*The Official Samsung PNxxC8000 Owner's Discussion Thread!! - Page 197 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5881 of 5896 Old 08-11-2014, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
uscpsycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, I'm also having the problem with banding on a primarily white screen.

For me it's a thick band of flickering static that stretches all the way across the screen. The band is probably 8" high and it's maybe 12" from the top of the screen. I was actually giving Samsung the benefit of the doubt and assumed the flicker was being introduced by the Vizio Google TV box which I have between my receiver and the TV. If others are having the same problem then I guess it's not the GTV box but the TV itself. This is upsetting.

To be honest, it only seems to crop up during commercials where the screen is mostly white with a logo or a little bit of copy on the screen. During regular programming you hardly ever have a mostly-white screen like that. So it hasn't bothered me much yet, but now that I know that the problem is my very expensive TV it bothers me more. And now I'm worried it may get worse. Ugh.
uscpsycho is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5882 of 5896 Old 08-16-2014, 04:46 PM
Member
 
mortaldivine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My PN58C8000 finally popped while watching a show and now I get no picture. I ordered a new power board for it. Hope thats all it needs. Anyone have this problem?
mortaldivine is online now  
post #5883 of 5896 Old 10-14-2014, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Jnipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a PN64C8000 that has some noticeable lines that go across the entire screen. Also on a grey screen there is a pinkish tint. The lines are like some sort of ghosting. What parts would I need to repair this? Would replacing the Main PCBs correct this?
Jnipz is offline  
post #5884 of 5896 Old 10-14-2014, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm impressed that it took this long before you got the pink banding. It happened to mine inside of a year (4 years ago?). At that time the Samsung tech looked at it and ordered me a new panel, but then Samsung told me they couldn't get one for me. Eventually they refunded me my purchase price and I bought a D8000.

You'll find similar stories in this thread, with different outcomes. Bottom line is that I'd guess you won't find anyone with a new panel, or other possible parts for a C series. sorry. Maybe others still follow this thread and have some better ideas for you.
ItzMe is offline  
post #5885 of 5896 Old 10-16-2014, 12:16 AM
Senior Member
 
USCsuperfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry if this has been posted before, but I did a search and couldn't find a mention of it:

I've had the PN63C8000 for 3+ years, and in the last few months I have been getting an intermittent problem where the screen just goes blank or black and looks like the tv is off, but it's not off because the tv speakers still work and there is no red light in the bottom left corner. The problem does not resolve itself. I have to turn the tv off and then turn it on again. It will start working again, sometimes for only two minutes, sometimes for a month before it happens again.

Anybody else have this problem? Or know of a solution?
Ryryguy likes this.
USCsuperfan is offline  
post #5886 of 5896 Old 10-16-2014, 04:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What page are calibration settings on for the 58"?
Southpole12 is offline  
post #5887 of 5896 Old 10-16-2014, 04:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have had the TV for 5 years and have been a victim of the purple haze. I still use it bc it's not bad and my warranty cut me a check. I am trying to get the picture as good as it can be. I tried some picture settings on other sites but it just looks too dull. Any info on where to find the calibration setting would be great. Thanks
Southpole12 is offline  
post #5888 of 5896 Old 11-11-2014, 08:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have the Samsung pn58c8000yfxza and black horizontal lines are appearing on the top panel of the TV and slowly gaining more lines going down the panel. What is the issue and is it worth fixing? I have read somewhere that it's the sustain board and some have said it's the panel and that it's not worth fixing. Any input greatly appreciated.
collins is offline  
post #5889 of 5896 Old 11-22-2014, 05:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
WeeJavaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uscpsycho View Post
Yep, I'm also having the problem with banding on a primarily white screen.

For me it's a thick band of flickering static that stretches all the way across the screen. The band is probably 8" high and it's maybe 12" from the top of the screen. I was actually giving Samsung the benefit of the doubt and assumed the flicker was being introduced by the Vizio Google TV box which I have between my receiver and the TV. If others are having the same problem then I guess it's not the GTV box but the TV itself. This is upsetting.

To be honest, it only seems to crop up during commercials where the screen is mostly white with a logo or a little bit of copy on the screen. During regular programming you hardly ever have a mostly-white screen like that. So it hasn't bothered me much yet, but now that I know that the problem is my very expensive TV it bothers me more. And now I'm worried it may get worse. Ugh.
Sounds exactly like mine. Someone one told me that since it is happening when the screen is mostly white it is most likely a problem with power. Wondering if anyone that had this issue has a part that could be replaced to fix it. TV is not that old and looks great.

By the way. the problem seems to be getting a little worse.
WeeJavaDude is offline  
post #5890 of 5896 Old 02-12-2015, 01:14 PM
Member
 
JCUMV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Guys, there's a fix for the pink banding problem. You need to go to the pink banding thread located here: http://*******/1J3Stck. There is a file you'll need to download, put on a flash stick, and install onto your TV. There's a different file for 58 vs 63 inch. You'll need to read through the last 10 or so pages of this thread and make yourself very familiar with the update process. You'll also find the hyperlink to the website where you can download the fix file.

A bunch of people have done this with their PDP's (including me) and it completely fixed the pink banding problem. Good luck.
JCUMV is offline  
post #5891 of 5896 Old 02-12-2015, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Larry Geller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bayside, New York, USA
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So what do the asterisks stand for?(http://*******/1J3Stck.) The link won't work as is.

"MMMM,Snout!"---Homer Simpson
Larry Geller is offline  
post #5892 of 5896 Old 02-12-2015, 02:26 PM
Member
 
JCUMV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was trying to use Bitly to shorten the lengthy hyperlink, but it didn't work. Just found the hyperlink feature here in Reply screen. Here you go: PN58C8000 Pink Banding.

EDIT: Okay, here's the deal, the above link is to yet another thread dedicated to fixing the pink banding issue. The option above is making an adjustment to the voltage setting. There are a lot of pics and detail about how to do this. Personally, I didn't have the electrical skills confidence to do this so I opted with the file upload fix which is a separate thread located here. This is one you'll need to review that last 10 or so pages. Good luck.
uscpsycho likes this.

Last edited by JCUMV; 02-12-2015 at 02:33 PM.
JCUMV is offline  
post #5893 of 5896 Old 02-13-2015, 05:55 AM
Senior Member
 
KK in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCUMV View Post
I was trying to use Bitly to shorten the lengthy hyperlink, but it didn't work. Just found the hyperlink feature here in Reply screen. Here you go: PN58C8000 Pink Banding.

EDIT: Okay, here's the deal, the above link is to yet another thread dedicated to fixing the pink banding issue. The option above is making an adjustment to the voltage setting. There are a lot of pics and detail about how to do this. Personally, I didn't have the electrical skills confidence to do this so I opted with the file upload fix which is a separate thread located here. This is one you'll need to review that last 10 or so pages. Good luck.
Thanks for this! I started noticing pink banding on my PN58C8000 a couple of months ago and figured I would need to start looking for a new TV. I was hoping to wait a while until the 4K OLED's were ironed out a bit more and larger flat screens were available. I will try the fix mentioned here this weekend and hope I will see the same results.

KK in CT is offline  
post #5894 of 5896 Old Yesterday, 05:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
lowpolyjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Smart App Virus?


This morning my PN63C8000 ran auto-update and deleted all my apps and replaced them with a bunch of Russian stuff.


Exit/Reentering the hub ran another update, this time with more American/English sounding stuff. Another restart ran another update. It looks like about 50/50 with Russian then English stuff getting installed then deleted.


This seems very much like a virus and I'm worried about my home network. I should have pulled the network connection right away but wanted to use my HBO Go app (which still seems to be working after the first 4 or 5 rounds of updates).


I emailed Samsung tech support but fear they will not respond because my TV is too old to be listed on their dropdown box of products in the support form.


Anyone else having this issue? I'm on the East Coast, USA.
lowpolyjoe is online now  
post #5895 of 5896 Old Today, 01:46 AM
Senior Member
 
uscpsycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do you mean auto-update?

Whenever there is new firmware available my TV asks me if I want to install it or not. Yours just installed new software without asking you first?
uscpsycho is offline  
post #5896 of 5896 Old Today, 06:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
lowpolyjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowpolyjoe View Post
Smart App Virus?

Big thumbs up for a quick and helpful reply from Samsung tech support. I"ve heard nothing but horrible reviews of their tech support so this was a great surprise. A synopsis of their response, including 4 possible solutions


1) Go into network settings, change DNS to "Manual" and set it to 8.8.8.8. Unplug the TV, plug it back in. This seems to have solved my problem so I didn't do any stuff below. I did some digging and found that this is the explicit address of Google's DNS server, which will then override/prevent your device from using your ISP's DNS.
2) Same as above but try DNS 8.8.4.4 (Google's alternative DNS)
3) Reset the internet settings via Internet@TV->Settings->SystemSetup->Reset (you may need the tv password, default is 0000). This will delete your downloaded apps.
4) Rest the TV to factory defaults from the main menu. This will clobber all your settings everywhere.


I have not tried these approaches on my Samsung Bluray player yet (which also gave me problems yesterday), but my TV seems to be working now.
I'm very relieved. I ran virus scans on my computers lastnight and everything looks good, so I'm hoping it was just some wonky with my ISP's DNS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by uscpsycho View Post
What do you mean auto-update?

Whenever there is new firmware available my TV asks me if I want to install it or not. Yours just installed new software without asking you first?

This was not the TV firmware update, it was just the Smart App Updater. For this, my TV does not ask for permission. When there is an update for any Apps, it automatically starts the process when you enter the Internet@TV screen. My bluray player prompted me yesterday morning to start an update (in German?!) and I declined but it would then not let me use the internet apps. I'm hoping the DNS fix resolves the bluray problem too.


Hope this is helpful for some others to avoid the virus panic that gripped me for 24hrs
lowpolyjoe is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn50c8000 50 In 3d Hdtv Plasma Tv , Samsung Pn50c8000 50 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn63c8000 63 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn58c8000 58 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv Black , Samsung Pn58c8000 58 3d Plasma Tv 16 9 Hdtv 1080p 58in Ws Plasma 1080p 3d Ready 600hz 4 Hdmi Ultra S
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off