TC-P46C2 Panasonic Viera plasma - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-06-2010, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
newtoplasma/HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought this a couple days ago at Best Buy. While I am happy with the screen size (looks big even 9 ft away), and the Wii looks great, I am not so thrilled with the initial settings for color/brightness/contrast/sharpness etc. I know there's some choices (Standard/Vivid/Cinema etc) but I really want to get the recommendations out here for the optimal settings - I think once I get the HD box from Verizon (FIOS service here) in a few days, I will enjoy channels in HD better...but I want the color/settings to be perfect. Any suggestions? Much appreciated
newtoplasma/HD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-06-2010, 12:42 PM
Member
 
REDEYEDSHOOTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought this TV @ my local Best Buy for only $599.99. Incredible set for its price. First and foremost, to be on the safe side, download this break-in software in any format you please (I prefer the memory card version - easier since this set has an SD card slot and it's also an infinite loop so you don't have to worry about restarting it):

http://www.eaprogramming.com/downloa...nload_main.htm

Let it break in this way for the first 50-100 hours of use. If you don't want to do this, then just use the plasma with the contrast and brightness turned down below 50 for 100-200 hours.

Don't know if you already know this, but burn-in/image retention (also known as "IR") is somewhat of a problem in plasmas, though it should be virtually nonexistent/negligable in the current ones (but always good to be safe). Breaking in a plasma will eliminate this problem so as long as you don't do something like leave a large, bright, static image on your screen for 4-6 hours straight. This would leave a "ghost" of the image either permanently (burn-in) or temporarily (IR). I'd suggest for you to acoid those black or grey bars during break-in as well.

As far as settings go, I always leave it on Cinema and just tweak the brightness and contrast to be between 80-95. You can tweek the rest to your liking.

BEst way to have it calibrated, though, is to call an ISF certified calibrator and have him use his high-tech equipment to give you the best picture you can possibly get. If you're not into forking another $300 over, then I suggest picking up an AVIA or Digital Video Essentials ( haven't done this yet but I [plan to order the DVE disc) disc for $15-$20 and use that to help calibrate your TV to get a great picture.

Enjoy your plasma!
REDEYEDSHOOTER is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-06-2010, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
newtoplasma/HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
REDEYE-thanks for the reply. Great info. Also got same price from BB too.

I didn't know about break-in software but will get it. (Note: we played about 6 hours of Wii over past couple days along w/some light TV...would that affect it still re: first 50-100 hours? Short of paying for expensive calibration, I can go with your suggestions of leaving contrast and brightness down below 50 initially and then move them up later w/Cinema setting. Also, will try using AVIA or DVE - where do I get this disc?

Basically, I want to make sure I'm not too late re: break-in period. Thanks!

newtoplasma/HD is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-06-2010, 10:02 PM
Member
 
REDEYEDSHOOTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can't really be too late for the break-in period. The longer you use it, the more it is broken in. If you've got no IR or burn-in then that's good just keep breaking it in. You can also buy a DVE disc from here:


http://www.overstock.com/Books-Movie...1/product.html

If you don't have blu-ray, try Amazon.com.
REDEYEDSHOOTER is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-01-2012, 07:04 PM
Member
 
dinosaur1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
newbie here

How do I get my local stations on this tv? Do I need a digital antenna? Which one is the best to get? I also have this same tv downstairs in my bedroom and basement..
dinosaur1 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 11-01-2012, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
hodges69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Do you have a supplier....cable,direct,dish.?if not you will need a HD
Antenna....an outside antenna is best..however,if that is not an option,I would try a Leaf amplified antenna.
hodges69 is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-01-2012, 07:17 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinosaur1 View Post

newbie here
How do I get my local stations on this tv? Do I need a digital antenna? Which one is the best to get? I also have this same tv downstairs in my bedroom and basement..

If you're talking about getting your local stations of the air for free, then you need an antenna but it doesn't need to be a digital antenna. An old UHF/VHF antenna should work as long as you're not too far from the broadcast towers.

Check this thread from the other day:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1436303/antenna-advice-for-panasonic-viera-tc-p50gt30

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off