Samsung HPT4234 Plasma Clicking sounds when power cord is plugged in... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 10-22-2010, 10:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
steve4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone well I can honestly say that I tried my best looking around this forum for my TV model and issue that I am having but I found nothing in regards to my TV so I'm posting this for anybody else who has a similar problem as I do with the model TV...
OK here we GO
Again this is a Samsung HPT4234 Plasma ( if you need more info about the TV let me know?)
I did my research and found some great advice for the Clicking sound that comes from my TV everything I found kept pointing to the Power Board and in particular the Capacitors so I proceeded to check for myself sure enough I had one swollen capacitor it was a 2200uf (micro-farads) 10V 105 Celsius cap so I then followed the fix given by the research I did, and went out to find replacement caps I figured I should replace both as there were two one right next to the other but only one was bad, so I de-solder and solder on the caps the new caps I got were 2200uf 16V 105 Celsius most of the fixes that people have done stated that they used similar Farads and Degrees but different voltage's so I figured I could do the same after I made sure that my soldering job was good and cleaned I proceeded to plug the power back expecting the same result as everyone else life back to my TV <<< NOPE >>> zip, zero, nada same issue still have the clicking sound but now I can hear the components on the power board charge up and when I unplug the power cord the power button will go from displaying nothing to a solid blue circle and it will remain on till the power is dissipated from the board, after the huge disappointment I tried to find someone else whose simple fix wasn't so simple so far the only thing I was able to find different was to check the fuse's which I never thought to check so I checked then and they tested fine...
So my question is did I use the wrong caps is there in fact a fix for this issue????
Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Steve
steve4speed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 10-23-2010, 09:22 AM
Member
 
zrxmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try this thread: http://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=62360

This fix worked for me. Make sure you have the polarity of the capacitors correct.
zrxmike is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 10-23-2010, 08:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
steve4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply zrxmike I double checked and the polarity is fine is there anything else should I replace the caps with the original size that link you gave so guys replacing caps with 1000uf but 16v, 25v, 35v, not sure if I should trying something like that?

Thanks for that advice
steve4speed is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off