Official Panasonic 2011 TC-PxxST30 Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 271 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8101 of 8449 Old 05-20-2012, 08:52 PM
Member
 
jumpman23j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the fluctuating brightness or flickering still a problem on these sets? I currently found a good price on the 55 inch ST30 at a local store.
jumpman23j is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8102 of 8449 Old 05-21-2012, 04:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
mfrey0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Sad to see this thread dying out. I can see why people "upgrade" even when the panel they have is still working. It's freakin' addictive, the excitement of it all, researching and reading all the reviews/threads...then next year's models come out and we're all kind of just left with nothing more than the memory of the emotional high of achieving technological brilliance while watching in envy all the present buyers experiencing that which we crave..ah well.
I'm really impressed with my 42" and 60" ST30 panels. I never think the 60" is too dim. I did sometimes with the 42", when it was in the living room, but in the bedroom it also, I find, never lacks for brightness.

60" 1080p 3D Plasma Panel
3D 1080p Blu-Ray player
4K 7.2 Channel AVR

mfrey0118 is offline  
post #8103 of 8449 Old 05-21-2012, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I agree mfrey, it will be more than a few years, hopefully, before I will be in the market again. My 42 ST30 is doing just fine in the bedroom and the VT25 in the family room is just superb. Once I tinkered with the ST's settings with the help of the folks over on the ST30 DYI Settings thread, I was able to get it to rival the VT25. I have happy campers in both rooms of viewing.

Yes, the ST was a bit dark. It was quite evident when leaving the VT25 to continue viewing a program on the ST in the bedroom. Not fun at all. The DYI settings changed that for me and hopefully for others. I do think that a Pro Calibration is a must for the larger screen ST30s. No if's, and's or but's about it. Give up a few beers or new toys and get it done. It will be some of the best money you ever spent. You will be amazed day after day and each night with the PQ these new plasmas can pump out. I will be lurking here as long as the thread pops up on the front and will help if I can.

Cheers!
Jimmy is offline  
post #8104 of 8449 Old 05-21-2012, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 3,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by jumpman23j View Post

Is the fluctuating brightness or flickering still a problem on these sets? I currently found a good price on the 55 inch ST30 at a local store.

Fluctuating brightness information is in my signature. It may or may not be an issue depending on the build date/serial number.
tfoltz is offline  
post #8105 of 8449 Old 05-21-2012, 08:25 AM
Member
 
xmtlkidx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jimmy/mfrey, I agree with both of you. My 60" st 30 isn't going anywhere. I love this thing. Now about pro calibration, anyone know a price and if anyone is in Utah that would calibrate my set?
xmtlkidx is offline  
post #8106 of 8449 Old 05-21-2012, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
mfrey0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by tfoltz View Post

Fluctuating brightness information is in my signature. It may or may not be an issue depending on the build date/serial number.

Hey tfoltz, you can add me to the 72.53 60" owners, also. Mine came like this (November build, MJ1314) and on the Pandora screen saver FBr test it doesn't flicker once.

60" 1080p 3D Plasma Panel
3D 1080p Blu-Ray player
4K 7.2 Channel AVR

mfrey0118 is offline  
post #8107 of 8449 Old 05-21-2012, 10:01 AM
Member
 
KAD08BULLITT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 55" st30 in my bedroom. Amazing picture. Nice and bright. Love it. No problems at all!
KAD08BULLITT is offline  
post #8108 of 8449 Old 05-21-2012, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmtlkidx View Post

Jimmy/mfrey, I agree with both of you. My 60" st 30 isn't going anywhere. I love this thing. Now about pro calibration, anyone know a price and if anyone is in Utah that would calibrate my set?

You're going to pay north of $300 for a good calibration. Check the "Display Calibration" thread sticky for a list of pro calibrators. Many of them do tours, enjoy your set.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #8109 of 8449 Old 05-21-2012, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAD08BULLITT View Post

I have a 55" st30 in my bedroom. Amazing picture. Nice and bright. Love it. No problems at all!

I'll second that I have a pretty flawless 55" inch also

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #8110 of 8449 Old 05-21-2012, 12:53 PM
Newbie
 
D_N_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
guess I have been playing a little too much Pacman CE DX on my Panny 55st30, (actually think i fell asleep and left it on overnight).
Now the maze is retained on the background on grey/white presentations from any media/source.

Tried running the built in scrolling retention a few times, but didnt get any better. any suggestions or is this permanent burn in?
FYI, did the 100 hour initial slides when purchased in Nov 11
D_N_G is offline  
post #8111 of 8449 Old 05-21-2012, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by D_N_G View Post

guess I have been playing a little too much Pacman CE DX on my Panny 55st30, (actually think i fell asleep and left it on overnight).
Now the maze is retained on the background on grey/white presentations from any media/source.

Tried running the built in scrolling retention a few times, but didnt get any better. any suggestions or is this permanent burn in?
FYI, did the 100 hour initial slides when purchased in Nov 11

I've heard white noise is effective sometimes in reducing IR.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #8112 of 8449 Old 05-21-2012, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 3,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 61
The pixel flipper on the Disney WOW disc also works well.
tfoltz is offline  
post #8113 of 8449 Old 05-21-2012, 05:37 PM
Member
 
larkowski1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Central Michigan
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrey0118 View Post

Interestingly, on my post-A board swap 42" ST30, I can still see FBr on the Pandora screen saver, albeit not as severe as before. However, on my 60" ST30 (which according to SM, is also is post A board swap) the background did not flicker once to a brighter or darker shade on the same screensaver.

I can still see it on the Pandora screensaver if I look, but it's 25% of what it was before the A-board swap and I haven't noticed it in a movie since.

Panasonic P46ST30 | Denon AVR-X2000 | PSB T45/B15/C40 | Oppo BDP-83 | DirecTV
larkowski1 is offline  
post #8114 of 8449 Old 05-21-2012, 05:40 PM
Member
 
larkowski1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Central Michigan
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by D_N_G View Post

guess I have been playing a little too much Pacman CE DX on my Panny 55st30, (actually think i fell asleep and left it on overnight).
Now the maze is retained on the background on grey/white presentations from any media/source.

Tried running the built in scrolling retention a few times, but didnt get any better. any suggestions or is this permanent burn in?
FYI, did the 100 hour initial slides when purchased in Nov 11

I just got a Denon AVR and the background it shows for internet radio/etc burns in very quickly. Fortunately for me, 15 minutes of scrolling and it's long gone. I watch espn channels a fair bit and have never had a problem. It's weird how some sources are worse than others. I would continue the scrolling and white noise and other screensavers (itunes visualizer in fullscreen, etc) and give it some more time.

Panasonic P46ST30 | Denon AVR-X2000 | PSB T45/B15/C40 | Oppo BDP-83 | DirecTV
larkowski1 is offline  
post #8115 of 8449 Old 05-22-2012, 04:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
mfrey0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by larkowski1 View Post

I just got a Denon AVR and the background it shows for internet radio/etc burns in very quickly. Fortunately for me, 15 minutes of scrolling and it's long gone. I watch espn channels a fair bit and have never had a problem. It's weird how some sources are worse than others. I would continue the scrolling and white noise and other screensavers (itunes visualizer in fullscreen, etc) and give it some more time.

I can attest to the burn in susceptibility of this 30 series. The 60"-er I got has "encore" burned into the bottom right hand corner. The previous owner kept the panel on Vivid and the channel on Encore and would let it run all day every day and he did this for about 2 months. Even though I did the 100 hour panel prep for him, that stupid logo won't go away, despite hours and hours of scroll bar, color slides, and Disney's Pixel Shifter. But I cannot really see it on normal content, and ultimately, I got the panel for dirt, dirt cheap (3 figures) so I'm still happy. PQ is fantastic.

60" 1080p 3D Plasma Panel
3D 1080p Blu-Ray player
4K 7.2 Channel AVR

mfrey0118 is offline  
post #8116 of 8449 Old 05-22-2012, 05:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
mfrey0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

You're going to pay north of $300 for a good calibration. Check the "Display Calibration" thread sticky for a list of pro calibrators. Many of them do tours, enjoy your set.

Not necessarily. The ST30 lacks in depth controls so some calibrators might give you a discount. My guy (Don McLaughlin, Precision Video Calibrations) gave me an excellent price on my P42ST30 and still worked on it for over 3 hours. It was well worth it, also. I mean, I got really good settings from my DIY thread but it still can't compare to a professional calibration, IMO.
Another plus is that when I got my 60" ST30, I plugged in the calibrated settings for my 42" panel and they look great. It will be interesting to see how close they are in actual measurements to the settings we achieved on the smaller panel when I get Don back out to do his thing again.

60" 1080p 3D Plasma Panel
3D 1080p Blu-Ray player
4K 7.2 Channel AVR

mfrey0118 is offline  
post #8117 of 8449 Old 05-22-2012, 08:26 AM
Newbie
 
deboy922's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 50" ST30, purchased in November 2011. I am very happy with the set.

Thank you D-Nice, Jimmy, and others in the DIY Settings thread for improving the picture quality...very helpful.

A month ago my set began a very annoying buzz that was louder when the screen was brighter. At night I watch baseball or basketball from about 15-feet away. Normally, the house is quiet, and the tv volume is on 12. With the buzz, I had to turn the volume up to 18 or 20, so the buzz was very annoying and distracting.

So, I put in a service call to Panasonic...what a hassle even though I had registered the tv...on hold...transferred...call back...fax in receipt...set up appointment...explain problem at least 5 times...reschedule...whew!

Buzz was coming from the upper-left when facing the front of the tv. Repairman listens to buzz and takes off approx. 25 screws to remove the back panel. He then tightens the top screw on a board, and the buzz is instantly gone. That screw was more than a 1/2 turn loose! He found 3 more screws that were loose.

Shinyav had a similar buzz and fix. Thank you for posting.

Thanks to all who post useful info on this forum...very educational and helpful!
deboy922 is offline  
post #8118 of 8449 Old 05-22-2012, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrey0118 View Post

Not necessarily. The ST30 lacks in depth controls so some calibrators might give you a discount. My guy (Don McLaughlin, Precision Video Calibrations) gave me an excellent price on my P42ST30 and still worked on it for over 3 hours. It was well worth it, also. I mean, I got really good settings from my DIY thread but it still can't compare to a professional calibration, IMO.
Another plus is that when I got my 60" ST30, I plugged in the calibrated settings for my 42" panel and they look great. It will be interesting to see how close they are in actual measurements to the settings we achieved on the smaller panel when I get Don back out to do his thing again.

Glad you got a good deal but at least in my area 300 + is the going rate, Chad has done 3 of my sets and does an excellent job. Spent a good amount of time on my ST30, even tho it lacks a CMS it is still very adjustable.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #8119 of 8449 Old 05-22-2012, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by deboy922 View Post

I have a 50" ST30, purchased in November 2011. I am very happy with the set.

Thank you D-Nice, Jimmy, and others in the DIY Settings thread for improving the picture quality...very helpful.

A month ago my set began a very annoying buzz that was louder when the screen was brighter. At night I watch baseball or basketball from about 15-feet away. Normally, the house is quiet, and the tv volume is on 12. With the buzz, I had to turn the volume up to 18 or 20, so the buzz was very annoying and distracting.

So, I put in a service call to Panasonic...what a hassle even though I had registered the tv...on hold...transferred...call back...fax in receipt...set up appointment...explain problem at least 5 times...reschedule...whew!

Buzz was coming from the upper-left when facing the front of the tv. Repairman listens to buzz and takes off approx. 25 screws to remove the back panel. He then tightens the top screw on a board, and the buzz is instantly gone. That screw was more than a 1/2 turn loose! He found 3 more screws that were loose.

Shinyav had a similar buzz and fix. Thank you for posting.

Thanks to all who post useful info on this forum...very educational and helpful!

Thanks for this useful post. I have the same tv and bought in nov. I noticed the buzz about a month after I bought it. It had a small amount of noise from the power board when I got it but this buzz is just like you describe. Good to know it can easily be fixed.
whipit is offline  
post #8120 of 8449 Old 05-22-2012, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
BobBart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Washburn,ME
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My tv that I got in March of last year developed the same super loud buzz. Up to that point it had been dead quite. It would buzz very loud for about 10 minutes and then drop to a lower but still noticeable buzz. Drove me crazy and of course I was out of warranty. Sunday I took the back panel off and the top screw on the upper left board was loose on mine. Tightened it up and it has been quite. A hassle to do but quite easy.
BobBart is offline  
post #8121 of 8449 Old 05-25-2012, 03:42 PM
Member
 
Zeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After owning my TV for about half a year I finally managed to get my hands on some glasses. When I first got it I ran the slides and used D-Nice's settings, but I don't think I was able to find specific settings for 3-D. I tried watching some 3d content (on the default cinema setting) and the picture looked pretty dark. I'm wondering if anyone has 3d settings by D-Nice and if not, can share what you're using?
Zeni is offline  
post #8122 of 8449 Old 05-25-2012, 05:38 PM
Member
 
Muddeprived's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeni View Post

After owning my TV for about half a year I finally managed to get my hands on some glasses. When I first got it I ran the slides and used D-Nice's settings, but I don't think I was able to find specific settings for 3-D. I tried watching some 3d content (on the default cinema setting) and the picture looked pretty dark. I'm wondering if anyone has 3d settings by D-Nice and if not, can share what you're using?

I have D-nice's settings but they are not for 3D and I agree that it's pretty dark. I hear most 3D tv's and glasses are darker than usual. I'm thinking of turning up the brightness on the 3D channel. If there are any good 3D settings to use, I'd like to know as well.
Muddeprived is offline  
post #8123 of 8449 Old 05-26-2012, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
usabrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ugh, my 55st30 has developed a loud buzz in the past week or so in the upper left corner as well. God it is annoying.

Also, my brightness control has absolutely zero effect on the picture! Has anyone else seen this? Whether at zero or 100 the pic is the same.

The other thing that is bugging me right now, and has always been a problem is noise in black areas of the screen at certain times. It's not present with a high def signal but for instance going to HULU or Amazon it is very noticeable. It's like streaks in the black bar area.

Zed's dead baby, Zed's dead.

Guide to Internet Forum Posting: Posting and You
usabrian is offline  
post #8124 of 8449 Old 05-28-2012, 06:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
mfrey0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by usabrian View Post

Ugh, my 55st30 has developed a loud buzz in the past week or so in the upper left corner as well. God it is annoying.

Also, my brightness control has absolutely zero effect on the picture! Has anyone else seen this? Whether at zero or 100 the pic is the same.

The other thing that is bugging me right now, and has always been a problem is noise in black areas of the screen at certain times. It's not present with a high def signal but for instance going to HULU or Amazon it is very noticeable. It's like streaks in the black bar area.

Are you sure you don't have CATS and/or AGC on? If not, then I would call Panasonic for a repair. As far as the noise in non-HD signals...that's standard for all plasmas.

60" 1080p 3D Plasma Panel
3D 1080p Blu-Ray player
4K 7.2 Channel AVR

mfrey0118 is offline  
post #8125 of 8449 Old 05-29-2012, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Thunder_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all- new member here and haven't posted very much. Seeking some advice in regards to a 65" ST30.

So I purchased the ST30 on 05/24/2011 from Best Buy and did not buy the protection plan. It has been great and I have followed some of your alls calibration advice and settings setup. I have LOVED this TV and have gotten nothing but compliments on it thanks to you all! I "think" (and hope) I ran slides long enough when I first got it but now I am unsure due to what has happened. On 05/23/12 (WHEW) the television started acting up. It has maybe 20 vertical lines that are faint gray. Also, the skin tones and overall picture are very strange. I can most closely describe it as a radar looking screen off of your local weather television station. Anyways, I ended up calling Panasonic and they were VERY helpful. They sent out a In-home TV repair co. to check it out and order the parts for the repairs. Since I don't know what this is, I am asking for any advice. The repair co. said they will be replacing the main board. Now, hopefully the repair goes all to plan and it gets resolved. My question is, do i need to run slides all over again? If so, slides mean just run a blu ray on standard picture settings AND on zoom for about 100+ hours correct? I'm pretty green to the whole deal but would love to know what steps you guys would take in order for this NOT to happen again. Obviously I snuck it the 1 year warranty with Panasonic so I want to make sure all the correct steps are made. Thanks so much in advance for any responses.

Sadly, Panasonic had me do a "hard reset" to the TV so I lost all of D-nice's settings for cinema AND custom. Do I just need to DM him after I run slides (if I need to)?

Thanks again,
Thunder_13 is offline  
post #8126 of 8449 Old 05-29-2012, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
blackrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a display model on clearance (TC-P55ST30). It was turned off at the store and they assured me that it was in perfect condition. When I got it home and turned it on, there is a single vertical line running down the screen (should I post a pic??). Uh oh.

I checked around, drove to another store, and was able to get another display model of equal caliber for the same price. This one looks great.

I started thinking about my situation. Both TVs have substantial hours. But I may be able to get some parts replaced with new parts on the TV that has the vertical line. Not sure if that would put me in a better situation or worse situation?

Would you have Panasonic fix the TV with the vertical line and return the one that seems to work, or vice versa??

I have 90 days to play around with both of these before I have to make a decision.

Are there other problems I should be looking for? I have heard of brightness fluctuations.
blackrain is offline  
post #8127 of 8449 Old 05-29-2012, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 3,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 61
tfoltz is offline  
post #8128 of 8449 Old 05-29-2012, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 3,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunder_13 View Post

Hey all- new member here and haven't posted very much. Seeking some advice in regards to a 65" ST30.

So I purchased the ST30 on 05/24/2011 from Best Buy and did not buy the protection plan. It has been great and I have followed some of your alls calibration advice and settings setup. I have LOVED this TV and have gotten nothing but compliments on it thanks to you all! I "think" (and hope) I ran slides long enough when I first got it but now I am unsure due to what has happened. On 05/23/12 (WHEW) the television started acting up. It has maybe 20 vertical lines that are faint gray. Also, the skin tones and overall picture are very strange. I can most closely describe it as a radar looking screen off of your local weather television station. Anyways, I ended up calling Panasonic and they were VERY helpful. They sent out a In-home TV repair co. to check it out and order the parts for the repairs. Since I don't know what this is, I am asking for any advice. The repair co. said they will be replacing the main board. Now, hopefully the repair goes all to plan and it gets resolved. My question is, do i need to run slides all over again? If so, slides mean just run a blu ray on standard picture settings AND on zoom for about 100+ hours correct? I'm pretty green to the whole deal but would love to know what steps you guys would take in order for this NOT to happen again. Obviously I snuck it the 1 year warranty with Panasonic so I want to make sure all the correct steps are made. Thanks so much in advance for any responses.

Sadly, Panasonic had me do a "hard reset" to the TV so I lost all of D-nice's settings for cinema AND custom. Do I just need to DM him after I run slides (if I need to)?

Thanks again,

You don't need to run the slides again. Did D-Nice calibrate your TV, or did you just use his settings? If he calibrated your set then you should contact him. If you just use his settings then you can re-apply them.

The warranty on my 65ST30 ends in July. I'll be doomed after that point since I didn't buy an extended warranty.
tfoltz is offline  
post #8129 of 8449 Old 05-30-2012, 03:28 AM
Newbie
 
earthw0rmjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys!

Just got a 2TB external hard drive, so thought i gonna hook it up with my Panasonic P42S30 (to play movies from it).
The problem is the TV doesn't recognize the HDD (other than "USB device connected").
Tried FAT32, exFAT, NTFS, ext3, still no success.
The TV works fine with any USB flash drive, and the HDD works fine with my PC.
Thought maybe it can't handle the 2TB partition, so i shrinked it to ~500GB, didn't help.

Did anyone have the same problem? Any workaround?

I'd appreciate any advice!
Thanks in advance!
earthw0rmjim is offline  
post #8130 of 8449 Old 05-31-2012, 05:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
mfrey0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Just got an update from 2.2 to 2.22 on both of my 30 series panels...didn't see anything on Panny's site about it...anyone know what it is about?

60" 1080p 3D Plasma Panel
3D 1080p Blu-Ray player
4K 7.2 Channel AVR

mfrey0118 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P60st30 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50st30 50 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - P60st30 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off