The Official LG xxPK550 Owner's Discussion Thread [no price talk] - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 03:48 PM
Member
 
DaveGill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smith5361 View Post

I have GOW 2. Played it a little the other day up to the part where you do the escort (Betty) and didn' notice anything. I thought Gears looked really sharp. Like i mentione before try the edge ennhancer settings and like somebody else said, try the Dynamic contrast. Right now im Watching the Indy 500 off an antenae and it looks tits!!

BTW anybody got any good calibrations yet? Maybe for games and for Cinema?

So you do not see those artifacts from the video on your 550? How's the input lag for you?
DaveGill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think I have gears2 around here somewhere. I can make a video
shaddix is offline  
post #363 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 04:22 PM
Member
 
Smith5361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveGill View Post

So you do not see those artifacts from the video on your 550? How's the input lag for you?

I dont see anything.........yet. I also don't have issues with as other have mentioned about the buzzing of the plasma or anything. When you say Jacinto are you talking the MP map or is the level towards the end of the game that you are talking about. I havent played a whole lot yet, still waiting for it to break in, so i can't say much about the lag
Smith5361 is offline  
post #364 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 04:27 PM
Member
 
gihad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arfster View Post

That "edge flickering" is clearly some sort of image processing. Turn them all off, they ruin the picture.

That was my first thought, but even after turning everything off and trying many different settings the edge flickering doesn't go away.

I just went to sears and the salesman allowed me to examine the 50PK550 on display, it had all the problems that mine has, I'm relieved to know that it's not just mine.

The edge flickering is bad with non 1080p/24, depending on what you do it will be worse, it's bad while playing games, there is no way you won't see edge flickering if you put gears of war 2 there, and this is just how this TV is, you can only make it slightly better by changing settings but it will always have some.

The horizontal line bleeding was also there, this model happens to have stronger bleeding than other plasmas I had before. I guess I will have to live with that.

The weird and laggy brightness change that happens when scenes change rapidly can be minimized by turning the image processing options off.
gihad is offline  
post #365 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 04:30 PM
Member
 
gihad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smith5361 View Post

I dont see anything.........yet. I also don't have issues with as other have mentioned about the buzzing of the plasma or anything. When you say Jacinto are you talking the MP map or is the level towards the end of the game that you are talking about. I havent played a whole lot yet, still waiting for it to break in, so i can't say much about the lag

I just created a local MP Annex Game and I selected Jacinto as the map, that part on the video is right at where you begin, when you move you should see the columns and stairs flickering.
gihad is offline  
post #366 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 04:31 PM
Member
 
borcth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the space coast
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just to mention. Ive had mine for almost a week. I was watching rambo 3 (hell yeah) on blu ray. Let me put it this way, my bro was watching with me and he's like (Dude, this movie looks like its a movie that came out recently) - commenting the motion and how crisp and clean it looks. It's funny, that movie on my new tv, looks better then some movies that just came out. Talk about great transfers! Love this tv so far.

50" LG PK550
Denon AVR-1610
BIC/Pioneer Speakers
PS3
Xbox360
borcth is offline  
post #367 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 05:32 PM
Newbie
 
visscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With this edge flickering, are you maybe referring to aliasing? I don't think that's the TV's fault in most cases.
visscher is offline  
post #368 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 05:38 PM
Member
 
gihad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by visscher View Post

With this edge flickering, are you maybe referring to aliasing? I don't think that's the TV's fault in most cases.

You are probably right, It's likely that I started to pay attention to this issues only after I go this new plasma, I think Gears of War 2 is a game that has a lot of aliasing problems regardless of the TV.

I will just allow myself to be happy now!
gihad is offline  
post #369 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gihad View Post

You are probably right, It's likely that I started to pay attention to this issues only after I go this new plasma, I think Gears of War 2 is a game that has a lot of aliasing problems regardless of the TV.

I will just allow myself to be happy now!

well that's one solution lol

what was your old TV?
shaddix is offline  
post #370 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
oh by the way, I don't see any change in sharpness when changing the label on HDMI from "PC" to anything else like that avforums review claims.
shaddix is offline  
post #371 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 07:04 PM
Member
 
gihad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

well that's one solution lol

what was your old TV?

My old TV was a 2009 50" Panasonic U1, I had it for a couple of months but I sold it to get this LG.
It's funny that here in Canada the 2010 LG 50PK550($1199.00) is cheaper than 2009 Panasonic TCP50U1($1299.00)
gihad is offline  
post #372 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauri View Post

The interesting thing on the LGs plasma, on the previous 2008 and 2009 series, and I guess it is the same for these new models, is that you have that 100 IRE (full white) pattern available from the OSD. On the E.U. 2008 models its name was "refreshPDP". They offer it to clean the display in case of bad IR, but it is also perfect for the break-in
BTW, there should be also the "Orbiter" (I don't know the exact name on these new U.S. models) function available from the same OSD setup (if you don't find it on that setup, search for it in the PDF manual). It helps to reduce image retention (IR), and it is always a very good thing to use it during gaming.

How do you access the 100 IRA and Orbiter functions from the LG ?

Family member just bought 2 of the 42" models yesterday, one for the bedroom and one for the living room (replaced a pair of OLD CRTs). Just getting up to speed on these....
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #373 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 08:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by walt73 View Post

I just ordered a 50PK550 from Sears (Canada), will be here Thurs. If I still lived in the US I would've bought it from Cleveland Plasma as they have really helped steer me in the direction of this TV.

Thanks for the kind words One thing some people do not know is that Chad and I pay to review these units. We get no vender support of any kind. I must say it is loads of fun having a calibration party with chad, especially when he brings the beer. ( Which he has never done as he does not drink, dang it ! )
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #374 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 09:05 PM
Member
 
Smith5361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveGill View Post

So you do not see those artifacts from the video on your 550? How's the input lag for you?

Yeah as mentioned before i think its the AA of the X-box. I did exactly what you did on Jacinto and i believe its the AA. I notice it on my 32" Toshiba LCD as well but not near as much since it doesn't have the color or size of my 50". Also make sure you changed your settings in the X-box menu in accordance to having it hooked up to your new tv.

I need to play it some more to rate the lag. I do notice more while on any other mode than "Game" but while on "game" mode i can't recognize any lag. It feels just like it did on my Toshiba. In fact while using my Toshiba i often had to turn up my controller sensitvity. Once hooking it up to the 50PK550 ive actually had to turn the sensitivity down. I also have played a few MP matches of Modern Warfare 2 which is a very fast paced game and i notice no difference at all either. If anything i think it feels more smooth and natural

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Thanks for the kind words One thing some people do not know is that Chad and I pay to review these units. We get no vender support of any kind. I must say it is loads of fun having a calibration party with chad, especially when he brings the beer. ( Which he has never done as he does not drink, dang it ! )

Do you guys post your Calibrations? Or do you also calibrate tv's, in which case i could see why you wouldn't lol
Smith5361 is offline  
post #375 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 09:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #376 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 09:11 PM
Member
 
Smith5361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipsPhanatic View Post

How do you access the 100 IRA and Orbiter functions from the LG ?

Family member just bought 2 of the 42" models yesterday, one for the bedroom and one for the living room (replaced a pair of OLD CRTs). Just getting up to speed on these....

Hit the Menu button, go down to the options menu, and then you will see "ISM Method" cycle though there for your options. Ive been running the color wash from time to time and it really seems to help with breaking in the tv. Also after having the tv for a while i notice the IR is far less than I previously mentioned. Also when a scene fades in and out it used to not be very smooth. Turning to cinema mode really helps this, along with just running the tv through its paces has as well on all modes. Im really happy with my purchase!
Smith5361 is offline  
post #377 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 09:13 PM
Member
 
Smith5361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Settings are posted, they are useless as every tv is different. They are on the calibration reports.

sorry im newer to the forum and really don't know where to check and what not. Atleast with your settings it gives me something to base mine off of
Smith5361 is offline  
post #378 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
dumon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

oh by the way, I don't see any change in sharpness when changing the label on HDMI from "PC" to anything else like that avforums review claims.

Yeah...tried it too - no change. It could be PK950 thing only.
dumon is offline  
post #379 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
arfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumon View Post

Yeah...tried it too - no change. It could be PK950 thing only.

Might be a Euro model difference too.
arfster is offline  
post #380 of 5218 Old 03-28-2010, 10:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smith5361 View Post

sorry im newer to the forum and really don't know where to check and what not. Atleast with your settings it gives me something to base mine off of

Problem is on some sets these setting will take you towards the worst picture you can get on your set, be careful.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #381 of 5218 Old 03-29-2010, 12:58 AM
Newbie
 
Greenish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Thanks for the kind words One thing some people do not know is that Chad and I pay to review these units. We get no vender support of any kind. I must say it is loads of fun having a calibration party with chad, especially when he brings the beer. ( Which he has never done as he does not drink, dang it ! )

You both are great, and deserve praise for these fine, videophile-standard reviews. You've helped this lurker from Sweden make his decision
Greenish is offline  
post #382 of 5218 Old 03-29-2010, 03:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RobbyTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

oh by the way, I don't see any change in sharpness when changing the label on HDMI from "PC" to anything else like that avforums review claims.

did you test it the same way they did in the avforums review?

if not.... then maybe you are jumping to conclusions?

what type of test pattern did you use to draw your conclusion that the sharpness is not affected by the PC label setting?
RobbyTV is offline  
post #383 of 5218 Old 03-29-2010, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbyTV View Post

did you test it the same way they did in the avforums review?

if not.... then maybe you are jumping to conclusions?

what type of test pattern did you use to draw your conclusion that the sharpness is not affected by the PC label setting?

I used 3 or 4 1920x1080 test pattern images i found using google image search. and then a few pages of text. I never saw even a pixels worth of difference.

1920x1080 res at 60hz progressive on hdmi 1 labeled as pc

this is a 550 btw, so the sharpening might be something specific to the 950 or to EU x90 as was mentioned earlier
shaddix is offline  
post #384 of 5218 Old 03-29-2010, 08:14 AM
Member
 
hbomber202020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mentor
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Thanks for the kind words One thing some people do not know is that Chad and I pay to review these units. We get no vender support of any kind. I must say it is loads of fun having a calibration party with chad, especially when he brings the beer. ( Which he has never done as he does not drink, dang it ! )

you guys have sold me on this TV definitely. Reading the reviews by you, Chad and the price is great. I was looking at the Panny's but the review and price make it a no brainer to grab the LG 50PK550.

Next $1300 I get, I'm getting this TV and calibrated. I can't wait.
hbomber202020 is offline  
post #385 of 5218 Old 03-29-2010, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Dear Lindsay,

Thank you for contacting LG Electronics. I am delighted to hear from you as our valued customer and I will be glad to answer your concern.

Unfortunately there is not a way to lower the input lag on your TV. Also at this time there is not a firmware update that addresses that specific issue. I will be more than happy to forward your suggestion to develop an update to decrease the lag time on the HDMI and component inputs.

I emailed him back and asked what are the chances of a firmware update actually being issued to fix this problem.
shaddix is offline  
post #386 of 5218 Old 03-29-2010, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbomber202020 View Post

you guys have sold me on this TV definitely. Reading the reviews by you, Chad and the price is great. I was looking at the Panny's but the review and price make it a no brainer to grab the LG 50PK550. Next $1300 I get, I'm getting this TV and calibrated. I can't wait.

Great, you are right around the block
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #387 of 5218 Old 03-29-2010, 12:24 PM
Member
 
hbomber202020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mentor
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Great, you are right around the block

Yes sir. It was either a vacation or new tv right now, seeing as I haven't been on a vacation in years and can't wait to get out of this Cleveland weather I chose the vacation. For now...

Unless you take Browns tickets as payment
hbomber202020 is offline  
post #388 of 5218 Old 03-29-2010, 12:31 PM
Newbie
 
ksarkisian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was thinking of picking up the 50pk550 this week. Seems like a winner. Only two questions:

1. Does anyone recommend a wall mount? I was thinking of this...
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...#specification

2. Is the lag a big issue for games? I have a xbox360.

Thanks. You guys have been a big help.
ksarkisian is offline  
post #389 of 5218 Old 03-29-2010, 12:51 PM
Member
 
gihad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Settings are posted, they are useless as every tv is different. They are on the calibration reports.

By calibration reports do you mean the PDF files attached to Chad's review ?

I don't see "settings" there, I see a bunch of charts.
gihad is offline  
post #390 of 5218 Old 03-29-2010, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
perpetual98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksarkisian View Post

I was thinking of picking up the 50pk550 this week. Seems like a winner. Only two questions:

1. Does anyone recommend a wall mount? I was thinking of this...
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...#specification

2. Is the lag a big issue for games? I have a xbox360.

Thanks. You guys have been a big help.

I think that's the wall-mount I have. It's probably overkill because the newer TVs are a lot lighter than the ones of even a few years ago. Then again, overkill when hanging a TV is probably not a bad idea. Can't beat the price too. I'm always checking out stuff at monoprice.
perpetual98 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 50pk550c 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Lg Infinia 60pk950 60 Inch 1080p Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off