Official Samsung 2011 PNxxD550 Thread - Page 43 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1261 of 1920 Old 12-21-2011, 11:34 AM
Newbie
 
qpzmide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by qpzmide View Post

I purchased the TV, a Blu Ray player and new receiver together--just waiting for the TV to arrive.

Finally got everything hooked up! This TV is awesome-bottom line. I had some family friends over this past weekend and after being at my house for about an hour, he said, so what size is your TV, like 100 inches! Someone posted earlier in this thread that this TV has a large presence about it. I sit about 12 feet from the set and it looks great.

Haven't really played with the settings much other than changing them to some of the settings that were posted in this thread. It looked fine out of the box but looks better once they were tweaked etc. I have not noticed any brightness pops or buzzing. I've watched Top Gun and Pirates of the Caribbean in Blu Ray--great picture. I've watched several football games on most major networks-no issues what-so-ever.

For the price, I'm extremely happy. Even my wife thinks the set looks good. It seems there is a very slight gangsta lean to the right side but when I measure, it's very minor. With the stand, it's a beast! Had to ask my dad to help lift it into place.

Haven't used 3D yet so no comment. I haven't had any sync issues with my other components-Sony Blu Ray and Pioneer VSX-921. Directv and Blu Ray run through the receiver then to my TV.

That's about all I have right now. Will post an update in a few months.
qpzmide is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1262 of 1920 Old 12-22-2011, 09:42 AM
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by LanceX View Post

Maybe I just got extremely lucky. My buzzing went away quickly, I havent seen brightness pops, but ive seen gamma fluctuations but thats fine

I have some blu rays, Dark Knight , Transformers 2, departed, hulk , 300. Do these movies show pops to people i can look for?

I know for sure 300 does, didnt watch enough of the others.

Do you have CinemaSmooth on or off? With it on, it doesnt do the brightness pops.
CTM Audi is offline  
post #1263 of 1920 Old 12-22-2011, 12:16 PM
Newbie
 
jukster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how can you see how many hours of use are on the PN59D550?
jukster is offline  
post #1264 of 1920 Old 12-22-2011, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
LanceX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just Watched Avatar 100% 0 Pops. dunno if CS was on or off. Was always grayed
LanceX is offline  
post #1265 of 1920 Old 12-22-2011, 07:31 PM
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by LanceX View Post

Just Watched Avatar 100% 0 Pops. dunno if CS was on or off. Was always grayed

If its grayed, then you are not watching "film" 24FPS. What are you using to play them with?
CTM Audi is offline  
post #1266 of 1920 Old 12-22-2011, 07:35 PM
Member
 
juched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just found out what brightness pops are!

Watching Dexter, and it was quite simple to see.
juched is offline  
post #1267 of 1920 Old 12-25-2011, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stumlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by juched View Post

I just found out what brightness pops are!

Watching Dexter, and it was quite simple to see.

I also noticed it with Dexter (as well as Homeland)...(watched with lights off)........ Because of kids, my plasma plays cgi 90 percent of the time... i don't think ever notice it in that kind of material... havent noticed it with dark cgi scenes either, but I'm curious if watching it in a dark room would change that...

I also wonder if 720p vs 1080i would make any difference... a lot of people say that cinemasmooth removes it completely.. I have a few Dexter seasons on blu-ray, maybe i'll try it since it's recorded at 24 fps.

Lex Luthor, Ruler of Australia, activate the machine!
stumlad is offline  
post #1268 of 1920 Old 12-25-2011, 08:31 AM
Member
 
d_source's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all.

Looking for a store in Canada that sells 3D glasses to compliment the d550. Mainly looking at the cheaper 3050GB glasses as futureshop and bestbuy have the expensive ones only. Any suggestions? Looking to spend around $30CAD/USD.

Can the TV play a 3D movie through allshare?

Thanks.

Happy Holidays to you all!
d_source is offline  
post #1269 of 1920 Old 12-25-2011, 02:41 PM
Member
 
Mexicanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cowichan Bay, British Columbia
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by d_source View Post

Hi all.

Looking for a store in Canada that sells 3D glasses to compliment the d550. Mainly looking at the cheaper 3050GB glasses as futureshop and bestbuy have the expensive ones only. Any suggestions? Looking to spend around $30CAD/USD.

I don't know that you will find glasses for $30. Visions.ca has the 3100 glasses for $50 if that helps.
Mexicanuck is offline  
post #1270 of 1920 Old 12-25-2011, 03:36 PM
Newbie
 
Ny finest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought the 51D550 yesterday so far so good not sure if i'll be doing any break in yet
Ny finest is offline  
post #1271 of 1920 Old 12-26-2011, 01:22 AM
Newbie
 
mike10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mexicanuck View Post

I don't know that you will find glasses for $30. Visions.ca has the 3100 glasses for $50 if that helps.

you can find glasses on ebay for a lot cheaper then the normal stores charge

I got two glasses from this guy and they work great and shipping only took about a week

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/120782708934?...84.m1439.l2649
mike10 is offline  
post #1272 of 1920 Old 12-26-2011, 07:03 AM
Member
 
d_source's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mexicanuck View Post

I don't know that you will find glasses for $30. Visions.ca has the 3100 glasses for $50 if that helps.

I've seen the 3050 glasses for ~$30 but online or in the US. I was trying to find a physical store in Canada that sold them for around the same price. Didn't the 3050s replace the 3100s or what's the difference b/w the 2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike10 View Post

you can find glasses on ebay for a lot cheaper then the normal stores charge

I got two glasses from this guy and they work great and shipping only took about a week

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/120782708934?...84.m1439.l2649

Thank you both. I was trying to avoid ebay, but will go that route if needed (very cheap or free shipping only). How much better are the 3500s and is it worth the extra cash?

Thx
d_source is offline  
post #1273 of 1920 Old 12-27-2011, 09:42 PM
Member
 
Loading's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the PN51D550.

Have it hooked up to my PC via HDMI. It looks TERRIBLE. Also have my PS3 hooked up, and movies look FANTASTIC.

I don't know what's going on. Through the PC text is quite blury, and whites are well, grey. (I previously had a 42" 720P)

I've changed resolutions etc etc, and it just is not good. I've tried all the different 'modes' and used peoples suggested calibrations. I just don't know what's going on.

Anyone have a good calibration for a PC?

Is it better to use a VGA cable as opposed to HDMI? (I was using DVI on the previous TV, the D550 doesn't have a DVI in though..)

Thanks!

Mark
Loading is offline  
post #1274 of 1920 Old 12-28-2011, 10:19 AM
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just make sure the scailing is right, and its at 1920x1080 @ 60Hz and it should be fine.
CTM Audi is offline  
post #1275 of 1920 Old 12-28-2011, 02:15 PM
Member
 
Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedi755 View Post

Can you let me know if the new one is better? I am still debating if I should exchange mine, I have a couple weeks to decide.

So quick update: I had another set delivered last Saturday, and it buzzes quite a bit less than the first. I've been breaking it in for about 30 hours, and it still buzzes, but is slightly quieter. Seating distance is about 6 feet away, and part of me wonders if this set is just a buzzer regardless.

Having the brightness pops on a lot of sources too, and black levels don't really "wow" me, but I haven't calibrated it. I like the price/size ratio, but I'm not terribly impressed with the set so far.
Brien is offline  
post #1276 of 1920 Old 12-28-2011, 05:23 PM
Member
 
ryder_78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got the 51D550 just in time before Christmas and had been toying around with it. Coming from a large screen projector setup albeit an obsolete 720p model, I am quite pleased with this Samsung full HD plasma which is a godsend when it comes to playing full HD material. Now I realize why folks keep saying there is no going back to standard definition once one has experienced full HD. Now all my DVDs look awful in comparison to full HD material, although I have to admit I'm still using a cheap DVD junk player that does not upconvert, running in 480i resolution via component. I have some HD movies on HDD and hooking it straight into the Samsung via USB inputs at the side of the TV these movies all look great.

Now I'm wondering if I should salvage my large collection of DVDs by getting a good blu-ray or DVD player with good upconverting chips. At any rate I do realize that optimized DVD playback will not match HD material.

I have yet to try the 3D feature of the 51D550 but initial impressions with the 3D glasses were not very encouraging. Right now I am just enjoying 2D as it is. The resolution of 1080p is a welcome note for me having got used to 720p all these years, although the 51" screen is quite a bit smaller than the 80" projector setup in my Home Theater system.

I agree with some comments on the reflective panel of the 51D550 and it is best to watch it in a room with dim lighting. In a bright room it can be a problem. The use of thick curtains or blinds may help.

If this Samsung 51D550 is trouble-free for the next 3 years, I'll be getting a 65" model(or larger) from them in near future. 51" is not exactly that big these days. Just a bit worried manufacturers may not produce plasma several years down the road(I still prefer plasma over LCD/LED mainly on picture quality, apart from the lower price tag).
ryder_78 is offline  
post #1277 of 1920 Old 12-28-2011, 05:36 PM
Member
 
ryder_78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTM Audi View Post

My overall settings are,

Picture Mode : Movie
Cell Light : 16
Contrast : 95
Brightness : 66
Sharpness : 0
Color : 50
Tint : 50/50

Black Tone : off
Dynamic Contrast : off
Gamma : 0
Color Space : auto

White Balance
RO : 28
GO : 21
BO : 19
RG : 21
GG : 30
BG : 30

Flesh Tone : 0
Edge Enhancement : off (might turn it on, actually works pretty well on this set)
Motion Lighting : off

Color Tone : Warm1 (warm2 made whites too yellow)
DNF : off
MPEG NF : off
HDMI Black Level : normal
Film Mode : Cinema Smooth



Only issue now is the buzzing.


EDIT: Turned edge enhancement on, I think it actually works pretty well. Turning sharpness up helps with the edges, but makes solids look weird, where edge enhancement doesnt effect the solids.



Good to see a post on the settings here in the thread. The Cell light setting on my unit is at 14. I was tempted to bump it up to 16 or higher but was afraid that it will shorten the lifespan of the TV considerably. Any thoughts on this?

The settings on my 51D550 are as follows. Comments in brackets.

Picture Mode : Alternate between "Standard" and "Movie" (Dynamic produced an unnatural color)
Cell Light : 14 (tempted to bump this figure higher but am afraid it may affect the life span of the TV)
Contrast : 95
Brightness : 50
Sharpness : varies from 30 to 50
Color : 50
Tint : have not checked

Black Tone : off (I presume it is best to leave this off as well as I felt the "Dark" settings render video quality to be slightly unnatural)
Dynamic Contrast : off (as above)
Gamma : 0
Color Space : auto

White Balance (need to tinker with these settings some time)
RO : 0
GO : 0
BO : 0
RG : 0
GG : 0
BG : 0

Flesh Tone : 0
Edge Enhancement : off
Motion Lighting : off

Color Tone : Standard
DNF : off
MPEG NF : off
HDMI Black Level : -
Film Mode : -
ryder_78 is offline  
post #1278 of 1920 Old 12-28-2011, 05:40 PM
Member
 
ryder_78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A quick question, is it worthwhile to calibrate this plasma? Anyone done this before and noticed a significant improvement in video quality? In its stock form the video is already quite stellar, and I do not know what to expect after the display is properly calibrated.

Any thoughts appreciated.
ryder_78 is offline  
post #1279 of 1920 Old 12-28-2011, 06:49 PM
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryder_78 View Post

A quick question, is it worthwhile to calibrate this plasma? Anyone done this before and noticed a significant improvement in video quality? In its stock form the video is already quite stellar, and I do not know what to expect after the display is properly calibrated.

Any thoughts appreciated.

Anything you do can easily be reverted, so go ahead and see if its better to you. Each set is different, so the numbers here are only starting lines. You can use http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/ for free to help out a bit with the basics.


I dont think cell light will effect the life of the TV. Its basically just like backlighting on LCDs afaik.

Also, stick with movie mode, its best.
CTM Audi is offline  
post #1280 of 1920 Old 12-28-2011, 07:08 PM
Member
 
ryder_78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the advice. Much appreciated. There are certainly a lot of knowledgeable folks here. Will go through the calibration page later. Certainly useful, since my impression was that basic calibration can only be carried out with a test disc and some tools (colorimeter/spectrophotometer/lightmeter) and calibration software. Too advanced for me.

I'll set the cell light to 16 after this, and on Movie mode. That is just great.

I noticed the sharpness setting on Movie mode is low when compared to Standard or Dynamic, producing a less grainy video quality ie. less visible pixels. Not too sure if I've described it correctly. Maybe that explains why some folks here have set the Sharpness to 0.
ryder_78 is offline  
post #1281 of 1920 Old 12-28-2011, 10:59 PM
Newbie
 
mikegill12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be purchasing this tv soon, I was deciding between this tv and a sharp 70 inch 3d, I decided spending close to 4000 dollars on the Sharp was too much. Has anyone used the settings I found on this webpage on their 550 series televisions?. Seemed to have been done by a professional calibrator.
Here is the address:
http://www.flatpanelshd.com/review.p...&id=1321001419
mikegill12345 is offline  
post #1282 of 1920 Old 12-29-2011, 10:09 AM
Member
 
hamiltonpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay I am setting my movie mode to the settings at flatpanelshd:

Picture preset: Movie
Cell light 18
Contrast 90
Brightness: 52
Sharpness: 15
Tint: G50/G50
Black Tone Off
Dynamic Contrast Off
Gamma 0
Colour Space Auto
Flesh Tone 0
Edge enhancement Off
Motion lighting Off
Color tone Warm2
Digital Noise Filter Off
MPEG Noise Filter Off
Digital Noise Filter Off
HDMI Black level Low
Film mode Off
Size Screen Fit
R-Offset 26
G-Offset 24
B-Offset 26
R-Gain 30
G-Gain 20
B-Gain 29

I am going to watcht this to see what happens with the FB issue.
hamiltonpl is offline  
post #1283 of 1920 Old 12-29-2011, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Soapsuds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@Ryder... The Sony PS3 does a great job of up converting. Those old DVD's will look good using a PS3.
Soapsuds is offline  
post #1284 of 1920 Old 12-29-2011, 03:17 PM
Member
 
ryder_78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Soapsuds. I'll consider the PS3 before I decide to junk the DVDs.
ryder_78 is offline  
post #1285 of 1920 Old 12-29-2011, 03:49 PM
Member
 
volblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Big Orange Country
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone having problems with SD channels? When watching some SD channels the tv looks like its having some problems processing the source. All these crazy green squares and blotches show up all over the screen. Looks like something from the matrix or something taking over my tv. What would be causing this??? I checked other tv's in the house on the same channels and no problems at all.
volblood is offline  
post #1286 of 1920 Old 12-29-2011, 06:12 PM
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by volblood View Post

Anyone having problems with SD channels? When watching some SD channels the tv looks like its having some problems processing the source. All these crazy green squares and blotches show up all over the screen. Looks like something from the matrix or something taking over my tv. What would be causing this??? I checked other tv's in the house on the same channels and no problems at all.

What kind of connection? Maybe its loose?
CTM Audi is offline  
post #1287 of 1920 Old 12-29-2011, 09:24 PM
Member
 
volblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Big Orange Country
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTM Audi View Post

What kind of connection? Maybe its loose?

HDMI - HD channels look great but certain SD channels I can't stand to watch. The same channels look fine on other tv's in the house also hooked up with HDMI and the same Directv service.
volblood is offline  
post #1288 of 1920 Old 12-29-2011, 09:33 PM
Newbie
 
mikegill12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering can you get the "soap opera affect" on this plasma or other samsung plasmas? I like that feature on some programming
mikegill12345 is offline  
post #1289 of 1920 Old 12-30-2011, 03:10 AM
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegill12345 View Post

I was wondering can you get the "soap opera affect" on this plasma or other samsung plasmas? I like that feature on some programming

Yes with CinemaSmooth, though not as much of the effect as some LCDs. I cant stand it. On my LNC46C630 I have all that off, but on this I have the CinemaSmooth on some of the time when the brightness pops are bad, and the effect isnt as bad as the C630, so its watchable to me.
CTM Audi is offline  
post #1290 of 1920 Old 12-30-2011, 07:38 AM
Newbie
 
whoaitsme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All - I have the PN51D550 tv set, but I am having trouble setting the calibration settings. Whenever I turn off the TV and then turn it back on, the settings go back to their default (e.g., Movie mode goes back to Dynamic mode), and I can't get the calibration settings I enter to remain. Any idea on how to fix this?
whoaitsme is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Displays , Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn51d550 51 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv 3d Kit , Samsung Pn59d550 59 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off