Official Panasonic 2011 TC-PxxST30 Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 284 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8491 of 8510 Old 01-28-2016, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 2,400
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowe View Post
If you are handy with a multi-meter and a soldering iron and you get a copy of the service manual, you should be able to fix it yourself. I think it's just a matter of locating and replacing resistors or other parts that have failed.
I noticed that when I held the on/off button down for about 5 seconds the LED started blinking. Turned out it was 14 blinks. A google showed a list of videos that showed how 14 blinks meant a short in one of the boards. The video I watched showed a process for figuring out which one. I have a local hobbyist looking at my plasma with the guidance from the video.

Jack
JackB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8492 of 8510 Old 01-28-2016, 06:09 PM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thats great..can u post a link to that video..that would be awesome
1python1 is offline  
post #8493 of 8510 Old 01-28-2016, 06:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 2,400
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1python1 View Post
thats great..can u post a link to that video..that would be awesome
There is also one that claims that 90% of the problems are blown capacitors. The video shows how you identify the bad capacitors and that you rhen just need to replace them. Look for that video. I lost the link.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #8494 of 8510 Old 01-28-2016, 06:24 PM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
blown caps cause corrosive issues and can eat away the circuit boards and render them useless. bulging caps are indacitive of whats about to happen
1python1 is offline  
post #8495 of 8510 Old 04-09-2016, 12:11 AM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas-DFW, TX
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowe View Post
Hello to the forum. I have found a lot of helpful info on this site but I am now having an issue with my 55" ST30. I bought it in early 2012 and it has worked great for the past few years. It has a little over 5000 hours and the most up to date firmware. Recently, though, when the background screen is off-white to light grey in color, I get this flickering purple interference. It can happen on a static image or moving scene but it always seems to be visible when the background is a white to grey color. I tried running the wipe bar function overnight as well as the Disney WOW pixel flipper overnight and it's not getting better. Source material doesn't seem to matter either, cable, Blu, Smart apps, etc. They all do the same thing. If I go into the service menu and do the color slides, the colors are OK, but it does it on the lighter grey and white slides. If the picture is not white or light grey based, it looks OK, but there is still detectable flickering.

I can see that there is IR (will post pics once my post count is enough) but I wanted to make sure it wasn't anything else. Any help or guidance is appreciated. Thanks.
I realize this was a long time ago. But you said you have over 5000 hours on yours. Im curious how many are on mine. Is there a way to access a menu that gives a timer?

Thanks!



jrod9707 is offline  
post #8496 of 8510 Old 04-10-2016, 05:07 PM
Senior Member
 
spocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrod9707 View Post
I realize this was a long time ago. But you said you have over 5000 hours on yours. Im curious how many are on mine. Is there a way to access a menu that gives a timer?
I think you have to go into the service menu. Here are some instructions:
http://www.hometheatershack.com/foru...ur-plasma.html
jrod9707 likes this.
spocko is offline  
post #8497 of 8510 Old 04-11-2016, 10:38 AM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas-DFW, TX
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by spocko View Post
I think you have to go into the service menu. Here are some instructions:
http://www.hometheatershack.com/foru...ur-plasma.html

Thank you!



jrod9707 is offline  
post #8498 of 8510 Old 04-11-2016, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Shinyav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago south suburbs
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Still got my 55" going strong. Just crossing 5000 hours as well.
At this rate holding onto it a few more years. Yes 4k would be nice and yes HDR would be nice. But I haven't seen a set reasonably priced that matches the contract.

Shinyav is offline  
post #8499 of 8510 Old 04-21-2016, 11:41 PM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas-DFW, TX
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I haven't used my 3d glasses(TY-EW3D3MU) in a long time and was looking to sell them. Other than Ebay anyone have any suggestions whats the best way to sell since they are several years old and Im not sure how much demand is out there. I just tested them and was surprised that they still hold a charge. I think I would ask somewhere between 35-45(seems fair, your thoughts?).



jrod9707 is offline  
post #8500 of 8510 Old 04-22-2016, 05:16 AM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ill take em off ur hands..u have the chargers also? u have paypal?
1python1 is offline  
post #8501 of 8510 Old 04-25-2016, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas-DFW, TX
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Available or if someone has a better idea please share.



jrod9707 is offline  
post #8502 of 8510 Old 07-14-2016, 04:06 AM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas-DFW, TX
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 33
These are not doing me any good just sitting so I'm selling 4 pairs of original Panasonic glasses $120 shipped. Comes in original packaging and wrapping.



jrod9707 is offline  
post #8503 of 8510 Old 08-29-2016, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
KickItUpANotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrod9707 View Post
I haven't used my 3d glasses(TY-EW3D3MU) in a long time and was looking to sell them. Other than Ebay anyone have any suggestions whats the best way to sell since they are several years old and Im not sure how much demand is out there. I just tested them and was surprised that they still hold a charge. I think I would ask somewhere between 35-45(seems fair, your thoughts?).
Hah... I forgot about those things. I still have mine only used for a 5 minute demo video when the TV was new...

Thanks to AVS for helping me with my first home theater system!

Panasonic ST30, Klipsch RB-61 II, RC-42 II, Denon AVR-1611, dual Lava 10" subwoofers

KickItUpANotch is offline  
post #8504 of 8510 Old 08-29-2016, 10:33 PM
Senior Member
 
KickItUpANotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I needed a longer power cable and I bought this one off amazon with good reviews http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

However, after receiving it I noticed that the wire/cable is significantly thinner than the stock cable that came with my 65" model. Is the above 15ft version cable safe and OK to use for my tv?

Thanks!

Thanks to AVS for helping me with my first home theater system!

Panasonic ST30, Klipsch RB-61 II, RC-42 II, Denon AVR-1611, dual Lava 10" subwoofers

KickItUpANotch is offline  
post #8505 of 8510 Old 09-06-2016, 06:22 AM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so my st30 has now started to buzz. upper left corner,or right corner if ur looking from behind. i ordered these: http://www.shopjimmy.com/panasonic-x...-screw-kit.htm. the buzzing isnt that bad,but i want to get this fixed. is there any concerns i need to know about when i remove the back panel?
1python1 is offline  
post #8506 of 8510 Old 09-06-2016, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Tom Ames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1python1 View Post
so my st30 has now started to buzz. upper left corner,or right corner if ur looking from behind. i ordered these: http://www.shopjimmy.com/panasonic-x...-screw-kit.htm. the buzzing isnt that bad,but i want to get this fixed. is there any concerns i need to know about when i remove the back panel?
I did the same with my st30 several months back. It wasn't as daunting a task as I feared. IIRC I found a YouTube video which was quite helpful. It is also helpful to have someone help you. A couple of screws to remove the back panel were hard to find, but I think that was the biggest problem I had. The thread I am linking below was also a big help. There is a discussion of this beginning on about p59. A diagram of which boards you need to replace the screws on was also helpful. Good luck!

master-thread-panasonic-plasma-not-turning-on
Tom Ames is offline  
post #8507 of 8510 Old 09-06-2016, 11:04 AM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome thank u
1python1 is offline  
post #8508 of 8510 Old 11-15-2016, 09:41 AM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so i replaced the screws...still buzzes in the upper left corner. if ur facing the tv..right corner if ur in the back of it.
1python1 is offline  
post #8509 of 8510 Old 11-17-2016, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Replaced all screws. No more buzzing.
b_scott is offline  
post #8510 of 8510 Old Today, 06:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Jim Kiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: MN
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My TCP42ST30 has started to turn off the display for a moment but then comes back on. It has only happened 3 times over 3 days and without intervention comes back on. Anyone know what issue this is? I presume at some point it will stop coming back on. Maybe then it will blink the LED 14 times or something similar.

"this is jim Kiler step away from the window!"
Jim Kiler is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P60st30 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50st30 50 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off