Panasonic TC-PxxS2, TC-PxxU2 Firmware Issue - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 09-13-2010, 06:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JoJoDaClown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think there are plenty of people having issues with updating the firmware on their Panasonic TC-PxxS2, that it deserves it's own thread. It's getting overlooked in the owners thread.

Background:
When attempting to install the firmware for the TC-PxxS2, the TV alerts that the file cannot be read, prompting the message:
"Cannot read FILE. Please check FILE in SD card. (0002)"

The file downloaded from the website is SDImage.bin firmware version 1.32 for TC-P42S2, TC-P50S2, TC-P54S2, TC-P58S2, TC-P65S2, TC-P42U2, TC-P50U2, TC-P46S2

It's been attempted with SD, SDHC, both formatted to FAT or FAT32, using Windows or Panasonic's provided SD formatting program.

Please discuss ideas or successful attempt scenarios.
JoJoDaClown is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 09-13-2010, 07:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JoJoDaClown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoJoDaClown View Post

I think there are plenty of people having issues with updating the firmware on their Panasonic TC-PxxS2, that it deserves it's own thread. It's getting overlooked in the owners thread.

Background:
When attempting to install the firmware for the TC-PxxS2, the TV alerts that the file cannot be read, prompting the message:
"Cannot read FILE. Please check FILE in SD card. (0002)"

The file downloaded from the website is SDImage.bin firmware version 1.32 for TC-P42S2, TC-P50S2, TC-P54S2, TC-P58S2, TC-P65S2, TC-P42U2, TC-P50U2, TC-P46S2

It's been attempted with SD, SDHC, both formatted to FAT or FAT32, using Windows or Panasonic's provided SD formatting program.

Please discuss ideas or successful attempt scenarios.

I personally am having this issue and I have (Menu>About>Version) 0140-3110. Someone said this means Tuner 1.01 and Firmware 1.34 LarryInRI

One possibility is that the TV does not report a message when the firmware on the TV is a later version than the version on the SD Card.
JoJoDaClown is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 09-13-2010, 07:31 PM
Newbie
 
scokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
same issue with TC-50PS24, firmware from japan site:

panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/tv/download/2010/down_nap.html

tried many variations of OS, card, filesystem.

I'll go with the explanation that the firmware is already installed and the error message is useless.
scokar is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 09-13-2010, 09:14 PM
Member
 
pilillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how do i know if my tv needs it?
pilillo is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-14-2010, 06:54 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JoJoDaClown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scokar View Post

same issue with TC-50PS24, firmware from japan site:

panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/tv/download/2010/down_nap.html

tried many variations of OS, card, filesystem.

I'll go with the explanation that the firmware is already installed and the error message is useless.

Everyone that's having problems needs to provide what firmware version is currently installed on thier TV. (Menu>About>Version>Top number xxxx-xxxx)
JoJoDaClown is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-14-2010, 07:02 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JoJoDaClown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilillo View Post

how do i know if my tv needs it?

Your TV doesn't necessarily need a firmware update. Updates can fix issues that people are having. If you're not having any issues, then you don't need to update it. Some people, like me, are anal about having things up to date, so I go through with the updates.
JoJoDaClown is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 10-07-2010, 07:02 AM
Member
 
telc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a new TC-L37D2

Website shows 3.1 as latest firmware my TV menu shows 0350-1130, my tv was manufactured couple months after that date.

Is it safe to assume that I have the latest firmware?

When I tried to update using SD card I got: Cannot read FILE. Please check FILE in SD card. (0002)
telc is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-03-2010, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Skram0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: 10-02-02 baby!
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a TC-P50S2, and the firmware states: 0170-3110
Their site still states 1.32 is the latest?
Looks like this thread is probably dead anyway.
Skram0 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-03-2010, 08:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
fairchild99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skram0 View Post

I just purchased a TC-P50S2, and the firmware states: 0170-3110
Their site still states 1.32 is the latest?
Looks like this thread is probably dead anyway.

my P42S2 manufactured Sept-2010 shows 0160-3110 which according to another poster means I have tuner v1.01 and firmware v1.36

Latest on their site shows as v1.36

Yours would be 1.37

Sony 32" EX400 calibrated settings

Panasonic 50" S60 calibrated settings

HTPC/Sony S5100 to Sony HT-CT150 to Panasonic 55" VT60, Sony 32" EX400, Panasonic 50" S60

fairchild99 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-23-2011, 12:54 PM
Newbie
 
Derek Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Old thread I know but I just had the same issue and have the info needed.

On my TC-P58S2 I downloaded the 1.36 software and bought a new SD card for this.

To get my version number on my set I had to go to menu then scroll down to tools, then scroll down until the hidden screen came up with about.

The number at the top for TV on mine was 0170-3110.

That didn't help so I called Panasonic and other than a 15 minute wait for a live person got great service. It turns out mine has version 1.37 on it. The lady was nice enough to tell me how to read the code 0170-3110. So my set already had a higher version of the firmware on it.

That number is a code that contains both the version number of the tuner firmware, and the version number of the software on the TV.

I'll use my number for an example: 0170-3110
To get the software version number you read from left to right and skip the first number 0 and write down the next number 1. Then you skip the next number 7 and write down the 0. Then skip the 3 and write down the 1. then skip the 1 and write down the 0.

So my software version is 1.0.10 ( Ithink you drop any number after the first 0)

The find out the tuner firmware version you do the same thing from but from right to left.
Again I'll use my number for an example: 0170-3110

Skip the 0 and write down the 1. Then skip the 1 and write the 3. then skip the 0 and write the 7. Then skip the 1 and write down the 0.

So my firmware is version version 1.370 or 1.37 which is newer than the firmware update 1.36. The TV is smart enough apparently not to load the older version.

It would be nicer if it said I don't need it, instead of saying it can't read the card.

So for the other newbies get the TV version number from the TV and you can derive the tuner firmware version, and the Software version on the TV from it as above.

I am sure alll the experienced people here knew that, but when I googled it, it brought me here. No explanation of determining the version number of the tuner firmware from the number that comes up on the menu.

XXXX-XXXX
/X/X-/X/X is the software version read left to right where/=skipped number.
X/X/-X/X/ is the firmware version when done and read backwards where /=skipped number.

Hope that helps.
Derek Jr is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off