The Official LG xxPK950 Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 1360 Old 10-31-2010, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnny Neat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DelJ View Post

You don't have to do any break-in if you take it out of vivid mode and turn down brightness a bit. I didn't run any break-in slides (and neither does 99% of users) and the display is just great. Relax and enjoy your new TV.

DelJ

That sounds awesome. I'm just very worried as to not mess up my set. Like how I'm even super worried with my letter boxed movies for fear of burn in. Yeesh! So you're saying their settings are a-ok and safe?
Thanks again.

P.s. Anyone care to share Xbox 360 and PS3 settings?
Johnny Neat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 1360 Old 10-31-2010, 10:03 PM
Member
 
XxDBENCxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Neat View Post


That sounds awesome. I'm just very worried as to not mess up my set. Like how I'm even super worried with my letter boxed movies for fear of burn in. Yeesh! So you're saying their settings are a-ok and safe?
Thanks again.

P.s. Anyone care to share Xbox 360 and PS3 settings?

How does Xbox look on this set?
XxDBENCxX is offline  
post #723 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 06:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Johnny Neat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDBENCxX View Post


How does Xbox look on this set?

I haven't played anything but I looked at the dash and the text looked less tight/sharp than I feel it should be and is on my Sammy 52B750 for example. A bit worse than from composite. Hoping someone can direct me to settings that make it as sharp as it does on my LCD TVs through HDMI.
Johnny Neat is offline  
post #724 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 08:02 AM
Member
 
XxDBENCxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Neat View Post


I haven't played anything but I looked at the dash and the text looked less tight/sharp than I feel it should be and is on my Sammy 52B750 for example. A bit worse than from composite. Hoping someone can direct me to settings that make it as sharp as it does on my LCD TVs through HDMI.

Yea I know what you mean.. I saw a PK950 hooked up to a PS3 and NBA2K11 looked very fuzzy. I was disappointed because of all the positive reviews I've read and this being LG's flagship plasma. Or at least close to there flagship. They had a Samsung 58C7000 for the same price but I didn't see it with PS3 or XBox.. And the search continues.....
XxDBENCxX is offline  
post #725 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Johnny Neat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDBENCxX View Post


Yea I know what you mean.. I saw a PK950 hooked up to a PS3 and NBA2K11 looked very fuzzy. I was disappointed because of all the positive reviews I've read and this being LG's flagship plasma. Or at least close to there flagship. They had a Samsung 58C7000 for the same price but I didn't see it with PS3 or XBox.. And the search continues.....

I didn't play any games on PS3 yet either but Blu-Ray movies looked tight.
Johnny Neat is offline  
post #726 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 11:12 AM
Member
 
chifanpoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Edwardsville IL
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Neat View Post

I didn't play any games on PS3 yet either but Blu-Ray movies looked tight.

I have played a lot of Red Dead Redemption and Castlevania with the PS3 and they looks just as good with much better black lvls than my Sony LCD that this LG replaced.
chifanpoe is offline  
post #727 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 01:32 PM
Member
 
PCHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My delivery date has now changed for a THIRD time. I took the day off work today for delivery only to get screwed. I am SO PO'd at YRC I'm dizzy.
PCHDTV is offline  
post #728 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Goatse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pineapple under the sea
Posts: 3,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCHDTV View Post

My delivery date has now changed for a THIRD time. I took the day off work today for delivery only to get screwed. I am SO PO'd at YRC I'm dizzy.

mines being delivered by Manna, where did you order yours from?
Goatse is offline  
post #729 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 02:04 PM
Member
 
PCHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goatse View Post


mines being delivered by Manna, where did you order yours from?

Vann's
PCHDTV is offline  
post #730 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 03:27 PM
r2t
Member
 
r2t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can't seem to find the 950 at any stores here in B.C. Canada?? Is this a newer model???
r2t is offline  
post #731 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Goatse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pineapple under the sea
Posts: 3,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCHDTV View Post

Vann's

mines from Onecall, scheduled to be delivered morrow. Looks like mines in DC so hopefully there are no delays.
Goatse is offline  
post #732 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 04:18 PM
Member
 
PCHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goatse View Post


mines from Onecall, scheduled to be delivered morrow. Looks like mines in DC so hopefully there are no delays.

If you're in DC Or close you should be fine. For whatever reason mine got to the local warehouse too late today to get on the truck for local delivery.
PCHDTV is offline  
post #733 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 04:31 PM
Member
 
tjdean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Churchville, NY
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goatse View Post

mines from Onecall, scheduled to be delivered morrow. Looks like mines in DC so hopefully there are no delays.

My 50PK950 is coming from Onecall also. Order tracking indicated delivery for today but when Manna called Fri. to schedule they said it would be Wed. The TV has been sitting in a warehouse here in Rochester since Fri. I don't know if Manna turns it over to a local dellivery company.
tjdean is offline  
post #734 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 04:44 PM
Member
 
PCHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These freight companies don't exactly run like FedEx or UPS........so I've discovered.
PCHDTV is offline  
post #735 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Goatse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pineapple under the sea
Posts: 3,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well their website says, they will call 30mins before arriving. I'll be at work so hope they do.
Goatse is offline  
post #736 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 05:29 PM
r2t
Member
 
r2t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's not even listed on the Canadian Lg website..wonder why? We always get screwed up here in ca
r2t is offline  
post #737 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
DelJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The quick menu offers various zoom functions which will fill the screen with letterbox material.

DelJ





Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Neat View Post

That sounds awesome. I'm just very worried as to not mess up my set. Like how I'm even super worried with my letter boxed movies for fear of burn in. Yeesh! So you're saying their settings are a-ok and safe?
Thanks again.

P.s. Anyone care to share Xbox 360 and PS3 settings?

DelJ is offline  
post #738 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
DelJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see a big difference in sharpness just by changing channels. There are several variables involved that have nothing to do with the PK950. For example, upconverting 720p source will not be as sharp as native 1080 material.

Store displays are notorious for screwing up the video feed.

DelJ




Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDBENCxX View Post

Yea I know what you mean.. I saw a PK950 hooked up to a PS3 and NBA2K11 looked very fuzzy. I was disappointed because of all the positive reviews I've read and this being LG's flagship plasma. Or at least close to there flagship. They had a Samsung 58C7000 for the same price but I didn't see it with PS3 or XBox.. And the search continues.....

DelJ is offline  
post #739 of 1360 Old 11-01-2010, 08:08 PM
Member
 
Patfantx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I got this last week thru OneCall (Manna delivery). Everything went fine with that.

As for the set . . . picture is good, black levels decent, but still I would call things "grainy". I do think it depends a lot on the broadcast source (for example, the Monday night football game looks below average on all my sets) but it is a bit disappointing to me.

I have a Pioneer 720P set as the comparison and that set performs better.

No motion blur however, so that is good.

I tried the flatpanelshd settings but those didn't do much for me.
Patfantx is offline  
post #740 of 1360 Old 11-02-2010, 04:07 AM
Member
 
brian2305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think break in has a lot to do with grainy picture or at least it seamed like it to me.
brian2305 is offline  
post #741 of 1360 Old 11-02-2010, 05:11 AM
Member
 
aaron.d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by r2t View Post

It's not even listed on the Canadian Lg website..wonder why? We always get screwed up here in ca

http://www.lg.com/ca_en/tv-audio-vid...tv-60PK950.jsp

http://www.audiotronic.ca/Products/Detail/233222
aaron.d is offline  
post #742 of 1360 Old 11-02-2010, 06:46 AM
Member
 
tjdean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Churchville, NY
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patfantx View Post

I got this last week thru OneCall (Manna delivery). Everything went fine with that.

As for the set . . . picture is good, black levels decent, but still I would call things "grainy". I do think it depends a lot on the broadcast source (for example, the Monday night football game looks below average on all my sets) but it is a bit disappointing to me.

I have a Pioneer 720P set as the comparison and that set performs better.

No motion blur however, so that is good.

I tried the flatpanelshd settings but those didn't do much for me.

Patfantx, would you care to share what settings on your PK950 you are using?
What didn't you like about the flatpanelshd settings?
tjdean is offline  
post #743 of 1360 Old 11-02-2010, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BruceD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Sure would like to hear from a trusted source that this problem no longer exists with the pk950 (or maybe even the pk750).

Chad, have you been able to confirm this bug has been fixed with the new firmware updates ?

Am I correct in assuming the pk550 cannot have it's firmware updated, but needs to be returned to a service center for that procedure ?

BruceD


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BruceD is offline  
post #744 of 1360 Old 11-02-2010, 08:28 AM
Member
 
chifanpoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Edwardsville IL
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceD View Post

Sure would like to hear from a trusted source that this problem no longer exists with the pk950 (or maybe even the pk750).

Chad, have you been able to confirm this bug has been fixed with the new firmware updates ?

Am I correct in assuming the pk550 cannot have it's firmware updated, but needs to be returned to a service center for that procedure ?


My TV shipped with 5.0 firmware and I have recently updated to 6.0 firmware. I have never seen an issue with edge enhancement when it was turned off in settings. I have run several test discs and have yet to see any issues with strange edges. When running the same tests on my SXRD or LCD though either of my PS3s the patterns all look the same at 1080p. From my eyes it looks like they fixed it on 5.0+ firmware possibly sooner.

Not sure on the pk550 never used one.
chifanpoe is offline  
post #745 of 1360 Old 11-02-2010, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BruceD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by chifanpoe View Post

My TV shipped with 5.0 firmware and I have recently updated to 6.0 firmware. I have never seen an issue with edge enhancement when it was turned off in settings. I have run several test discs and have yet to see any issues with strange edges. When running the same tests on my SXRD or LCD though either of my PS3s the patterns all look the same at 1080p. From my eyes it looks like they fixed it on 5.0+ firmware possibly sooner.

Not sure on the pk550 never used one.

This issue is not one you can select in a menu and turn off, rather it's a function of the TV always applying some processing to the incoming signal even when you have turned off all processing from the menu selections.

The reason for the question on the pk550, is that it doesn't exhibit the same always on processing like the 750 and 950

BruceD


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BruceD is offline  
post #746 of 1360 Old 11-02-2010, 09:34 AM
Member
 
PCHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is finally here.... And in 1 piece!
My stand was already installed. Normal? I expected to have to install it based on the manual.

Installation and testing tonight.
PCHDTV is offline  
post #747 of 1360 Old 11-02-2010, 09:39 AM
Senior Member
 
DelJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just stared at my PK950 screen from 1 foot away and could not see anything with regard to artificial edge enhancements. Specifically, I looked at an actor with a white shirt against a dark background. Nothing.

Is this good enough for you?

DelJ




Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceD View Post

Sure would like to hear from a trusted source that this problem no longer exists with the pk950 (or maybe even the pk750).
..

DelJ is offline  
post #748 of 1360 Old 11-02-2010, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Johnny Neat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chifanpoe View Post


I have played a lot of Red Dead Redemption and Castlevania with the PS3 and they looks just as good with much better black lvls than my Sony LCD that this LG replaced.

If I wasn't so concerned, I'd jump at the chance to check out some gaming but at least a minimum of 100 hrs of the break in disk will make me feel a bit better at trying it out. I'm scared of anything not full screen right that its nuts. Most of my movies are wide screen letter box : (
Johnny Neat is offline  
post #749 of 1360 Old 11-02-2010, 10:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Johnny Neat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjdean View Post


My 50PK950 is coming from Onecall also. Order tracking indicated delivery for today but when Manna called Fri. to schedule they said it would be Wed. The TV has been sitting in a warehouse here in Rochester since Fri. I don't know if Manna turns it over to a local dellivery company.

That sucks. Manna had a 3rd party handle my delivery and luckily in my case I got a professional, helpful and cool dude. Plus it helped the 60PK950 was in perfect condition, so far at least.
Johnny Neat is offline  
post #750 of 1360 Old 11-02-2010, 10:13 AM
Member
 
PCHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Neat View Post


That sucks. Manna had a 3rd party handle my delivery and luckily in my case I got a professional, helpful and cool dude. Plus it helped the 60PK950 was in perfect condition, so far at least.

Was your stand pre-installed?
PCHDTV is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg Infinia 60pk950 60 Inch 1080p Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - 60pk950 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off