The Official Samsung PNxxC6500, PNxxC7000, and PNxxC8000 Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 211 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6301 of 7930 Old 01-16-2011, 08:17 PM
Member
 
youradandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My new 63c7000 should be arriving this week. I heard that there are some calibration settings out there from CNET and was wondering if anyone could provide them for the PN63c7000? Or their personal settings?

I would like a good starting point prior to either purchasing the calibration bd or hiring someone.

Thanks!
youradandy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6302 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 06:59 AM
Newbie
 
RTS 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RO2516 View Post

I had to do the same thing until I updated the firmware in my Yamaha audio receiver. The Yamaha was inline between my blu-ray and TV, all connected with HDMI cables. Once I updated the Yamaha's firmware, the 3D content started displaying automatically. I hope this is helpful!

Thanks, I connected my bluray directly to the Tv using HDMI and now 3d discs are displayed in 3d.
RTS 1 is offline  
post #6303 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 07:11 AM
Member
 
sedream128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well today they are replacing the panel in my PN58C7000 due to red banding on white screens.I was wondering if I need to break in my panel all over?? Was thinking I do...
sedream128 is offline  
post #6304 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JayMan007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Short Pump, VA
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigmaace01 View Post

Excuse my stupidity, but by discrete codes, due you mean like 1 button pushes to go to an input? For example, you're on HDMI 1 & want to get to HDMI 4 with 1 button? If so, Harmony has codes to use for that. They're labeled InputHDMI1, InputHDMI2, InputTV, etc...

Hi,
I just got this set 58c7000 and am in the midst of reviewing this thread.
I haven't set up the display on my Harmony yet, but had a question about discrete codes and what not.

What other discrete code does Harmony have for the Samsungs.
Also, how are people setting these up (Harmony) for cable/sat and to use the Internet stuff?
JayMan007 is offline  
post #6305 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 09:22 AM
Member
 
Double_D864's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 63C7000 is supposed to deliver between 1 and 4 today. Very excited! Just hoping it arrives in working order! No cracks, buzzing, or pixel issues please!!!
Double_D864 is offline  
post #6306 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 10:21 AM
Member
 
DJPoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, noticed something strage recently with my 63C7000. I tried watching a VOD 3d movie from directv yesterday (forget which one), but it is apparently in side-by-side format. When I tried turning the glasses on, the picture stayed in that format, ie I was just watching two identical pictures next to each other, with no 3d effect at all.

The normal 3d stuff (I assume sequential - where it just looks like a blurry picture without the glasses), works fine. Is it possible to watch side-by-side with this tv, and if so how?

Thanks.
DJPoop is offline  
post #6307 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 10:29 AM
Member
 
Pats Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Townsend, MA
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, its possible. Just hit the 3D button on your remote, and then choose side by side and you'll be all set.
Pats Fan is offline  
post #6308 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 10:45 AM
rad
AVS Special Member
 
rad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 3,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJPoop View Post
Hey guys, noticed something strage recently with my 63C7000. I tried watching a VOD 3d movie from directv yesterday (forget which one), but it is apparently in side-by-side format. When I tried turning the glasses on, the picture stayed in that format, ie I was just watching two identical pictures next to each other, with no 3d effect at all.

The normal 3d stuff (I assume sequential - where it just looks like a blurry picture without the glasses), works fine. Is it possible to watch side-by-side with this tv, and if so how?

Thanks.
I know I had some DoD 3D content that wouldn't automatically change the set to SBS format, had to do it manually.
rad is offline  
post #6309 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 10:46 AM
Member
 
DJPoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pats Fan View Post
Yes, its possible. Just hit the 3D button on your remote, and then choose side by side and you'll be all set.
Great, I'll try that out tonight. Thanks!
DJPoop is offline  
post #6310 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 11:25 AM
Member
 
roddis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norway
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do I enter the service menu on a 63c8000?
roddis is offline  
post #6311 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 11:37 AM
Member
 
Steve Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by roddis View Post
How do I enter the service menu on a 63c8000?
For the 63C7000 (UK version of US 63C8000) the following worked for me:

From 'stand-by' state press: info - menu - mute - power
Steve Zodiac is offline  
post #6312 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 12:05 PM
Member
 
roddis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norway
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Zodiac View Post
For the 63C7000 (UK version of US 63C8000) the following worked for me:

From 'stand-by' state press: info - menu - mute - power
Thanks, I got in. Is it supposed to be possible to see how many hours the tv has been used? If so, where?
roddis is offline  
post #6313 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 12:20 PM
Member
 
Steve Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by roddis View Post
Thanks, I got in. Is it supposed to be possible to see how many hours the tv has been used? If so, where?
I only had a very quick look at the service menu, but I didn't actually spot an 'hours used' counter at the time.
Steve Zodiac is offline  
post #6314 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron_Davidson View Post
Hello. I am thinking about buying a *Samsung PN63C8000* TV but have read on here where a few members have had issues with what they call *Burn-In* so this is directed to them.

A: Did you know the *Pixel Shifting* default when the TV is first removed from the box is: OFF and needs to be turned on?

B: Did you adjust the "Brightness and Contrast" to *50%* for the first 100 Hours?

C: Do you know the diffrence between *Burn-In*(permanent) and *I.R.: Image Retention*(temporary).

D: Are you sorry you bought the TV?

Thanks, Ron
A. I had no idea if this was/is the case in the Pixel shift default when the box is opened...but when I set the TV up initially I checked the menu for the anti-screen burn options and made sure they were on.....seems that is pretty common sensemissed words approach there

B. No..I just watched the TV normally. if you set the brightness and contrast that low it would make the TV unwatchable...IMO...this TV does not have LED panel levels of brightness.
Not sure I would worry about changing any levels for the first 100 hours. Watch it normally. if you are going to have it calibrated I would wait until after the first 100 hours to do so

C. Yes....I think anyone buying this level of TV knows the difference

D. No...by far the best value in terms of picture quality and $$$ out there.
Other than buzzing( heard by some but not me)..I can't imagine there are many complaints with this TV

I have the 58C8000 and I bought it in November 2010.

FYI...and you may already know this
It has been posted here that the 63C8000 has a better contrast ratio than the 58C8000...I have no idea if this is the case...just the opinions of some here
If that is the case you are possibly to but a very good TV...based on my satisfaction with my 58"


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5508 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp Atlantic technology System 350 THX Ultra speakers
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Pioneer SC37 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009/906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #6315 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 02:38 PM
Newbie
 
djcsizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've owned a Samsung DLP and a Plasma before the C8k Plasma that I have now...and I've always used Movie mode (I tried Standard...but always preferred Movie). It always seemed to work best for the most natural colors. After installing the Plasma C8k in my home, I was positive that all I wanted was settings for the MOVIE presets...nothing else. However, after trying several different settings...I wasn't happy with the overall pop (settings included all posted here and BOTH of CNET's settings).

I've noticed that Mantis and Glomby both used Cal-Night and/or Cal-day...so I figured I'd give it a try. Although you will notice that when you first click on Cal-Day the picture is significantly darker than the other presets...but this is because cell light is at 8. So do not get discouraged...

WHAT A BIG DIFFERENCE!

I used the plasmatvbuying guide settings as a foundation, but tweaked little things. I was skeptical to use the settings at first as I didn't think it was very legit...although I am still not sure if its legit or not, these settings still work best for me. NOTE: The MJC setting used to show a lot of ghosting when on Movie/Standard mode...now on Cal-Day its still visible, but has been reduced significantly.

I am posting my settings that I have now after doing some tweaking (see URL below for original settings by plasmatvbuying guide which include white balance and color space settings). I initially used all color space and 10p white balance settings, then compared this against the "native" and "normal" presets that are available...and just by preference, I opted to use the TV's defaults rather than the custom settings.

I encourage everyone to try Cal-Day at least once...you will have to bump up the cell light from the preset of 8 to at least 15...but you will notice that the color pops are so much better AND you still keep the inky blacks. After you've added the Cal-Day settings compare the picture quality to the Movie/Standard presets...you will see the differences. NOTE: I did notice that sometimes the picture might look a little red...if this is the case for you, just bring down the "red" settings a bit. I have not measured black levels or anything, but these settings do look best according to my eyes.

Picture Mode: CAL-DAY
Cell Light 18
Constrast 95
Brightness 57
Sharpness 10
Color 45
Tint G52/R48

Color tone WARM1
Size 16:9
Digital Noise Filter OFF
MPEG Noise Filter OFF
HDMI Black Level OFF
Film Mode OFF
Motion Judder Canceller OFF
Black Tone OFF

Dynamic Contrast LOW
GAMMA 0
Expert Pattern OFF
RGB Only Mode OFF
Color Space NATIVE
10p White Balance OFF
Flesh Tone 0
Edge Enhancement OFF

Other color and white balance settings to try…but I did not use them:

RED - Offset 30
GREEN - Offset 29
BLUE - Offset 28
RED - Gain 23
GREEN - Gain 18
BLUE - Gain 24

10p White Balance
Interval Red Green Blue
1 -6 -2 -10
2 0 0 -1
3 1 1 0
4 0 1 2
5 1 1 1
6 -1 -1 -1
7 -3 -2 0
8 -1 -2 1
9 -1 1 2
10 2 -1 9

Color Space
Colors Red Green Blue
RED 39 3 7
GREEN 46 63 0
BLUE 3 0 54
YELLOW 55 52 8
CYAN 37 50 50
MAGENTA 38 1 64

Original source for settings:
reviews.**********.com/plasmatvreviews/samsung-c8000-calibration.html
djcsizzle is offline  
post #6316 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tdogroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
[quote=djcsizzle;19846284]

I've noticed that Mantis and Glomby both used Cal-Night and/or Cal-day...so I figured I'd give it a try. Although you will notice that when you first click on Cal-Day the picture is significantly darker than the other presets...but this is because cell light is at 8. So do not get discouraged...

I don't see cal-day setting on my 58c7000, how do I get cal-day setting?

Jesus Christ is the Way, The Truth, and The Life, He is the only Way to God!

Yamaha RXV765

Emotiva LPA-1

Ascend Sierra-2s(LCR), RSS300, Polk R15

SVS PB12 plus

Panasonic S65

Sony S5100

PS4, PS3, XBOX 360

tdogroeder is offline  
post #6317 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 04:44 PM
Newbie
 
Brace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
However they do not use the Cal-day & Cal-night settings, these are simply the only two you can save your own settings to in the menu (while dynamic and normal are presets)
But maybe you knew this
And the reason why you can't see this is because you do not have it. You could do the turn your C7000 to a C8000 from the service menu (google it or search here on the forum) to enable it.
Brace is offline  
post #6318 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 04:46 PM
Newbie
 
Brace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemetblk View Post

Look under "svc"

This is what I see and honestly.. I see nothing about how many hours I've been running, soon I'll just let it run for a couple of weeks straight and things should be done
it would be interesting to know though.

STARTSCREEN
SVC-SCREEN
Brace is offline  
post #6319 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 05:07 PM
Member
 
Double_D864's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Double_D864 View Post

My 63C7000 is supposed to deliver between 1 and 4 today. Very excited! Just hoping it arrives in working order! No cracks, buzzing, or pixel issues please!!!

Got the TV, and it is freakin' awesome! Great PQ! I am happy to say I didn't get a buzzer! There is a VERY slight hum in the upper right corner (with ear next to TV), but nothing you would ever hear if you weren't really trying. I have switched over movie mode and rolled brightness and contrast back till I get some hours on it. Still very watchable with both at 50...

I did test out the 3D for a bit watching the DirecTV preview channel and I have to say I was really surprised it looks great! I have the Xpand X103 glasses and noticed hardly any cross talk.

Set my Harmony remote up and it is working great. Very excited and very pleased with my purchase thus far!!

Can't wait to get some time on the set and start tweaking!
Double_D864 is offline  
post #6320 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tdogroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brace View Post

However they do not use the Cal-day & Cal-night settings, these are simply the only two you can save your own settings to in the menu (while dynamic and normal are presets)
But maybe you knew this
And the reason why you can't see this is because you do not have it. You could do the turn your C7000 to a C8000 from the service menu (google it or search here on the forum) to enable it.

I have read a little about the turning the c7000 to c8000, is it safe does it have a high success rate?

Jesus Christ is the Way, The Truth, and The Life, He is the only Way to God!

Yamaha RXV765

Emotiva LPA-1

Ascend Sierra-2s(LCR), RSS300, Polk R15

SVS PB12 plus

Panasonic S65

Sony S5100

PS4, PS3, XBOX 360

tdogroeder is offline  
post #6321 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 08:00 PM
Member
 
Double_D864's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just played a few minute of Call of Duty Black Ops in 3D...Awesome! Absolutely Insane!!!
Double_D864 is offline  
post #6322 of 7930 Old 01-17-2011, 10:09 PM
Newbie
 
BringerOdeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone!! Very new to plasmas as I have never had one before and I must say the PQ is amazing after using some of the custonm setting from different sites and forums. I have the c7000 upgraded to the c8000 to have the cinemasmooth. I have had it for about a month, but just started gaming on it. I noticed that when I was playing FFXIII that if i spun the camera around quickly, I had very bad double image/ghosting no matter what mode I chose. I have the newest firmware and I have MJC off. Has anyone had this problem??
BringerOdeath is offline  
post #6323 of 7930 Old 01-18-2011, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Gents( and ladies)

FYI

I had a Harmony 550 remote...bought a year ago or so for $69.00( on sale from $99)

Well..I was at Sears about a month ago and they had a clearance table that contained( among other things) an 8 Device One For All remote...for $1.99

I bought three of them

Took me 2 minutes to set up( with entering codes) with my home theater system...Samsung TV, Onkyo preamp, Direc TV receiver, Samsung blu ray
Took me another 3 minutes to set up the volume lock on the preamp( so no matter what was selected on the remote as a source the volume knob only controlled the preamp) and to set the remote macros for complete system power on/off etc

I have to say much easier to set up and works as well as the Harmony 550 and it was $1.99!!

Not as "pretty" as the Harmony..but I could care less about that..I sold the Harmony on Ebay for $55.00

I gave a couple of the One for all remotes for holiday gifts as well....works like a charm



Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5508 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp Atlantic technology System 350 THX Ultra speakers
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Pioneer SC37 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009/906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #6324 of 7930 Old 01-18-2011, 09:06 AM
Newbie
 
pillar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djcsizzle View Post

I've owned a Samsung DLP and a Plasma before the C8k Plasma that I have now...and I've always used Movie mode (I tried Standard...but always preferred Movie). It always seemed to work best for the most natural colors. After installing the Plasma C8k in my home, I was positive that all I wanted was settings for the MOVIE presets...nothing else. However, after trying several different settings...I wasn't happy with the overall pop (settings included all posted here and BOTH of CNET's settings).

I've noticed that Mantis and Glomby both used Cal-Night and/or Cal-day...so I figured I'd give it a try. Although you will notice that when you first click on Cal-Day the picture is significantly darker than the other presets...but this is because cell light is at 8. So do not get discouraged...

WHAT A BIG DIFFERENCE!

I used the plasmatvbuying guide settings as a foundation, but tweaked little things. I was skeptical to use the settings at first as I didn't think it was very legit...although I am still not sure if its legit or not, these settings still work best for me. NOTE: The MJC setting used to show a lot of ghosting when on Movie/Standard mode...now on Cal-Day its still visible, but has been reduced significantly.

I am posting my settings that I have now after doing some tweaking (see URL below for original settings by plasmatvbuying guide which include white balance and color space settings). I initially used all color space and 10p white balance settings, then compared this against the "native" and "normal" presets that are available...and just by preference, I opted to use the TV's defaults rather than the custom settings.

I encourage everyone to try Cal-Day at least once...you will have to bump up the cell light from the preset of 8 to at least 15...but you will notice that the color pops are so much better AND you still keep the inky blacks. After you've added the Cal-Day settings compare the picture quality to the Movie/Standard presets...you will see the differences. NOTE: I did notice that sometimes the picture might look a little red...if this is the case for you, just bring down the "red" settings a bit. I have not measured black levels or anything, but these settings do look best according to my eyes.

Picture Mode: CAL-DAY
Cell Light 18
Constrast 95
Brightness 57
Sharpness 10
Color 45
Tint G52/R48

Color tone WARM1
Size 16:9
Digital Noise Filter OFF
MPEG Noise Filter OFF
HDMI Black Level OFF
Film Mode OFF
Motion Judder Canceller OFF
Black Tone OFF

Dynamic Contrast MEDIUM
GAMMA 0
Expert Pattern OFF
RGB Only Mode OFF
Color Space NATIVE
10p White Balance OFF
Flesh Tone 0
Edge Enhancement OFF

Other color and white balance settings to trybut I did not use them:

RED - Offset 30
GREEN - Offset 29
BLUE - Offset 28
RED - Gain 23
GREEN - Gain 18
BLUE - Gain 24

10p White Balance
Interval Red Green Blue
1 -6 -2 -10
2 0 0 -1
3 1 1 0
4 0 1 2
5 1 1 1
6 -1 -1 -1
7 -3 -2 0
8 -1 -2 1
9 -1 1 2
10 2 -1 9

Color Space
Colors Red Green Blue
RED 39 3 7
GREEN 46 63 0
BLUE 3 0 54
YELLOW 55 52 8
CYAN 37 50 50
MAGENTA 38 1 64

Original source for settings:
reviews.**********.com/plasmatvreviews/samsung-c8000-calibration.html

Anyone know if this calibration service on my tv PL50C7000 .. this is the newest aki in Brazil from samsung .. now do not know if it serves to my tv .. there in the United States is the PN50C7000 PL50C7000 here is what you tell me?

hugs!
pillar is offline  
post #6325 of 7930 Old 01-18-2011, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Erickson00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=tdogroeder;19846758]
Quote:
Originally Posted by djcsizzle View Post


I've noticed that Mantis and Glomby both used Cal-Night and/or Cal-day...so I figured I'd give it a try. Although you will notice that when you first click on Cal-Day the picture is significantly darker than the other presets...but this is because cell light is at 8. So do not get discouraged...

I don't see cal-day setting on my 58c7000, how do I get cal-day setting?

I won't use either Cal setting until Samsung issues firmware to fix the MLL bug that causes green pixels wrecking the black levels until you cycle back through movie mode. That was easy enough, but annoying to have to do every time. For now, I have my Movie mode adjusted to the Cnet settings and never have to do any cycling.
Erickson00 is offline  
post #6326 of 7930 Old 01-18-2011, 09:29 AM
Member
 
nashcoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought the PN58C8000 bundle from US Appliance. Got it for $1999 but I had to call in. Anyone have anything to say good or bad about them? Sounds like it'll get shipped in 48 hours and once it comes in to town they are going to schedule a drop off with me.

What are the best break-in slides to get for cheap and where can I get them?

Thanks in advance.
nashcoug is offline  
post #6327 of 7930 Old 01-18-2011, 10:48 AM
Member
 
Double_D864's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nashcoug View Post

Just bought the PN58C8000 bundle from US Appliance. Got it for $1999 but I had to call in. Anyone have anything to say good or bad about them? Sounds like it'll get shipped in 48 hours and once it comes in to town they are going to schedule a drop off with me.

What are the best break-in slides to get for cheap and where can I get them?

Thanks in advance.

No experience w/ US Appliance, but here are some good slides for free:

http://www.webapalooza.com/plasma/
Double_D864 is offline  
post #6328 of 7930 Old 01-18-2011, 10:59 AM
Newbie
 
djcsizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Erickson00;19850615]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdogroeder View Post


I won't use either Cal setting until Samsung issues firmware to fix the MLL bug that causes green pixels wrecking the black levels until you cycle back through movie mode. That was easy enough, but annoying to have to do every time. For now, I have my Movie mode adjusted to the Cnet settings and never have to do any cycling.


What firmware are you using? I've been using the Cal-Day (jumped from Movie) and I haven't had this MLL bug...I am using the 1032 firmware version...perhaps it was fixed?
djcsizzle is offline  
post #6329 of 7930 Old 01-18-2011, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Raddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=djcsizzle;19851310]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erickson00 View Post



What firmware are you using? I've been using the Cal-Day (jumped from Movie) and I haven't had this MLL bug...I am using the 1032 firmware version...perhaps it was fixed?

I have FW 1032 and the MLL bug is still there. I use CAL-NIGHT. I programmed a sequence on my Harmony remote so that with one push I can cycle to Movie mode and back whenever I turn on the TV. Maybe I will add the commands so that it does it automatically if I can set up the delays to my satisfaction.

Since Samsung has been so forthcoming with updates I am hopeful they at least give us a quick fix for the MLL bug to do the same thing I am doing with my remote. Until then, it is a minor nuisance.
Raddle is offline  
post #6330 of 7930 Old 01-18-2011, 11:16 AM
Newbie
 
Ron_Davidson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cant see spending $3000 on a TV / Monitor that you have to do anything more then "plug it in, turn it on and tweak it". I am going with the Samsung 60" LCD Model: LN60C630 saving over $1000!. You spend $3000+ and you should be able to: leave your tv on all day on any channel you want or pause a movie for hours or pay a game and leave the same screen on and go to work and come home with no affect to the tv at all!. Anything less is unacceptable! Also, I have better things to do with my time then to *baby* a tv like enjoying movies with my family.

I just came from SEARS and I turned off 3 plasma TV's: Samsung, LG and Panasonic and guess what? Yes...all 3 had BURN IN ! Case Closed!

BTY: I'm 56 years old and treat my stuff like GOLD!
Ron_Davidson is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn63c8000 63 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off