The Official LG xxPK550 Owner's Discussion Thread [no price talk] - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 04:05 PM
Member
 
Wildgift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I now have about 90 hours or so on the set.

I have yet to see ANY IR.

At this point, i'm just watching what we want, full screen, no logos, and all is well. After setting it to the settings i mentioned earlier, it has a gorgeous picture.

We can all worry ourselves sick, but i guess that's why we are here. Me, i'm just digging the new tv!
Wildgift is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by prebuffo View Post

@Wildgift

many thanks of the advice.

@At everyone else

Pk550/350/250 all have the same panel and the same chipsets of their expensive parents Pk7xx and pk9xx.
Problem is THX pre-settings of course.

So i think that the most important information for PK5xx/3xx/2xx owners are calibreted settings!!!

So please do post it.
(any reference about Chad B. pk550's settings is unintentional )


If true, I had to dial down sharpness heavily on my 350. Caused a lot of aliasing even on 1080p sources
winston9332 is offline  
post #633 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Mauri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

If true, I had to dial down sharpness heavily on my 350. Caused a lot of aliasing even on 1080p sources

What 350?
Mauri is offline  
post #634 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 04:27 PM
Member
 
PJStyles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
May sound like a silly question but is the "White Wash" option in the OSD of the newer model the same thing as the 100 IRE Pattern? Trying to find the "RefreshPDP" which was available in previous models but don't see that anywhere in the OSD.

I just got the PK550 and want to break it-in by running 2 hour sessions on the 100 IRE Pattern.

Any suggestions?
PJStyles is offline  
post #635 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 04:27 PM
Newbie
 
Pultmikkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauri View Post

Did you read the tech specs of the 50PK350, on the LG Italy web site? The display's resolution is 1366x768 and so, that is an HD Ready model, not a full-HD like the PK550. Two different beast, and from what I have seen on the user manual, the PK350 is using the Saturn6 video-processor. That processor is the same used on the 2009 models. No problems, because they were good.

To be 100% sure about what processors are used on the PK550 and PK750/950, I must have a look to their service manuals, when they will be available.

Do you mean the PJ350 (not PK) ...? Because yes, the PJ350 is only HD Ready, whereas the PK350 i a full HD set. The difference between the PK350 and the PK550 in Europe seems to be that it is 1 inch thicker, has 1 less HDMI slot and does not have the THX setting.

But can someone confirm (servicemanuals etc) that the PK350 and upwards shares the same panel?
Pultmikkel is offline  
post #636 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Mauri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJStyles View Post

May sound like a silly question but is the "White Wash" option in the OSD of the newer model the same thing as the 100 IRE Pattern? Trying to find the "RefreshPDP" which was available in previous models but don't see that anywhere in the OSD.

I just got the PK550 and want to break it-in by running 2 hour sessions on the 100 IRE Pattern.

Any suggestions?

If that "White Wash" is always a full white screen, yes, that is a 100 IRE screen/pattern.
Mauri is offline  
post #637 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 04:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Mauri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pultmikkel View Post

Do you mean the PJ350 (not PK) ...? Because yes, the PJ350 is only HD Ready, whereas the PK350 i a full HD set. The difference between the PK350 and the PK550 in Europe seems to be that it is 1 inch thicker, has 1 less HDMI slot and does not have the THX setting.

But can someone confirm (servicemanuals etc) that the PK350 and upwards shares the same panel?

No, I was speaking about the PK350. I know there is also the PJ350.

Have a look at the tech specs here, and you will see the 50PK350 is an HD Ready (1366x768), as well as the 50PJ350/550.

http://www.lg.com/it/tv-audio-video/...ma-50PK350.jsp

NB. there is also the 42PK350, Hd Ready (1024x768)
Mauri is offline  
post #638 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 04:51 PM
Member
 
PJStyles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauri View Post

If that "White Wash" is always a full white screen, yes, that is a 100 IRE screen/pattern.

So I should leave it on that white screen for 2 hours and then turn it off for 2 hours and then back on and keep repeating until I get how many hours for a proper break-in?

Thanks

PJStyles
PJStyles is offline  
post #639 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 04:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Mauri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJStyles View Post

So I should leave it on that white screen for 2 hours and then turn it off for 2 hours and then back on and keep repeating until I get how many hours for a proper break-in?

Thanks

PJStyles

100 hours would be great.

Remember to set the Contrast and the energy saving options, as I told you before

And check for the timer (from OSD), to turn-OFF the TV without having that thing in mind all the day

Make a note on paper about the number of sessions you will be doing.
Mauri is offline  
post #640 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
that whitewash turns off on its own after a period of time.... under an hour I think. you will need to use slideshow images off of USB.
shaddix is offline  
post #641 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 05:01 PM
Member
 
PJStyles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Frig... 100 hours? I need to be able to watch some TV tomorrow night... that's when my old set goes out of the house.

Btw, is there any concern with watching widescreen movies where the aspect ratio doesn't quite fill up the screen (black horizontal bar above and below the movie picture)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauri View Post

100 hours would be great.

Remember to set the Contrast and the energy saving options, as I told you before

And check for the timer, to turn-OFF the TV without having that thing in mind all the day

PJStyles is offline  
post #642 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 05:09 PM
Newbie
 
Pultmikkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauri View Post

No, I was speaking about the PK350. I know there is also the PJ350.

Have a look at the tech specs here, and you will see the 50PK350 is an HD Ready (1366x768), as well as the 50PJ350/550.

NB. there is also the 42PK350, Hd Ready (1024x768)

Hmmm... That must be an error on behalf of the Italian site i guess. The english, german and danish versions of the LG sites (including retailers) states that the PK350 is 1920 x 1080p set.

Furthermore it says that the PK350 is a FULL HD set ... Strictly speaking 1366 x 768p is not FULL HD. Even the Italian site states that the set is FULL HD, so it seems that they have written the wrong specs. OR ... There may be a difference between the sets in north and south Europe. But that seems a tad strange.

And where did you see that the PK350 uses the video processing from last year? I only think this applies to the cheaper PJ series ... But again, only a guess on my behalf
Pultmikkel is offline  
post #643 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 05:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Mauri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJStyles View Post

Frig... 100 hours? I need to be able to watch some TV tomorrow night... that's when my old set goes out of the house.

Btw, is there any concern with watching widescreen movies where the aspect ratio doesn't quite fill up the screen (black horizontal bar above and below the movie picture)?

Don't worry, you can watch your movies without problems during that 100 hours of break-in. The important thing is that the Contrast is not too high (I gave you that numbers.. you can use them also for normal watching), and use the power saving option
Mauri is offline  
post #644 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Mauri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

that whitewash turns off on its own after a period of time.... under an hour I think. you will need to use slideshow images off of USB.

I think that, if you select a normal TV channel and then you start the white wash, the timer from OSD will work fine. If there is no input signal, it could stop after a while (30 minutes?).
Mauri is offline  
post #645 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 05:15 PM
Member
 
PJStyles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Perfect... so it's similar to my old RPTV where I had the contrast setting very low to prevent burn-in. Cool!

One last thing, what do you have the rest of all the options set to? ie: Dynamic Contrast, Dynamic Color etc.... was hoping to piggy back off someone else's settings and then adjust based on the lighting in my room.

Any help in that area would be great...

Thanks again for your help.

PJStyles

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauri View Post

Don't worry, you can watch your movies without problems during that 100 hours of break-in. The important thing is that the Contrast is not too high (I gave you that numbers.. you can use them also for normal watching), and use the power saving option

PJStyles is offline  
post #646 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauri View Post

I think that, if you select a normal TV channel and then you start the white wash, the timer from OSD will work fine. If there is no input signal, it could stop after a while (30 minutes?).

You're probably right, I always leave it on a blank input whenever I use it just in case for some reason it ends and the content from whatever input is displayed.
shaddix is offline  
post #647 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Encrypted Neuron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJStyles View Post

Frig... 100 hours? I need to be able to watch some TV tomorrow night... that's when my old set goes out of the house.

Btw, is there any concern with watching widescreen movies where the aspect ratio doesn't quite fill up the screen (black horizontal bar above and below the movie picture)?


Should not be a problem. I watched The Hurt Locker on widescreen the same night I got the set with no problems.
Encrypted Neuron is offline  
post #648 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Mauri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pultmikkel View Post

Hmmm... That must be an error on behalf of the Italian site i guess. The english, german and danish versions of the LG sites (including retailers) states that the PK350 is 1920 x 1080p set.

On the italian site there is the 1080p logo, but on the specs they say the resolution is 1366x768. Something is wrong for sure, but thinking that there is also a 42" PK350, I think they both are HD Ready, because I never saw a 42" full-HD panel from LG

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pultmikkel View Post

And where did you see that the PK350 uses the video processing from last year? I only think this applies to the cheaper PJ series ... But again, only a guess on my behalf

On the last page of the italian manual there is the block diagram, and you can see the processor

Same thing (but much more detailed) on the italian manuals of the past 2008 and 2009 series .
Mauri is offline  
post #649 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 05:25 PM
Newbie
 
Pultmikkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauri View Post

On the italian site there is the 1080p logo, but on the specs they say the resolution is 1366x768. Something is wrong for sure, but thinking that there is also a 42" PK350, I think they both are HD Ready, because I never saw a 42" full-HD panel from LG

Hehehe ... Indeed . There is no PK350 42 incher on the nordic sites. The PK series starts from 50 and 60 inch. Just checked the spanish LG site, and it says the same as the english, german and danish LG site

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauri View Post

On the last page of the italian manual there is the block diagram, and you can see the processor

Same thing (but much more detailed) on the italian manuals of the past 2008 and 2009 series .

Thanks mate ... !
Pultmikkel is offline  
post #650 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 05:30 PM
Member
 
PJStyles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I might try the same thing with my xbox 360 after I run the IRE 100 for several hours. Will also look into the Spears & Munsil calibration disc. Do you need the colorimeters to use the disc in all areas or are there parts of the disc that are useful without them?

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Encrypted Neuron View Post

Hey PJ... I've only had the set since Monday, so right now I only have around 20Hrs of break-in, but this is what I've been doing. I don't have a good BD disc to use (some have used the BBC Planet Earth series) so I've been using my XBOX360 with a music CD and running the Visualizer full screen. I try to pick patterns that have the most range of colors and moves fairly slow. The only calibration I've done is used the Picture Wizard and turned down the Contrast to 65 and Brightness to 45. The Picture Wizard will give you a decent Cali over the OOTB, but a cali disc, such as the Spears & Munsil will give you a much better picture. There are some home Colorimeters you can buy on Amazon and other places for ~$100 and up, but the best would be for a professional calibration which would be ~$350 - $400.

PJStyles is offline  
post #651 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 05:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Mauri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJStyles View Post

Perfect... so it's similar to my old RPTV where I had the contrast setting very low to prevent burn-in. Cool!

One last thing, what do you have the rest of all the options set to? ie: Dynamic Contrast, Dynamic Color etc.... was hoping to piggy back off someone else's settings and then adjust based on the lighting in my room.

Any help in that area would be great...

Thanks again for your help.

PJStyles

Use these ones during the first 100 hours, to watch all inputs/sources:

Preset: "Cinema", then change the default Contrast value and set it to 60, set Color saturation to 39-40, increase a bit the Brightness to 55-56 otherwise the screen will be too *dark*, set power saving to Medium (first 25-30 hours, then to Low, which is enough), and that's all. All the other option of the Cinema preset are Ok by default.

After the 100 hours of break-in, for night viewing and watching TV channels you can set the contrast to about 67-69, Color saturation to 44-45, Brightness to 50, and power saving to low. Then use it for a couple of days, and in case try some small modifications (1 step at the time).

Have also a look to the posts of the past days between me and Walt, for that 6500k low power bulb trick. It works good
Mauri is offline  
post #652 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Mauri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pultmikkel View Post

Thanks mate ... !

Your welcome

Where are you from, Pultmikkel?
Mauri is offline  
post #653 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Mauri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJStyles View Post

I think I might try the same thing with my xbox 360 after I run the IRE 100 for several hours. Will also look into the Spears & Munsil calibration disc. Do you need the colorimeters to use the disc in all areas or are there parts of the disc that are useful without them?

Thanks

With many DVD/BD test you can set many things without the meter. I posted the links to a very good basic calibration guide yesterday, read it

Ps. I don't own consolles, but from what i read around, often it is a bit more difficult to get the TV properly calibrated with them than with a normal DVD or BD player. You should learn very well all the consolle options.
Mauri is offline  
post #654 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
barrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man, I'm almost settling on an LG 60PK550? who woulda thought this time last month even?

my only concerns are..

my room won't be THAT bright, but the reflective screen is worrisome

AND

is a 60" too BIG? I'll be sitting about 6-7 feet away.
barrist is offline  
post #655 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 08:09 PM
Member
 
nbaglior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sat 6.5 feet away from a 58 inch tv. I think 7 foot is nearly perfect to see te full benefits of a 1080p signal.
nbaglior is offline  
post #656 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 08:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
barrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nbaglior View Post

I sat 6.5 feet away from a 58 inch tv. I think 7 foot is nearly perfect to see te full benefits of a 1080p signal.


I know we don't buy these tvs for the SD, but is it even watchable at this size and distance? i can imagine its quite ugly.
barrist is offline  
post #657 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrist View Post

Man, I'm almost settling on an LG 60PK550? who woulda thought this time last month even?

my only concerns are..

my room won't be THAT bright, but the reflective screen is worrisome

AND

is a 60" too BIG? I'll be sitting about 6-7 feet away.

do you wear glasses?
shaddix is offline  
post #658 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 08:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
barrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

do you wear glasses?

nope
barrist is offline  
post #659 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 09:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrist View Post

nope

Well I do, and I sit about 7 feet away and I wish I had some working contacts because the glasses make it look like you're sitting a foot or so back.

So its like i'm sitting at 8-9 feet

I would prefer 6-7 feet viewing distance.

the contacts I have irritate the hell out of my eyes, need a different brand or something
shaddix is offline  
post #660 of 5219 Old 04-08-2010, 09:12 PM
Member
 
Smith5361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smith5361 View Post


One thing that i have noticed as an issue is on my local fox station the words of the shows and the screen don't match up. It only happens on two and a half men and The Office. This is over an antennae mind you. Its almost like a processing thing, just like a PC that doesn't have enough oomph to process the game its playing. I can watch The new episodes of The office and Two and a Half men when they come out on NBC with no issue. No other shows or stations do this. Im not sure what the deal is

Has anyone else noticed this. I know im quoting myself but i didn't feel like re-typing it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauri View Post

During normal TV viewing the power supply has no problem. The *problem* for all plasma (not only LG) is only with special white patterns, like that 100 IRE.

Same thing for Contrast (about the power supply). But if you use an high contrast, the panel will age a bit quickly, and you will get more IR. There are no reasons to use a very high contrast; if it is too high, you will lose details on white images.

Brightness control must be used to set the minimum level of black. If the brightness will be too high, blacks will be showed as dark grey, and images will look washed out. If brightness is too low, you will lose some details on dark images.

Here is a great calibration guide (basic concepts) which is worth to read (nevermind if you have or not a colorimeter):

http://www.displaycalibrationonline....ices_guide.asp

Here are explanations about some specific concepts:

http://www.chromapure.com/colorscience.asp

save those links, and read them when you have time

Hey thanks for the reply and links. It is appreciated!!
Smith5361 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 50pk550c 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Lg Infinia 60pk950 60 Inch 1080p Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - 60pk950 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off