Official Panasonic 2011 TC-PxxST30 Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 01:55 PM
Member
 
Robert311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerianne View Post

Robert,


I would strongly suggest you estimate, rather than getting involved with the SM to check hours, especially if you're not familiar with it. It's too easy to do something you don't want to do in the SM. You'll certainly be close enough for what you need just by estimating.

Best,
Greg

OK, if there's no way my tv keeps track of how many hours I've logged, then I'll just give it my best estimate. It just seems like so many people say..."100 hours", "120 hours", etc. that they've logged watching their tv, and I've just wondered how exactly do they know?? But I'll just keep track in my head how many hours I've watched. By the end of tonight, I'll have logged about 25 hours. About 22 of those hours are from Band of Brothers just playing in the background with my dim Standard settings (Contrast 50, Brightness 47). The other 3 hours are from me actually sitting down and watching Avatar with my Custom settings (Contrast 100, Brightness 65). I figured those 3 hours wouldn't ruin anything.

EDIT: I just checked out that link and saw how to find out how many hours I've watched my tv for. It looks like I was underestimating... I've already watched 20 hours!!! So by the end of tonight, I'll be around 30 hours. Thanks for that link! That was awesome!

LOST is the best tv show ever.

Go Dodgers!

Go Lakers!
Robert311 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 02:03 PM
Member
 
Robert311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandu View Post

Can't link from here to there so....

Google => Official How to Check Hours Used on Your Plasma => 1st entry

Thank you!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

Anyone seen the 50 with a bundle for glasses?

That's what I want to know!! But I don't think there is right now.

LOST is the best tv show ever.

Go Dodgers!

Go Lakers!
Robert311 is offline  
post #633 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert311 View Post

Thank you!!



That's what I want to know!! But I don't think there is right now.

Yah I can'tfind any, was considering returning my sammy for one but with the cost of glasses its too much.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #634 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 02:26 PM
Member
 
Robert311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

Yah I can'tfind any, was considering returning my sammy for one but with the cost of glasses its too much.

We only have a few choices... Best Buy sells the essentials kit, so does Panasonic, and Amazon.

LOST is the best tv show ever.

Go Dodgers!

Go Lakers!
Robert311 is offline  
post #635 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
mobilejunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MASKOAA View Post

I bought a Samsung UN40D6000 LED-LCD 2 days ago and everything about it is perfect except when playing videogames colors tend to blur in darker games when you turn. At BB both TVs are exactly the same price, do you think I would be a happy camper if I exchanged it for the 42ST30?

I would. 2" bigger and 3D (not sure if the 6000 is 3D). The ST looks very nice, I've seen it in person.
mobilejunkie is offline  
post #636 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert311 View Post

We only have a few choices... Best Buy sells the essentials kit, so does Panasonic, and Amazon.

Hmmm, return the 51D550 and get a 50GT25 and essentials kit from amazon for about $1250.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #637 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
mobilejunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post


Hmmm, return the 51D550 and get a 50GT25 and essentials kit from amazon for about $1250.

Also sounds like a good idea.
mobilejunkie is offline  
post #638 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilejunkie View Post

Also sounds like a good idea.

I really like the sammy but my wife's computer is on the other side of the living room and I can clearly see her monitor right in the middle of the screen.

If she turns on the lamp its pretty hard to watch tv. The glare is pretty bad.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #639 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 03:31 PM
Member
 
sponge14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got home from BestBuy with my new 55ST30. I am downloading the break in DVD right now. I know Cleveland said they don't normally post settings for their calibrations... I remember on here someone does post them, and seeing how from what I read this TV can be calibrated so close to perfect from the user menu I would like to know what kind of settings people are using.

Also, for the break in do you want to use Standard mode or Vivid?
sponge14 is offline  
post #640 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Robert311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sponge14 View Post

I just got home from BestBuy with my new 55ST30. I am downloading the break in DVD right now. I know Cleveland said they don't normally post settings for their calibrations... I remember on here someone does post them, and seeing how from what I read this TV can be calibrated so close to perfect from the user menu I would like to know what kind of settings people are using.

Also, for the break in do you want to use Standard mode or Vivid?

Congrats man. I have the 50" with about 22 hours on it and counting.

I'm not the genius a/v guy, but it seems like standard is the ideal break-in setting... keep the contrast near 50. you want a dim picture.

LOST is the best tv show ever.

Go Dodgers!

Go Lakers!
Robert311 is offline  
post #641 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 03:41 PM
 
Nobl3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert311 View Post

Congrats man. I have the 50" with about 22 hours on it and counting.

I'm not the genius a/v guy, but it seems like standard is the ideal break-in setting... keep the contrast near 50. you want a dim picture.

If you are running slides non-stop, you are supposed to have it on Vivid.

If you are watching tv in between slides, turn your contrast down to 50.
Nobl3 is offline  
post #642 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 03:48 PM
Member
 
Robert311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobl3 View Post

If you are running slides non-stop, you are supposed to have it on Vivid.

If you are watching tv in between slides, turn your contrast down to 50.

I don't have slides... just watching 1.78:1 material. (Band of Brothers)

I have my contrast at 50.

LOST is the best tv show ever.

Go Dodgers!

Go Lakers!
Robert311 is offline  
post #643 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
MASKOAA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whats the difference between the S30 and the ST30? Is it just 3d? Both are listed as NEW models on BB website.
MASKOAA is offline  
post #644 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Prof.Who's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MASKOAA View Post

Whats the difference between the S30 and the ST30? Is it just 3d? Both are listed as NEW models on BB website.

The ST has more features and a better panel. The S30 is an entry level model.
Prof.Who is offline  
post #645 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 04:06 PM
Member
 
Robert311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MASKOAA View Post

Whats the difference between the S30 and the ST30? Is it just 3d? Both are listed as NEW models on BB website.

besides 3D, the ST comes with the wi-fi adapter. The S doesn't come with it, and it costs around $80. And the ST's panel might be slightly better. But even if it wasn't, the ST's extra cost of a couple hundred dollars more than the S is totally worth it. Seems like a no-brainer to me.

LOST is the best tv show ever.

Go Dodgers!

Go Lakers!
Robert311 is offline  
post #646 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 04:07 PM
 
Nobl3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MASKOAA View Post

Whats the difference between the S30 and the ST30? Is it just 3d? Both are listed as NEW models on BB website.

S30 is garbage, steer clear. St30 and up are great
Nobl3 is offline  
post #647 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
MASKOAA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert311 View Post

besides 3D, the ST comes with the wi-fi adapter. The S doesn't come with it, and it costs around $80. And the ST's panel might be slightly better. But even if it wasn't, the ST's extra cost of a couple hundred dollars more than the S is totally worth it. Seems like a no-brainer to me.

All I care about is PQ which is why I asked whats the difference. All those bells and whistles like 3D and Internet mean nothing to me so if PQ was the same of course I would choose to save money.
MASKOAA is offline  
post #648 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Prof.Who's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MASKOAA View Post


All I care about is PQ which is why I asked whats the difference. All those bells and whistles like 3D and Internet mean nothing to me so if PQ was the same of course I would choose to save money.

Form what I have seen the ST has significantly better pq and a better filter.
Prof.Who is offline  
post #649 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 04:57 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by MASKOAA View Post

All I care about is PQ which is why I asked whats the difference. All those bells and whistles like 3D and Internet mean nothing to me so if PQ was the same of course I would choose to save money.

The PQ is not nearly the same. The ST30 uses the same fast-phosphor NeoPDP panel as the GT30 and VT30. The S30 uses a regular non-NeoPDP panel, doesn't have as much picture adjustability, and is reportedly more reflective than the ST30.

Since all you care about is PQ, the lowest Panny you should get is the ST30.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Gallery -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RandyWalters is offline  
post #650 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

The PQ is not nearly the same. The ST30 uses the same fast-phosphor NeoPDP panel as the GT30 and VT30. The S30 uses a regular non-NeoPDP panel, doesn't have as much picture adjustability, and is reportedly more reflective than the ST30.

Since all you care about is PQ, the lowest Panny you should get is the ST30.

Thanks for clearing that up I was not aware of this.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #651 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
mobilejunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobl3 View Post


If you are running slides non-stop, you are supposed to have it on Vivid.

If you are watching tv in between slides, turn your contrast down to 50.

I read the site reference you posted about break in. They recommend 2 options that are both good except the vivid while using slides. Evangelo, who's break in disc the site recommends says that vivid will do it faster but he would do cinema or thx with contrast and brightness around 50. That is the method I choose.
mobilejunkie is offline  
post #652 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 06:24 PM
 
Nobl3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilejunkie View Post

I read the site reference you posted about break in. They recommend 2 options that are both good except the vivid while using slides. Evangelo, who's break in disc the site recommends says that vivid will do it faster but he would do cinema or thx with contrast and brightness around 50. That is the method I choose.

You really should use Vivid, as it is atleast double the brightness, which = double the phoshor break in. Its the method I chose and I did it for 150 hours. The IR was a complete no issue after I did all this.
Nobl3 is offline  
post #653 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 06:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
MASKOAA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How exactly should I go about transporting this from the store? I heard you cant lay it down on its back.
MASKOAA is offline  
post #654 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 07:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by MASKOAA View Post

How exactly should I go about transporting this from the store? I heard you cant lay it down on its back.

Yes that's correct. Rent or borrow a pickup, van, etc or pay for delivery.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #655 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 07:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
MASKOAA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

Yes that's correct. Rent or borrow a pickup, van, etc or pay for delivery.

I have a truck, I imagine if I sit in the back with it while someone else drives it should be fine?

Was assembly a pain in the ass at all? I know you have to be careful with Plasmas.
MASKOAA is offline  
post #656 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 07:31 PM
Senior Member
 
PreventerWind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

The PQ is not nearly the same. The ST30 uses the same fast-phosphor NeoPDP panel as the GT30 and VT30. The S30 uses a regular non-NeoPDP panel, doesn't have as much picture adjustability, and is reportedly more reflective than the ST30.

Since all you care about is PQ, the lowest Panny you should get is the ST30.

Are you sure the ST30 uses a non-NeoPDP panel? That would sound like a step backwards from the S2....
PreventerWind is offline  
post #657 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 07:34 PM
Member
 
The Mad Mule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by preventerwind View Post

are you sure the st30 uses a non-neopdp panel? That would sound like a step backwards from the s2....

s30 =/= st30
The Mad Mule is offline  
post #658 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mad Mule View Post

s30 =/= st30

According to Randy your post is false.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

The PQ is not nearly the same. The ST30 uses the same fast-phosphor NeoPDP panel as the GT30 and VT30. The S30 uses a regular non-NeoPDP panel, doesn't have as much picture adjustability, and is reportedly more reflective than the ST30.

Since all you care about is PQ, the lowest Panny you should get is the ST30.

whiteboy714 is offline  
post #659 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 07:49 PM
Member
 
The Mad Mule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

According to Randy your post is false.

Was it not recognizable that the "/" was a break between the "=" signs, meaning that they are not one and the same?
The Mad Mule is offline  
post #660 of 8449 Old 03-20-2011, 07:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
MASKOAA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whiteboy you may want to reread that...
MASKOAA is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P60st30 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50st30 50 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off