Official Samsung 2011 PNxxD550 Thread - Page 64 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1891 of 1920 Old 04-27-2013, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,452
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 314
I would not advise doing this yourself unless you are experienced at this sort of thing. Yes, you can damage the TV (and yourself) if not done correctly. There is thread here which describes the available voltage adjustments for your display.
zoyd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1892 of 1920 Old 04-28-2013, 01:24 PM
Member
 
imawheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My local Best Buy has this model (59") on clearance for $987, new in box. Judging by this thread, reviews seem to be mixed but mostly positive.

I'm highly considering upgrading my Panasonic TC-P50S30 to the Samsung PN59D550.

For the money, is that a wise choice? I'm a little nervous switching from Panasonic to Samsung.
imawheel is offline  
post #1893 of 1920 Old 04-28-2013, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,452
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 314
zoyd is online now  
post #1894 of 1920 Old 04-28-2013, 06:03 PM
Member
 
imawheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Pay a little more and get the st60, great bang for your buck

Think you and I have different definitions of a little more, my man. Best I've seen on the st60 is $1500 and that's north of where I'm looking to be.
imawheel is offline  
post #1895 of 1920 Old 04-28-2013, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,452
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 314
zoyd is online now  
post #1896 of 1920 Old 04-29-2013, 02:05 PM
Member
 
cmartell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
could someone please post firmware 1019.5 for pn51d550??
cmartell is offline  
post #1897 of 1920 Old 04-29-2013, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,452
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 314
zoyd is online now  
post #1898 of 1920 Old 06-29-2013, 06:41 AM
Member
 
DaveyJC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's a new 1011.0 firmware for european version of D530 (PS51D530) in PS51D530A5W - DOWNLOADS | SUPPORT | SAMSUNG UK

Will it improve black levels over 1007.2?

Anyone tried it yet? Thanks!
DaveyJC is offline  
post #1899 of 1920 Old 06-29-2013, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
jack54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I get a Fuschia color screen instead of a normal screen once every 6-8 weeks. I have to turn off the TV, Then it is back to normal.
This has gone on ever since I bought it two years ago.
Do I need to be concerned?
Otherwise, this has been a fantastic HDTV.
jack54 is offline  
post #1900 of 1920 Old 07-02-2013, 07:19 PM
Newbie
 
Szuter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the PN51D550
wondering what people use for their setting for video games. PS3 if it makes a difference.
Szuter is offline  
post #1901 of 1920 Old 01-22-2014, 05:20 AM
Newbie
 
MDuMont11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if I'll get an answer on here because this thread seems to have died out, but I'll ask anyway. I have this TV and got the Disney WOW calibration disc yesterday. My question is should I calibrate it in 'Standard' picture mode or leave it in 'Movie' mode? (It's been in Movie mode for the last year or so)
MDuMont11 is offline  
post #1902 of 1920 Old 01-22-2014, 06:16 AM
Member
 
KevinNash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Still watching this thread and have this fantastic set smile.gif

For your question, movie mode of course, it is the only mode you should use to calibrate, always wink.gif
KevinNash is offline  
post #1903 of 1920 Old 01-22-2014, 07:52 AM
Senior Member
 
jack54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I still have this TV as well. It has been so good I haven't gotten another one yet and I usually get a new TV every year.
Loving it, especially in 3D.
jack54 is offline  
post #1904 of 1920 Old 01-22-2014, 07:54 AM
Senior Member
 
jack54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jack54 View Post

I get a Fuschia color screen instead of a normal screen once every 6-8 weeks. I have to turn off the TV, Then it is back to normal.
This has gone on ever since I bought it two years ago.
Do I need to be concerned?
Otherwise, this has been a fantastic HDTV.
This has stopped for some reason... was doing it once every 6-8 weeks, haven't since last June.
I was a bit disappointed that I never did get any responses as I would have liked to know what was causing it wink.gif
jack54 is offline  
post #1905 of 1920 Old 01-22-2014, 07:58 AM
Newbie
 
MDuMont11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinNash View Post

Still watching this thread and have this fantastic set smile.gif

For your question, movie mode of course, it is the only mode you should use to calibrate, always wink.gif

Appreciate the input! That was a much quicker response than I was expecting. Thank you!
MDuMont11 is offline  
post #1906 of 1920 Old 01-22-2014, 09:39 AM
Senior Member
 
LanceX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For movies and tv , move mode is the consensus but if you game on it. I would also calibrate Standard mode. Games colors change way too much in movie mode, gives it a yellowish tint.

Hell I mostly game on my 550 but I leave on standard for movies and it looks great too.

make sure your hdmi level is normal and no special features on.

also ifyour broke in, set picture aspect to screen fit. 16:9 zooms in the picture by 2 inches or so
LanceX is offline  
post #1907 of 1920 Old 01-22-2014, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
MDuMont11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LanceX View Post

For movies and tv , move mode is the consensus but if you game on it. I would also calibrate Standard mode. Games colors change way too much in movie mode, gives it a yellowish tint.

Hell I mostly game on my 550 but I leave on standard for movies and it looks great too.

make sure your hdmi level is normal and no special features on.

also ifyour broke in, set picture aspect to screen fit. 16:9 zooms in the picture by 2 inches or so

Thanks. I will calibrate them both because I do play PS3 on it quite a bit also.

I have another question if anyone can answer. While using the Disney WOW disk to set the brightness I noticed that the checkered chart and the stars that are supposed to show up don't show up or get anywhere close to where the screen tells me to get them until I have brightness at 100? Is that normal? From looking through this thread, I haven't seen one person who had brightness that high on any setting list. Hope that makes sense. Any help would be great.
MDuMont11 is offline  
post #1908 of 1920 Old 01-22-2014, 10:14 AM
Senior Member
 
LanceX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Never have brightness 100. I believe my contrast is80-90 and brightness at 52. I'm not at home. I think movie mode I had 62 brightness
LanceX is offline  
post #1909 of 1920 Old 01-22-2014, 10:18 AM
Newbie
 
MDuMont11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LanceX View Post

Never have brightness 100. I believe my contrast is80-90 and brightness at 52. I'm not at home. I think movie mode I had 62 brightness

That's why I was wondering. My contrast test was normal. Everything was where it was supposed to be at 89. I don't know if there is some issue with the brightness on my Samsung because on the test, nothing was where it was supposed to be until 99 or 100. Very odd.
MDuMont11 is offline  
post #1910 of 1920 Old 02-26-2014, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frankthetoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I've had the PN59D550 for several years now. The past few weeks the TV has powered off unexpectedly, but I'm able to get it back on after unplugging it and plugging it back in. Well, tonight it won't come back on.

Has anyone had this problem? Is there a possible fix? I will say that shortly after getting the TV I entered the SM and switched to a different panel. Really hoping there's an easy fix

------------------------------------
PSN: frankthetoad
frankthetoad is offline  
post #1911 of 1920 Old 02-27-2014, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankthetoad View Post

I've had the PN59D550 for several years now. The past few weeks the TV has powered off unexpectedly, but I'm able to get it back on after unplugging it and plugging it back in. Well, tonight it won't come back on.

Has anyone had this problem? Is there a possible fix? I will say that shortly after getting the TV I entered the SM and switched to a different panel. Really hoping there's an easy fix

The changes you made in the SM shouldn't have had any bearing on the problem you are experiencing now, which sounds like a defective power supply. I would suggest you contact Samsung to obtain the name of a authorized service center & have them take a look at it. Of course, you will want to go back into the SM and change the settings back to the original model before the TV is looked at so that the repairman won't get confused. Good luck...I used to own this set, and once it is properly set up it has very acceptable black levels and also very good 3D performance.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #1912 of 1920 Old 02-27-2014, 07:54 AM
Senior Member
 
jack54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post

The changes you made in the SM shouldn't have had any bearing on the problem you are experiencing now, which sounds like a defective power supply. I would suggest you contact Samsung to obtain the name of a authorized service center & have them take a look at it. Of course, you will want to go back into the SM and change the settings back to the original model before the TV is looked at so that the repairman won't get confused. .
Uh... how is he going to do that if it won't power on? wink.gif

Sounds like he needs a new TV if it's several years old. Of course if he can fix it cheap enough, that is good too.

I have the same TV and sure do love it. Except for the occasional fuschia color screen once in a great while, it has been a great TV.
jack54 is offline  
post #1913 of 1920 Old 02-27-2014, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by jack54 View Post

Uh... how is he going to do that if it won't power on? wink.gif

Sounds like he needs a new TV if it's several years old. Of course if he can fix it cheap enough, that is good too.

I have the same TV and sure do love it. Except for the occasional fuschia color screen once in a great while, it has been a great TV.

Mmm...I forgot about the power issue. My bad! biggrin.gif
Rudy1 is offline  
post #1914 of 1920 Old 03-02-2014, 11:53 AM
Newbie
 
DeViLzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In terms of a PN51D550 was this model released in multiple years? Also do any PN51D550 tvs use IR instead of bluetooth as I wondered if I could use these now cheap Sony 3D glasses (http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/product/playstation-3-sony-ps3-3d-glasses-99021/10183192.aspx?path=4e1663147e7e4ff058b4ebb408c1054den02) with my tv? I talked to Samsung and I caught them in a lie saying that no Samsung tv worked with these which is not true based on what is shared here in this thread .... (http://forums.redflagdeals.com/bb-fs-playstation-3d-glasses-9-95-now-1419699/).

I would really liked more pairs of 3D glasses but don't want to pay loads of money for them if I don't have to and at $9.95 man are those Sony 3D glasses cheap!


Update: Eh in this manual http://downloadcenter.samsung.com/content/UM/201201/20120112151140457/[ENG_US]PX5ATSCA-1020.pdf I think it confirms that my tv can't have the Sony 3D glasses used with it.

"3D Active Glasses from Samsung’s previous product (IR type) or other manufacturers are not supported." .... eh can't believe I didn't see this b4
DeViLzzz is offline  
post #1915 of 1920 Old 03-02-2014, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeViLzzz View Post

In terms of a PN51D550 was this model released in multiple years? Also do any PN51D550 tvs use IR instead of bluetooth as I wondered if I could use these now cheap Sony 3D glasses (http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/product/playstation-3-sony-ps3-3d-glasses-99021/10183192.aspx?path=4e1663147e7e4ff058b4ebb408c1054den02) with my tv? I talked to Samsung and I caught them in a lie saying that no Samsung tv worked with these which is not true based on what is shared here in this thread .... (http://forums.redflagdeals.com/bb-fs-playstation-3d-glasses-9-95-now-1419699/).

I would really liked more pairs of 3D glasses but don't want to pay loads of money for them if I don't have to and at $9.95 man are those Sony 3D glasses cheap!


Update: Eh in this manual http://downloadcenter.samsung.com/content/UM/201201/20120112151140457/[ENG_US]PX5ATSCA-1020.pdf I think it confirms that my tv can't have the Sony 3D glasses used with it.

"3D Active Glasses from Samsung’s previous product (IR type) or other manufacturers are not supported." .... eh can't believe I didn't see this b4

This D550 Series was only released during the 2011 model year, and it will only work with Bluetooth 3D glasses. Subsequent models are compatible with the IR 3D glasses from other manufacturers (including Sony's), but the quality of the 3D is not that good on the later models...I found all of them to have significantly worse crosstalk than I ever experienced on the D550.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #1916 of 1920 Old 03-30-2014, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
frankthetoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 61
It powered on long enough for me to revert back to default settings in the SM. Took it to a repair shop...we'll see.

Kind of silly to suggest getting a new TV. I believe this will be fixed for relatively cheap. Plus, it's not my main set.

------------------------------------
PSN: frankthetoad
frankthetoad is offline  
post #1917 of 1920 Old 03-30-2014, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankthetoad View Post

It powered on long enough for me to revert back to default settings in the SM. Took it to a repair shop...we'll see.

Kind of silly to suggest getting a new TV. I believe this will be fixed for relatively cheap. Plus, it's not my main set.

Good luck. I hope you get it fixed...it's a very nice set.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #1918 of 1920 Old 03-30-2014, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
jack54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankthetoad View Post

I

Kind of silly to suggest getting a new TV. I believe this will be fixed for relatively cheap. Plus, it's not my main set.
If your refering to what I said.... read the whole sentence wink.gif

Sounds like he needs a new TV if it's several years old. Of course if he can fix it cheap enough, that is good too.
jack54 is offline  
post #1919 of 1920 Old 06-28-2014, 12:24 AM
Member
 
Gam3r 4 Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
I tried using this to update my PN51D550 and it says no valid file found?

He Loved Us Enough to Die For Us, Love Him Enough to Live For Him!
Gam3r 4 Life is offline  
post #1920 of 1920 Old 07-17-2014, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
jack54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Mine is up for sale after having it for 2.5 years.
What should I ask for my early 2012 Samsung - 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / 3D / HDTV / Model # PN59D550
I got a Sony 70" 3D HDTV for football season.
jack54 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Displays , Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn51d550 51 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv 3d Kit , Samsung Pn59d550 59 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off