TH-42PX75U . . . Sound but NO PICTURE! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 Old 05-27-2010, 04:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
MikeyThumbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone. First post here, been surfing around and found some good info on these forums!

I've been experiencing a problem with my 42" panasonic plasma tv (th-42px75u)
seems like it was only happening when it was EXTREMELY hot outside and ambient temp in my house was above 80F. The picture starts flashing, colors get distorted and BAM, picture goes black but I can still hear whatever I was watching.

The tv is not even used for 2 years yet and I'm PISSED!
I called a local repair center and the guy told me it's probably a cooling fan that needs to be replaced, but I did some research and came to find this model doesn't have fans inside. . .

Has any1 had a problem with their plasma like this before? If so, what did the problem wind up being?

Thanks in advance! Hopefully someone can shed a little light on my situation!
MikeyThumbz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 Old 05-27-2010, 04:44 PM
EG3
Senior Member
 
EG3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I had one in the shop the other day with the very same issue. I resolved it by re-seating the LVDS cable at both ends (A5 - D5). Connector D5 is buried under the A-Board assembly. It's not too hard of a job. Just be gentle with the connectors, especially the LVDS. It has a tab on each side that you squeeze (both together) when removing and inserting. You may be able to find some manuals somewhere in these threads to help.
Let us know if you run into any snags. There are a lot of pros here that can help.
loopguru, sixfoot0, swells and 1 others like this.
EG3 is offline  
post #3 of 30 Old 05-27-2010, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
MikeyThumbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice man thanks for the quick reply! I'll give this a shot. I'm pretty handy so I don't think it will be a problem for me. I'll find the service manual and hopefully get to it this weekend. . .

I'll let you know how it goes!

BTW, after I power it down for a couple of minutes then turn it back on the picture comes back but soon returns to the black screen with sound (maybe 3 - 5 min). . .

Just now I actually had a fan blowing directly on the tv and had it on for about 2 1/2 hours no problems . . .soon as i unplugged the fan about 5 mins later the picture went out.
MikeyThumbz is offline  
post #4 of 30 Old 05-29-2010, 06:20 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
MikeyThumbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
**Bump Bump**
MikeyThumbz is offline  
post #5 of 30 Old 06-04-2010, 05:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
MikeyThumbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey EG3, thanks for the advice man! I had some time to give this a shot (reseating cable a5-d5). First time I've ever tried working on a tv myself and it seems if I was successful thanks to you! It took me all of 30 mins to remove the back of the tv and loosen some slack in the cables to get to the D board, blew all the dust out, took the a5-d5 cable out and put it back.
This TV seems pretty easy to work on!
Appreciate the help man! Glad I found this place!
MikeyThumbz is offline  
post #6 of 30 Old 06-04-2010, 08:58 AM
EG3
Senior Member
 
EG3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thats great Mikey Thumbz! Thanks for replying back with your results. Maybe this thread can be of help to others with this symptom.
sixfoot0 likes this.
EG3 is offline  
post #7 of 30 Old 12-09-2010, 08:06 AM
Newbie
 
dkennedy00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you so much. I can not believe this was all it took to fix this problem. We were ready to get a new TV but I found this forum and thought what do I have to loose? It has been working like brand new for over a week now and no blinking or blank screen. Thank you, thank you, thank you...(My husband really thanks you, football is so much better now and I can go to the spa with the money we were going to blow on a new TV ...)
dkennedy00 is offline  
post #8 of 30 Old 02-28-2011, 07:46 PM
Newbie
 
ig6888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have same TV, the problem that I have is that my TV shut down one day and I couldn't power it back on, the red LED light is blinking 10 times, what can I do to get it working again.

Thanks
ig6888 is offline  
post #9 of 30 Old 09-03-2011, 01:34 PM
Newbie
 
PanasonicTVowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
EG3,
Just wanted to say THANK YOU for your post. Man, you are a real lifesaver!!!!
I had the same problem with my Panasonic Viera TH-42PX75U - no picture, only sound. Was about to look for a new board, but tried to figure out which one to try to replace... Saw your post, gave it a try, and it worked!!! Just disconnected (gently!) and reconnected back A5-D5, and now for a couple of weeks the TV has been working like new!!!
THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!
PanasonicTVowner is offline  
post #10 of 30 Old 09-07-2011, 11:24 AM
EG3
Senior Member
 
EG3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Good job PanasonicTVowner!!!
Glad to hear it was just a bad connection.
EG3 is offline  
post #11 of 30 Old 01-01-2012, 10:53 AM
Newbie
 
onlyme1016's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Happy New Year to you EG3!

Last night we wanted to watch some New Year festivities and the TV would not cooperate at all. It had been acting oddly off and on, but the other week it started to work flawlessly up until last night. When we experience the problems in the past I stumble upon this site and the connector fix, so this morning I got right to it and the TV is working like new.

Thank you so much for share your wisdom.
onlyme1016 is offline  
post #12 of 30 Old 06-15-2012, 03:13 PM
Newbie
 
sixfoot0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Just wanted to THANK YOU EG3 for this info. I just had the same problem. took off the back. re set the wires .I'd like to ad that there is small black tape that holds these wires together.I took them off so the wires could breath.I'm sure they conduct some type of heat source. anyways koo koo ka choo. everything is still on.biggrin.gif
sixfoot0 is offline  
post #13 of 30 Old 05-17-2013, 09:19 PM
Newbie
 
Donqi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I opened up the back of my 42PX75U and I can't tell one par from the other. I don't know where this A5 to D5 connection is.

Can someone post a pic of this?

Thanks
John
Donqi is offline  
post #14 of 30 Old 05-17-2013, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 147



Larry
loopguru likes this.
LarryInRI is offline  
post #15 of 30 Old 05-17-2013, 09:59 PM
Newbie
 
Donqi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Holy F'n Shizzz.

I found the A5 to D5, unconnected that cable, reconnected and it is working now. It didn't seem disconnected though. I just don't get. I'm waiting for the pic to go black, but it isn't.....

I'm speechless.
Donqi is offline  
post #16 of 30 Old 05-17-2013, 10:00 PM
Newbie
 
Donqi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Larry!
Donqi is offline  
post #17 of 30 Old 05-17-2013, 10:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Enjoy. smile.gif

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #18 of 30 Old 05-18-2013, 06:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Hah, reminds me of the cheap TH-46PZ80 I picked up. Faulty, half the screen missing, other half flickering. Same loose cable. Very common on these models.
tom669 is offline  
post #19 of 30 Old 07-10-2013, 05:43 PM
Newbie
 
swells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same results for me also! Wonder how many folks tossed these sets into landfills. THANKS A TON FOR THIS THREAD.
swells is offline  
post #20 of 30 Old 07-14-2013, 09:07 AM
Member
 
Nascar#43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fall River, MA.
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I think I am having this problem on my panel. I switched the HMDI to see if it makes a difference.

How easy is this to fix, can I get a little instructions...Thanx

UPDATE: Switching from HMDI 1 to HMDI 2 worked for now. A lot of screws on the back of this panel to take off.
Nascar#43 is offline  
post #21 of 30 Old 08-15-2013, 04:00 PM
Newbie
 
woopie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Panasonic Viera TX-L42E5B has no picture but has sound i dont have a clue what to do someone please help
woopie is offline  
post #22 of 30 Old 08-16-2013, 04:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by woopie View Post

My Panasonic Viera TX-L42E5B has no picture but has sound i dont have a clue what to do someone please help

...this is the wrong thread. Post a new one, in the LCD forum. Badcaps.net is a good forum for troubleshooting LCDs, if this forum doesn't give you any luck.
tom669 is offline  
post #23 of 30 Old 09-02-2013, 08:24 PM
Newbie
 
lynchee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it's been about 4 hours since I tried this fix and so far so good.
I just wanted to say THANK YOU!!!!!
lynchee is offline  
post #24 of 30 Old 09-03-2013, 04:19 AM
Newbie
 
inkyky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I have a TH42PA60E with the same problem as everyone else but the internal setup of the tv is different to the picture of the other model. By any chance would you have the drawings to point me to the correct area so that I can fix this ? Many thanks, your post is very helpful.
inkyky is offline  
post #25 of 30 Old 09-03-2013, 06:23 PM
Newbie
 
technologic80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Always can count on AVSforum.com!!!

Came here years ago for my Panasonic TH-42PX75u when I was having problems.... problem reared its ugly head again today, so I came back, found this thread, reseated my cable and its working great biggrin.gif

Thanks again!!

(although secretly I was sooooo ready to go out and buy a new LED set to replace the TH-42PX75u...maybe next time) cool.gif
technologic80 is offline  
post #26 of 30 Old 09-08-2013, 08:14 PM
Newbie
 
tbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, this saved my bacon. Don't take the shortcut and just reseat the D5 connector. That doesn't work. You have to reseat both ends for this to work. I laid the panel flat using a mattress also easy on the back, then you can take out the screws for the D-board to get access to the A-board. You can't completely take out the D-board because of the other cable connections but you can open it just enough to reseat the A5 connector on the A-board. Again, it helps if the panel is laying flat so you can access it from the top. Thanks to LarryInRI, the diagram is the bacon royal.
tbot is offline  
post #27 of 30 Old 11-20-2013, 01:10 AM
Newbie
 
workingMom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need help with my txauxo1ursu. No picture only sound.
workingMom is offline  
post #28 of 30 Old 12-07-2013, 07:16 AM
Newbie
 
ag2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hey !!! thanks I had the same problem and tried your tip and it worked instantly, i was trying since one week, bought new remote as well nothing worked, but today googled it and found this site, thanks again !!! :) 

ag2013 is offline  
post #29 of 30 Old 05-18-2014, 02:54 PM
Newbie
 
00Ref's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just did this to my th-42px75u manufactured in 2007 (2014 now) and it worked! Follow the diagram, took me way to long to find it without.
00Ref is offline  
post #30 of 30 Old 10-21-2014, 11:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just fixed my Panasonic Viera 50" using this method and it's working great!
joevalle0940 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic 42 Inch Th 42px75u Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off