Official Samsung 2011 PNxxD7000 Thread - Page 33 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #961 of 4123 Old 05-06-2011, 04:46 PM
Member
 
jaychamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpestrada74 View Post
The Samsung technician still wants to come out to check it out but I'm leery of letting them work on the TV when there really isn't anything wrong with it (as far as I'm concerned).
Maybe he/she gets paid per house call
jaychamp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 4123 Old 05-06-2011, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Wermey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikkle View Post
As koffas mentioned in the original post, you can find detailed instructions here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=5027
Those directions to get the CAL- Day night settings dont work for me. I dont see where it says expert??
Wermey is offline  
post #963 of 4123 Old 05-06-2011, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wermey View Post
Those directions to get the CAL- Day night settings dont work for me. I dont see where it says expert??

They don't work anymore for the new Samsung models. Now you need to use an RS-232 serial connector and control codes sent with special software -- neither which, it appears, is available yet.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #964 of 4123 Old 05-06-2011, 08:21 PM
Newbie
 
chuck95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Best Buy had the PN59D7000 mounted high on the wall and I noticed that the picture disappeared almost completely when standing close to the wall. To the left and right were OK - just as bright as watching straight on, but below the set was unwatchable. In real life, would I ever sit on the floor so close to the set? I don't know. But I wasn't expecting the picture to disappear like it did. I wonder if the D8000 works the same way.
chuck95 is offline  
post #965 of 4123 Old 05-06-2011, 08:48 PM
Member
 
Timmatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck95 View Post
I wonder if the D8000 works the same way.
Yup, its the real black filter.
Timmatron is offline  
post #966 of 4123 Old 05-06-2011, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 146
From what I understand, it helps reduce reflections from overhead lighting. Probably also would work well if your interior designer installed lamps in your floor.


Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #967 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 06:36 AM
Member
 
thp427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pulled the trigger on the 64D7000 last night. I wanted to order it before the 3D starter kit offer expired (and several retailers' websites listed it ending May 7).

Ended up getting it from Crutchfield. Essentially, all reputable online sites were about the same price. Cleveland plasma was sold out. Since Crutchfield has a rewards program however, I'll eventually get a $150 gift certificate -- so they actually have the lowest price of anyone I could find, if you include that.

Should be here in a week. Now I've got to order HDMI cables, mount, etc. Monoprice, here I come.

My old 50" Pioneer Elite will be moved away from its position of honor.
thp427 is offline  
post #968 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 06:39 AM
Newbie
 
chuck95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The real black filter is the major difference between the 6500 and 7000, right? I wonder if I should be considering the 6500 instead...
Any other differences I should be concerned about between the two?
chuck95 is offline  
post #969 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 06:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hudson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck95 View Post

The real black filter is the major difference between the 6500 and 7000, right? I wonder if I should be considering the 6500 instead...
Any other differences I should be concerned about between the two?

Correct, it's the only difference I can think of. I've seen both and there is a difference but it's not a big difference.
Hudson1 is offline  
post #970 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 07:21 AM
Member
 
EvanVanVan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any good settings to minimize IR for xbox 360? I've been using Zoyd's settings from the D8000 thread, and lower the contrast to about 50 to be safe but it's a little dark..Does Cell Light effect IR? I still have that at 15 I think..
EvanVanVan is offline  
post #971 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 08:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
koffas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Silicon Forest
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wermey View Post

Those directions to get the CAL- Day night settings dont work for me. I dont see where it says expert??

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

They don't work anymore for the new Samsung models. Now you need to use an RS-232 serial connector and control codes sent with special software -- neither which, it appears, is available yet.

Larry

The instructions apply to the 6- and 7-series models only. They work as I have the CAL presets available. The 8-series may require control codes to unlock them.
koffas is offline  
post #972 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by koffas View Post

The instructions apply to the 6- and 7-series models only. They work as I have the CAL presets available. The 8-series may require control codes to unlock them.


From what I hear, the D8000 needs the RS-232 interface to unlock the IFCccc modes. If the lower priced models have it available in the user mode, that's indeed very odd. In fact, if so, it may cause me to rethink getting the D7000 instead of the D8000.

Very strange. Are you absolutely sure about this, koffas?

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #973 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 03:34 PM
Newbie
 
KroLeXz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just pulled the trigger on the D7000 from amazon with the free 3d kit.

I went to best buy, and just loved the PQ on this TV... looked great.

I heard web browser is not available on the D7000? It would be nice to have, not a deal breaker - but I wonder if custom firmware can be enabled to allow these use to web browser..... I got an iPhone so I'll probably end up getting the Samsung app to control this beast

I'm super happy, and can't wait for it to get delivered.
KroLeXz is offline  
post #974 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 06:21 PM
Member
 
jaychamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck95 View Post

Best Buy had the PN59D7000 mounted high on the wall and I noticed that the picture disappeared almost completely when standing close to the wall. To the left and right were OK - just as bright as watching straight on, but below the set was unwatchable. In real life, would I ever sit on the floor so close to the set? I don't know. But I wasn't expecting the picture to disappear like it did. I wonder if the D8000 works the same way.

Mine is mounted 42 inches from the floor to the bottom of the TV, and if I lay on the floor, 2 feet away, it barely dims.
jaychamp is offline  
post #975 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 06:24 PM
Member
 
thp427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this include the free 3D kit? I checked that out as well, but it's actually sold by Electronics Expo, and per the Amazon site, the free 3D kit "Applies only to purchases from Amazon.com; does not apply to items sold by other merchants on the website."

Amazon themselves are sold out.
thp427 is offline  
post #976 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 06:37 PM
Member
 
jaychamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timmatron View Post

Someone just posted their calibration yesterday. I tried the settings and think it looks quite good.

I appreciate you posting this, unfortunately it looks horrible on my set. Blacks are too gray, too warm, plastic looking faces in high lit scenes(very noticeable for Leno and ESPN), overall just too bright. I'm surprised it was that far off, the plastic face look is caused from a gamma dip at the high end I believe, but his gamma was flat. I know settings can vary from set to set, but I was surprised to see ours were that much different. I noticed this with both DirecTV and PS3 BluRay

I do have the 59 and not the 64, maybe that's part of it.
jaychamp is offline  
post #977 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
koffas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Silicon Forest
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

From what I hear, the D8000 needs the RS-232 interface to unlock the IFCccc modes. If the lower priced models have it available in the user mode, that's indeed very odd. In fact, if so, it may cause me to rethink getting the D7000 instead of the D8000.

Very strange. Are you absolutely sure about this, koffas?

Larry

I am absolutely sure this is true for the PN59D7000 as I'm looking right at them. Other D7000 owners have reported enabling the CAL presets in this thread as well.
koffas is offline  
post #978 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 06:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Zetherin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, I purchased a 64PND7000 from amazon before the starter kit was included as a bonus. Do you think it's possible/probable for me to call amazon up and get them to send me a free 3D starter kit?
Zetherin is offline  
post #979 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 06:54 PM
Member
 
thp427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Never hurts to ask, but I think it's pretty unlikely that Amazon will help out.
thp427 is offline  
post #980 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 08:08 PM
Member
 
jaychamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thp427 View Post

Never hurts to ask, but I think it's pretty unlikely that Amazon will help out.

Ye of little faith Zetherin, call them, and if they don't give it to you, ask dettxw what he said to get it

Quote:
Originally Posted by dettxw View Post

There was no mention of the 3D Kit when I ordered my PN64D7000, and one didn't show up with the TV.
I called Amazon and they had me order the kit then they credited my account. It'll be here on the 6th.

jaychamp is offline  
post #981 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 08:10 PM
Member
 
EvanVanVan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetherin View Post

Guys, I purchased a 64PND7000 from amazon before the starter kit was included as a bonus. Do you think it's possible/probable for me to call amazon up and get them to send me a free 3D starter kit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaychamp View Post

Ye of little faith


I think he purchased it before April 24th when the promotion started, and in that case Samsung has said he's out of luck I think
EvanVanVan is offline  
post #982 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 08:36 PM
Member
 
jaychamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvanVanVan View Post

I think he purchased it before April 24th when the promotion started, and in that case Samsung has said he's out of luck I think

Yuck, missed that part about the date. I just assumed the deal was before the 24th since you got a free kit through Crutchfield weeks before that. Must have been their own promotion. Like thp427 said then, it never hurts to ask.
jaychamp is offline  
post #983 of 4123 Old 05-07-2011, 10:57 PM
Senior Member
 
mirak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirak View Post

The TV played great for about 20 minutes. Then, all of sudden an "error?" message started popping up in the middle of the screen saying "Not Available." Then things really started going screwy. The little red LED at the bottom left corner that blinks with remote activity started going berserk. I pressed "tools" on the remote and the selection kept scrolling through the options even though I wasn't using the remote! I even took the batteries out of the remote, but it wouldn't stop.

I couldn't even get the TV to turn off! The remote activity was so rapid that I couldn't even interupt it long enough to turn off the TV. I call tech support, they tell me to unplug the TV... except that I can't reach the plug without taking the TV off the wall. So, I have to trip the breaker down in the basement. Finally, that turns the TV off.

Anyway, I think I figured out the problem. After I turned off the TV, I turned it back on and started hunting through the options. Turns out, there's some sort of "network controller" option (I don't think I have that name right) and it was toggled on. Essentially, it allows you to use your iPhone or other smart phone as a remote control. I think the TV was picking up a wireless signal, was interpreting it as a remote control, and started going nuts. That's my best theory. Problem hasn't come back since I turned off that option.

Update: I'm now pretty much convinced that the problem I experienced was due to the "Network Remote Control" option being toggled on. I figured out that the "Not Available" box pops up when you try to use the remote to, for example, adjust the volume when the speakers are turned off. (Or, try to change channels when you're watching an HDMI source).

Thus, the TV was picking up some sort of netwrok signal that it was interpreting as a remote control signal. The problem hasn't come back since I toggled the NRC option off. I'm surprised nobody else has reported this problem, since my TV came out of the box with NRC toggled on.
mirak is offline  
post #984 of 4123 Old 05-08-2011, 11:41 AM
Newbie
 
ThinkingAtheist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys is the PN51D7000 a lot better than the PN51D6500? I may be getting the D6500 but I don't know what the major differences are with the D7000.
ThinkingAtheist is offline  
post #985 of 4123 Old 05-08-2011, 11:44 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
koffas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Silicon Forest
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirak View Post

Update: I'm now pretty much convinced that the problem I experienced was due to the "Network Remote Control" option being toggled on. I figured out that the "Not Available" box pops up when you try to use the remote to, for example, adjust the volume when the speakers are turned off. (Or, try to change channels when you're watching an HDMI source).

Thus, the TV was picking up some sort of netwrok signal that it was interpreting as a remote control signal. The problem hasn't come back since I toggled the NRC option off. I'm surprised nobody else has reported this problem, since my TV came out of the box with NRC toggled on.

The IR sensor on my set also went berserk when I first powered on the TV. I just power cycled it and haven't had an issue since -- I have the Network Remote Control setting on.
koffas is offline  
post #986 of 4123 Old 05-08-2011, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by koffas View Post

I am absolutely sure this is true for the PN59D7000 as I'm looking right at them. Other D7000 owners have reported enabling the CAL presets in this thread as well.


I am debating whether or not to get the D7000 or the D8000.

Other than the 3D difficulties encountered that you mentioned in the other thread, have you found any other problems caused by enabling and calibrating the CAL modes in the D7000?

I am quite proficient in calibration and have been doing such for five years. I currently use an i1 LT profiled to my certified i1 Pro. I mention all this only for the purpose of defining the term "calibration" in my question.


Thanks,
Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #987 of 4123 Old 05-08-2011, 05:17 PM
Member
 
chisler33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone else experience horrible brightness fluctuations while watching sports in 3D?
chisler33 is offline  
post #988 of 4123 Old 05-08-2011, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Wermey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If i was going to buy a 64D7000 I would do it right now online at that website with a river name because they have it really cheap right now. Granted its out of stuck but . . . .
Wermey is offline  
post #989 of 4123 Old 05-08-2011, 09:04 PM
Member
 
jaychamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chisler33 View Post

Does anyone else experience horrible brightness fluctuations while watching sports in 3D?

Do you mean 2D>3D mode? If so then yes, both NBA and NHL I experienced it. I found it too annoying and distracting. I haven't really watched anything on ESPN3D yet
jaychamp is offline  
post #990 of 4123 Old 05-08-2011, 09:53 PM
Member
 
dezicartel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wermey View Post

If i was going to buy a 64D7000 I would do it right now online at that website with a river name because they have it really cheap right now. Granted its out of stuck but . . . .

what website? im in the market for one...
dezicartel is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Bd D7000 3d Blu Ray Disc Player Silver , Samsung Pn51d7000 51 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Plasma Hdtv With Pn51d7000 Bdd5500 3d Blu Ray Player 2 Ssg
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off