers pretty severely. I put a check list in the OP here.

What's really weird is that using the hdmi port, there's much more lag than if I use vga. Vga has about half the input lag of the hdmi. This is just using a dvi>vga adapter for the ~46ms. Using dvi>hdmi cable on the same computer(same port even) bumps the latency up into the 80ms range.
shaddix is offline  
post #280 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm still in class atm.. Ill test again when I get home if noone is on the ps3
shaddix is offline  
post #281 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 05:43 PM
Member
 
BigDisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

picture set to expert1, hdmi1 set to PC 1080p/60hz

[...]


Dude, how come the plasma screen shows a LOWER value on the timer? Isn't it supposed to be higher if there is input lag?
BigDisk is offline  
post #282 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDisk View Post

Dude, how come the plasma screen shows a LOWER value on the timer? Isn't it supposed to be higher if there is input lag?

it's counting up lol
shaddix is offline  
post #283 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 06:02 PM
Member
 
BigDisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

it's counting up lol

Oh, yeah. Haha. Brain fart. (I've been at work for 13 hours )
BigDisk is offline  
post #284 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 06:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Yukon Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Yukon, Canada
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

What's really weird is that using the hdmi port, there's much more lag than if I use vga. Vga has about half the input lag of the hdmi. This is just using a dvi>vga adapter for the ~46ms. Using dvi>hdmi cable on the same computer(same port even) bumps the latency up into the 80ms range.

That's likely because the TV recognizes the VGA input as a PC input and subsequently turns off some of the internal processing. Go into your menu on the VGA input and see if any of the options are grayed out or not adjustable.

Yukon Trooper is offline  
post #285 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 06:55 PM
Member
 
bunglebungle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks shaddix for all the videos and everyone else for the info. I think that might be a bit too glossy for me (plus there's no 46"?!?), but we'll see.
bunglebungle is offline  
post #286 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 07:31 PM
Senior Member
 
dumon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are some shots of the dark scenes in Cinema mode
Brightness: 36
Contrast: 50

Do you guys see similar results? The blacks are really glowing and I had hoped
that there supposed to be better results coming from an LCD.
Also you can see some IR on the second shot (the spots).
Based on the Chad's review the MLL of this TV is 0.012 FL.
Is it what that number supposed to look like? It looks pretty bad for me.

Chad, can you please comment on that? Am I expecting too much?



dumon is offline  
post #287 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 08:25 PM
Newbie
 
h77nate77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Love the set, but im getting a flicker in a few scenes on planet earth. the flicker is like faint snow, anyone else have this problem? Its not often and so far have only noticed it with a few scenes of planet earth on Blu ray. First plasma and i do not know if this is normal or not. LOVE the set besides that the picture is amazing
h77nate77 is offline  
post #288 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 2,055
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Unfortunately, I can't tell much from screenshots. Your camera and my monitor would both have to be perfectly calibrated.

.012 will glow in a dark room; it's a respectable number for a plasma, but it is higher than the Panny G25. When I had them both sitting side by side in the dark the G25 was slightly darker and the PK550 had a slightly greenish cast to it's black glow as I said in the review. But the difference between them wasn't night and day, it was merely noticeable.
Chad B is offline  
post #289 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 2,055
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrist View Post

Chad B:

Did you notice any of the image processing issues that AVFOrums did on the 950?

http://www.avforums.com/reviews/LG-5...TV-Review.html

This may sound silly, but I try not to read reviews of sets that I'm possibly going to review soon. I just don't want to get preconceived ideas.
Chad B is offline  
post #290 of 5218 Old 03-25-2010, 09:41 PM
Senior Member
 
dumon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad B View Post

Unfortunately, I can't tell much from screenshots. Your camera and my monitor would both have to be perfectly calibrated.

.012 will glow in a dark room; it's a respectable number for a plasma, but it is higher than the Panny G25. When I had them both sitting side by side in the dark the G25 was slightly darker and the PK550 had a slightly greenish cast to it's black glow as I said in the review. But the difference between them wasn't night and day, it was merely noticeable.

Thanks Chad. I understand your point about the shots.
I know now that I should expect it to glow for some degree.
The question is: at what degree?
I can definitely see black bars glowing when watching 2.35:1 content in the dark.
dumon is offline  
post #291 of 5218 Old 03-26-2010, 12:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Black bars will glow slightly with most TV's. The only TV's that might have indistinguishable bars in a dark room, are the 9G Kuro Elite, B8500, XBR8 and LHX. All of these are at or near the top in regards to black levels. Considering the price, you can't really expect the best black level performance. The BK550 seems to have very solid overall performance for the price, though.
rahzel is offline  
post #292 of 5218 Old 03-26-2010, 02:01 AM
Member
 
prebuffo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Chad, I Have a question about Black Levels and Contrast Ratio:

Which is the right Black Level for dummies (like me )?

I explain: Contrast ratio and minimum black level are very potent marketing drivers, so every single company give us (the dummies consumers) unusefull information like dynamic contrast ratio or Native contrast ratio and other stuff like this.

Same for black levels in the internet or in the magazines reviews.

So in the real world is the Black levels mesured on an ANSI pattern and the ANSI contrast ratio (togheter)a good information for dummies to evaluate the tv regard real black levels and the maximum white levels in the every day use?


Paolo Rebuffo


p.s. sorry for my horrible english I'm only a DummY Italian consumer.
prebuffo is offline  
post #293 of 5218 Old 03-26-2010, 03:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
barrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad B View Post

This may sound silly, but I try not to read reviews of sets that I'm possibly going to review soon. I just don't want to get preconceived ideas.

Not silly at all!

I'll be waiting for your review of the 950! Any idea when it would be in at CP?




---

I wonder if there are any differences between the european 990 and the North American 950. on LG Europes page it says the contrast ratio is 3,000,00:1

the 950 in NA says it has 5,000,000:1. but could just be mistakes on their website.
barrist is offline  
post #294 of 5218 Old 03-26-2010, 05:43 AM
Newbie
 
anche70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey BORCTH thanks for the great review. Can you share some of your TV settings so that I can try them out when I get mine? thanks.

LGnewb
anche70 is offline  
post #295 of 5218 Old 03-26-2010, 07:08 AM
Newbie
 
ksarkisian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are the 60pk550 for sale? I have only seen people in this forum talk about the 50.
ksarkisian is offline  
post #296 of 5218 Old 03-26-2010, 07:15 AM
Member
 
dudg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksarkisian View Post

Are the 60pk550 for sale? I have only seen people in this forum talk about the 50.

I have one on order from Amazon. Supposed to be here 4/1.
dudg is offline  
post #297 of 5218 Old 03-26-2010, 07:48 AM
Newbie
 
ksarkisian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have only seen it at amazon. I didn't know if retailers were going to get it like sears.
ksarkisian is offline  
post #298 of 5218 Old 03-26-2010, 07:52 AM
Senior Member
 
dumon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Re power savings feature on PK550...
Does anybody use it? It dims picture noticeably depending on the ambient light.
I wonder if the TV should be calibrated with the power saving turned off.
dumon is offline  
post #299 of 5218 Old 03-26-2010, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Definitely leave that power saving stuff turned off

@h77nate77 what scene in planet earth? I will look and see if mine does it when I get home tonight
shaddix is offline  
post #300 of 5218 Old 03-26-2010, 08:04 AM
Member
 
halokilla77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by borcth View Post

well, i got my pk550 on tuesday. So far so good. The thing is sexy. I love it. For blu ray movies on my ps3, i use cinema mode (obviously recalibrated) to my liking. Its gorgeous. My brother right away noticed how smooth the movement was. For my xbox games, im playing mass effect 2 and im using game mode (recalibrated of course) and its way more rich and vibrant then my lcd was. After each session and from time to time, ill do a "color wash" this gets rid of any IR in seconds. So far, i have no IR issues. I just am mindful of what i do. Mass effect is great for a break in, becuz it has no real hud. And if something is on the screen for a while, i just do a "color wash" after a while and leave it on "orbiter".
Just an fyi, ill leave color wash on while im gone and it will automatically shut it self off after a couple of hours or so. Which is good. Its a good break it, because it uses scrolling colored cubes/squares. Likea checkerboard. And slowly moves across the screen. Im feeling more and more confident in not having any image burn by doing these simple procedures. It's become natural for me now.

I dont notice any lag in movies or my games. It all looks crisp and clear.Love it!
I recommend the pk550.

What a great review man, glad you love it and enjoy it. Do you play FPS games as well? I got the cash to pick up a 60PK550 I just can't decide if I should wait for the 750 or 950. Either way I'm sure I will be happy. Btw what is your thoughts on the glare?
halokilla77 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 50pk550c 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Lg Infinia 60pk950 60 Inch 1080p Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off