The Official Panasonic TC-PXXC2 Owner's Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 387 Old 05-01-2010, 04:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nerv_001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up the 50" this week from BB and I didn't see a owner's thread on here so I'm starting this one. This is my first plasma so I'm still trying to figure everything out about it, but so far I'm pretty happy with it.
Nerv_001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 387 Old 05-01-2010, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerv_001 View Post

I just picked up the 50" this week from BB and I didn't see a owner's thread on here so I'm starting this one. This is my first plasma so I'm still trying to figure everything out about it, but so far I'm am pretty happy with it.

I just picked up a Panny 42" Version at Sears today after breaking my 40" Sammy 40" LCD. Best Buys had none in stock, seems they never have anything i want in stock. Only took a hour from breaking my LCD to watching my new 42" Panny. This is for the living room and so far i am happy with such a low cost TV.

It won't match my Pioneer Kuro, but for the money spent it was worth it.

Panny 60VT60 Acurus 200x3
Pioneer Elite 05FD &51FD
2 Oppo 83's Pioneer Elite DV 59AVI
Paradigm SIg2 v3's & 490cc
Pioneer Elite SC61 SVS SB12NSD
2 S-VHS VCR's
CHASLS2 is offline  
post #3 of 387 Old 05-01-2010, 07:08 PM
Newbie
 
hoose71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerv_001 View Post

I just picked up the 50" this week from BB and I didn't see a owner's thread on here so I'm starting this one. This is my first plasma so I'm still trying to figure everything out about it, but so far I'm am pretty happy with it.

Congrats, I just picked the same one up from BB Thursday. Lovin it so far except for my CC issue. I bought it as a replacement for my 50" Sanyo (first one lasted 2 months the second failed out of the box).

Closed Caption Issue
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1246613
hoose71 is offline  
post #4 of 387 Old 05-02-2010, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nerv_001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoose71 View Post

Congrats, I just picked the same one up from BB Thursday. Lovin it so far except for my CC issue. I bought it as a replacement for my 50" Sanyo (first one lasted 2 months the second failed out of the box).

Closed Caption Issue
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1246613

Yeah I don't use closed captions or watch tv so I don't know about that. I would call Panasonic and try and resolve the issue with customer service.

Just wanted to give some more impressions about the tv. I pretty much only play games so I have been logging a lot of time playing BFBC2 and other games on the ps3. Very small amounts of IR and has only lasted about 1 minute. Not an issue at all. When I first got the tv I could hear a buzz the first night, I have not heard it since. I does buzz if I put my head behind the tv, but I can't hear it other than that. The sound is also pretty good, I do have a sound bar but I tested out the speakers and they do a good enough job.

Still trying to figure out if this is a good tv for gaming, but as for watching movies and tv, you can't beat this tv for the price. They don't even make 50" lcd under $1000. Would recommend this tv to anyone for movies and tv. Will post back about the gaming once I have played it more.
Nerv_001 is offline  
post #5 of 387 Old 05-04-2010, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I can't hear any buzz on the Panny nor my Kuro.

Panny 60VT60 Acurus 200x3
Pioneer Elite 05FD &51FD
2 Oppo 83's Pioneer Elite DV 59AVI
Paradigm SIg2 v3's & 490cc
Pioneer Elite SC61 SVS SB12NSD
2 S-VHS VCR's
CHASLS2 is offline  
post #6 of 387 Old 06-10-2010, 01:37 PM
Member
 
mmhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am considering the p46C2 model. I very much care about picture quality and do notice things such as wildly inaccurate white balance. I am coming from a 51" CRT 1080i HDTV. I want to get a G25 , but alas I don't have the funds right now. I have a few questions about the 46 inch C2:

1. How is color accuracy with the factory presents? I know this is not a high end unit by any means, but can I expect that white balance and gamma will be decent?

2. How are the options to tweak picture settings? Does the tv allow the option to take off edge enhancement and/or change white balance and gamma?

3. If the tv does not allow for immediate options to tweak settings, would I be able to enter the service menu for more advance adjustments?

4. My viewing distance will be 6-7 feet away from the television. Because the set is 720p, will I notice the lack of detail at that distance? (I will be viewing PS3 games, DVDs, Hulu from a PC, and some blu-rays)
mmhand is offline  
post #7 of 387 Old 06-10-2010, 05:07 PM
Member
 
mmhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know that most people here tend to be interested in and discuss the higher end units but any help would be much appreciated.
mmhand is offline  
post #8 of 387 Old 06-10-2010, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 25
All i can say is that my cheap panny 42" plasma is good enough for the woman i date as a 2nd TV for news and such. When i want the best i watch my Kuro.

Panny 60VT60 Acurus 200x3
Pioneer Elite 05FD &51FD
2 Oppo 83's Pioneer Elite DV 59AVI
Paradigm SIg2 v3's & 490cc
Pioneer Elite SC61 SVS SB12NSD
2 S-VHS VCR's
CHASLS2 is offline  
post #9 of 387 Old 06-10-2010, 07:10 PM
Member
 
mmhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ChaslS2, How good is good enough? I am mostly concerned about decent color reproduction. Is it okay or pretty awful compared to the big boys. I understand it is not a Kuro but what are the biggest differences you see?
mmhand is offline  
post #10 of 387 Old 06-13-2010, 05:48 PM
Newbie
 
Vroomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought the 46" version of this. Let me preface this by saying I know absolutely nothing about TV's, and this is my first HD tv.

When I watch my HD channels it cuts off a few inches on the left and right of the screen. After doing some googling this seems to be an "overscanning" issue, but I have no clue how to fix this.

Can someone help me out here?
Vroomy is offline  
post #11 of 387 Old 06-20-2010, 09:11 AM
Newbie
 
dAdE0H0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased the TC-P46C2, and like the picture, but wish I would have bought the 50" version.

What settings are people using with theirs?
dAdE0H0 is offline  
post #12 of 387 Old 06-20-2010, 09:25 AM
Member
 
mmhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree. The picture quality is surprisingly good for a low end plasma...but I wish I went bigger. I am using the standard mode and changing contrast to 77 and brightness to 59. I changed color to 45 and sharpness to 0. Looks great for movies and games.
mmhand is offline  
post #13 of 387 Old 06-20-2010, 09:50 AM
Newbie
 
dAdE0H0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am thinking about taking mine back to BB and exchanging it for the 50" version, any larger and it would over whelm my living room.

We sit 9' from the t.v.

mmhand thanks for the settings.

Anyone else have this plasma?
dAdE0H0 is offline  
post #14 of 387 Old 06-20-2010, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 25
[quote=mmhand;18759544]ChaslS2, How good is good enough? I am mostly concerned about decent color reproduction. Is it okay or pretty awful compared to the big boys. I understand it is not a Kuro but what are the biggest differences you see?[/QUOT

For the money and for my use it does good enough. Color seems fine. HD looks very good.

Panny 60VT60 Acurus 200x3
Pioneer Elite 05FD &51FD
2 Oppo 83's Pioneer Elite DV 59AVI
Paradigm SIg2 v3's & 490cc
Pioneer Elite SC61 SVS SB12NSD
2 S-VHS VCR's
CHASLS2 is offline  
post #15 of 387 Old 06-20-2010, 08:44 PM
Member
 
mmhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
50 inch would be much better. I am actually really impressed with the picture quality on this tv. It is much better than I was expecting. with some minor tweaks, the skin tones look really natural and whites look great.

Even though I am enjoying the quality of the set. However, the 46 inch is just too small, even for a small one bedroom apartment (about 10 foot sitting distance). As such, I am returning it to Best Buy and will be paying $500 more to get a 54 inch S2 model.
mmhand is offline  
post #16 of 387 Old 06-20-2010, 09:40 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vroomy View Post

I just bought the 46" version of this. Let me preface this by saying I know absolutely nothing about TV's, and this is my first HD tv.

When I watch my HD channels it cuts off a few inches on the left and right of the screen. After doing some googling this seems to be an "overscanning" issue, but I have no clue how to fix this.

That would not be an overscan issue. It would be helpful to tell us your source and how it's connected to the TV, but i presume your source is a cable box or satellite receiver because it sounds like you previously had maybe an old 4:3 tube TV, but when you replaced it with the plasma you did not go into your cable box's or satellite receiver's menu and change it's TV Type settings from 4:3 TV to 16:9 or Widescreen TV. Many STBs also have some sort of format key on the remote that toggles between different screen formats. My HD Tivo and my Time Warner DVR has such a key. So there's two things you can try.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #17 of 387 Old 06-21-2010, 10:38 PM
Newbie
 
matthewd49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so how's this tv working out for you guys? mine should be coming in sometime this week, hopefully by friday. this is really a huge change for me as for the last four years i've watched tv exclusively on a small 20 inch lcd and before that had only watched tv on a 32 inch tube tv. i really can't wait.
matthewd49 is offline  
post #18 of 387 Old 07-06-2010, 07:31 AM
Member
 
DayTrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought the 46" version yesterday at Best Buy for $599.99. I own a 2 year old 50" Panasonic Plasma in my living room and I love it so much that I decided to get a new 46" for my family room.

So far I've only tested it out on my ATT Uverse High Def stations and the picture is fantastic. I did consider higher end LCD's or LED's but they were over $1600 and I couldn't imagine that the picture quality is $1000 better than this model.

I was wondering if anyone could share their picture settings. When I set it up yesterday I used the same settings that are currently being used on my 50" which was professionally calibrated. The picture looks much better than the factory defaults but I'd be very interested in getting some suggested settings.

Thanks
DayTrader is offline  
post #19 of 387 Old 07-06-2010, 09:47 AM
Newbie
 
newtoplasma/HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had just bought this at Best Buy for $630 and while I am happy with the screen size (looks big even 9 ft away), and the Wii looks great, I am not so thrilled with the initial settings for color/brightness/contrast/sharpness etc. I know there's some choices (Standard/Vivid/Cinema etc) but I really want to get the recommendations out here for the optimal settings - I think once I get the HD box from Verizon (FIOS service here) in a few days, I will enjoy channels in HD better...but I want the color/settings to be perfect. Any suggestions? This is for a basement with low-level, sconce lighting.
newtoplasma/HD is offline  
post #20 of 387 Old 07-06-2010, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
newtoplasma/HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DayTrader - curious as to your 50" picture settings (calibrated)...perhaps I can start with that and adjust from there as needed. Thx.
newtoplasma/HD is offline  
post #21 of 387 Old 07-06-2010, 07:07 PM
Member
 
DayTrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtoplasma/HD View Post

DayTrader - curious as to your 50" picture settings (calibrated)...perhaps I can start with that and adjust from there as needed. Thx.

Here's what I have set so far:
Picture Mode: Custom
Contrast: 82
Brightness: 63
Color: 46
Tint: -6
Sharpness: 32
Color Temp: Warm
XV Color: Off
CATS: Off
Video NR: On
MPEG NR: On
Black Level: Light

If anyone else has suggested settings, please share.

Thanks
DayTrader is offline  
post #22 of 387 Old 07-06-2010, 07:24 PM
Member
 
DayTrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtoplasma/HD View Post

DayTrader - curious as to your 50" picture settings (calibrated)...perhaps I can start with that and adjust from there as needed. Thx.

OK, after posting my settings I did some additional research and found these settings in a different thread. These are for the S2 which is the same year model as the C2. I tried these and like them better. The original settings I posted I found to be a little bright and washed out. Try these and let me know what you think.

TC-PxxS2 Reference Settings

Picture:
Picture Mode: Cinema
Contrast: 71
Brightness: 60
Color: 47
Tint: -6
Sharpness: 0
Color Temp: Warm
x.v. Color: Off
C.A.T.S: Off
Video NR: Off
Blur Reduction: Off

Advance Options
MPEG NR: Off
Black Level: Light
3:2 Pulldown: On
DayTrader is offline  
post #23 of 387 Old 07-06-2010, 07:24 PM
Newbie
 
tnsplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the TC-42PX24 which is supposed to be the same as the C2 with the anti-reflection filter. I've been messing around with the settings a bit and so far this is what I've come up with. It looks best in darker settings but still needs some tweaking, look forward to any suggestions anyone might have:

Picture Mode: Cinema
Contrast: 57
Brightness: 60
Color: 44
Tint: -2
Sharpness: 25
Color Temp: Normal
XV Color: Off
CATS: Off
Video NR: Off
MPEG NR: Off
Black Level: Light
tnsplayer is offline  
post #24 of 387 Old 07-06-2010, 08:41 PM
Newbie
 
newtoplasma/HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good choices and I will try but assume I should first keep brightness/contrast down below 50 for first 100 hours, from what I've read about breaking in a plasma(?)....did you do that initially too? Or did anyone download a break-in DVD such as http://www.eaprogramming.com/downloa...nload_main.htm

newtoplasma/HD is offline  
post #25 of 387 Old 07-06-2010, 08:48 PM
Member
 
DayTrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtoplasma/HD View Post

Good choices and I will try but assume I should first keep brightness/contrast down below 50 for first 100 hours, from what I've read about breaking in a plasma(?)....did you do that initially too? Or did anyone download a break-in DVD such as http://www.eaprogramming.com/downloa...nload_main.htm


My understanding is that its not necessary to break in your TV unless you plan to have it professionally calibrated. I don't plan on getting a professional calibration nor do I plan to run the break in process for 100 hours. I think it does more damage than good by reducing the life of your TV by 100 hours.
DayTrader is offline  
post #26 of 387 Old 07-06-2010, 08:53 PM
Newbie
 
newtoplasma/HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do you think the brightness and contrast should be turned down below 50? See the Master Burn-in/break-in Thread on the main page. rmcgirr83 posted on plasmas being susceptible to 'burn0in' when in their infancy as phosphors have not yet aged....and he keeps mentioning to turn down the contrast and brightness....although his initial post in that thread is from 2004 so perhaps plasmas don't need such a prolonged break-in or calibration, like you said.
newtoplasma/HD is offline  
post #27 of 387 Old 07-07-2010, 06:08 AM
Member
 
DayTrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtoplasma/HD View Post

do you think the brightness and contrast should be turned down below 50? See the Master Burn-in/break-in Thread on the main page. rmcgirr83 posted on plasmas being susceptible to 'burn0in' when in their infancy as phosphors have not yet aged....and he keeps mentioning to turn down the contrast and brightness....although his initial post in that thread is from 2004 so perhaps plasmas don't need such a prolonged break-in or calibration, like you said.

I wouldn't pay too much attention to anything that was posted in 2004. The technology had improved dramatically since then. I asked some friends who are knowledgable on this topic and they don't think that break in is that important anymore. They did say that if you already have the DVD that it wouldn't hurt to run it for a day or two while you are at work but they all agree that 100 hours is too much.

As far as the brightness and contrast, I don't think you need to keep them below 50. Set the picture settings so that the picture looks good to you and just enjoy your new TV. I do recommend that you avoid watching for extended periods with the black bars on the left and right sides. Adjust the aspect ratio to avoid image retention.
DayTrader is offline  
post #28 of 387 Old 07-07-2010, 06:52 AM
Newbie
 
newtoplasma/HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have a DVD yet..and over past couple days, TV has been on for say 15-20 hours at least, total. So I guess, like you say, tech has improved and I should just enjoy.

As for black bars on left and right - got it. I think I set it to 16:9 ratio and full screen is covered, although I do notice that black bars are on a couple channels like Discovery (top and bottom). I guess there's no way to adjust specific channels only?
Also, is there image retention issues with the news bar at bottom (i.e. espn news, headline news with ticker) or with the symbols of channels (that most have in bottom right corner of screen)? How can you realistically avoid those?
I think once I get the HD box from Verizon, the picture will look a lot better. Right now, it's not that clear to me - and part of it is getting the settings to where we like it.
newtoplasma/HD is offline  
post #29 of 387 Old 07-08-2010, 06:20 AM
Newbie
 
newtoplasma/HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PS - Do I need to hold off on the Wii (with bright whites) for any break-in period??
newtoplasma/HD is offline  
post #30 of 387 Old 07-08-2010, 06:42 AM
Member
 
DayTrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtoplasma/HD View Post

PS - Do I need to hold off on the Wii (with bright whites) for any break-in period??

No. Go ahead and play your Wii. It won't hurt it.
DayTrader is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off