Official Panasonic GT20/25 Owner's Thread! - Page 83 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2012, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
sbsidlov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: the garden state
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://microcenter.com/product/357159/HDMI_Cables_6ft_2_Pack I have been using these for a while, reasonably priced for two.Settings are not going to be updated at this time.
sbsidlov is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2012, 04:14 PM
Member
 
Manny805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oxnard,Cali
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
appreciate the quick reply, good to see theres some one still in here. What are the best settings for this tv
Manny805 is offline  
Old 09-20-2012, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
sbsidlov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: the garden state
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just go back 60 posts.
sbsidlov is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 12:41 AM
Senior Member
 
marctronixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 33
lots of folks "are still here". i have two of these sets.... i am not going anywhere....
marctronixx is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
sbsidlov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: the garden state
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Questions for everyone,

I have one of these for a year now. I have noticed that occasionally I can see after burn images in the screen when the hdmi input device is off. Which setting do you use for the Pixel Orbiter? The Automatic Shift or the Periodic Shift? If the Periodic shift how many minutes? And is it worthwhile to use the Scrolling Bar? (I've always thought it's just a way to reduce the life of the screen.)

Also, what was the thought on HDMI RGB range? Standard or non-standard? It was non-standard wan't it, allowing material that was expanded to be shown unchanged?
sbsidlov is offline  
Old 10-11-2012, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
sbsidlov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: the garden state
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of the reasons I posted the expanded color question is that my WDLive doesn't stick to the 'deep color' option unless the tv is setup as non-standard. When two devices are set to auto don't they just take the first set default that match? I can tell the WDLive that I want deep color, but there's no other setting besides Auto for the HDMI and it's never deep color when the TV is set to auto and THX, so if the tv's set to Custom and the xv color setting is non-standard then the WDLive goes into deep color mode.....
sbsidlov is offline  
Old 01-12-2013, 09:39 AM
Member
 
lt1ssteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have experience with any of the UT50's? I have a 50GT25 and am in love with everything about it. Had it for almost two years now and was one heck of a bargain. Problem is that its in one room and I have a vizio led in another that is really hard to transition to. Id like something a little larger then a 50 so I waas considering the 55ut50, but would like a comparison. The room is a pretty dim lit room, and would be using it mostly for 1080 movies with some 3d viewing as well.
lt1ssteve is offline  
Old 01-12-2013, 06:16 PM
Member
 
rupaniii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just saw this. I wonder if it lets you reset hours. It warns not to... but i wonder if it resets the black level brightening feature?
Anyone pissed enough to try?
http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/hdtv-video-displays-processors/23475-how-check-hours-used-your-plasma.html#axzz2HoVKLC7K
rupaniii is offline  
Old 01-12-2013, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 549
If your tv ends up being a brick you have no one to blame but yourself

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
Old 01-13-2013, 10:29 PM
Member
 
lt1ssteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got some glasses and the whole 3d experience is pretty cool.. However I don't see much difference between 3d content and none 3d stuff with just the tv converting it to 3d. I only have UP in 3d and compared it to several other blu rays just letting the tv convert from 2d to 3d with it set to maximum. I found gas_leaks custom 3d settings about perfect for animated stuff.
lt1ssteve is offline  
Old 01-15-2013, 08:00 AM
Member
 
mikeytoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to unlock the thx pro settings in the service menu?
mikeytoth is offline  
Old 01-15-2013, 02:02 PM
Member
 
rupaniii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeytoth View Post

Is there a way to unlock the thx pro settings in the service menu?

Thankfully, the uptime seem immutable.

No Pro settings here.
I have tweaked the white level using the r/g/b gain and r/g/b cutoff levels. I never move them but a hair and always photograph the before settings.
I also increased the 'contrast' setting i found. Again, just 1 or 2 notches.

This is not a menu to get cute in.
If you think you see anything linked to current, don't mess with it.
Be conscious of which mode you are set to before you start messing with them, though i think VSUS is panel based and is global.
rupaniii is offline  
Old 01-15-2013, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeytoth View Post

Is there a way to unlock the thx pro settings in the service menu?

PM me I can help you with some settings, easier just to do it in custom mode

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
Old 07-01-2013, 02:06 AM
Newbie
 
Lukekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
xpand 103's are great. I have 3 pairs
Lukekj is offline  
Old 07-01-2013, 02:54 AM
Newbie
 
Lukekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Too bad no one ever put up any other service menu settings, besides Nutdonnet's
Lukekj is offline  
Old 07-01-2013, 03:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 549
Pm me I have some settings you can try

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
Old 11-13-2013, 08:59 PM
Member
 
Manic_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Just got a software update on my GT25...first one in a long while....will edit this post with what's new if I can tell.

EDIT:
-Panasonic Japan website says it is an update to the Skype app.
-My eyeballs say the contrast seems to have increased slightly.
marctronixx likes this.
Manic_D is offline  
Old 01-03-2014, 06:47 PM
Newbie
 
Pegasos123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello everyone... I am new here

I have a tx-p42gt20e (EU) and I am using it in a very dark room (over 500 hours) .
Most of the time PS4 and blu ray.

Currently my TV sometimes seems to have a yellowish and greenish tone to it.
I am using this settings from a German forum... Unfortunately nobody responds to my questions on that forum.

Mode : Prof 1

Contrast : 37
Brightness : 0
Color : 28
Sharpness : 3
Colour-Management: off
ECO-Modus: off
PNR: off

Advanced settings :
Gamma:
Gamma: 2,4

Whitebalance? (Weißabgleich) :
Weißabgl. Rot: +10 (white red)
Weißabgl. Grün: +5 (white green)
Weißabgl. Blau: 0 (white blue)
Grauabgl. Rot +4 (Grey red)
Grauabgl. Grün: 0 (Grey green)
Grauabgl. Blau +6 (Grey blue)

Does anybody have some recommend settings for this TV?
I don't have a problem with service menu settings.

I hope you can help me :-)
Pegasos123 is offline  
Old 01-04-2014, 12:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Hi Pegasos. Your tv is a lot different that the North American sets. You'd probably be better off doing it yourself with something like the Disney World of Wonder or something like that.
marctronixx likes this.

sheshechic is offline  
Old 01-04-2014, 04:44 AM
Newbie
 
Pegasos123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Okay thank you
I hoped here is someone with experience of the European model

Is the AVS calibration disc as good as Disney wow?
Pegasos123 is offline  
Old 01-05-2014, 12:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pegasos123 View Post

Okay thank you
I hoped here is someone with experience of the European model

Is the AVS calibration disc as good as Disney wow?

Better

Have you tried AVForum for help? I believe that they're UK based.
marctronixx likes this.

sheshechic is offline  
Old 01-05-2014, 05:27 AM
Newbie
 
Pegasos123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheshechic View Post

Better

Have you tried AVForum for help? I believe that they're UK based.

I will give it a try... Thanks
marctronixx likes this.
Pegasos123 is offline  
Old 02-22-2014, 12:35 PM
Member
 
sellanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a GT25, How would I duplicate the THX setting and make it exact with the Custom setting? What I would like to do is use custom for day viewing and THX for night viewing. The problem im having is nothing looks as good as the THX setting no matter what I do under custom. I use the Disney WOW blu ray to calibrate and it does an excellent job but THX always looks better.

Is this at all possible, maybe by going to the Server menu? Ive been under there and when I switch through modes I do not see a THX setting to see the advanced setup.
sellanoid is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 104
I know i am late to the party,but I found a mint condition 42" GT25 for $400 is that a good buy? It has very low hours (at least according to owner) and no IR/burn in.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 549
I used to own that set(50")it was a pretty good performer, price might be a little high tho

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
Old Today, 09:04 PM
Newbie
 
AuditorGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sellanoid View Post
I have a GT25, How would I duplicate the THX setting and make it exact with the Custom setting? What I would like to do is use custom for day viewing and THX for night viewing. The problem im having is nothing looks as good as the THX setting no matter what I do under custom. I use the Disney WOW blu ray to calibrate and it does an excellent job but THX always looks better.

Is this at all possible, maybe by going to the Server menu? Ive been under there and when I switch through modes I do not see a THX setting to see the advanced setup.
I have the 50GT25 and use the gasLeak settings on post #433 of this thread on page 15 for me. He has custom and THX. I don't think you'll ever get custom to be quite as good as THX but I think it could be good enough for day viewing.

This is a great set I love my plasma. Not sure if I should buy a 60" Samsung 8500 plasma before they are gone forever. I'm in a condo and other option is set up a projector or wait for OLED. Sad to see plasma die.
AuditorGT is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off