Official Panasonic 2011 TC-PxxST30 Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 284 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8491 of 8519 Old 01-28-2016, 05:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 2,543
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 567 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowe View Post
If you are handy with a multi-meter and a soldering iron and you get a copy of the service manual, you should be able to fix it yourself. I think it's just a matter of locating and replacing resistors or other parts that have failed.
I noticed that when I held the on/off button down for about 5 seconds the LED started blinking. Turned out it was 14 blinks. A google showed a list of videos that showed how 14 blinks meant a short in one of the boards. The video I watched showed a process for figuring out which one. I have a local hobbyist looking at my plasma with the guidance from the video.

Jack
JackB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8492 of 8519 Old 01-28-2016, 05:09 PM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
thats great..can u post a link to that video..that would be awesome
1python1 is offline  
post #8493 of 8519 Old 01-28-2016, 05:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 2,543
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 567 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1python1 View Post
thats great..can u post a link to that video..that would be awesome
There is also one that claims that 90% of the problems are blown capacitors. The video shows how you identify the bad capacitors and that you rhen just need to replace them. Look for that video. I lost the link.

Jack
JackB is offline  
 
post #8494 of 8519 Old 01-28-2016, 05:24 PM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
blown caps cause corrosive issues and can eat away the circuit boards and render them useless. bulging caps are indacitive of whats about to happen
1python1 is offline  
post #8495 of 8519 Old 04-08-2016, 11:11 PM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas-DFW, TX
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowe View Post
Hello to the forum. I have found a lot of helpful info on this site but I am now having an issue with my 55" ST30. I bought it in early 2012 and it has worked great for the past few years. It has a little over 5000 hours and the most up to date firmware. Recently, though, when the background screen is off-white to light grey in color, I get this flickering purple interference. It can happen on a static image or moving scene but it always seems to be visible when the background is a white to grey color. I tried running the wipe bar function overnight as well as the Disney WOW pixel flipper overnight and it's not getting better. Source material doesn't seem to matter either, cable, Blu, Smart apps, etc. They all do the same thing. If I go into the service menu and do the color slides, the colors are OK, but it does it on the lighter grey and white slides. If the picture is not white or light grey based, it looks OK, but there is still detectable flickering.

I can see that there is IR (will post pics once my post count is enough) but I wanted to make sure it wasn't anything else. Any help or guidance is appreciated. Thanks.
I realize this was a long time ago. But you said you have over 5000 hours on yours. Im curious how many are on mine. Is there a way to access a menu that gives a timer?

Thanks!


I drive a Dodge Stratus.

jrod9707 is offline  
post #8496 of 8519 Old 04-10-2016, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
spocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrod9707 View Post
I realize this was a long time ago. But you said you have over 5000 hours on yours. Im curious how many are on mine. Is there a way to access a menu that gives a timer?
I think you have to go into the service menu. Here are some instructions:
http://www.hometheatershack.com/foru...ur-plasma.html
jrod9707 likes this.
spocko is offline  
post #8497 of 8519 Old 04-11-2016, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas-DFW, TX
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by spocko View Post
I think you have to go into the service menu. Here are some instructions:
http://www.hometheatershack.com/foru...ur-plasma.html

Thank you!


I drive a Dodge Stratus.

jrod9707 is offline  
post #8498 of 8519 Old 04-11-2016, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Shinyav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago south suburbs
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Still got my 55" going strong. Just crossing 5000 hours as well.
At this rate holding onto it a few more years. Yes 4k would be nice and yes HDR would be nice. But I haven't seen a set reasonably priced that matches the contract.

Shinyav is offline  
post #8499 of 8519 Old 04-21-2016, 10:41 PM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas-DFW, TX
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I haven't used my 3d glasses(TY-EW3D3MU) in a long time and was looking to sell them. Other than Ebay anyone have any suggestions whats the best way to sell since they are several years old and Im not sure how much demand is out there. I just tested them and was surprised that they still hold a charge. I think I would ask somewhere between 35-45(seems fair, your thoughts?).


I drive a Dodge Stratus.

jrod9707 is offline  
post #8500 of 8519 Old 04-22-2016, 04:16 AM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
ill take em off ur hands..u have the chargers also? u have paypal?
1python1 is offline  
post #8501 of 8519 Old 04-25-2016, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas-DFW, TX
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Available or if someone has a better idea please share.


I drive a Dodge Stratus.

jrod9707 is offline  
post #8502 of 8519 Old 07-14-2016, 03:06 AM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas-DFW, TX
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 37
These are not doing me any good just sitting so I'm selling 4 pairs of original Panasonic glasses $120 shipped. Comes in original packaging and wrapping.


I drive a Dodge Stratus.

jrod9707 is offline  
post #8503 of 8519 Old 08-29-2016, 09:29 PM
Senior Member
 
KickItUpANotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrod9707 View Post
I haven't used my 3d glasses(TY-EW3D3MU) in a long time and was looking to sell them. Other than Ebay anyone have any suggestions whats the best way to sell since they are several years old and Im not sure how much demand is out there. I just tested them and was surprised that they still hold a charge. I think I would ask somewhere between 35-45(seems fair, your thoughts?).
Hah... I forgot about those things. I still have mine only used for a 5 minute demo video when the TV was new...

Thanks to AVS for helping me with my first home theater system!

Panasonic ST30, Klipsch RB-61 II, RC-42 II, Denon AVR-1611, dual Lava 10" subwoofers

KickItUpANotch is offline  
post #8504 of 8519 Old 08-29-2016, 09:33 PM
Senior Member
 
KickItUpANotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I needed a longer power cable and I bought this one off amazon with good reviews http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

However, after receiving it I noticed that the wire/cable is significantly thinner than the stock cable that came with my 65" model. Is the above 15ft version cable safe and OK to use for my tv?

Thanks!

Thanks to AVS for helping me with my first home theater system!

Panasonic ST30, Klipsch RB-61 II, RC-42 II, Denon AVR-1611, dual Lava 10" subwoofers

KickItUpANotch is offline  
post #8505 of 8519 Old 09-06-2016, 05:22 AM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
so my st30 has now started to buzz. upper left corner,or right corner if ur looking from behind. i ordered these: http://www.shopjimmy.com/panasonic-x...-screw-kit.htm. the buzzing isnt that bad,but i want to get this fixed. is there any concerns i need to know about when i remove the back panel?
ciki likes this.
1python1 is offline  
post #8506 of 8519 Old 09-06-2016, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Tom Ames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1python1 View Post
so my st30 has now started to buzz. upper left corner,or right corner if ur looking from behind. i ordered these: http://www.shopjimmy.com/panasonic-x...-screw-kit.htm. the buzzing isnt that bad,but i want to get this fixed. is there any concerns i need to know about when i remove the back panel?
I did the same with my st30 several months back. It wasn't as daunting a task as I feared. IIRC I found a YouTube video which was quite helpful. It is also helpful to have someone help you. A couple of screws to remove the back panel were hard to find, but I think that was the biggest problem I had. The thread I am linking below was also a big help. There is a discussion of this beginning on about p59. A diagram of which boards you need to replace the screws on was also helpful. Good luck!

master-thread-panasonic-plasma-not-turning-on
Tom Ames is offline  
post #8507 of 8519 Old 09-06-2016, 10:04 AM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Awesome thank u
1python1 is offline  
post #8508 of 8519 Old 11-15-2016, 08:41 AM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
so i replaced the screws...still buzzes in the upper left corner. if ur facing the tv..right corner if ur in the back of it.
1python1 is offline  
post #8509 of 8519 Old 11-17-2016, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Replaced all screws. No more buzzing.
b_scott is offline  
post #8510 of 8519 Old 12-05-2016, 05:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Jim Kiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: MN
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My TCP42ST30 has started to turn off the display for a moment but then comes back on. It has only happened 3 times over 3 days and without intervention comes back on. Anyone know what issue this is? I presume at some point it will stop coming back on. Maybe then it will blink the LED 14 times or something similar.

"this is jim Kiler step away from the window!"
Jim Kiler is offline  
post #8511 of 8519 Old 03-22-2017, 09:44 PM
Senior Member
 
spocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I finally got around to replacing the screws in my 60ST30 recently. No more buzzing. A couple of them were pretty loose. One of the loose ones seemed like it was burned a little bit, as if there had been some sparking between it and the PCB. Maybe it was just some corrosion, I don't know. In any case I just cleaned the contact pad and installed the new screw. There was only one screw like that, on a board on the upper left when looking at the back of the TV.

I've had no other problems with the TV. It still looks great, and I still love it! Panny did a great job with this generation of TVs. I just checked the usage hours in the service menu and it over 6800 hours now. Fingers crossed that it will keep plugging away for years to come. There's really nothing offered by newer TVs that would make me want to upgrade.
skypop likes this.

Last edited by spocko; 03-24-2017 at 02:29 PM.
spocko is offline  
post #8512 of 8519 Old 03-23-2017, 04:17 AM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
how do u access the service menu?
1python1 is offline  
post #8513 of 8519 Old 03-23-2017, 05:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
skypop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Mine is still going strong also. I looked at a new OLED TV but it just didn't have that natural look like these do,what I did do though is hooked up a Darbee unit to it and the picture really is outstanding.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2 Channel: Fi 2A3 mono's,Hovland HP100 W/MM Phono Stage,Technics SP10MK2/SME/Benz,Medallion Cabinets With Fostex 206EN Drivers,Peerless Subs....HT:126" Seymour AT Screen,JBL Studio 590's LCR,JBL SCS8's Side Surrounds,JBL HT5 Fr Heights, and JBL SCS8 Rear Heights,JBL Studio 580's Back Surrounds,2 Epik Empire Subs,HSU Midbass Sub,Marantz 7702MK2,Outlaw 7125,Marantz Ma500's,Panasonic UB900,Toshiba HD35,JVC RS400. Black Velvet.
skypop is offline  
post #8514 of 8519 Old 03-23-2017, 05:32 AM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
i bought a oled b series..theres no comparison...oled is so much better in every aspect. and no more space heater tv!
1python1 is offline  
post #8515 of 8519 Old 03-23-2017, 07:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
skypop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1python1 View Post
i bought a oled b series..theres no comparison...oled is so much better in every aspect. and no more space heater tv!


How much was that TV?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2 Channel: Fi 2A3 mono's,Hovland HP100 W/MM Phono Stage,Technics SP10MK2/SME/Benz,Medallion Cabinets With Fostex 206EN Drivers,Peerless Subs....HT:126" Seymour AT Screen,JBL Studio 590's LCR,JBL SCS8's Side Surrounds,JBL HT5 Fr Heights, and JBL SCS8 Rear Heights,JBL Studio 580's Back Surrounds,2 Epik Empire Subs,HSU Midbass Sub,Marantz 7702MK2,Outlaw 7125,Marantz Ma500's,Panasonic UB900,Toshiba HD35,JVC RS400. Black Velvet.
skypop is offline  
post #8516 of 8519 Old 03-23-2017, 07:19 AM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
1799.00...i paid 1400 for my 50 inch plasma.
skypop likes this.
1python1 is offline  
post #8517 of 8519 Old 03-23-2017, 08:06 AM
Member
 
wiremite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My ST30 still going great, had the board replaced under at home warranty in the first 2 years. Now have a Benq PJ and pull down 100" screen for watching widescreen movies. The Panny is great for TV shows but I love the 3d on the PJ over the plasma. Size matters.
skypop likes this.
wiremite is offline  
post #8518 of 8519 Old 03-23-2017, 09:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
skypop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Same here,I watch regular TV,some sports on mine,and for movies I watch down in the theater.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2 Channel: Fi 2A3 mono's,Hovland HP100 W/MM Phono Stage,Technics SP10MK2/SME/Benz,Medallion Cabinets With Fostex 206EN Drivers,Peerless Subs....HT:126" Seymour AT Screen,JBL Studio 590's LCR,JBL SCS8's Side Surrounds,JBL HT5 Fr Heights, and JBL SCS8 Rear Heights,JBL Studio 580's Back Surrounds,2 Epik Empire Subs,HSU Midbass Sub,Marantz 7702MK2,Outlaw 7125,Marantz Ma500's,Panasonic UB900,Toshiba HD35,JVC RS400. Black Velvet.
skypop is offline  
post #8519 of 8519 Old 03-24-2017, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
spocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1python1 View Post
how do u access the service menu?
I used this procedure to check the usage hours.

http://www.hometheatershack.com/foru...ur-plasma.html
1python1 likes this.
spocko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P60st30 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50st30 50 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off