*The Official Samsung PNxxC8000 Owner's Discussion Thread!! - Page 196 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5851 of 5878 Old 11-22-2013, 04:45 AM
Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walke108 View Post

I thought the only way the tv output Dolby digital was through the arc function. If i remember correctly it doesn't output Dolby through the optical out. Is your headset connected to the optical? I am a little confused?
I don't have it connected yet because I didn't know if it would be stereo or 5.1 dolby digital. In the sound options of the tv you can select spdif out and choose pcm or dolby digital.
wrathloki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5852 of 5878 Old 11-22-2013, 05:00 AM
Senior Member
 
walke108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathloki View Post

I don't have it connected yet because I didn't know if it would be stereo or 5.1 dolby digital. In the sound options of the tv you can select spdif out and choose pcm or dolby digital.
From the owner's manual- "Optical jack only outputs 2 channel audio..."

Why don't you connect you receiver and tv via arc (input 2), and hook up your headphones to the receiver directly? Or, hdmi from Xbox one to the receiver?
walke108 is offline  
post #5853 of 5878 Old 11-22-2013, 05:19 AM
Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do have my xbox one connected to the receiver directly and my tv connected to the receiver through arc. I don't think my receiver has an optical out though.
wrathloki is offline  
post #5854 of 5878 Old 11-22-2013, 05:32 AM
Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just checked, the receiver does not have optical out.
wrathloki is offline  
post #5855 of 5878 Old 11-22-2013, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
walke108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathloki View Post

I just checked, the receiver does not have optical out.
I am assuming the headphones only have an optical connection? Maybe an adapter exists?
walke108 is offline  
post #5856 of 5878 Old 11-22-2013, 05:41 AM
Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They are optical only, they're the Astro a50 headset, they require dolby digital as well, which the xbox one does not output through optical.
wrathloki is offline  
post #5857 of 5878 Old 11-27-2013, 11:34 AM
Member
 
Lurker28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've recently started noticing that on a white screen, ONLY on a white screen flickering black lines show up in the center of the image and stretch horizontally to the edges of the TV.....it's more prevent if there is a white screen an a logo or img in the center of it. I thought at first I might be able to fix it by modifying settings, but I have not had any luck. However, the image is still crisp and sharp with no banding on any other color in the background.....just not white.
Lurker28 is offline  
post #5858 of 5878 Old 01-04-2014, 08:35 AM
Member
 
LIRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. Wondering if anybody has a creative solution here?

I'm looking for a way to remotely power on / power off my PN50C8000YFXZA. I'm presently only turning on / off via the IR sensor. I'd like to be able to turn it on / off when I'm not in the room.

A couple of more details: All of my other devices (that matter here) have triggered inputs or can be powered on off over my internal LAN. Perfect application is my iPhone controlling my Pre/pro (Marantz AV7005).

Is there a way to either toggle power on / off to the PN50C8000YFXZA over a smart phone? Or if not some way to rig up the PN50C8000YFXZA to a trigger out of my AV7005?

Thanks for any help.
LIRob is offline  
post #5859 of 5878 Old 01-07-2014, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey Guys,

I just wanted to check in and see how everything was going. I have had my 63 C8000 since they came out and as of now no issues. I hate that people are still having issues with these.

I have been thinking about doing a update but with no issues I'm not sure I should.

BTW, I have never done any updates to this set.

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #5860 of 5878 Old 01-08-2014, 02:18 AM
Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I've had this for over 3 years now and while it's always been a great picture quality I have noticed lately that I'm losing distinction between black levels. This isn't something that can be fixed with brightness or backlight as it just makes the crushed area brighter, still no distinction. Is this an inherent problem with plasmas?
wrathloki is offline  
post #5861 of 5878 Old 01-08-2014, 07:52 AM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There was talk a long time ago that the black level could actually get better? (If I remember correctly)

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #5862 of 5878 Old 01-08-2014, 08:05 AM
Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe it's time I call for service?
wrathloki is offline  
post #5863 of 5878 Old 01-08-2014, 02:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
ferl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by dankfoot View Post


I have been thinking about doing a update but with no issues I'm not sure I should.

BTW, I have never done any updates to this set.

Don't do it. Leave well enough alone. If the update hoses something up, you can't go back.

ferl is offline  
post #5864 of 5878 Old 01-08-2014, 08:01 PM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was kind of thinking that.....

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #5865 of 5878 Old 01-12-2014, 08:53 PM
Newbie
 
zxvfrr41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've also got issues with light screens with ice hockey being a good example. I notice about a 4-in wide horizontal blueish line across the screen. A second issue I have is during dark scenes where there is a vertical area from top to bottom about 10-in at its widest where the image is not as dark as the rest of the screen. I have a 4-yr warranty from the store I bought it from and they referred me to the company that does their repairs. They asked for pictures which I provided and they responded that it was an issue with the power supply so they're scheduled to be here Wednesday to resolve it. I'm surprised that these two distinct issues would be caused by the power supply but I'll see what happens after they replace the power supply.
zxvfrr41 is offline  
post #5866 of 5878 Old 01-13-2014, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Good luck. I hope it works for you.

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #5867 of 5878 Old 01-20-2014, 05:12 PM
Newbie
 
zxvfrr41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by zxvfrr41 View Post

I've also got issues with light screens with ice hockey being a good example. I notice about a 4-in wide horizontal blueish line across the screen. A second issue I have is during dark scenes where there is a vertical area from top to bottom about 10-in at its widest where the image is not as dark as the rest of the screen. I have a 4-yr warranty from the store I bought it from and they referred me to the company that does their repairs. They asked for pictures which I provided and they responded that it was an issue with the power supply so they're scheduled to be here Wednesday to resolve it. I'm surprised that these two distinct issues would be caused by the power supply but I'll see what happens after they replace the power supply.

The repair technician tested the voltage. He said it should be 210 and was showing as 208 so he adjusted it. The horizontal blueish lines are completely gone. The lighter vertical area has been corrected for the most part. During very dark scenes with all the lights out in the room, I can still see a hint of it. I'm not overly concerned with it but if it bothers me down the road, I'll have them check it out again. I have to say that the picture looks quite ridiculous now (in a good way). The voltage adjustment seems to have made a big impact in not just correcting the artifacts but improving the overall quality of the image.
zxvfrr41 is offline  
post #5868 of 5878 Old 02-09-2014, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
All HDMI inputs stopped working

Hi all - I purchased the PN63C8000 about 2.5 years ago from Best Buy with the full black tie extended warranty, which is still valid thru the end of this year.

Yesterday when we put the TV on the signal came in for a split second, then flash purple and then the TV said "No Signal - Check connected device's power, cable connection, and source selection." I did check that of course and all that was fine.

To troubleshoot this I tried moving the HDMI cable from HDMI 1 - 4 and switching inputs and had the same problem on each input. I also tried using my Blu-ray player as a source, just in case something happened to the cable box, but still no picture and same error on the TV. As a last step, I plugged my Chromecast into each of the 4 HDMI ports and switched the TV to each input and still had the same issue. I believe this eliminates all sources and cables (especially since Chromecast doesn't even use a cable) as a possible issue, leaving only the TV as the problem. The TV menus all display fine and the built-in beach picture in diagnostics plays without issue. I also tried unplugging the set for a little while to see if a full power cycle could solve it but it didn't help.

The Best Buy Geek Squad, who comes out for the BB black-tie extended warranty support, is coming early this week. I am covered for parts and labors on any repairs and eligible for a suitable replacement if it can't be fixed.

A few questions please:

1. Have I properly done the troubleshooting and is there anything else you can think to try?

2. Has anyone else experienced this problem on the TV?

3. Any idea if the necessary board(s) required to be replaced are available and are replaceable by the Geek Squad, or if for this type of issue they are likely to just offer a replacement?

4. Does anyone know which replacement brands/models Best Buy will offer for this unit? I see there is a Samsung 64" Plasma PN64F8500AFXZA with 600hz refresh. Would they consider this eligible as a replacement? I am VERY sensitive to flicker and now that in the past plasma has tended to use a slower refresh rate than other technologies. So as an added perk of the replacement I am wondering if the picture will appear more "stable" without flicker with this 600hz unit compared to mine (although no one else sees the flicker in the current unit, I can't help but notice it).
lovingdvd is offline  
post #5869 of 5878 Old 03-09-2014, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey Guys,

Well I spoke too soon. I think I got drunk the other night and started messing with some settings. Now it seems that on white screens I get some crazy plume or something. So I am now trying to find some calibration settings again.

I'm using C-Nets now but I'm looking for I think D-nice or Chad B settings.

Can anyone help?

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #5870 of 5878 Old 03-09-2014, 10:40 AM
Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cnet's settings are very good. I've been using them from the beginning and haven't been disappointed. I think the only thing I did is boost the brightness, color and sharpness just a little, to taste.
wrathloki is offline  
post #5871 of 5878 Old 03-09-2014, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yea, but Im still seeing some issue. Actually after looking around some it may be red rash?

I only started seeing this when the Winter Olympics was on.

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #5872 of 5878 Old 03-09-2014, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post

All HDMI inputs stopped working

Hi all - I purchased the PN63C8000 about 2.5 years ago from Best Buy with the full black tie extended warranty, which is still valid thru the end of this year.

Yesterday when we put the TV on the signal came in for a split second, then flash purple and then the TV said "No Signal - Check connected device's power, cable connection, and source selection." I did check that of course and all that was fine.

To troubleshoot this I tried moving the HDMI cable from HDMI 1 - 4 and switching inputs and had the same problem on each input. I also tried using my Blu-ray player as a source, just in case something happened to the cable box, but still no picture and same error on the TV. As a last step, I plugged my Chromecast into each of the 4 HDMI ports and switched the TV to each input and still had the same issue. I believe this eliminates all sources and cables (especially since Chromecast doesn't even use a cable) as a possible issue, leaving only the TV as the problem. The TV menus all display fine and the built-in beach picture in diagnostics plays without issue. I also tried unplugging the set for a little while to see if a full power cycle could solve it but it didn't help.

The Best Buy Geek Squad, who comes out for the BB black-tie extended warranty support, is coming early this week. I am covered for parts and labors on any repairs and eligible for a suitable replacement if it can't be fixed.

A few questions please:

1. Have I properly done the troubleshooting and is there anything else you can think to try?

2. Has anyone else experienced this problem on the TV?

3. Any idea if the necessary board(s) required to be replaced are available and are replaceable by the Geek Squad, or if for this type of issue they are likely to just offer a replacement?

4. Does anyone know which replacement brands/models Best Buy will offer for this unit? I see there is a Samsung 64" Plasma PN64F8500AFXZA with 600hz refresh. Would they consider this eligible as a replacement? I am VERY sensitive to flicker and now that in the past plasma has tended to use a slower refresh rate than other technologies. So as an added perk of the replacement I am wondering if the picture will appear more "stable" without flicker with this 600hz unit compared to mine (although no one else sees the flicker in the current unit, I can't help but notice it).

Was a bit surprised to see no responses to the above. Anyway here's what happened in case this helps someone later...

Best Buy Geek Squad came out and immediately confirmed what I already knew - all HDMI inputs were not working. They ordered a replacement motherboard which has the HDMI inputs on it. After about a week the board came in and they swapped it out. Works fine now, although I had to redo all my settings and calibration. I have about 6 months left on the extended warranty so this worked out as there was no charge for parts and labor.
lovingdvd is offline  
post #5873 of 5878 Old 03-09-2014, 11:48 AM
Member
 
GrizzlyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use these....look pretty great on my set...when it isn't acting up.

http://reviews. Plasma tv buying guide . com/plasmatvreviews/samsung-c8000-calibration.html
GrizzlyD is offline  
post #5874 of 5878 Old 03-12-2014, 08:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
terminaldawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So looks like my TV finally has the issue that others have seen (horizontal banding). Thankfully I have a 4 year warranty so I should be covered. I have a tech coming out on Saturday to take a look. The issue only happens on lighter screens. I bought a nintendo wii u and all the menus the issue comes to life and its annoying. I can already envision the tech saying that its not a problem because its on menu screens. Maybe I am paranoid and they will acknowledge the issue. Anyways, I have read that others have had the issue on Hockey games so I am trying to get some hockey games to see if the issue is there, that way its indisputable. Any other content I can use as ammunition for repair/replacement?

Also my goal is to hopefully get a new TV. I don't want this fixed well knowing the TV is a ticking time bomb for having the issue again. Any experience with getting them to get me a replacement?

Thanks!!!
terminaldawn is offline  
post #5875 of 5878 Old 03-19-2014, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
dankfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So after researching, I guess I have this pink banding issue. It just started that I can tell.

All white screen, any logo or picture in the middle of the screen and on the left or right you see a spot of purple / pink dots all over.

Sammy PN63C8000

Onkyo TX-SR605

HR44-700

HP-T5064 Still going

dankfoot is offline  
post #5876 of 5878 Old 05-28-2014, 08:28 AM
Member
 
pantheman75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Best Buy determined that my Samsung needed a new panel due to the pink issue (and 3D glasses intermittently dropping out); no replacement panels are available so was able to use my nearly expired 4 year warranty to get a full refund on gift cards. 4K here I come cool.gif
pantheman75 is offline  
post #5877 of 5878 Old 05-28-2014, 09:49 AM
Member
 
chucky2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pantheman75 View Post

Best Buy determined that my Samsung needed a new panel due to the pink issue (and 3D glasses intermittently dropping out); no replacement panels are available so was able to use my nearly expired 4 year warranty to get a full refund on gift cards. 4K here I come cool.gif

If you can, you might wait for the 2014 Value Electronics shootout, last I heard it was end of June/early July timeframe. Sorta long to wait but if you can that should give you a pretty good idea what to spend those gift cards on...
chucky2 is offline  
post #5878 of 5878 Old 05-29-2014, 06:16 PM
Member
 
JCUMV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pantheman75 View Post

Best Buy determined that my Samsung needed a new panel due to the pink issue (and 3D glasses intermittently dropping out); no replacement panels are available so was able to use my nearly expired 4 year warranty to get a full refund on gift cards. 4K here I come cool.gif

So when you say full refund, you mean the full amount that you paid 3 years ago!?

So I had the pink banding issue on my 2010 58" model about a year ago. I have the extended warranty and BB replaced the panel with no questions asked. So far so good on the new panel.

My BB extended warranty expires this November. It's sounding like I should renew that warranty when the times comes just in case that pink band issue comes back. But if there are no more panels, it sounds like I'll get a gift card, right?

You guys agree that renewing the extended warranty is a good idea?

Thanks.
JCUMV is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn50c8000 50 In 3d Hdtv Plasma Tv , Samsung Pn50c8000 50 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn63c8000 63 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn58c8000 58 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv Black , Samsung Pn58c8000 58 3d Plasma Tv 16 9 Hdtv 1080p 58in Ws Plasma 1080p 3d Ready 600hz 4 Hdmi Ultra S
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off