Insignia 42" Plasma NS-42P650A11 @ Best Buy - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 333 Old 07-12-2010, 11:15 AM
Member
 
Rhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Servicetech571 View Post

For $429 you could hardly get a 32" LCD !!

My Insignia 42" Plasma NS-42P650A11 arrived on Saturday 1.5 Hr late but eh ok. When I hooked it up to my Hd cable all I could say was OMG! it blows my LCD HD projector away and I've compared that to other LCDs and it held it's own. But this Plasma is crazy! With Deep blacks and white whites! Yes this is totally a Samsung. I have a Sammy BD player and they have that same funny shape remote LOL. But U can't beat it for the price, $429.00 PQ /SQ is incredible out the box!
Rhon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 333 Old 07-12-2010, 11:26 AM
Member
 
smooth tha boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhon View Post

My Insignia 42" Plasma NS-42P650A11 arrived on Saturday 1.5 Hr late but eh ok. When I hooked it up to my Hd cable all I could say was OMG! it blows my LCD HD projector away and I've compared that to other LCDs and it held it's own. But this Plasma is crazy! With Deep blacks and white whites! Yes this is totally a Samsung. I have a Sammy BD player and they have that same funny shape remote LOL. But U can't beat it for the price, $429.00 PQ /SQ is incredible out the box!

I hope u continue to enjoy it.
smooth tha boss is offline  
post #93 of 333 Old 07-12-2010, 09:01 PM
Member
 
LouV68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimed1 View Post

LouV68,
The tv will not change the aspect ratio just because your source material went from 16:9 to 4:3. The tv only knows what the resolution that it is getting. So, if you are watching a dvd and the features or the trailers are not in 16:9 the tv doesn't know to change the aspect ratio. The tv will change aspect ratios by itself based only on the resolution of the input that it is receiving. Example: it knows if it is getting a 720p or 1080i/p signal and will show it as full screen. If the 720p or 1080i/p signal contains some 4:3 material, the tv doesn't know this and keeps showing full screen. If the TV is getting a 480i standard definition signal it should automatically stretch the content to fill the screen. So if your DVD player is set to output 1080p, the tv thinks it is an HD signal and doesn't adjust the picture ratio. I should note that I don't own this TV, but I am thinking of buying it. Think about what you described when flipping channels. The tv is correctly sizing the picture because the input resolution is different when you change the channels. you probably have a display button on your remote that will pull up an info screen that tells you what channel you are on and what resolution the TV is receiving. Go through your channels and note the resolutions versus what the tv does to the aspect ratio. I am betting that your channel 5-2 and 11-2 are standard definition channels (480i) and the tv leaves them as such or they are broadcast as HD but the content is 4:3. Remember that the tv doesn't know what the content is, only the resolution. This is how all tv's work as far as I know.

Thank you for your input. Much appreciated. What you said does make sense, but my 1996 Toshiba DLP correctly switches aspect ratios between DVD titles (trailers, extras and main title)? I've changed my DVD's resolution output, and it does it not matter what I choose. I also checked the TV signal. Channels 5-2 & 11-2 are 480i 16x9, but channels 2-2 & 2-3 are 4x3. 2-2 & 2-3 display correctly as long as I don't manually change 5-2 & 11-2 to 16x9 and vice-versa. To be honest though, it bothers me a little bit, but for the price, it's something I can live with.
LouV68 is online now  
post #94 of 333 Old 07-20-2010, 11:35 PM
Member
 
bodyman5001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great tv for the price, looks awesome in my bedroom. Just a great tv for what I intend to use it for.
bodyman5001 is offline  
post #95 of 333 Old 07-29-2010, 09:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Clmrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just brought this set home, and the family is really enjoying it so far.

The biggest challenge has been making it work with my existing "stand" (an heirloom tool chest) and the center channel speaker. What works for now is pushing the TV back and placing the speaker in front, which is actually out of the line of sight despite appearances. The KEF Ref 100 is also built with a slight tilt back, which is perfect for this instance.

Nitpicks - No good "zoom" option for SDTV presented in letterbox. In fact, he whole zoom feature here is worthless, as far as I can tell.

Otherwise, life is good. OTA HD looks fab, and as I have DVD only at this point, I have to say that even they look great, no real complaints.
LL
LL
Clmrt is offline  
post #96 of 333 Old 07-30-2010, 12:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Just purchased this TV - perfect for bedroom; not too small, not too big. Slender and sleek frame and bezel, easy to assemble on stand. Excellent picture quality on both HD and SD sources. Bright and vibrant colors that really pop, good blacks and whites. Great PQ for Blu Ray and local OTA, sound quality better than most flat panels. Definitely a Samsung made for BB with a sensitive tuner for local OTA reception. At $429, definitely a great buy.
tylerSC is offline  
post #97 of 333 Old 08-05-2010, 05:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Clmrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Things I've noticed -

I'm not getting the deep black levels I want. I can get things "black" but without detail. I have to jack brightness up to 50+ to see detail in shadows, but bringing it down to the test pattern level in VE (35-40) crushes detail in video material.

I seem to get brightness jumps - that is, during scenes of changing picture level, the brightness seems to adjust itself. I see the black level jump from black to grey and back.

Also, I notice rainbows, just like DLP rainbows, but not as severe. I thought I was nuts, but I got a lot of returns when I googled "plasma rainbow" here. That really sucks because not only do I not have the "plasma blacks" I want, but I have DLP rainbow effects at the same time.

Current settings:

Energy Saver Off
Brightness sensor Off

OTA HD:

Mode:Standard
Contrast 72
Brightness 45
Sharpness 15
Color 32
Tint G40/R60
Color Temp Normal
Film Mode Off
DNF Off

Component input (DTV, DVD from receiver)
Standard
67
47
0
30
50/50
Normal
Off
Off
Clmrt is offline  
post #98 of 333 Old 08-05-2010, 12:47 PM
Member
 
pioneercrazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Cloud, FL
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you using anything through the HDMI input?

I briefly had my HD cable hooked up through component and it did not look quite as crisp as through HDMI.
pioneercrazed is offline  
post #99 of 333 Old 08-05-2010, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Clmrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Component from DVD and DTV HD DVR through a Marantz. The image is sharp but bright areas in dark pictures can exhibit rainbows or yellow/green flashes. "Movie" mode worsens the issue.
Clmrt is offline  
post #100 of 333 Old 08-22-2010, 05:08 PM
Member
 
a4tq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went into Best Buy today to check out the set and wanted to check out how much heat this thing put out. Problem is that the wall of TV"s was stacked 3 high and it was the top most set

For those of you that own this set how are the operating temps?

Thanks
a4tq is offline  
post #101 of 333 Old 08-22-2010, 05:58 PM
Member
 
dodo/lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate CNY
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up one of these last weekend -- mine puts out very little to no heat at all. I just compared it to my LN46A850 and the plasma seems cooler. Haven't noticed any buzzing either.

And for what Best Buy has this on sale right now (they credited me $54 today), I think this set is a steal for a 42" HDTV.
dodo/lurker is offline  
post #102 of 333 Old 08-22-2010, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodo/lurker View Post

I picked up one of these last weekend -- mine puts out very little to no heat at all. I just compared it to my LN46A850 and the plasma seems cooler. Haven't noticed any buzzing either.

And for what Best Buy has this on sale right now (they credited me $54 today), I think this set is a steal for a 42" HDTV.


Damn, I can't believe they lowered it again! How long ago did you buy it? I wonder if I can still request a credit.... I am over 60 days I think. I know technically its suppose to be 30 days.
jmsnyc is offline  
post #103 of 333 Old 08-22-2010, 07:28 PM
Member
 
dodo/lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate CNY
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmsnyc View Post

Damn, I can't believe they lowered it again! How long ago did you buy it? I wonder if I can still request a credit.... I am over 60 days I think. I know technically its suppose to be 30 days.

I bought mine on Friday August 13th . I was hoping they would lower it so I could get a credit, but I wasn't expecting it to be under $400. I wonder if this is the first time a brand new 42" HDTV has sold that cheap.

I haven't played around with the settings too much - but this tv gets a very nice picture, it makes me want to buy a top tier plasma for my primary tv.
dodo/lurker is offline  
post #104 of 333 Old 08-22-2010, 07:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodo/lurker View Post

I bought mine on Friday August 13th . I was hoping they would lower it so I could get a credit, but I wasn't expecting it to be under $400. I wonder if this is the first time a brand new 42" HDTV has sold that cheap.

I haven't played around with the settings too much - but this tv gets a very nice picture, it makes me want to buy a top tier plasma for my primary tv.

Friday the 13th brought you some good luck

I am guessing you bought it at $449. I thought price for most of August was $429. Anyhow, you got the credit so you got a great deal.
jmsnyc is offline  
post #105 of 333 Old 08-22-2010, 08:11 PM
Member
 
michaelvbush13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just picked this bad boy up at best buy 399.99. WTF I felt like i was robbing them...HAHA...seriously i have owned 3 Samsung Plasmas, A Panasonic Plasma, A Samsung LCD, a Sharp Rear Projection unit, A samsung dlp, etc...I change tv's a lot. For 400 this can't be beat. Shoot for 950 dollars this can't be beat. Smooth picture, nice colors, decent black levels, moderate light output, awesome framerate processing. I use this as a backup to my 150 inch rear projection theatre. It's awesome. I did not want to spend $1500 on a tv after dropping $2000 for a projector. This thing is smoking. Hopefully i can get in there and tweak a little bit of the picture settings and really hone it in, but i just can't get over the deal. Seriously awesome.
michaelvbush13 is offline  
post #106 of 333 Old 08-22-2010, 08:20 PM
Member
 
michaelvbush13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodo/lurker View Post

I bought mine on Friday August 13th . I was hoping they would lower it so I could get a credit, but I wasn't expecting it to be under $400. I wonder if this is the first time a brand new 42" HDTV has sold that cheap.

I haven't played around with the settings too much - but this tv gets a very nice picture, it makes me want to buy a top tier plasma for my primary tv.

DON'T DO IT! Unless you want to waste 1000 bucks. Seriously the difference in price is ridiculous for a hi-end tv. This picture is the grand champion of bang for buck.
michaelvbush13 is offline  
post #107 of 333 Old 08-22-2010, 08:29 PM
Member
 
pioneercrazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Cloud, FL
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by a4tq View Post

I went into Best Buy today to check out the set and wanted to check out how much heat this thing put out. Problem is that the wall of TV"s was stacked 3 high and it was the top most set

For those of you that own this set how are the operating temps?

Thanks

I've got this in my bedroom and have had it for about 3 months now I think. Anyways, I used to have a 32" LCD and it heated up the room to uncomfortable levels sometimes. After about an hour the room noticeably warmer and you could feel very warm air coming out over the top of the LCD. With this plasma I swear it put's out no heat. Even with the hand on the vents it's not bad and I have mine mounted with a slim bracket so it doesnt even have much breathing room behind it. Also, you can turn on energy saving or light sensor that should lower the level even more; at the price of pic quality.

Bottom line though this is a great TV if you're looking for a 42"
pioneercrazed is offline  
post #108 of 333 Old 08-22-2010, 08:34 PM
Member
 
michaelvbush13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so if anyone really wants to know, the entrance to the service menu on this sucker is the EXACT same as the Samsung. tv off mute-1-8-2-power...so this thing is a samsung in sheeps clothing, niiiicccee.
michaelvbush13 is offline  
post #109 of 333 Old 08-22-2010, 09:00 PM
Member
 
michaelvbush13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
here are my settings

Enter into service menu first-

adcc/wb menu
wb-
sub brightness-121
r offset 133
g offset 120
b offset 123
sub contrast 125
r gain 158
g gain 120
b gain 113

now power off and back on enter tv menu
mode dynamic
contrast 96
brightness 48
sharpness 15
color 51
color tone normal
size screen fit
digital noise filter-auto
film mode off
michaelvbush13 is offline  
post #110 of 333 Old 08-23-2010, 09:48 AM
Member
 
a4tq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know the difference between the EnergyStar power consumption figure vs the manufacturer figure? The EnergyStar website shows two figures for

Watts in On Mode 108
On Mode Limit (watts) 119

The Insignia unit shows:
Power Consumption (watts) Power On 200

Different power supply but same panel?
a4tq is offline  
post #111 of 333 Old 08-23-2010, 11:11 AM
Member
 
pioneercrazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Cloud, FL
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are three different levels of energy saver mode: Low, medium, high.

You can also have it set to off.

I'd guess this TV would never really use 200W unless it was run in torch mode all the time.
pioneercrazed is offline  
post #112 of 333 Old 08-23-2010, 11:26 AM
Member
 
a4tq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by a4tq View Post

Does anyone know the difference between the EnergyStar power consumption figure vs the manufacturer figure? The EnergyStar website shows two figures for

Watts in On Mode 108
On Mode Limit (watts) 119

The Insignia unit shows:
Power Consumption (watts) Power On 200

Different power supply but same panel?

Oops, the smaller power figures above were taken from the EnergyStar site for the Samsung PC42N430. I'm just trying to figure how closely related they really are.

Thanks
a4tq is offline  
post #113 of 333 Old 08-23-2010, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
TomGreen321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by a4tq View Post

Oops, the smaller power figures above were taken from the EnergyStar site for the Samsung PC42N430. I'm just trying to figure how closely related they really are.

Thanks

I have the Emerson version of this TV and it's a 4 series Samsung. If you go into the service menu I would bet it's identical to one on a Samsung, just like mine. There is options to change it to a 5 series and 48Hz mode are there as well, although I haven't tried that since I'm not a fan of the motion features on newer tvs.


I'm currently using the service menu offsets and settings from the b450 settings thread and they look ridiculous. So if you have the guts, tinkering in the service menu will give you more options. Like Cell Light and such.
TomGreen321 is offline  
post #114 of 333 Old 08-23-2010, 01:36 PM
Member
 
spacemountain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Despite what Insignia has in the specs mine averages about 96 watts. Bright scenes may soar to 130 watts but it drops right back down. Heat output is way lower than Plasma models even a few years back. I have a 2007 Panasonic Plasma and it will heat the room up fast. Right now this set is a great value. I can't imagine how much a 42" 720p plasma will be by Black Friday; $299?
spacemountain is offline  
post #115 of 333 Old 08-23-2010, 03:26 PM
Member
 
a4tq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacemountain View Post

Despite what Insignia has in the specs mine averages about 96 watts. Bright scenes may soar to 130 watts but it drops right back down. Heat output is way lower than Plasma models even a few years back. I have a 2007 Panasonic Plasma and it will heat the room up fast. Right now this set is a great value. I can't imagine how much a 42" 720p plasma will be by Black Friday; $299?

Thanks spacemoutnain. It sounds like you have a kill-a-watt type of device to measure actual power consumption

Looks like I might have to pick this set up to replace my Olevia 237T with the LG IPS panel that supposedly draws 187 watts.
a4tq is offline  
post #116 of 333 Old 08-23-2010, 04:24 PM
Member
 
greenythebeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So what's the verdict on this TV for $400? Good deal?
greenythebeast is offline  
post #117 of 333 Old 08-23-2010, 04:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
sjetski71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: N. NJ
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenythebeast View Post

So what's the verdict on this TV for $400? Good deal?

It's discussed just a few posts above yours, from posts 101 onwards, and the answer looks to be a resounding YES.

When you think of it as a rebadged samsung 42" plasma for $400, and with an extra year warranty tacked on (two years total), then you'll realize it's a great deal
sjetski71 is offline  
post #118 of 333 Old 08-24-2010, 02:50 AM
Senior Member
 
aman74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomGreen321 View Post

I have the Emerson version of this TV and it's a 4 series Samsung. If you go into the service menu I would bet it's identical to one on a Samsung, just like mine. There is options to change it to a 5 series and 48Hz mode are there as well, although I haven't tried that since I'm not a fan of the motion features on newer tvs.


I'm currently using the service menu offsets and settings from the b450 settings thread and they look ridiculous. So if you have the guts, tinkering in the service menu will give you more options. Like Cell Light and such.

You mean ridiculous as in bad or good?

What don't you like about the new motion processing?

Does the tv as is handle motion well?
aman74 is offline  
post #119 of 333 Old 08-24-2010, 03:02 AM
Senior Member
 
aman74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmsnyc View Post

Another thing I pointed out in that post is that this model is a rebrand of the Samsung PN42C430. BB carries the PN42C450 which has a vga input that this and the 430 lack. Not an issue for most.

I'd like to be able to hook up a pc, is there no way without the vga? I'm assuming I'd need vga for my current machine, but I may be building a new HTPC, would a newer system's video card be likely to have HDMI out to use this TV as a monitor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmsnyc View Post

Yes, the price fell exactly 30 days from when I purchased it with the 20% bing. I saw the post on slick and called right away and got the credit. Not a big difference - $20 less $4 if they reduce the $90 bing credit but still amazing deal.

Bing cashback is over right?

Thanks
aman74 is offline  
post #120 of 333 Old 08-24-2010, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
TomGreen321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aman74 View Post

You mean ridiculous as in bad or good?

What don't you like about the new motion processing?

Does the tv as is handle motion well?

They look amazing. Not sure on the insignia model, but on mine there is no gamma options in the menu. the service menu has them though and that alone improved the PQ. Things didn't look so dark, all the time.

I find motion enhancements add more issues. I can handle maybe 3 minutes of somewhat jerky motion when they pan across a cityscape or something. It's not really an issue that pops up alot. Even still, it's not nearly as bad as 60Hz LCDs.
TomGreen321 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Insignia 32 Inch Lcd Hdtv

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off