Official Samsung 2011 PNxxD550 Thread - Page 48 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1411 of 1920 Old 01-20-2012, 06:47 PM
Member
 
chambery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeahCelani View Post

Oh really? I usually buy all my stuff on Amazon & have never had a problem.. I mean I've never bought a TV but I bought a computer & stuff. I had a few friends buy TVs on there with no problem. It sucks you had bad luck, though! Could I return it on there if it doesnt work?

Buying from Amazon is fine. You have 30 days to return or replace the TV, no questions asked and at no cost to you. You will not have a problem.
chambery is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1412 of 1920 Old 01-20-2012, 07:19 PM
Member
 
chambery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Everyone that updates to the new firmware, please let us all know your observations about any changes, good or bad, that you experience.

Many thanks!
chambery is offline  
post #1413 of 1920 Old 01-20-2012, 08:57 PM
Member
 
Kingdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had this tv for about a week now. Absolutely love the picture. Considering I'm coming from a 42inch 1080i sharp the upgrade in picture quality is amazing. Watched the opening intro of the players coming onto the ice on NHL11 on 360 and couldn't believe how much more detail I could see in the players faces and jerseys. Popped a bluray in of Meet the Robinsons. Stunning picture. Got this 51 inch for 699 at boxing day and am sooo happy with the purchase. Haven't noticed any buzzing or pops yet (fingers crossed). I believe my firmware is 1019 and it's a December build. Highly recommend this tv to anyone.

Kingdog is offline  
post #1414 of 1920 Old 01-21-2012, 11:19 AM
Newbie
 
adubrocq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just so everyone knows. I was at version 1018.1 and i was sent 1019.5. I GOT NOT ONE BRIGHTNESS POP AT ALL! Dude it worked and worked great! Im in love with my tv set even more now! YEAH!

Sorry for the yelling!!
adubrocq is offline  
post #1415 of 1920 Old 01-21-2012, 12:11 PM
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by adubrocq View Post

Just so everyone knows. I was at version 1018.1 and i was sent 1019.5. I GOT NOT ONE BRIGHTNESS POP AT ALL! Dude it worked and worked great! Im in love with my tv set even more now! YEAH!

Sorry for the yelling!!

Can you please upload the firmware for us?
CTM Audi is offline  
post #1416 of 1920 Old 01-21-2012, 12:19 PM
Newbie
 
talltitan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adubrocq View Post

Just so everyone knows. I was at version 1018.1 and i was sent 1019.5. I GOT NOT ONE BRIGHTNESS POP AT ALL! Dude it worked and worked great! Im in love with my tv set even more now! YEAH!

Sorry for the yelling!!

Good to hear waiting on the 1019.5 myself after getting sent the old firmware you had. If you still have the envelope that it arrived in was the USB sent from Simpsonville South Carolina?

The one I got this week which was the older firmware was sent from Simpsonville and was mailed out on the 17th and arrived on the 19th, I live fairly close by.
talltitan is offline  
post #1417 of 1920 Old 01-21-2012, 12:31 PM
Newbie
 
pdyebrasil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adubrocq View Post

Just so everyone knows. I was at version 1018.1 and i was sent 1019.5. I GOT NOT ONE BRIGHTNESS POP AT ALL! Dude it worked and worked great! Im in love with my tv set even more now! YEAH!

Sorry for the yelling!!

I second the request for you to upload the file Pretty please???

pdyebrasil is offline  
post #1418 of 1920 Old 01-21-2012, 04:25 PM
Newbie
 
Keith1341's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adubrocq View Post

Just so everyone knows. I was at version 1018.1 and i was sent 1019.5. I GOT NOT ONE BRIGHTNESS POP AT ALL! Dude it worked and worked great! Im in love with my tv set even more now! YEAH!

Sorry for the yelling!!

I third the request for you to upload the file.

Pretty please???
Keith1341 is offline  
post #1419 of 1920 Old 01-21-2012, 11:46 PM
Member
 
Aren G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased the pn59d550 for $1200 at BestBuy tonight. I'll be picking it up tomorrow.

How can I check the firmwire and would I be able to get in on my computer? Willing to upload it for everyone else.

btw how'd I do on the price?
Aren G is offline  
post #1420 of 1920 Old 01-21-2012, 11:56 PM
Newbie
 
guest1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aren G View Post

I purchased the pn59d550 for $1200 at BestBuy tonight. I'll be picking it up tomorrow.

How can I check the firmwire and would I be able to get in on my computer? Willing to upload it for everyone else.

btw how'd I do on the price?

You can check your firmware by going into the menu > support > software upgrade.

It will show your current version at the top. I don't know if you can pull the firmware off the unit though.
guest1321 is offline  
post #1421 of 1920 Old 01-22-2012, 06:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Soapsuds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For an exact fw version number, go to the Contact Samsung menu.
Soapsuds is offline  
post #1422 of 1920 Old 01-22-2012, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
LanceX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wow guys id really advise you all to get a calibration disk. I used spear and munsil and my settings were a little off :P

I had gamma -1 and brightness 63. wrong. Gamma +1 and brightness 48-50 were correct with dynamic contrast off.

Everything else was pretty good. but brightness is a big issue to have correct
LanceX is offline  
post #1423 of 1920 Old 01-22-2012, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
LanceX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for gaming i use Standard
18
95
48
20
50
gam +1
warm 1

Movie mode is identical but brightness 55
warm 2
LanceX is offline  
post #1424 of 1920 Old 01-22-2012, 04:24 PM
Member
 
lagrangeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Uh oh! My Samsung just died! We were watching the tv and it just shut down and will not turn back on. Called Samsung-they will be sending someone to look at it.
lagrangeboy is offline  
post #1425 of 1920 Old 01-22-2012, 10:10 PM
Newbie
 
elcamino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a buZZZZZZZer and it drives me crazy. Otherwise I really like this set.

I basically have 2 choices, call Samsung and hope they can fix it or return and get a more basic panel but different make (such as LG60PV400) for the same price.

Has anybody successfully actually resolved the buzzing on their sets via Samsung warranty support?
elcamino is offline  
post #1426 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 08:11 AM
Member
 
bryanpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elcamino View Post

I have a buZZZZZZZer and it drives me crazy. Otherwise I really like this set.

I basically have 2 choices, call Samsung and hope they can fix it or return and get a more basic panel but different make (such as LG60PV400) for the same price.

Has anybody successfully actually resolved the buzzing on their sets via Samsung warranty support?

Whatever u do don't getthe LG. I went through 2 years of crap with mine and they finally agreed to take it back. That's when I grabbed the Samsung. Trust me. Night and day difference
bryanpog is offline  
post #1427 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Soapsuds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know what the buzzing is? Is it in the audio stream of the sets speakers or is it mechanical.
My PN-51D550 has no buzz.
Soapsuds is offline  
post #1428 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soapsuds View Post

Does anyone know what the buzzing is? Is it in the audio stream of the sets speakers or is it mechanical.
My PN-51D550 has no buzz.

A soft buzzing or humming is normal for all plasma displays; it is caused by the electrical charge that lights the phosphors on the screen. You shouldn't be able to hear it from your normal viewing position, but you can if you bring your ear close to the rear of the set.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #1429 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 12:26 PM
Newbie
 
guest1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post


A soft buzzing or humming is normal for all plasma displays; it is caused by the electrical charge that lights the phosphors on the screen. You shouldn't be able to hear it from your normal viewing position, but you can if you bring your ear close to the rear of the set.

You obviously know more than I do but I will add my two cents. My D550 has a faint buzzing noise but nothing that is noticeable when you have the volume up (even at low you can't hear it). That being said, there are certain positions of sitting for me that make it more apparent. It sort of as to do with what is behind my head(from what I've figured out so far). If my head is resting above the top of the couch I won't hear a thing; however, if my head is below the couch line I will sometimes hear it during switches in picture (ie commercials and such). I think it is due t the fact that sound has something to reverberate off of giving it two points from which the buzzing could be projected at my ear.

If my theory is correct then the position of the unit relative to where your head is will affect what buzzing you hear.

After moving my D559 to my apartment and lowering its position, relative to where it was before, I haven't heard any buzzing sound.
guest1321 is offline  
post #1430 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 01:02 PM
Member
 
chambery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elcamino View Post

I have a buZZZZZZZer and it drives me crazy. Otherwise I really like this set.

I basically have 2 choices, call Samsung and hope they can fix it or return and get a more basic panel but different make (such as LG60PV400) for the same price.

Has anybody successfully actually resolved the buzzing on their sets via Samsung warranty support?

Do you have a 3rd option of returning this set for another Samsung of the same model?

Apparently, some buzz more than others. Probably a replacement would not buzz as noticeably.
chambery is offline  
post #1431 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 03:07 PM
Member
 
Gam3r 4 Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey Ive been reading this thread and noticed a lot of you asking for the new 1019.5 firmware for upload. Theres several more of you that want it at this thread too, and a few of them have the new firmware already on the way to them from Samsung on usb sticks. So keep an eye on it as well, and hopefully someone that gets it will upload soon. I personally havent noticed the pops yet and my PN51D550 is about 4 months old now. (Knock on wood)

He Loved Us Enough to Die For Us, Love Him Enough to Live For Him!
Gam3r 4 Life is offline  
post #1432 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 04:59 PM
Member
 
MikeK78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTM Audi View Post

Can you please upload the firmware for us?

+2

Please upload!!

Mike
MikeK78 is offline  
post #1433 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 05:36 PM
Senior Member
 
LanceX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
...you got 1019.5 but didnt upload it? come on bro. share the firmware
LanceX is offline  
post #1434 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 06:08 PM
Member
 
King5six1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got mine today. Plugged it in the pc and it said 1019.5 but when doing the update it said I was updating from 1019 to 1019, I'm not sure if thats normal. What file do I need to upload and I will since this other guy isn't responding to everyone's requests. I haven't tested movies yet but plan to shortly.

Current Setup:
TV: Samsung PN51D550 | Receiver: Denon AVR-1613 | Fronts: Polk Monitor 65T | Rears: Polk Monitor 35B | Center: Polk Monitor 15c | Sub: Polk PSW-505

Using a hacked Expedit bookshelf from IKEA as my console.
King5six1 is offline  
post #1435 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 06:29 PM
Member
 
Gam3r 4 Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by King5six1 View Post

I got mine today. Plugged it in the pc and it said 1019.5 but when doing the update it said I was updating from 1019 to 1019, I'm not sure if thats normal. What file do I need to upload and I will since this other guy isn't responding to everyone's requests. I haven't tested movies yet but plan to shortly.

Just upload the entire contents of the drive as a folder. With whatever name it has when you plug it in under "computer"

He Loved Us Enough to Die For Us, Love Him Enough to Live For Him!
Gam3r 4 Life is offline  
post #1436 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 06:55 PM
Member
 
King5six1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gam3r 4 Life View Post

Just upload the entire contents of the drive as a folder. With whatever name it has when you plug it in under "computer"

I tried that. it said something about a missing security certificate. the zipped file is 26MB. is that past the upload size limit ?


One more thing. In the folder there are 3 text files. one is labeled info.txt and contains the following, T-MST4AUSC 1019.5

then there is validinfo.txt and contains *007_exe.img_eb987e1a

the last file version_info.txt has this line, SWU_T-MST4AUSC_001019_I01_ES000_111202

did they just throw a txt file in there to make it look like 1019.5 ?

Current Setup:
TV: Samsung PN51D550 | Receiver: Denon AVR-1613 | Fronts: Polk Monitor 65T | Rears: Polk Monitor 35B | Center: Polk Monitor 15c | Sub: Polk PSW-505

Using a hacked Expedit bookshelf from IKEA as my console.
King5six1 is offline  
post #1437 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 07:00 PM
Member
 
Gam3r 4 Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by King5six1 View Post

I tried that. it said something about a missing security certificate. the zipped file is 26MB. is that past the upload size limit ?


One more thing. In the folder there are 3 text files. one is labeled info.txt and contains the following, T-MST4AUSC 1019.5

then there is validinfo.txt and contains *007_exe.img_eb987e1a

the last file version_info.txt has this line, SWU_T-MST4AUSC_001019_I01_ES000_111202

did they just throw a txt file in there to make it look like 1019.5 ?

No Im sure it actually 1019.5. If you cant upload it here I would suggest a free upload site like www.mediafire.com/ There pretty good from what I can tell, and downloading from there is great. No stupid captcha or sending you to other sites.

He Loved Us Enough to Die For Us, Love Him Enough to Live For Him!
Gam3r 4 Life is offline  
post #1438 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 07:19 PM
Member
 
King5six1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gam3r 4 Life View Post

No Im sure it actually 1019.5. If you cant upload it here I would suggest a free upload site like www.mediafire.com/ There pretty good from what I can tell, and downloading from there is great. No stupid captcha or sending you to other sites.

You should be able to get it here...

http://www.mediafire.com/file/36qwt7...T-MST4AUSC.zip

I zipped the entire folder. Again this is 1019.5 from what Samsung sent me via usb. After it installed it ran some optimizer on the TV and I have been watching dark knight and haven't seen any pops yet. Hopefully it works for everyone.

Thanks !

Current Setup:
TV: Samsung PN51D550 | Receiver: Denon AVR-1613 | Fronts: Polk Monitor 65T | Rears: Polk Monitor 35B | Center: Polk Monitor 15c | Sub: Polk PSW-505

Using a hacked Expedit bookshelf from IKEA as my console.
King5six1 is offline  
post #1439 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 07:23 PM
Member
 
Gam3r 4 Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by King5six1 View Post

You should be able to get it here...

http://www.mediafire.com/file/36qwt7...T-MST4AUSC.zip

I zipped the entire folder. Again this is 1019.5 from what Samsung sent me via usb. After it installed it ran some optimizer on the TV and I have been watching dark knight and haven't seen any pops yet. Hopefully it works for everyone.

Thanks !

Hey thanks a lot. Like I said I havent noticed pops on mine, but I will most likely still update. But hopefully this helps all those that are having them finally be able to put that issue to rest.

He Loved Us Enough to Die For Us, Love Him Enough to Live For Him!
Gam3r 4 Life is offline  
post #1440 of 1920 Old 01-23-2012, 09:24 PM
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Hey guys. I'm deciding between a D550 and an ST30. Can you tell me if the D550 has a 0% overscan / 1:1 pixel mapping mode? Also, has anyone done a Rock Band 2 guitar auto-calibration on this set to see what kind of lag numbers we get? I'd hate for it to be worse than the reasonable 30ms that I see on my current Panasonics.

Thanks.
darklordjames is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Displays , Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn51d550 51 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv 3d Kit , Samsung Pn59d550 59 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off