James Cameron's Preferred Settings for VT25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 166 Old 12-01-2010, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rfic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
panasonic just release their Avatar 3D, and there's a link claimed as "James Cameron's Preferred Settings" for VT25

has anyone tried it and what's difference between this setting vs D-NICE's setting?

i'm not allow to post link here, so just search panasonic 3d avatar
rfic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 166 Old 12-01-2010, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,338
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 210
D-nice vs cameron? lovely.

Pretty sure thats all PR talk anyway.

Heres the link to his settings

http://panasonic.net:80/avc/viera/us...ealSettings#vt

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #3 of 166 Old 12-01-2010, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Goatse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pineapple under the sea
Posts: 3,875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
JC doesn't watch no 65inch tv. Hes got a 300 person theater built in his replica of the titanic.
Goatse is offline  
post #4 of 166 Old 12-01-2010, 03:59 PM
Member
 
Fox1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So has anyone tried these out yet?
Fox1966 is offline  
post #5 of 166 Old 12-01-2010, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ratm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goatse View Post

JC doesn't watch no 65inch tv. Hes got a 300 person theater built in his replica of the titanic.

Maybe in front of one of his crappers he might...
ratm is offline  
post #6 of 166 Old 12-01-2010, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frohlich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Step 4 says:

The figure for the 65/58VT30 is "+95".

Is this a typo or a hint of the next model to be released

BTW, I am sure he has "people" who calibrate his video equipment. I have a hard time believing he is ISF certified...I am just saying. I hope his 473 million dollar payday from Avatar was enough to spring for one of these fancy dancy VT25 series plasmas...with THX
Frohlich is offline  
post #7 of 166 Old 12-01-2010, 07:36 PM
Newbie
 
Sstixrud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had my vt25 professionally calibrated and I am wondering if I can just restore the service menu settings and get the same 2d white level and colors post firmware upgrade?

Has anyone tested to see what exactly this avatar "firmware" does? It seems odd a firmware would significantly change image quality / service menu defaults...
Sstixrud is offline  
post #8 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 07:28 AM
Member
 
Drew220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sstixrud View Post

I had my vt25 professionally calibrated and I am wondering if I can just restore the service menu settings and get the same 2d white level and colors post firmware upgrade?

Has anyone tested to see what exactly this avatar "firmware" does? It seems odd a firmware would significantly change image quality / service menu defaults...


The warning on the download page says that you cannot restore previous image quality after installing the firmware update.
Drew220 is offline  
post #9 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 07:37 AM
Member
 
Fox1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I wonder what that statment means, though..."cannot restore previous image quality"? Since this is a firmware update, doesn't that mean that it is changing or adding something? If it was was just changing settings, then those could be changed back in some way, so isn't this something more than that? I've been trying to find evidence of what this does all morning by searching the net, and have been unsuccessful. I'm dying to know if this is something that will in some way improve image quality when watching all movies. This new firmware is 3.5, the one I have now is 3.0, so has anyone seen what the changes are? Usually, I upgrade to the newest firmware on just about everything (I thought that was always suggested, as firmwares are usually improvements or fixes in some way, correct?), but would like some more information first.
Fox1966 is offline  
post #10 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 07:43 AM
Member
 
Drew220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox1966 View Post

I wonder what that statment means, though..."cannot restore previous image quality"? Since this is a firmware update, doesn't that mean that it is changing or adding something? If it was was just changing settings, then those could be changed back in some way, so isn't this something more than that? I've been trying to find evidence of what this does all morning by searching the net, and have been unsuccessful. I'm dying to know if this is something that will in some way improve image quality when watching all movies. This new firmware is 3.5, the one I have now is 3.0, so has anyone seen what the changes are? Usually, I upgrade to the newest firmware on just about everything (I thought that was always suggested, as firmwares are usually improvements or fixes in some way, correct?), but would like some more information first.

It also says that it changes all modes including custom ISF, except for the vivid setting. For some reason they left Vivid alone.
Drew220 is offline  
post #11 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Fox1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's the one mode I DON'T use, lol! I am really surprised to find that there's not more information about this, or people talking about it, since most of the time people are all over a new firmware when it comes out. I hope that someone is brave enough to try it, and give us a report soon...but I'm too chicken to do it myself!
Fox1966 is offline  
post #12 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frohlich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 128
I think everyone is scared to try it and loose their settings. I wish Panasonic would disclose what the firmware update does in detail...from the brief description it almost seems to be for 3d only.
Frohlich is offline  
post #13 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 09:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rfic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hopefully d-nice will check this version of firmware to see if his setting still works best for the new version
rfic is offline  
post #14 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 10:20 AM
Member
 
Dwellon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yesterday afternoon I decided to install this new firmware on my 65VT25. Since I have not made any changes to my service menu and won't be having the set ISF calibrated until early next year I figured I would give it a shot.

The firmware installed with no issues. After the install I checked my settings for the different modes I use (Game, THX, Custom for 2D and Custom for 3D), all my settings in the menu remained the same, including Custom in 3D.

PQ on the 2D modes looked the same as before. But PQ on the Custom 3D mode did look different compared to before the upgrade. So whatever changes this firmware makes, it seems to be strictly on the service menu side.

After inputting the settings listed from the Panasonic Avatar site, I watched a little bit of Ice Age, and to me the 3D PQ looked alot better than it did before. The biggest change for me was the colors. The colors with this new update look similar to the 2D THX mode.

Before anyone asks, I am unable to compare to D-Nice's settings since I did not use them prior to the update. (But I did use his Break-In procedure) The reason for this is that I did not want to go into my service menu. But I did use his contrast and Brightness settings, but that was about it. I also had CATS, NR, AGC, Blur Reduction and etc all turned off or at the 0 setting.

I'll watch some more 3D tonight since I only watched about 15 - 20 minutes of 3D so far with this new update. But as of now I am impressed with it. I decided
Dwellon is offline  
post #15 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
redwolf4k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwellon View Post

Yesterday afternoon I decided to install this new firmware on my 65VT25. Since I have not made any changes to my service menu and won't be having the set ISF calibrated until early next year I figured I would give it a shot.

The firmware installed with no issues. After the install I checked my settings for the different modes I use (Game, THX, Custom for 2D and Custom for 3D), all my settings in the menu remained the same, including Custom in 3D.

PQ on the 2D modes looked the same as before. But PQ on the Custom 3D mode did look different compared to before the upgrade. So whatever changes this firmware makes, it seems to be strictly on the service menu side.

After inputting the settings listed from the Panasonic Avatar site, I watched a little bit of Ice Age, and to me the 3D PQ looked alot better than it did before. The biggest change for me was the colors. The colors with this new update look similar to the 2D THX mode.

Before anyone asks, I am unable to compare to D-Nice's settings since I did not use them prior to the update. (But I did use his Break-In procedure) The reason for this is that I did not want to go into my service menu. But I did use his contrast and Brightness settings, but that was about it. I also had CATS, NR, AGC, Blur Reduction and etc all turned off or at the 0 setting.

I'll watch some more 3D tonight since I only watched about 15 - 20 minutes of 3D so far with this new update. But as of now I am impressed with it. I decided

So what your saying is, the firmware gets 3D content visually in-line with the 2D THX mode?

Sounds like an improvement to me.
redwolf4k is offline  
post #16 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 10:39 AM
Member
 
Pabgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwellon View Post

Yesterday afternoon I decided to install this new firmware on my 65VT25. Since I have not made any changes to my service menu and won't be having the set ISF calibrated until early next year I figured I would give it a shot.

The firmware installed with no issues. After the install I checked my settings for the different modes I use (Game, THX, Custom for 2D and Custom for 3D), all my settings in the menu remained the same, including Custom in 3D.

PQ on the 2D modes looked the same as before. But PQ on the Custom 3D mode did look different compared to before the upgrade. So whatever changes this firmware makes, it seems to be strictly on the service menu side.

After inputting the settings listed from the Panasonic Avatar site, I watched a little bit of Ice Age, and to me the 3D PQ looked alot better than it did before. The biggest change for me was the colors. The colors with this new update look similar to the 2D THX mode.

Before anyone asks, I am unable to compare to D-Nice's settings since I did not use them prior to the update. (But I did use his Break-In procedure) The reason for this is that I did not want to go into my service menu. But I did use his contrast and Brightness settings, but that was about it. I also had CATS, NR, AGC, Blur Reduction and etc all turned off or at the 0 setting.

I'll watch some more 3D tonight since I only watched about 15 - 20 minutes of 3D so far with this new update. But as of now I am impressed with it. I decided

Are you familiar with the floating blacks issue? I would like to know if Panasonic did something about that.
Pabgon is offline  
post #17 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 11:02 AM
Member
 
Dwellon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My experience yes. But someone else who has used d-nice's setting or has had their tv professionally calibrated may have a different experience.
Dwellon is offline  
post #18 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 11:05 AM
Member
 
Dwellon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I'm familiar with floating blacks and experienced them with the previous update. I'll test it out tonight. Thanks for bringing that up, I didn't think to test that.
Dwellon is offline  
post #19 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 11:08 AM
Member
 
Pabgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwellon View Post

My experience yes. But someone else who has used d-nice's setting or has had their tv professionally calibrated may have a different experience.

I use D-nice settings and his service menu offsets and I can clearly see the floating blacks...when possible please check out any movie where you have noticed the floating black issue and tell of us if you still notice it with the new firmware, thanks....
Pabgon is offline  
post #20 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rfic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabgon View Post

I use D-nice settings and his service menu offsets and I can clearly see the floating blacks...when possible please check out any movie where you have noticed the floating black issue and tell of us if you still notice it with the new firmware, thanks....

can i ask what is "floating blacks"? how i can check it?

i change service menu according to d-nice's setting, so i wonder if i upgrade, what will happen
rfic is offline  
post #21 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 11:51 AM
Member
 
Pabgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfic View Post

can i ask what is "floating blacks"? how i can check it?

i change service menu according to d-nice's setting, so i wonder if i upgrade, what will happen

Everything you want to know about floating blacks in here....

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1236475

In summary it occurs mostly on dark, dim scenes, what you will see are changes in the black content, like a brightness fluctuation, it's easily visible on the top and bottom bars of 2.35 movies....if you have the Dark Knight blu ray play chapter 37 and you will see what I'm talking about.
Pabgon is offline  
post #22 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 03:58 PM
Member
 
Drew220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I downloaded the new update and installed it but it does nothing. I have the VT20 and it will not let me in the Pro 3d settings. Is this normal??
Drew220 is offline  
post #23 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 04:00 PM
Member
 
Dwellon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew220 View Post

I downloaded the new update and installed it but it does nothing. I have the VT20 and it will not let me in the Pro 3d settings. Is this normal??

Are you watching 3d when trying to access it? I think pro 3d settings only comes up when the tv is in 3d mode.
Dwellon is offline  
post #24 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 04:21 PM
Member
 
Drew220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got into it by turning blur reduction to off. Still; my tv's setting after the firmware update looks nothing like what they had listed on Panasonic's website. The VT20 also lacks the hue adjustments. I clanged everything to match what was listed on their site. I also think the update only affected 3d settings.
Drew220 is offline  
post #25 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 87
coming in 2011: James Cameron designed Panasonic VT30...the only way to experience Avatar 3D at home is with his 'unique' specifications
TitusTroy is offline  
post #26 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 07:07 PM
Member
 
Dwellon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabgon View Post


Are you familiar with the floating blacks issue? I would like to know if Panasonic did something about that.

Hey pabgon, I just watched chapter 37 of the dark knight and the floating blacks are still there. So the avatar firmware does not fix this issue.
Dwellon is offline  
post #27 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Noah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It'll turn everybody blue!

Noah is offline  
post #28 of 166 Old 12-02-2010, 10:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rfic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just install this avatar ver (3.5), i find the service menu & picture setup value is same as before (i modified them according to d-nice before firmware upgrade)

as far as quality, can't tell difference (sorry, bad eyes)
rfic is offline  
post #29 of 166 Old 12-03-2010, 02:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfic View Post

i just install this avatar ver (3.5), i find the service menu & picture setup value is same as before (i modified them according to d-nice before firmware upgrade)

as far as quality, can't tell difference (sorry, bad eyes)

Maybe D-Nice settings are that good. I'm using his settings and love the picture on mine. The biggest difference when I set up my VT25 according to his instructions was 3D Custom mode. Looks like I'm sticking with what I got.

"The powerful will be ripped from their decadent nests. And cast out into the cold world that we know and endure. Courts will be convened. Spoils will be enjoyed!"

 

-Bane

ThePrisoner is offline  
post #30 of 166 Old 12-03-2010, 04:28 AM
Member
 
Wizardkt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my vt25, great set. Where can I find the 3.5 firmware? I just see 3.0 at the Panasonic support site. Thanks.
Wizardkt is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off