Insignia 42" Plasma NS-42P650A11 @ Best Buy - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 335 Old 05-12-2010, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Curious if anyone has bought this? For $40 more you can get a Panasonic or Samsung but this one is easier to find in store.

Also plus is an extra year warranty (though you can get that with a credit card) plus Panny lacks pc input.

Update: price has been lowered since originally posted so now the Panny and Sammy are $90 more.
jmsnyc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 335 Old 05-12-2010, 02:01 PM
Member
 
Chevydudesixty9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For this year its once again a rebranded Samsung... Not just a samsung panel but completely inside and out the same... This years I believe it the panel is from a 42B400 model from last year...
Chevydudesixty9 is offline  
post #3 of 335 Old 05-12-2010, 05:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Cool. Maybe I'll go with it. I am covered under extended warranty of a 2008 Insignia 32" Plasma (which I believe is an LG panel) for almost the full price of this one)
jmsnyc is offline  
 
post #4 of 335 Old 05-12-2010, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Wow if you go to Amazon and look at the back of this Samsung, then go to the product page for Insignia - they are exactly the same - even the part number...

Too bad this thing doesnt have PC input - kind of need that.



Has this model been out long? Cant find any info on the website.
jmsnyc is offline  
post #5 of 335 Old 05-12-2010, 10:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 294
My mom has the A400 sammy. She's had it for over a year and a half, no problems.

LG 65EF9500
LG 55EG9100
Samsung 60F8500
Samsung 51F8500
LG BH200
Sony BDP-S5200 Multi-Region
Dianabol5mg is offline  
post #6 of 335 Old 05-13-2010, 01:32 AM
Member
 
iLLEST x BEAST's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I actually bought this a week ago at BB and returned this plasma to get the Samsung since it had VGA input and 3x hdmi 42" Model: PN42C450B1D compare to Insignia which only had 2x HDMI input and no VGA, it was only $40 more. It also didnt have many options for image adjustment compare to the Samsung. The Insignia only picked up OTA channels, the Samsung picked up OTA and digital with just the basic coax cable. The menu also had a slightly different look so I wouldn't say its a completely rebranded Samsung but it's pretty damn close.

I would say this is closer to the PN42C340 if anything. PN42C340 is almost the same as the one I have. Go with the Samsung if you need the extra inputs and more imagine adjustment options.
iLLEST x BEAST is offline  
post #7 of 335 Old 05-13-2010, 06:11 AM
Newbie
 
Marcust99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
.
Marcust99 is offline  
post #8 of 335 Old 05-13-2010, 06:26 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLLEST x BEAST View Post

I actually bought this a week ago at BB and returned this plasma to get the Samsung since it had VGA input and 3x hdmi 42" Model: PN42C450B1D compare to Insignia which only had 2x HDMI input and no VGA, it was only $40 more. It also didnt have many options for image adjustment compare to the Samsung. The Insignia only picked up OTA channels, the Samsung picked up OTA and digital with just the basic coax cable. The menu also had a slightly different look so I wouldn't say its a completely rebranded Samsung but it's pretty damn close.

I would say this is closer to the PN42C340 if anything. PN42C340 is almost the same as the one I have. Go with the Samsung if you need the extra inputs and more imagine adjustment options.


Thanks. But Samsung is tough to find in store and it seems like they tack on another $70 for shipping.
jmsnyc is offline  
post #9 of 335 Old 05-26-2010, 04:44 AM
Member
 
LouV68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, so it doesn't have a pc input but I don't think it will matter since both my pc and laptop have HDMI. Will I get the same result or better w/ HDMI vs pc input? In order to get pc input, I'd have to spend at least another $90

Warranty Terms - Parts 2 years
Warranty Terms - Labor 2 years
Product Width 40-5/8"
Product Weight 43 lbs. with stand (39.7 lbs. without)
Plasma Flat-Panel
Screen Size Class 42"
Screen Size (Measured Diagonally) 42"
Aspect Ratio 16:9
Maximum Resolution 1024 x 768
Vertical Resolution 720p
Screen Refresh Rate 600Hz
Native Contrast Ratio 30,000:1
Dynamic Contrast Ratio 1,000,000:1
Internet Connectable No
USB Port No
Media Card Slot No
HDMI Inputs 2
DVI Inputs 0
Component Video Inputs 2
Composite Inputs 1
Audio Outputs 2
Speaker Output Power 20W
Speakers 2
ENERGY STAR Qualified Yes
Language Options English, French, Spanish
V-Chip Yes
Sleep Timer Yes
Channel Labeling Yes
Remote Control Type Standard
Power Consumption (watts) Power On 200
Brightness 500 cd/m²
Headphone Jacks No
Watts/Channel 10
Simulated Surround Yes
Sound Leveler Yes
USB Input No
Ethernet Port No
iPod Dock No
Product Height (with stand) 27-1/2"
Product Depth (with stand) 11-7/8"
Product Depth (without stand) 2-3/4"
Product Height (without stand) 24-7/8"
LouV68 is offline  
post #10 of 335 Old 05-26-2010, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
HDMI of course is better. Hopefully your pc can run sound through your hdmi out. I have had issues with running separate audio with HDMI on my previous Insignia and I have read that people have also had issues doing this with Sony. I believe my previous Insignia was not a Samsung like this one so hopefully the Samsung does not have that issue, I went with the $539 Samsung PN42C450B1D and it is being delivered today At the time the Insignia was $499 so for $40 it was worth the Samsung name and the extra inputs. For $90 difference and the extra year warranty, the Insignia is a nice purchase if you do not need the pc input.

Next tv purchase may be the Panasonic 50" 720p plasma from Costco.
jmsnyc is offline  
post #11 of 335 Old 05-29-2010, 04:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indianapolis Indiana
Posts: 6,076
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1991 Post(s)
Liked: 489
I noticed it is now on sale for $449.00

As the menu and looks of the TV look exactly like a Samsung
Funny thing..I was messing around with one in the store and it didn't respond to a Samsung remote

I then used the Insignia remote and it worked fine...the Insignia remote also controlled a Dynex LCD that was nearby

Samsung remotes have controlled all the TV's for several years..even the new ones ...they haven't changed codes

Seems odd that this Insignia would work from a different code
The remote looks just like last years "basic" Samsung TV remote with an Insignia brand name on it
It did not control any of the Samsung TV's

I know the code that these Insignia/Dynex products has been the same for a while also..in fact the same codes will work for older( more than 3 years) LG products also


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 65KS9800 Marantz 8802A prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 Vizio P50 Denon X4300 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 55KS8000 Yamaha A1060 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Vizio P50 Pioneer SC95 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #12 of 335 Old 05-29-2010, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My old Insignia 32" plasma was made by LG - at least the screen. I never knew what the remote code was, I got it by scanning but the remote code just covered the basics.

So I guess this tells you that this Insignia probably uses parts from LG in addition the Samsung board.
jmsnyc is offline  
post #13 of 335 Old 05-29-2010, 09:23 AM
Member
 
LouV68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked one up last night. $450 very well spent. For anyone thinking of transporting one in their car, the Box (packaging) Dimensions are 51" W x 8.6" D x 29.33" H
LouV68 is offline  
post #14 of 335 Old 05-31-2010, 08:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,140
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouV68 View Post

Ok, so it doesn't have a pc input but I don't think it will matter since both my pc and laptop have HDMI. Will I get the same result or better w/ HDMI vs pc input? In order to get pc input, I'd have to spend at least another $90

You can use hdmi, but you may lose part of the screen if you can't control the overscan. The tv probably only takes 480/720/1080 through hdmi, but with a pc input, you could send 1024x768, it's native resolution.

I use hdmi with my Panasonic, it has the same res. The tv has no overscan control, so I do it via the video card (ati). My Hitachi Plasma has a 1:1 pixel mapping mode, so it can be run without overscan from the video card.

Also HDMI does not seem to be able to shut down a display, so your screen saver won't be able to shut off the monitor. It goes to a blue screen.

You probably won't want to be on the pc much with a display that's this low res.

Greg
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #15 of 335 Old 06-03-2010, 05:15 PM
Member
 
LouV68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I may be SOL in playing videos thru HDMI off my PC. Since I knew the TV did not have a PC input, and decided to buy it anyways, I'm keeping it. That's the honorable thing to do. Had I been mislead, that'd be another story.

I'm quite pleased with the quality of the picture thus far. I've seen a few oddities though. The aspect ratio thru the TV input doesn't always automatically adjust. It's also the same thru Component Cables when watching DVD's. i.e. I'll set it to 16x9 and the trailers which apparently are 4x3, play in 16x9. Another thing is that when accessing Picture Options, it will sometimes freeze. When I initially scanned channels in, it changed the Color Tone from Cool to Warm 2.

Hopefully these glitches will be fixed with a firmware update. I've never owned a Insignia product. Do they actually offer updates like the major manufacturer's do? The USB port says Service and the manual does mention it. Also, since technically this is a Samsung TV, has anyone found a way to access the service menu?
LouV68 is offline  
post #16 of 335 Old 06-03-2010, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouV68 View Post

I guess I may be SOL in playing videos thru HDMI off my PC. Since I knew the TV did not have a PC input, and decided to buy it anyways, I'm keeping it. That's the honorable thing to do. Had I been mislead, that'd be another story.

I'm quite pleased with the quality of the picture thus far. I've seen a few oddities though. The aspect ratio thru the TV input doesn't always automatically adjust. It's also the same thru Component Cables when watching DVD's. i.e. I'll set it to 16x9 and the trailers which apparently are 4x3, play in 16x9. Another thing is that when accessing Picture Options, it will sometimes freeze. When I initially scanned channels in, it changed the Color Tone from Cool to Warm 2.

Hopefully these glitches will be fixed with a firmware update. I've never owned a Insignia product. Do they actually offer updates like the major manufacturer's do? The USB port says Service and the manual does mention it. Also, since technically this is a Samsung TV, has anyone found a way to access the service menu?

What is the issue with playing videos through hdmi?

Overall are you happy with the purchase?
jmsnyc is offline  
post #17 of 335 Old 06-04-2010, 04:51 AM
Member
 
LouV68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmsnyc View Post

What is the issue with playing videos through hdmi?

None that I know of, as I don't have any HDMI cables to try out. I have some on order. I guess I shouldn't assume I will also have problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmsnyc View Post

Overall are you happy with the purchase?

I am very happy with the purchase. It's the best $450 I ever spent....and it has a 2yr warranty. Incredible deal for the price.
LouV68 is offline  
post #18 of 335 Old 06-04-2010, 07:54 PM
Member
 
LouV68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For a bedroom TV, either will be great. *****. Growing up I had a hand-me down Zenith B&W 19" TV on a mobile cart; and no remote! The Panasonic does have more inputs, and a AR screen. If it's worth $80 more to you, then go with the Panny. I did notice that the Insignia is about 12lbs lighter than the Panny though.
LouV68 is offline  
post #19 of 335 Old 06-08-2010, 10:42 AM
Member
 
pioneercrazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Cloud, FL
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alright I picked this up today and have it hooked to my pc via HDMI, it works pretty well with my onboard ATI graphics. Just not really great for web browsing up close obviously with the lack of pixels.

Funny this is my ATI control panel has it labeled as "Samsung" and I didn't even catch that for a few minutes.
pioneercrazed is offline  
post #20 of 335 Old 06-08-2010, 08:17 PM
Member
 
LouV68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, but Bing Cashback is no longer working. I would have bought another for a spare bedroom.
LouV68 is offline  
post #21 of 335 Old 06-09-2010, 08:40 AM
Member
 
pioneercrazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Cloud, FL
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bing is working again, you just have to use different search phrases for it to pop up. I've read that printer or speakers is working currently. The sllickdeals link has the updated phrases.
pioneercrazed is offline  
post #22 of 335 Old 06-09-2010, 01:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
hmmm didnt get notified that this thread was updated....

so i bought this with the 20% bing...afaik it is still working, try different browswers - after getting it once in ie, next time i used google chrome - ff didnt work

there is also a thread on fatwallet - it even has the javascript links that should work direct on the first page - though i would feel more confident about getting bing if i was able to pull it up myelf - never know if there is some unique identifier in the click

too bad this deal was not around when i got my sammy 3 weeks ago

this one i bought for my mom's bedroom... she will not be connecting a pc

lou - thanks for the dimensions - i needed them =)
jmsnyc is offline  
post #23 of 335 Old 06-09-2010, 05:47 PM
Member
 
LouV68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sweet, I just took advantage of the 20% off. Thanks for the heads-up that it's still going on. Now to wait for my cashback email.
LouV68 is offline  
post #24 of 335 Old 06-09-2010, 06:41 PM
Member
 
LouV68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I received notification of my $90 coming back, but how do I get it before 60 days? Thanks.

Never mind. I guess I do have to wait 60 days.

A quick search on Bing brought this up:
What does it mean when my Bing cashback is pending, available, in process, rewarded, or canceled?
If your cashback savings is

* Pending Depending on the store, we wait up to 60 days after your purchase for possible returns, and then you can request your cashback reward. Some stores have a longer period of 90 days.
* Available Your cashback purchases are no longer pending. You can request your cashback reward when your available cashback is at least $5.
* In process We're processing your request for your cashback reward, which you will receive about 7 to 21 days after requesting it.
* Rewarded We have deposited or sent the requested cashback reward.
* Canceled The store notified us that the purchase has been returned, exchanged, canceled, or is ineligible per the Microsoft Service Agreement.
LouV68 is offline  
post #25 of 335 Old 06-09-2010, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes you got a 42" Plasma with tax for less than $400 and it includes a 2 yr warranty plus a 3rd depending on the credit card you paid for it on. But yes 60 days til you can get your bing rebate.... better than a mail in rebate!
jmsnyc is offline  
post #26 of 335 Old 06-09-2010, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
football76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Same story here, 20% off BCB= couldn't resist!

Also picked up a $20 wall mount from Ikea, install couldn't be easier. Can't beat the price of a wall mounted plasma with Samsung quality for $410.

Watching the Stanley Cup Finals is awesome on this thing. Not sure if the Bing deal is still going but this TV gets my approval.

Sony 65W850A | Xbox One 

Xbox Live: PremiumNapBear

football76 is offline  
post #27 of 335 Old 06-09-2010, 07:51 PM
Member
 
LouV68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The game looks awesome on this TV. Damned overtime. Now I can't go to sleep till it's done. Go Hawks!!
LouV68 is offline  
post #28 of 335 Old 06-09-2010, 07:52 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by football76 View Post

Same story here, 20% off BCB= couldn't resist!

Also picked up a $20 wall mount from Ikea, install couldn't be easier. Can't beat the price of a wall mounted plasma with Samsung quality for $410.

Watching the Stanley Cup Finals is awesome on this thing. Not sure if the Bing deal is still going but this TV gets my approval.

is the wall mount at ikea online - link?
jmsnyc is offline  
post #29 of 335 Old 06-09-2010, 09:40 PM
Member
 
Blesbok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone confirm which samsung panel it actually uses?
Blesbok is offline  
post #30 of 335 Old 06-09-2010, 11:09 PM
Member
 
pioneercrazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Cloud, FL
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I get a multiple choice?

I noticed you are looking for this for your bedroom?

How far will you be viewing from? I'd say if you're 8 feet or beyond the screen the resolution is a non-issue...
pioneercrazed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Insignia 32 Inch Lcd Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off