The Official Samsung PNxxC6500, PNxxC7000, and PNxxC8000 Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 217 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6481 of 7981 Old 01-27-2011, 09:38 PM
Member
 
mces97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys I don't know if this is just bad luck or what but I am supposed to be recieving the pn58c8000 in a few days. This is replacing both a pn58c550 and pnc680. The pnc680 was fine for a while, but I just noticed today that when the screen goes black, say for credits and then the credits come on, then disapear to a black screen again, the tv looks like it turns off, like all the light output disappears. So pretty much its like on off, on off, but the tv is not going off. I know this should not happen, because If I change the hdmi input and use the same cable it does not happen.I checked all eco settings and anything that might make this happen. How can it be that two tv's exibited this problem. Is this common to samsung plasma's? What is going on and has anyone else experienced this?
mces97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6482 of 7981 Old 01-27-2011, 11:05 PM
Senior Member
 
JN99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle, WA - Eastside
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mces97 View Post
Guys I don't know if this is just bad luck or what but I am supposed to be recieving the pn58c8000 in a few days. This is replacing both a pn58c550 and pnc680. The pnc680 was fine for a while, but I just noticed today that when the screen goes black, say for credits and then the credits come on, then disapear to a black screen again, the tv looks like it turns off, like all the light output disappears. So pretty much its like on off, on off, but the tv is not going off. I know this should not happen, because If I change the hdmi input and use the same cable it does not happen.I checked all eco settings and anything that might make this happen. How can it be that two tv's exibited this problem. Is this common to samsung plasma's? What is going on and has anyone else experienced this?
I think you have to bump the brightness up a few notches to prevent that. Somewhere there is a post or thread on this but I don't recall what the title is or any specific clue for a search.
JN99 is offline  
post #6483 of 7981 Old 01-27-2011, 11:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by mces97
Guys I don't know if this is just bad luck or what but I am supposed to be recieving the pn58c8000 in a few days. This is replacing both a pn58c550 and pnc680. The pnc680 was fine for a while, but I just noticed today that when the screen goes black, say for credits and then the credits come on, then disapear to a black screen again, the tv looks like it turns off, like all the light output disappears. So pretty much its like on off, on off, but the tv is not going off. I know this should not happen, because If I change the hdmi input and use the same cable it does not happen.I checked all eco settings and anything that might make this happen. How can it be that two tv's exibited this problem. Is this common to samsung plasma's? What is going on and has anyone else experienced this?
I've seen something exactly like that before. It's super annoying to see.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #6484 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 05:04 AM
Senior Member
 
rilenixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

No. The break in applies the the "break in" of the phosphors. Not modes in the set.

thanks for the reply. it just seems when i change modes the darker strip in the middle is there again. it was there on standard in the first few weeks but went away. i dont know what else it could be.
rilenixx is offline  
post #6485 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 07:11 AM
Member
 
hannah1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: RichmondHill Ont.
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannah1997 View Post

I need to turn the power off in the house to do some electrical work, will this upset the settings of my TV, 58" 6400, I just had it calibrated, the TV won't default to factory settings will it, thanks, Tom

Could someone please comment on the above, I'm sure someone has gone through this before, thanks, Tom
hannah1997 is offline  
post #6486 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 08:01 AM
Member
 
Double_D864's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannah1997 View Post

Could someone please comment on the above, I'm sure someone has gone through this before, thanks, Tom

I had my last TV professionally calibrated and it never lost its settings if unplugged. I have unplugged this TV (7000) shortly and it didn't lose the settings I had entered
Double_D864 is offline  
post #6487 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 08:08 AM
Newbie
 
skleiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would write down ALL of your setting before you power down. That was even if you do lose the settings you will still have a copy.

Cheers!
skleiner is offline  
post #6488 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JayMan007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Short Pump, VA
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnne1 View Post

Or buy a blu ray player with 2 HDMI outputs..Samsung 7900.Panasonic 300/350 and Oppo


Thats what I did...works like a charm

Many times all you get with using an optical out for blu ray discs is 2.1

Warren

Which one did you get?
I got a Samsung BD-C6800 as part of a bundle - wish I could exchange it for a 2 HDMI one.
JayMan007 is offline  
post #6489 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 10:10 AM
Member
 
rb cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eustis FL
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've only had 1 pro cal. done to one of my TVs. The guy gave me a complete written report when he was finished with the settings in writing. For a service way north of 350 bucks around here it's the least you can expect. After all, you never know when the TV will "forget" what it learned.

RBC
Eustis, Fl
rb cline is offline  
post #6490 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RobZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm looking at picking up the 63C8000 but have a question about 3D viewing on it. If the bottom of the screen is approximately level or slightly above the height of the viewers eyes will there be any problems wiewing 3D? If you take a look at where the display must be placed (see link below), I have no option to place it lower or raise eye level.
RobZ is offline  
post #6491 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 11:08 AM
Member
 
craiglc15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobZ View Post

I'm looking at picking up the 63C8000 but have a question about 3D viewing on it. If the bottom of the screen is approximately level or slightly above the height of the viewers eyes will there be any problems wiewing 3D? If you take a look at where the display must be placed (see link below), I have no option to place it lower or raise eye level.

The bottom of my 63c8000 is level with my eyes. I have no problem seeing 3D. Looks great. In fact, you'll be safe from buzzing panels too. My TV buzzes like most Samsung plasmas, but the sound goes over my head where I sit. It's perfectly quiet. If I sat even with the TV, I would hear the buzz. Therefore, your seating arrangement keeps you safe from that potential problem.
craiglc15 is offline  
post #6492 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
yamvmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by mces97 View Post

Guys I don't know if this is just bad luck or what but I am supposed to be recieving the pn58c8000 in a few days. This is replacing both a pn58c550 and pnc680. The pnc680 was fine for a while, but I just noticed today that when the screen goes black, say for credits and then the credits come on, then disapear to a black screen again, the tv looks like it turns off, like all the light output disappears. So pretty much its like on off, on off, but the tv is not going off. I know this should not happen, because If I change the hdmi input and use the same cable it does not happen.I checked all eco settings and anything that might make this happen. How can it be that two tv's exibited this problem. Is this common to samsung plasma's? What is going on and has anyone else experienced this?

All the sammy's do this. You are wasting your time getting a new one. Im not sure why this bothers anyone....its how it was designed... you might want to get a different brand.
yamvmax is offline  
post #6493 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 01:05 PM
 
dmwiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by craiglc15 View Post

The bottom of my 63c8000 is level with my eyes. I have no problem seeing 3D. Looks great. In fact, you'll be safe from buzzing panels too. My TV buzzes like most Samsung plasmas, but the sound goes over my head where I sit. It's perfectly quiet. If I sat even with the TV, I would hear the buzz. Therefore, your seating arrangement keeps you safe from that potential problem.

You have nothing to worry about; you're in good shape.
dmwiley is offline  
post #6494 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 702 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayMan007 View Post

Which one did you get?
I got a Samsung BD-C6800 as part of a bundle - wish I could exchange it for a 2 HDMI one.

I got the Samsung 7900

I bought my 58c8000 as an open box clearance piece...at about $800 off where the bundles were selling 3 months ago

For the price I received it only included the TV...so I had to buy the glasses and blu ray player separately

bought the blu ray player from Vanns...and 3 pairs of glasses( and Monsters vs Aliens) from ebay

I am still $300 below ( all in) the lowest prices I have seen in a bundle for this television AND I bought the player I really needed with 2 HDMI outputs


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Marantz 8801 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #6495 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 702 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by yamvmax View Post

I agree about the blackfilter reducing reflections....other than that they all use the same exact panel. Sw mod can open all the extra proc features of the 8000. I think your wallet is helping you see the extra detail....lol...JK.

that could be
But at a street price of $150-200 difference if there is less glare and I like styling of the bezel better on the 8000...then that's an easy sell for me

Interesting though... on the LED TV's I like the 7000 better than the 8000 series.
I don't care for the silver bezel of the LED 8000


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Marantz 8801 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #6496 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 02:54 PM
Member
 
dkegel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnne1 View Post

that could be
But at a street price of $150-200 difference if there is less glare and I like styling of the bezel better on the 8000...then that's an easy sell for me

Interesting though... on the LED TV's I like the 7000 better than the 8000 series.
I don't care for the silver bezel of the LED 8000


Warren

The c7000 and c8000 look identical, don't they? I went to Samsung's website and they look the same to me (I have a 7000).

Update: I looked again. OK, maybe the 7000 is slightly darker? Hard to tell online.

Dave
dkegel is offline  
post #6497 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 03:44 PM
Member
 
mces97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yamvmax View Post

All the sammy's do this. You are wasting your time getting a new one. Im not sure why this bothers anyone....its how it was designed... you might want to get a different brand.

If my speakers are low I can actually here the buzzing on the tv go on and off as well when the tv blanks out. Are you sure this is suppose to be happening. On the 550 I returned that only happened on one hdmi input. The other did not turn on and off with a completely black screen.
mces97 is offline  
post #6498 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 05:57 PM
Member
 
VicF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought the PN63C8000 from Magnolia/BB yesterday, they are out of stock so I will have to wait for their shipment and delivery a couple weeks. I may have paid a little more then online but no worries about cracked screen etc. I can not wait to get this set to replace my aging and very green Sony KDS-60A2000.. what a POS that set has been.

I was very surprised how good the 3D actually is and I hope the 3D glasses sync issue is not a big deal at 10-12 feet. The bottom of the set will be about 2.5' off the floor. Of course the labrador blocking the IR emitter may be an issue:-)

Sony SXRD 60 - DTV HR-24 - UHF DB8 Ant. Onkyo Receiver - Bose speakers
VicF is offline  
post #6499 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 06:24 PM
Member
 
dkegel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VicF View Post

I just bought the PN63C8000 from Magnolia/BB yesterday, they are out of stock so I will have to wait for their shipment and delivery a couple weeks. I may have paid a little more then online but no worries about cracked screen etc.

I wouldn't say that (and careful, you'll jinx yourself ). The screen can be cracked just as easily between the Best Buy and your house as it can when being delivered from pretty much anywhere else. It all depends on how it's handled in transit.

Dave
dkegel is offline  
post #6500 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 702 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkegel View Post

The c7000 and c8000 look identical, don't they? I went to Samsung's website and they look the same to me (I have a 7000).

Update: I looked again. OK, maybe the 7000 is slightly darker? Hard to tell online.

Dave

It is a darker more LCD looking bezel



Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Marantz 8801 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #6501 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 702 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by VicF View Post

I just bought the PN63C8000 from Magnolia/BB yesterday, they are out of stock so I will have to wait for their shipment and delivery a couple weeks. I may have paid a little more then online but no worries about cracked screen etc. I can not wait to get this set to replace my aging and very green Sony KDS-60A2000.. what a POS that set has been.

I was very surprised how good the 3D actually is and I hope the 3D glasses sync issue is not a big deal at 10-12 feet. The bottom of the set will be about 2.5' off the floor. Of course the labrador blocking the IR emitter may be an issue:-)

If you paid the BB price you paid a few hundred more( plus tax) than other deals that are floating around weekly

As for breakage.....don't think that the local delivery guys can't break a panel

Those that have gotten broken panels are a small percentage of the totals shipped that arrived unbroken
really?...why would they keep shipping TV's if they all arrived broken

My 58C8000 arrived perfect ...shipped all the way from the west coast to nearly the east coast

and I saved $550( plus tax) and was able to get the blu ray player I really needed with 2 HDMI outputs...this was early November 2010


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Marantz 8801 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #6502 of 7981 Old 01-28-2011, 10:53 PM
Member
 
jjpowell76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a PC 50C7000, and a new Pioneer VSX-1120K, and DirecTV HR-23. Everything goes through the receiver. I just recorded XGames on ESPN 3D tonight and now when I go to watch it, the DirecTV is showing a message that my TV does not support 720P. What is going on? This TV clearly supports 720P. Am I missing something?
jjpowell76 is offline  
post #6503 of 7981 Old 01-29-2011, 05:09 AM
Senior Member
 
rilenixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

My sister has a 6 month old 50C7000 that I helped her select and set up. It has performed flawlessly; great PQ, no buzz. Unfortunately, her 7 year old son threw a toy car at it and now it has a small crack in the glass screen. Can glass screen be replaced or repaired? Or will Samsung replace TV under one year manufacturers warranty? The crack would not be that noticeable but the TV displays a big white circle to highlight the area of damage. Still making payments on a damaged TV. How do you reach mgmt level customer service at Samsung? What should we do?

how did all that work out for you. did you reach samsung? did they help you?
rilenixx is offline  
post #6504 of 7981 Old 01-29-2011, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 702 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjpowell76 View Post

I have a PC 50C7000, and a new Pioneer VSX-1120K, and DirecTV HR-23. Everything goes through the receiver. I just recorded XGames on ESPN 3D tonight and now when I go to watch it, the DirecTV is showing a message that my TV does not support 720P. What is going on? This TV clearly supports 720P. Am I missing something?

A few questions
1. Have you even run the Direct TV receiver HDMI output straight to the TV input and had the same situation
2. do you have the output resolution on the Direct TV HR-23 set to "native"..

You can pick all the possible resolutions from the Direct Tv set up menu...but then make sure you pick "native"...otherwise I have seen it give way messages

Other than that...does your receiver have a setting for "through" in its video menu in regard to HDMI ins/outs


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Marantz 8801 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #6505 of 7981 Old 01-29-2011, 07:03 AM
rad
AVS Special Member
 
rad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 3,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjpowell76 View Post

I have a PC 50C7000, and a new Pioneer VSX-1120K, and DirecTV HR-23. Everything goes through the receiver. I just recorded XGames on ESPN 3D tonight and now when I go to watch it, the DirecTV is showing a message that my TV does not support 720P. What is going on? This TV clearly supports 720P. Am I missing something?

The Pioneer is blocking the info about all the resolutions that your Samsung can support. You're going to have to run the HDMI cable directly between the HR23 and yout TV and then use an optical/coax connection for the DD5.1 audio. Many others have reported the same thing with Pioneers.
rad is offline  
post #6506 of 7981 Old 01-29-2011, 07:19 AM
Member
 
rb cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eustis FL
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Turnnel,

Could you expound on why using 2 HDMI output from a Source is of benifit. I get why you have to feed HDMI directly to the TV (the receiver won't pass 3D) and I understand that if the TV audio out is not 5.1 you must therefore get the 5.1 from the source thru whatever suitable outputs are available. But why HDMI ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by turnne1 View Post

Or buy a blu ray player with 2 HDMI outputs..Samsung 7900.Panasonic 300/350 and Oppo


Thats what I did...works like a charm

Many times all you get with using an optical out for blu ray discs is 2.1



Warren


RBC
Eustis, Fl
rb cline is offline  
post #6507 of 7981 Old 01-29-2011, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
 
yamvmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by rad View Post

The Pioneer is blocking the info about all the resolutions that your Samsung can support. You're going to have to run the HDMI cable directly between the HR23 and yout TV and then use an optical/coax connection for the DD5.1 audio. Many others have reported the same thing with Pioneers.

Yea, everyone with the 1120 and directv have this problem. Hopefully pioneer will release new fw to fix it.
yamvmax is offline  
post #6508 of 7981 Old 01-29-2011, 08:42 AM
Member
 
Matts4313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all -

Trying to understand how the 'play to' feature works on Windows 7 and my 58C680. The TV is hard wired on my router and my CPU is wireless. They both 'see' each other. When I click 'play to' on my CPU it shows the TV, and if you go into the Samsung source menu it sees my computer. But the TV does not see any files and every time i try to 'play to' from my computer it says 'connecting to media server' and never actually plays.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!
Matts4313 is offline  
post #6509 of 7981 Old 01-29-2011, 09:06 AM
Member
 
jjpowell76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rad View Post

The Pioneer is blocking the info about all the resolutions that your Samsung can support. You're going to have to run the HDMI cable directly between the HR23 and yout TV and then use an optical/coax connection for the DD5.1 audio. Many others have reported the same thing with Pioneers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamvmax View Post

Yea, everyone with the 1120 and directv have this problem. Hopefully pioneer will release new fw to fix it.

OK, thanks for the info. I just thought it was weird because if it is a 1080i broadcast I can see it. How will I know if Pioneer ever makes a fw fix for it?
jjpowell76 is offline  
post #6510 of 7981 Old 01-29-2011, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
jtara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rilenixx View Post


how did all that work out for you. did you reach samsung? did they help you?

I had crack that appeared during installation with no obvious "event" that caused it. I contacted Samsung and they had me send them photos. I was told an evaluation would take "two to three days".

A month later, I haven't heard back from them.

No white circle, and AFAIK the damage is strictly cosmetic. Its not visible at viewing distance. I suppose it gives the set "character"...
jtara is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn63c8000 63 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off