Did I just turn my Samsung PNxxC7000 into a PNxxC8000, why yes I did - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 326 Old 06-19-2010, 11:17 PM
Member
 
sx10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

Been viewing the AVS forums for years, but never posted until now....

Was on the phone with Sammy the other day asking about Real Black Filter on the PN58C7000.... The PN58C7000 page on the Samsung US website lists Real Black Filter as a feature on the 7000.


Also, would someone here please tell me what the Bezel Setting in the Service Menu for the 7000 series was from the factory, before upgrading to an 8000 series? Was it W - Violet or T-C Black? I can't remember.

Thanks,

SX
sx10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 326 Old 06-20-2010, 04:02 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Given that it is a value-added feature, and a physical feature (rather than a software-driven feature), if the C7000s had it, then Samsung would be idiots to "forget" to help sell their products by touting that.
bicker1 is offline  
post #93 of 326 Old 06-20-2010, 11:46 AM
Member
 
sx10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

Given that it is a value-added feature, and a physical feature (rather than a software-driven feature), if the C7000s had it, then Samsung would be idiots to "forget" to help sell their products by touting that.

They aren't "exactly" idiots, but close. Check out the United States' webpage for the PN58C7000 http://www.samsung.com/us/consumer/t...ail&returnurl= 3/4 of the way down on the right column. Samsung does show this as a feature on the C7 series, and when I spoke to product support the rep double checked to confirm that the 7 series do have it, because I pushed back on him pretty hard when he mentioned that they do.

Anyway, just thought everyone would like to know what they told me. Given the webpage shows the RBF and Sammy rep verbally told me it does have it, makes sense to me that it does have it.

I'm still swapping my 7 series for an 8 series though. Mine has the freaky pixelation around people's heads, and I can't get it to go away, so swapping it.
sx10 is offline  
post #94 of 326 Old 06-20-2010, 04:43 PM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What to believe...



:shrug:
bicker1 is offline  
post #95 of 326 Old 06-20-2010, 07:19 PM
Member
 
sx10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

What to believe...



:shrug:

Bicker,

This is the chart the Samsung Customer Service Rep told me was a typo.

I'm in the same place you are with what to believe. I am leaning toward what the rep told me, since I specifically mentioned this chart you reference, and asked why it said no.

For me, it doesn't really matter though. I am upgrading to the C8000 in 63 inch.

I only posted this for those of us who have the 7 series and are staying put with that one.

Cheers,

SX
sx10 is offline  
post #96 of 326 Old 06-21-2010, 03:04 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think the more critical question is, "What's the difference between the C7000 and the C8000?" I could believe it is the True Black Filter; that matches my observations in-store. If it is something else that would explain that small improvement in PQ, then I could believe that as well. I'm not sure knowing what the difference is caused by, though, will make much difference to me.
bicker1 is offline  
post #97 of 326 Old 06-21-2010, 05:22 AM
Senior Member
 
skooba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St Augustine, FL
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sx10 View Post

I'm still swapping my 7 series for an 8 series though. Mine has the freaky pixelation around people's heads, and I can't get it to go away, so swapping it.

That's the MJC. When the camera is panning slightly and someone is moving, you'll see it. I have the C8000 and if I have MJC on I'll see it. I only see it on movies and only in certain scenes. I'm not a fan of MJC on movies though, so it doesn't matter to me. I only keep it on for sports, and I'll try it with documentaries.
skooba is offline  
post #98 of 326 Old 06-25-2010, 04:10 AM
Senior Member
 
bfocussvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone who has done the C7000 to C8000 conversion confirm that the new menu features actually work?

In other words, even though the Motion Judder Canceler menu option is now available, if the TV doesn't have the right/specific hardware for MJC, it won't really do anything.

- Barry
bfocussvt is offline  
post #99 of 326 Old 06-25-2010, 10:20 AM
Member
 
tsk23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfocussvt View Post

Can anyone who has done the C7000 to C8000 conversion confirm that the new menu features actually work?

In other words, even though the Motion Judder Canceler menu option is now available, if the TV doesn't have the right/specific hardware for MJC, it won't really do anything.

It works. The two clearly have the same hardware since when MJC is active on the C7000, the soap opera effect is obvious. Samsung documentation says they both use the "Crystal Full HD Engine."
tsk23 is offline  
post #100 of 326 Old 07-02-2010, 12:58 AM
Newbie
 
njofra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to downgrade firmware?
Is there any other way to convert EU model with recent firmware?
njofra is offline  
post #101 of 326 Old 07-02-2010, 12:17 PM
Newbie
 
Rickviz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another difference between the 7000 & 8000 (according to spec sheets) is the Dynamic Contrast Ratio, the 7000 is 5,000,000:1 and the 8000 is the 7,000,000:1. Can someone please confirm that by simply making this change in the service menu the contrast ratio is increased by 2,000,000.

The only negative posting I saw was from user darstr, who is a TV tech. He strongly discouraged doing the upgrade and scared the heck out of me.

"can seriously corrupt your microm. There are certain clock settings that can not be changed and eventually your ic will over heat. Even if this did work as smooth as some think, there are other option bytes that need to be changed. For example now your light sensor is not going to work as it should because it will not be recieving the correct voltage just to give an example."

However, since the pn58c7000 & pn58c8000 have the same hardware, why wouldn't I do this.

I am getting ready to pull the trigger on a 7000 or 8000 and based upon this thread why would I spend the extra money on the 8000?

Thanks for everyones help and comments.
Rickviz is offline  
post #102 of 326 Old 07-02-2010, 01:07 PM
Member
 
tsk23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickviz View Post

Another difference between the 7000 & 8000 (according to spec sheets) is the Dynamic Contrast Ratio, the 7000 is 5,000,000:1 and the 8000 is the 7,000,000:1. Can someone please confirm that by simply making this change in the service menu the contrast ratio is increased by 2,000,000.

The only negative posting I saw was from user darstr, who is a TV tech. He strongly discouraged doing the upgrade and scared the heck out of me.

"can seriously corrupt your microm. There are certain clock settings that can not be changed and eventually your ic will over heat. Even if this did work as smooth as some think, there are other option bytes that need to be changed. For example now your light sensor is not going to work as it should because it will not be recieving the correct voltage just to give an example."

However, since the pn58c7000 & pn58c8000 have the same hardware, why wouldn't I do this.

I am getting ready to pull the trigger on a 7000 or 8000 and based upon this thread why would I spend the extra money on the 8000?

Thanks for everyones help and comments.


I exchanged PMs with darstr. He was referring to the LED models. Those 7000 and 8000 LED series are definately different panels. The PN 7000 and 8000 (and maybe the 6500) are the same plasma panel.

Those contrast ratios are hyper-inflated and meaningless. They only downside to the C7000 (and maybe 6500) is that MJC is turned on -- but that's easily fixed with the conversion.
tsk23 is offline  
post #103 of 326 Old 07-03-2010, 05:09 AM
Senior Member
 
OmegaR3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post

Cinema Smooth is certainly smoother but I see flicker with it ON.

Jason

Can anyone else comment on this?

Is the 2010 Cinemasmooth better than the one on 2009 models? Because I get flickering on my 09 Sammy and that's one reason I want to get a C7000/8000. If they didn't fix it I might as well go for a Panny.

Fronts: Energy Veritas V51
Front Height: Energy V-Mini
Center: Energy Veritas V52
Surround: Energy RC-R's
Sub: Energy ESW-CS8
Reciever: Onkyo TX-NR3008
TV: Panasonic TC-P65VT30

OmegaR3D is offline  
post #104 of 326 Old 07-03-2010, 05:24 AM
Newbie
 
Rickviz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you know if the rest of the hardware is the same? Circuit boards, etc.

Also, did you experience the issue of the screen going black for a second every couple of hours?

I was in BB yesterday, the rep claimed the 8000 was far superior to the 7000 and that I would be crazy to go with the 7000. What do you think?

Thanks
Rickviz is offline  
post #105 of 326 Old 07-03-2010, 07:42 AM
Member
 
tsk23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickviz View Post

Do you know if the rest of the hardware is the same? Circuit boards, etc.

Also, did you experience the issue of the screen going black for a second every couple of hours?

I was in BB yesterday, the rep claimed the 8000 was far superior to the 7000 and that I would be crazy to go with the 7000. What do you think?

Thanks

I've had no problems. I read some comments in the general 6500/7000/8000 thread that a few people with a 65000, 7000 or a 8000 have had their sceen go blank for a few secs and come back up in the 1st few days of having the TV. So it's not specfic to the conversion.

The BB rep doesn't know what he's talking about. The 8000 LED is superior to the 7000 LED -- I think this is where the confusion is coming from. Check out slides 10-12... they're saying that the 6500/7000/8000 plasmas have same PQ performance.

http://reviews.cnet.com/2300-6482_7-...s=0&o=10002730
tsk23 is offline  
post #106 of 326 Old 07-10-2010, 06:42 PM
Newbie
 
2010crg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Received my PN63C7000 today - First order of business was to follow the instructions to "change" to an 8000. It worked perfectly - literally took 2 minutes. A couple of notes that were different for me - I never received the "new board" message and the TV didn't automatically turn back on after the update (I just powered back on). I'm not sure if it matters but my unit was received with the following firmware version:
2010/05/17_001021

What I did (from original instructions):
- Started with TV OFF
- On remote - Mute-1-8-2-Power in sequence
- TV came on - the service menu appeared
- Went to options
- Changed the model to c8000
- Chose reset to factory default to exit out of the menu.
- TV turned off - I powered back on and the 8000 conversion was complete.

I've since been watching for about 10 hours with no ill effects - and yes, the 8000 settings are all there.

FYI, my wife's immediate reaction to seeing the 'unmodified' 7000 was as follows, "this picture is terrible and it's making me dizzy to even watch it". I then changed the model to 8000, disabled MJC, and voila - happy wife (I'm pretty thrilled too)!

Many thanks to original poster and all comments - this thread is the singular reason I saved the $$ and bought the 7000 vs. the 8000!

Cheers!
2010crg is offline  
post #107 of 326 Old 07-11-2010, 10:03 AM
Member
 
DocCyclops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just changed my C6500 to a 8000 last night. Working great, although it did flash a few times within the first hour. That has since gone away, so I'm not particularly worried about it.

On the other hand, MJC controls do not seem to be anywhere. I wonder if I should not have upgraded the firmware before doing the switch.

Can anyone who has done the 6500>8000 conversion confirm they have MJC controls? If so which firmware are you using?
DocCyclops is offline  
post #108 of 326 Old 07-12-2010, 08:44 AM
Member
 
Bremer28259's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bremen, Germany
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Obviously Samsung has modified the firmware for the European models and cut the opportunity to change the model from C6500 to C7xxx or C8xxx in the service menu. I suppose that there is a setting in the firmware that deactivates the service menu item "model type". This might be in any way related to the fact that the service menu item "Region" is also deactivated and cannot be changed.

So I wonder if anyone who has access to the European firmware files (the current version is 1014.3) is able to look into the firmware files to see if there is a instruction to set the service menu items "model type" and "region" to "off" (or so) and if theres is a way to reactivate this option in the firmware files.

I also wonder if it is possible to downgrade to a older firmware version (version 1008 is confirmed to allow the switch to c7xxx or c8xxx) and if anybody has this firmware version still available.

Las but not least it would be very nice if anybody using a US model of the c6/7/8 series could post the standard settings of the service menu and its sub menus so that we can compare if there are any different settings what may help to understand how one can reactivate the change of model for the European models. I know this is somehow a kind of imposition but unfortunately I see currently no other way to help us poor little European Samsung users.
Bremer28259 is offline  
post #109 of 326 Old 07-17-2010, 06:45 AM
Newbie
 
Tiny2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will a c7000 purchased today at HH Gregg be able to be converted to a c8000? Worse case is I have to return it... But I would rather not have to go through that exercise.
Tiny2u is offline  
post #110 of 326 Old 07-17-2010, 09:52 AM
Newbie
 
sz0124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiny2u View Post

Will a c7000 purchased today at HH Gregg be able to be converted to a c8000? Worse case is I have to return it... But I would rather not have to go through that exercise.

I just bought a PN50C7000 from a local store. It came with firmware v1020. I upgraded it to the latest... v1022. Then I followed the directions at the beginning of this thread. Only difference was I had to turn it back on manually and I did not get the message about the board.

Now have the cinema smooth and MJC options. All seems well.

Hope this helps.
sz0124 is offline  
post #111 of 326 Old 07-17-2010, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
Tiny2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. Is it recommended that I update the firmware before I do the conversion?

Did you get the firmware update from the website and use a USB? Was the process fairly simple?

Thank you!
Tiny2u is offline  
post #112 of 326 Old 07-18-2010, 06:48 AM
Member
 
whorunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are the exact instructions to downgrade back to 7000 from an 8000? I want to update to the most recent firmware but am unsure if it is safe to do this after a system menu conversion, although I read they may have the same hardware. Has anyone updated firmware AFTER the conversion from a 7000 to 8000 ?
whorunit is offline  
post #113 of 326 Old 07-18-2010, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Servicetech571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aidoroboo View Post

Here is a question...

What about extended warranties from BB and other retailers? If you screw up the TV with the service menu how will they know before you get a replacement?

Most of these sets are repaired, not replaced. If the main (the part with the firmware) goes bad the whole board will just get swapped w/o even checking firmware. If the power or sustain boards go out most shops will just replace the affected board and when the TV comes back on call it good. Few techs will even look at firmware unless they get a call about a "weird problem".
Servicetech571 is offline  
post #114 of 326 Old 07-18-2010, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phdeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mystic, CT
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whorunit View Post

What are the exact instructions to downgrade back to 7000 from an 8000? I want to update to the most recent firmware but am unsure if it is safe to do this after a system menu conversion, although I read they may have the same hardware. Has anyone updated firmware AFTER the conversion from a 7000 to 8000 ?

Yes, works fine.
phdeane is offline  
post #115 of 326 Old 07-18-2010, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
Devon Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me if I should change my PN7000 back to to a 7000 in the service menu now that the soap opera effect has apparently been fixed with a update?..The only reason I up-converted mine to a 8000 was to turn off that vile effect, is there a chance that the tv may be harmed over time by running it as a 8000?..I like having the cal-day/nite presets, just so I can have a couple more settings to tinker with, but now and if the motion judder travesty is default to off, there is no real reason for me to keep running the tv as a 8000..But if no chance of future harm, I will leave as a 8000.
Devon Graham is offline  
post #116 of 326 Old 07-18-2010, 02:16 PM
Newbie
 
sz0124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiny2u View Post

Thanks for the reply. Is it recommended that I update the firmware before I do the conversion?

Did you get the firmware update from the website and use a USB? Was the process fairly simple?

Thank you!

I would recommend updating the firmware first, to v1022, then do the C7000 to C8000 conversion.

You can download the firmware and instructions from Samsung.com. I used my USB stick. The process is easy. You can also connect 7000 the Internet to get the update, but I have not tried it personally.
sz0124 is offline  
post #117 of 326 Old 07-18-2010, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
People still doing this? Benefit of this?
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #118 of 326 Old 07-19-2010, 05:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
aydu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 3,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

People still doing this? Benefit of this?

Ability to gain the additonal menu options to turn the added features on and off.

Less needed now that the soap opera effect has been turned off.
aydu is online now  
post #119 of 326 Old 07-21-2010, 11:32 AM
Member
 
kaoztheory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devon Graham View Post

Can anyone tell me if I should change my PN7000 back to to a 7000 in the service menu now that the soap opera effect has apparently been fixed with a update?..The only reason I up-converted mine to a 8000 was to turn off that vile effect, is there a chance that the tv may be harmed over time by running it as a 8000?..I like having the cal-day/nite presets, just so I can have a couple more settings to tinker with, but now and if the motion judder travesty is default to off, there is no real reason for me to keep running the tv as a 8000..But if no chance of future harm, I will leave as a 8000.

Anyone?
kaoztheory is offline  
post #120 of 326 Old 07-21-2010, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaoztheory View Post


Anyone?

You should so you don't void your warranty. That and there really is no reason to have it changed to an 8000 anymore anyway
JukeBox360 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off