The Official LG PX950 3DTV Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 71 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2101 of 2124 Old 02-20-2015, 07:25 PM
Senior Member
 
avfanatic1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedford, MA
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsasha92x View Post
Hello avfantatic1, darkdawgpico, and rumps,

I got my LG 60PX950 back in 2010 when it was first released and I'm now having the same issue as you guys with the HDMI ports not working. All the analog inputs are fully function, the TV has the latest firmware/software, and the TV detects when a HDMI device is connected. Could any of you help me out with finding a solution before I go ahead and get a new tv?

Thanks
Guess it looks like the biggest issue this TV has is the hdmi ports failing :/

Only option is to try to find an hdmi board used (which I ended up doing for around $200 half a year ago). Would you be able to swap the board if you could get one?
avfanatic1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2102 of 2124 Old 02-21-2015, 08:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Main board, swap 4 channel HDMI switch

Hi all!

I recently got one of these TV:s from a friend when the HDMI ports stopped working and he was going to throw it away. After reading up on this problem and finding this forum thread I think I have an idea of what could be wrong with the board. I think all the 4 HDMI ports go to the TDA19997 IC on the main board, which is a 4-port HDMI switch. If you search for this component on for ex mouser electronics its been replaced with the TDA19998 which is the same component (pin-compatible). So my thought was that obviously there was something wrong with the TDA19997 and that would explain why so many have the same error on this TV. It wouldn't surprise me if the new boards have the TDA19998 instead. But of course all this is just speculative until I get the board out and swap the component. If anyone have a new board it would help to if you could post a picture on it for comparison.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fvfWVo8_crop.jpg
Views:	296
Size:	294.8 KB
ID:	558841  
murta is offline  
post #2103 of 2124 Old 03-28-2015, 06:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have the same problem - all 4 HDMI ports not functioning.


I look forward to anyone who has come up with a simple fix to this major problem with this type of TV.
Ram9 is offline  
post #2104 of 2124 Old 04-14-2015, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Lg 60px950

I also got this issue with my tv from 2011 here in sweden. The screen works fine and internet apps but HDMI don't work. It recognize what port im using but no picture just the screen "no signal". I also look for a way of solving this......one way may be to contact the insurance company and I pay some bucks and get me a new tv ;-). Still it is a good tv and I really love it so if it is possible to fix it, it would be nice!
The proposal that it could be the switch thing sound like a good ide. I see that the tv tells connecting and it take some seconds and "no signal".
Toobyy is offline  
post #2105 of 2124 Old 04-14-2015, 02:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toobyy View Post
I also got this issue with my tv from 2011 here in sweden. The screen works fine and internet apps but HDMI don't work. It recognize what port im using but no picture just the screen "no signal". I also look for a way of solving this......one way may be to contact the insurance company and I pay some bucks and get me a new tv ;-). Still it is a good tv and I really love it so if it is possible to fix it, it would be nice!
The proposal that it could be the switch thing sound like a good ide. I see that the tv tells connecting and it take some seconds and "no signal".



By the way I will call LG support tomorrow and just hear what they say..... I van write here what the answer is...
Toobyy is offline  
post #2106 of 2124 Old 04-21-2015, 08:04 PM
Newbie
 
darkdawgpico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Angry

Toobyy, have you heard anything helpful from LG?

I haven't been able to find a replacement board so I've been limited to using component connections for HD. I really want to use my bluray DVD player to watch 3D movies again... Still searching for a fix.
darkdawgpico is offline  
post #2107 of 2124 Old 04-24-2015, 11:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Answer from LG support!

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkdawgpico View Post
Toobyy, have you heard anything helpful from LG?

I haven't been able to find a replacement board so I've been limited to using component connections for HD. I really want to use my bluray DVD player to watch 3D movies again... Still searching for a fix.



Hello,


Sorry for my late reply....I have called them and got an answer. I have some links to share here but need to write 5 reply before it was possible to post links...I have only posted two times here so I just make some bla bla replys..
Toobyy is offline  
post #2108 of 2124 Old 04-24-2015, 11:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
one more..
Toobyy is offline  
post #2109 of 2124 Old 04-24-2015, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Answer from LG support!

I hope it works after this one.....
I hope I don't get thrown out for this... ;-)
Toobyy is offline  
post #2110 of 2124 Old 04-24-2015, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Answer from LG support!

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkdawgpico View Post
Toobyy, have you heard anything helpful from LG?

I haven't been able to find a replacement board so I've been limited to using component connections for HD. I really want to use my bluray DVD player to watch 3D movies again... Still searching for a fix.



Hello,


Sorry for my late reply. I called support and it turned out that LG have home repair with a fixed price 3990 kr (Swedish currency) about 462dollar. For this price they fix anything except the panel. If it is that who is the problem you will give you an offer how much it will cost. Any how I just provide my address and serial number and some more things that is to be found on the tv. One day later one guy come to our house and he fixed it within 30min. It was the main board as everybody here also have guessed. LG have one site for each country that you can order spare parts from as I understand. I live in Sweden and here the site is http://lgdelar.se/.
They have this main board here --> http://lgdelar.se/tv/kretskort/ebt61254601-mainboard/.
It cost 2299 kr (Swedish currency). It is about 266dollar.
I did not want to take the chance on replacing this by myself if it was not that problem. That was the reason to why I payed so they come and fixed it.
If you want to fix it by your self it was a easy thing just of with the back plate and remove the cables and unscrew the card in back with the new one. screw it all back again. One thing that I saw this guy doing was that he filled in the serial number and the product code (60px950N) in my case. So writ these things down before cause what I saw this screen appeared at once the tv started again. But I'm not sure its needed and I'm not sure if he just used his special LG-repair remote that he had with him...that could have been the case and that's the reason to why this screen appears. I think that the reason to why he entered these numbers in is due to if you want to update the firmware it may use these to compare some lines in the firmware to check that you have the right one for just that model. But im not sure.


Bottom line. Call LG support they told me about this site from where I could order spare parts and do it my self. They where really helpful. One more thing I asked them if even thou my tv was 4 years old if they could do this as goodwill or what to call it due to the reason that I found so many on the internet that had the same problem. They looked in to this and told me later on that they did not see that it was so may that had had this issue so they could do this. But what the heck ask them you also you may not get the same answer.... :-)


Good luck!! :-)
Toobyy is offline  
post #2111 of 2124 Old 04-24-2015, 11:57 AM
Newbie
 
darkdawgpico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the reply Toobyy!
darkdawgpico is offline  
post #2112 of 2124 Old 04-24-2015, 12:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkdawgpico View Post
Thanks for the reply Toobyy!
I saw now that I had a lot spelling errors but I hope it was possible to understand anyway... :-)
Toobyy is offline  
post #2113 of 2124 Old 08-04-2015, 12:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Where can we get this part in the States? Had my 50px950 since 2010 and today all 4 ports stopped working.need help quick. i have searched for hours
Jason Hudgins is offline  
post #2114 of 2124 Old 08-12-2015, 01:24 PM
Newbie
 
bpb31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm also now having the same problem with my almost 5 year old 60PX950. None of the HDMI inputs will work. I'm pretty sure I can handle swapping out the main board but I can't find one online and I'm not even sure if I'm looking for the right part. Does anyone know the exact part number? Will this part work:

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-...799167315.html
bpb31 is offline  
post #2115 of 2124 Old 08-16-2015, 03:31 PM
Newbie
 
exerdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Trying to reply to bpb31, but I need to make 5 posts, so pardon my repeat posts!
exerdoc is offline  
post #2116 of 2124 Old 08-16-2015, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
exerdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Trying to reply to bpb31, but I need to make 4 more posts, so pardon my repeat posts!
exerdoc is offline  
post #2117 of 2124 Old 08-16-2015, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
exerdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Trying to reply to bpb31, but I need to make 3 more posts, so pardon my repeat posts!
exerdoc is offline  
post #2118 of 2124 Old 08-16-2015, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
exerdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Trying to reply to bpb31, but I need to make 2 more posts, so pardon my repeat posts!
exerdoc is offline  
post #2119 of 2124 Old 08-16-2015, 03:33 PM
Newbie
 
exerdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Trying to reply to bpb31, but I need to make one more post, so pardon my repeat posts!
exerdoc is offline  
post #2120 of 2124 Old 08-16-2015, 03:40 PM
Newbie
 
exerdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Check out this link: http://zedic.com/lg-42dl550-fix-repair/

I just fixed my LG 60PX950 by baking the control board for 15 minutes at 390 degrees (see one of the last reply posts by texerdoc). All four HDMI ports have been working so far since this procedure. Because of the swiveling feature of the stand, I was able to remove the back of the TV without having to lay the TV face down on a flat surface. If it works for you, you'll save a lot of time and money!
darkdawgpico likes this.
exerdoc is offline  
post #2121 of 2124 Old 10-31-2015, 12:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Good info on this forum about the no sound no picture issue. I called LG customer service and after going through the diagnostics with them they concluded the problem is the main board. No surprise there. Amazingly, they offered to schedule an in home repair with an LG service rep for $190 plus tax ALL IN. This price includes the service call, repair and parts! Today is Saturday and the repair is scheduled for Tuesday morning. I will update if the pricing or repair go sideways from what they promised.
CyclePaul is offline  
post #2122 of 2124 Old 11-25-2015, 06:09 PM
Newbie
 
xsasha92x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So like most of you, I've had my LG 60PX950 for several years now and it crapped out on me a few months ago. At first it was just the issue where none of the hdmi ports worked, just the analog. But then another issue developed: the screen would only work intermittently. After a few minutes, the image would go crazy and then the display would go black. After 5-10 minutes or so, the display would reappear again but only for a brief amount of time. Just in the past couple of weeks, I replaced the main board and the zsus board. The new main board repaired the hdmi issue however, I still have an issue with the display not working. Now with the new components, the image lasts much longer and when the display does go black, a press of the reset button on the 3D board brings the display back to life for a few minutes. If anybody could help me with some advice as to which board I still need to replace, that would be greatly appreciated.
xsasha92x is offline  
post #2123 of 2124 Old 01-10-2016, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
bpb31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpb31 View Post
I'm also now having the same problem with my almost 5 year old 60PX950. None of the HDMI inputs will work. I'm pretty sure I can handle swapping out the main board but I can't find one online and I'm not even sure if I'm looking for the right part. Does anyone know the exact part number? Will this part work:

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-...799167315.html
I got mine working! For future reference I did not order the part in the above link but did try the motherboard baking fix and it worked! I had no sound at all and none of the HDMI inputs worked. I baked the MB for 12 minutes at 385 degrees, turned the oven off, and then let it cool in the oven with the door open for around an hour. After I reinstalled the MB both the sound and the HDMI inputs now work. The hardest part was getting this heavy TV off the highly mounted wall mount and back up. The back cover comes off easily (lots of screws) and the motherboard connectors are easy to remove. The trickiest cable to remove is the ribbon cable. You don't pull it out until you release the top catch. Google "remove LG motherboard ribbon cable" for a video that shows how to do it. I think the video I watched was for a samsung but its the same type of cable.

Knocking on wood that this fix works for at least a few more years because I really like this TV!

As posted above here is the link to with the baking instructions: http://zedic.com/lg-42dl550-fix-repair/

Thanks
bpb31 is offline  
post #2124 of 2124 Old 06-01-2016, 04:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone,

I've got a 60PX950 that I bought back in 2010.

Yesterday, when I turned the tv on, I saw a thin (2 pixels wide), red, vertical line on the screen. It's located approximately 20cm to the right from the centre.
I'm not entirely sure it's the screen itself, or if it's due to some being loose, etc.
The line is there despite removing theatre system, using different inputs, connections, resetting the tv, etc, etc.

Today I removed the back cover, and I've done my best to make sure no cables, etc, are loose.
There are a few of those "flat" cables that have some yellow tape on them, so all I've been able to do with those is apply a bit of pressure to make sure they're going into the sockets the way they should be, so to speak.

Does anyone know what could be the issue here?
Finding a new control board seems to be quite hard.
And for good measure there are different people online referring to different boards, when referring to the so called "control board", so I don't even know which one to order, if I needed to test a new one that is.

I haven't contacted LG or store I bought it from yet, since the tv is 6 years old and the warranty, etc, only covered the first couple of years.

Does anyone have a suggestion?

Thank you in advance!
Rioux is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off